EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

Gabriel03
post Feb 22 2020, 04:24 PM

663 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Feb 22 2020, 04:03 PM)
I'm on shariah plan, why its lower ?
Different type of fund has different returns.

I remembered when shariah version of kwsp was first created, the dividend was declared lower. For the Muslims, they said that if take conventional account, must give away a certain portion while shariah version, don't have to do so. So, in the end, the actual dividend for shariah is higher than that for conventional for Muslim people.

Not a Muslim, so, i apologie if my understanding is wrong.
XweienX
post Feb 22 2020, 04:47 PM

455 posts

All of you sifus are much more experienced than I am so I would like to ask for your opinions and insights.

I was just thinking about how in the recent years more and more people are going into freelancing and the gig economy (full time Grab/Foodpanda etc.) and as far as I know they don't have compulsory EPF deductions. Will this mean that EPF will have lesser capital (or slower capital growth) in the future?

Since I myself only do self contributions for my EPF, should I reduce the amount and put it somewhere else?
nexona88
post Feb 22 2020, 04:52 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,418 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Feb 22 2020, 03:56 PM)
After knowing the 2019 % figure, curious to know the relationship between the announcement dates and the % figures, if any. So decided to do a t-test. Results as below.  confused.gif  hmm.gif

[attachmentid=10433044]

By no means is this 100% conclusive. Only an indication from one angle. Population size is small with only 14 sets of data. Limitations in t-test, statistics, interpretation, etc.  bangwall.gif  icon_question.gif

"The lower the P value, the lower the error rate. For example, a P value near 0.05 has an error rate of 25-50%. However, a P value of 0.0027 corresponds to an error rate of at least 4.5%, which is close to the rate that many mistakenly attribute to a P value of 0.05."

There are other more powerful statistics methods to analyse this. Would like to see and learn from others here.  biggrin.gif

Sharing here for those who are into numbers.

Cheerio.
you're the best boss thumbsup.gif notworthy.gif
glad to see u..
rarely see u active nowadays...

nexona88
post Feb 22 2020, 04:54 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,418 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Feb 22 2020, 04:03 PM)
I'm on shariah plan, why its lower ?
just curious..
mind asking the reason why u pick shariah EPF? instead the "normal" one?
hmm.gif

I assuming u non-muslim btw devil.gif
GrumpyNooby
post Feb 22 2020, 04:56 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Feb 22 2020, 04:54 PM)
just curious..
mind asking the reason why u pick shariah EPF? instead the "normal" one?
hmm.gif

I assuming u non-muslim btw  devil.gif
Nothing to be curious. He has been pro-Shariah if you read his posts in robo-advisor investment.

This post has been edited by GrumpyNooby: Feb 22 2020, 04:57 PM
nexona88
post Feb 22 2020, 05:01 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,418 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Feb 22 2020, 04:56 PM)
Nothing to be curious. He has been pro-Shariah if you read his posts in robo-advisor investment.
HE? confused.gif
Not SHE devil.gif

oh so He pro-Shariah..
okay. don't follow updates from him...

GrumpyNooby
post Feb 22 2020, 05:02 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Feb 22 2020, 05:01 PM)
HE?  confused.gif
Not SHE  devil.gif

oh so He pro-Shariah..
okay. don't follow updates from him...
His signature said he's not female and stopping calling him "Sis".
I think I saw relatively similar style from another forumer too. Cannot remember who.

This post has been edited by GrumpyNooby: Feb 22 2020, 05:03 PM
nexona88
post Feb 22 2020, 05:04 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,418 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Feb 22 2020, 05:02 PM)
His signature said he's not female and stopping calling him "Sis".
I think I saw relatively similar style from another forumer too. Cannot remember who.
okay.
whatever tongue.gif

anyway..
those interested on the history / graph of EPF rate

MUM
post Feb 22 2020, 05:07 PM

14,855 posts

QUOTE(XweienX @ Feb 22 2020, 04:47 PM)
All of you sifus are much more experienced than I am so I would like to ask for your opinions and insights.

I was just thinking about how in the recent years more and more people are going into freelancing and the gig economy (full time Grab/Foodpanda etc.) and as far as I know they don't have compulsory EPF deductions. Will this mean that EPF will have lesser capital (or slower capital growth) in the future?

Since I myself only do self contributions for my EPF, should I reduce the amount and put it somewhere else?
how many of the population is in these gig profession?
even in these gig profession/freelancing...they too can contribute to EPF if they want.

how many of the EPF contributors are active one?
they and those that are not active but has epf saving will see their saved sums increases yearly (thru monthly contribution and yearly dividend reinvestment).....this increase will grows the EPF fund size.

NO, I don't see EPF will have lesser capital (or slower capital growth) in the future (not at least in the next 20 yrs) to be of concern,
but in a much longer term,...if that trend were to continue, then it will be, for based on data by the Employees Provident Fund (EPF), the growing gig economy and an ageing population are expected to cause a decline in the percentage of workers contributing to the fund.

the more of a concern is, are those in the gig profession saved enough for their own retirement?

should you reduce the EPF contribution amount and put it somewhere else?
Only if you know where and how to place that money.....

Gig economy: Pitfalls and opportunities
https://www.malaymail.com/news/malaysia/201...unities/1817211

This post has been edited by MUM: Feb 22 2020, 05:13 PM
nexona88
post Feb 22 2020, 05:11 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,418 posts

QUOTE(ginateo99 @ Feb 22 2020, 02:26 PM)
still unable to log on kwsp online account...
worry they calculate wrong or your $$ missing huh tongue.gif

chill tomorrow can check out if still problem...
cybpsych
post Feb 22 2020, 05:15 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

EPF DELIVERS SOLID PERFORMANCE IN LIGHT OF CHALLENGING 2019
Strategic Asset Allocation proves value in challenging environment
Fixed Income provided stability amidst volatility
Assets under management grew to RM924.75 billion
Launch of i-Invest platform sees encouraging take-up by 10,000 members

https://www.kwsp.gov.my/en/-/epf-delivers-s...hallenging-2019

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Feb 22 2020, 05:19 PM
SUSyklooi
post Feb 22 2020, 05:22 PM

8,188 posts

MTUC says EPF dividend rate fair in view of economic challenges
https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2020...omic-challenges
Azury36
post Feb 22 2020, 05:27 PM

242 posts

Lol so much different between last year and this year.

I think the Gov pushing so hard to get 5.45% which more than it should be
MUM
post Feb 22 2020, 05:30 PM

14,855 posts

EPF’s equity investment income shrinks 24% in 2019
https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/epfs...shrinks-24-2019

vivekprasad87
post Feb 22 2020, 05:34 PM

19 posts

Please help to understand, I thought the divident is calculated based on the total until December 2019, is it not the case?

My total is lot less than what is to be gotten for 5.45%.
Azury36
post Feb 22 2020, 05:34 PM

242 posts

The gov under PH really doing badly. The return should be more yet they give so little dividend.

What is hope is no hope, hope now become dreams

If next season remain the same we could conclude the gov under PH is not competent
Songchien
post Feb 22 2020, 05:35 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(vivekprasad87 @ Feb 22 2020, 05:34 PM)
Please help to understand, I thought the divident is calculated based on the total until December 2019, is it not the case?

Same. Anyone knows the reason?
Azury36
post Feb 22 2020, 05:36 PM

242 posts

QUOTE(vivekprasad87 @ Feb 22 2020, 05:34 PM)

The calculation starts from last year announcements of dividend. You could get roughly the figure
kingz113
post Feb 22 2020, 05:40 PM

323 posts

QUOTE(XweienX @ Feb 22 2020, 07:47 PM)

You raised an good point.

In fact, EPF CEO himself feels the same and state EPF may cease to exist in our time. I own my own biz and I contribute a big zero to my EPF.

https://www.edgeprop.my/content/1497478/epf...e-%E2%80%94-ceo

vivekprasad87
post Feb 22 2020, 05:41 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(Azury36 @ Feb 22 2020, 05:36 PM)
The calculation starts from last year announcements of dividend. You could get roughly the figure
Could you please help to elaborate a bit. Not understanding.

1302 Pages « < 201 202 203 204 205 > » Top

0.0170sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:21 PM