EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

Chrono-Trigger
post Feb 22 2016, 04:18 PM

BY SELF ONE IS DEFILED AND PURIFIED
4,307 posts

QUOTE(nanan75 @ Feb 22 2016, 08:29 AM)
If 75 im happy, the base amount can still draw annual divident which is better than fd 😄😄
Well at that age, money is not as meaningful as it is when you are younger. You can't eat as much , you can't travel, you won't go out for movies , most likely bed ridden and dependent on others.
Chrono-Trigger
post Feb 22 2016, 07:37 PM

4,307 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Feb 22 2016, 07:21 PM)
If u have the money and bed ridden, u will depend on others LESS.
let me put it this way - u see a young man with BMW and an old man 80 with BMW - got difference.

it's peer accomplishment. at 75 - your peers who may look up to you are mostly dead , and the young ones don't even care who u are.

the things We can do when we are young and old - got hugh difference. contemplate this - and maybe we should start spending now to please ourselves when we are younger

This post has been edited by Chrono-Trigger: Feb 22 2016, 07:39 PM
Chrono-Trigger
post Feb 22 2016, 09:03 PM

4,307 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Feb 22 2016, 08:58 PM)
Ahhhhhhhhh smell of materialism, status, peer pressure, living on credit. hmm.gif No wonder some complain about living in pressure cooker.
Diff folks diff expectation, thats what I am saying. I always encourage one to do retirement planning even from young instead of wasteful spending. A young man with BMW, most likely paid with credit and not building wealth whereas an old man with BMW paid with cash from his accumulated wealth. I for one PLEASE myself when my wealth pile up n I only need to spend on the dividend. And when I go I will happily pass it to my family. To me that is joy.
It is hard to make the first million(esp so if u are spendthrift) but once u achieve that the next few millions will come easier.
never mind if you don't get the gist. It's ok. back to dividend EPF - ok la, happy also , hope can sustain that level for years to come

This post has been edited by Chrono-Trigger: Feb 22 2016, 09:07 PM
Chrono-Trigger
post Nov 29 2020, 02:25 PM

4,307 posts

A lot of laws need to be amended , even the EPF act itself for this dividend tier to come into effect.

But I think many people fail to see that the low amount of savings in EPF in majority of people is NOT the flaw of EPF system itself, but the low wages that our employers in the country persistently pay their employees and over reliant on foreign labour.

Address the low wage and the structural problem itself, and EPF problem will solve by itself.

Just how many of our employers willingly pay EPF for their employees? some of them prefer to employ the workers on contractual basis.

This post has been edited by Chrono-Trigger: Nov 29 2020, 02:30 PM
Chrono-Trigger
post Feb 27 2021, 12:48 PM

4,307 posts

wah not bad 5.2%
better than ASNB
Chrono-Trigger
post Dec 27 2021, 12:08 PM

4,307 posts

QUOTE(InitialB @ Dec 27 2021, 11:28 AM)
That's before i was born.

Apa...la....

The lowest since i start my contribution.
but those days are low inflation, no debt economy....
10 sen can buy drink, and food.

toyota only costs 2000

This post has been edited by Chrono-Trigger: Dec 27 2021, 12:08 PM
Chrono-Trigger
post Dec 27 2021, 01:58 PM

4,307 posts

QUOTE(sgh @ Dec 27 2021, 01:33 PM)
Perhaps he meant down payment? Give 2k can drive out to road already?
Toyota costs only Malaysian Dollar 2000-3000 in the 1950s / 1960s
Chrono-Trigger
post Dec 28 2021, 09:23 PM

4,307 posts

I think it's equally important for the government to safeguard the value of Ringgit as any savings from EPF will be useless if Ringgit depreciates in value 30 years from now.
Chrono-Trigger
post Feb 20 2022, 11:53 AM

4,307 posts

EPF is like this, when young cannot see much

but as get older, the money grows a lot, and suddenly become very significant...

Chrono-Trigger
post Feb 20 2022, 12:17 PM

4,307 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Feb 20 2022, 12:10 PM)
power of compounding.

also, 8% on a balance of 10K is only 800 rm 
4% on a balance of 10 mio is only 400K rm

Tiering doesn't help those with low balance simply because the extra 4% pa will not do much. Gov better solve the low wage issue in Malaysia vs talking crap.
Tierring is difficult to implement because that will cause those high depositors to abandon EPF when they reach 50 / 55 years

may even cause a bank run , forcing EPF to sell all its assets and causing KLSE to plunge.

agree with you, the problem is not EPF dividend as they only act as collector investor.

the problem is with the STINGY business people in Malaysia who pay low wages to their workers, worse still many of them prefer contract worker rather than fixed-epf salary.

This post has been edited by Chrono-Trigger: Feb 20 2022, 12:28 PM
Chrono-Trigger
post Feb 20 2022, 12:38 PM

4,307 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Feb 20 2022, 12:31 PM)
why discuss about tiering when everyone worked hard and also contributed to EPF? then those who work hard to earn more should be penalize?
tiering unlikely to happen...

This post has been edited by Chrono-Trigger: Feb 20 2022, 12:38 PM
Chrono-Trigger
post Feb 20 2022, 12:54 PM

4,307 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Feb 20 2022, 12:46 PM)
Tiered dividend system should be such that the more you save the higher dividends you will get.
Those with > 1M should get higher….>1.5M ++ and thereafter.
EPF is not the problem.

They act as a collector and investor.

The problem is

1. low wages from employer
2. employment that is contractual that do not pay EPF, majority of which are low paying gig jobs...

Politicians keep targetting EPF, but never solve the problem of low wages in our country...

you solve the low wages problem, EPF problem automatic solved...

This post has been edited by Chrono-Trigger: Feb 20 2022, 12:56 PM
Chrono-Trigger
post Feb 27 2022, 07:59 PM

4,307 posts

QUOTE(Ankle @ Feb 27 2022, 03:17 PM)
Buy the stock when its at cheap valuation.

Collect the stocks gradually dollar cost averaging over time.

When you reach say 100 lots, just leave it to collect dividend. Very often this particular stock gives dividend in share form in lieu of cash.

When the share price falls, do not worry. Given time it will recover.

If and when the share price doubles, sell off 50 lots.

What you then have is 50 lots in hand for free continuing to give you good dividends.

Something like that.
depends on risk appetite and available cash at hand.

I for one, is type of person that heart will drop when KLSE drops... shocking.gif
Chrono-Trigger
post Mar 2 2022, 02:27 PM

4,307 posts

thank you BN PN...

This post has been edited by Chrono-Trigger: Mar 2 2022, 02:28 PM
Chrono-Trigger
post Mar 2 2022, 03:29 PM

4,307 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Mar 2 2022, 03:27 PM)
Does anyone know how long usually the latest transaction will be updated together with the dividend?
don't worry dude... the money will be there.......

Chrono-Trigger
post Mar 2 2022, 11:12 PM

4,307 posts

QUOTE(JLZH @ Mar 2 2022, 10:27 PM)
I'm satisfied with this Dividend Rate, 😊
just hope.. they will be more aggresive to tackle inflation, to put it at 2% per annum maximum and dividend 5-6%, then we see real increase of retirement security...

but if inflation is 3-4% , dividend 5% not much wealth increase
Chrono-Trigger
post Mar 3 2022, 06:55 PM

4,307 posts

Why all the talk about complicated Tier dividends, when the government could treat the dividend from EPF as income and therefore, taxable?

biggrin.gif icon_idea.gif

In reality, taxation of EPF income and Tier dividend would face resistance from the rich and very unlikely to be implemented.

I see GST being a more practical way forward.

This post has been edited by Chrono-Trigger: Mar 3 2022, 07:22 PM
Chrono-Trigger
post Mar 3 2022, 09:41 PM

4,307 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Mar 3 2022, 09:00 PM)
Using some imaginary number:

Opening balance: 500k
Self contribution per year: 60k
Stagnant mandatory contribution per month: 2.5k
Fixed dividend rate per year: 5.5%

One can hit 1mil in 4 years.

Then stop self-contribution, and reap 55k dividend + 30k mandatory contribution annually, leave 1mil in account.

Not bad at all eh. Wondering if I screw up my calculation to have these figure.
you are talking about 7500 nett contribution to EPF every month....

with that sort of income, work anyhow also will hit 1 million one....

This post has been edited by Chrono-Trigger: Mar 3 2022, 09:42 PM
Chrono-Trigger
post Mar 14 2022, 10:21 AM

4,307 posts

Some may argue , as with pension, that EPF is meant to fund retirement but never meant to be for rich to get richer.

An inflation adjusted comfortable post retirement income of RM5000/ month is probably what 1 million in EPF could give you.

Anything beyond that, you should plan and invest on your own. You can choose to take out your money past 1 million and invest in other funds, without government guarantee of 2.5% return and principal protection.

This is another angle to look at the issue.

This post has been edited by Chrono-Trigger: Mar 14 2022, 10:28 AM
Chrono-Trigger
post Mar 14 2022, 05:06 PM

4,307 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Mar 14 2022, 04:53 PM)
If not for the withdrawals last year, 2021 dividend rate would have been 6.7%.

https://www.sinchew.com.my/20220314/%e4%b8%...b4%be%e6%81%af/
covid 19 was really an unprecedented economic and health disaster....

The thing to do now is to grow the economy, and stop looking at EPF as a bank...

Need to learn from Singapore to raised GST to 9% to replenish their coffers.

It's time we do the same, GST is tough but it's necessary for our country.

This post has been edited by Chrono-Trigger: Mar 14 2022, 05:13 PM

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0505sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:04 AM