Wedchar2912
post Jun 26 2026, 11:55 AM
W
4,302 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 26 2026, 11:30 AM)
Very confusing...

One side said No merged... can see separately...

Another one saying Consolidated for withdrawal....
"At age 60, all savings in Akaun 55 and Akaun Emas will be consolidated for Age 60 withdrawal"
"Pada umur 60 tahun, kesemua simpanan yang terkumpul dalam Akaun 55 dan Akaun Emas akan digabungkan untuk Pengeluaran Umur 60 Tahun"

i copied the texts from kwsp website https://www.kwsp.gov.my/en/member/life-stag...5-60-withdrawal

when reading the two versions (luckily kwsp uses proper bahasa baku style, so my old SPM BM can still be used... lol)... digabungkan... can actually mean to be combined or considered for withdrawal... like 3 bil ini boleh digabungkan and dibayar sekali...

The english version really gives me the impression that "both Akaun 55 and Akaun Emas will be considated" means combined into one account.... but the real full sentence is "...all savings in Akaun 55 and Akaun Emas will be consolidated for Age 60 withdrawal"... the words "all savings in" and "for Age 60 withdrawal" purpose kicks in also.
It never says will be consolidated for all purposes... just for Age 60 withdrawal... if you get what I mean.
Its almost like too many cooks in the pot, coming out with this feature and could not get every stakeholders to sign off... (those in large corp will understand what I mean)
ryder_78
post Jun 26 2026, 12:36 PM
R
2,337 posts

Male
I suspect the confusion lies in 'savings' and 'accounts' where the terms are different. Of course after 60 one can withdraw all the funds in both accounts already, hence the description of 'all savings in Akaun 55 and Akaun Emas are consolidated for withdrawal'.

As for the two accounts Akaun 55 and Akaun Emas, only those who are above 60 would know, though from the responses on this thread it looks like both accounts are still separate and maintained after 60 and not merged into one. If Akaun 55 and Akaun Emas are still maintained after 60, that means the savings in each account are actually not combined or consolidated together and are still separated in each account. It's just that all the funds in both accounts can be withdrawn at any time already after 60.
beLIEve
post Jun 27 2026, 10:06 AM
B
三軍都督
8,020 posts

Male
QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Jun 26 2026, 11:55 AM)
(luckily kwsp uses proper bahasa baku style, so my old SPM BM can still be used... lol)
isn't bahasa baku for pronunciation only and made famous by our current PM?
ronnie
post Jun 27 2026, 10:41 AM

Not enough stars
21,647 posts

Male

Gabung untuk withdrawal saje

We assume having akaun jugak - this where it’s assumed wrongly
Wedchar2912
post Jun 27 2026, 11:53 AM
W
4,302 posts

QUOTE(beLIEve @ Jun 27 2026, 10:06 AM)
isn't bahasa baku for pronunciation only and made famous by our current PM?
nope. it is what last time they called standard malay.... it includes sentence construction, spelling, etc...

i guess the misconception is due to school teachers focusing on the pronunciation to match the spelling.
nexona88
post Jul 6 2026, 03:38 PM

The Royal Club Member
49,629 posts

A total of RM46.3 million in retirement savings has been transferred under the Employees Provident Fund's (EPF) i-Legacy initiative to help younger family members build their retirement nest egg. 63 applications under the initiative, introduced on Feb 1, had been approved, benefiting 86 recipients.

A total of 3.04 million active Employees Provident Fund (EPF) members aged 18 to 60, or 38.3 per cent of 7.94 million, have reached the basic savings target of RM390,000 at age 60 as of May 31. This marked an improvement from 35 per cent, or 2.71 million members out of 7.74 million, recorded in the same category as of May 31, 2025.

https://www.nst.com.my/news/nation/2026/07/...irement-savings

https://www.nst.com.my/news/nation/2026/07/...-savings-target
xin123
post Jul 6 2026, 05:24 PM

32 posts

it says here that both accounts are different but will be merged when reach 60 years old. on https://rates.my/epf-withdrawal

if contributing to account 60 when still 55-59 years, still cant withdraw.

Happy saving!

MUM
post Jul 7 2026, 06:10 AM
M
15,435 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ Jun 24 2026, 04:10 PM)
Any news on buying medical card with epf money with no look back policy?
QUOTE(MGM @ Jun 25 2026, 09:06 AM)
That article said next year launching, now trialling.
Maybe this is related as it did not mentioned "can use epf money to pay"
Latest update as per July 6, 2026, from
https://www.bharian.com.my/berita/nasional/...n-dan-kesihatan

Kerajaan akan perkenal Pelan Insurans/Takaful Perubatan dan Kesihatan Asas Januari depan

I read this latest article, but I seems to cannot locate that previously mentioned "no look back policy" on application but only when unintentionly omitted during application and after holding that policy for certain XX period.

From that article,
"BNM juga sedang mempertimbang pelaksanaan moratorium keseluruhan ke atas tuntutan bagi memperkukuh lagi perlindungan kepada pemegang polisi.

"Ini bermaksud, ITO tidak boleh menolak tuntutan atas alasan penyakit sedia ada yang tidak didedahkan secara tidak sengaja, selepas seseorang mempunyai perlindungan insurans atau takaful bagi tempoh tertentu yang berterusan," katanya.

So, if Applicants omitted in the intial application that he had been diagnosed for X diseases, had treatment made in the last 5-7 years or less (or <10 yrs), can still claim "unintentional omitted" or will be viewed as "omitted with intention to deceives" by FMOS too?

Hopefully by the time they announced it (next year), more officially announced details will be available

This post has been edited by MUM: Jul 7 2026, 07:27 AM
MUM
post Jul 7 2026, 06:40 AM
M
15,435 posts

QUOTE(xin123 @ Jul 6 2026, 05:24 PM)
it says here that both accounts are different but will be merged when reach 60 years old. on https://rates.my/epf-withdrawal

if contributing to account 60 when still 55-59 years, still cant withdraw.

Happy saving!
The generally agreed concensus are as per post 28202 by ryder_78,
And post 28136 by Koja6049 for "actual" transaction movement details of both accounts after age 60.

This post has been edited by MUM: Jul 7 2026, 06:42 AM
Wedchar2912
post Jul 7 2026, 12:19 PM
W
4,302 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jul 7 2026, 06:10 AM)
Maybe this is related as it did not mentioned "can use epf money to pay"
Latest update as per July 6, 2026,  from
https://www.bharian.com.my/berita/nasional/...n-dan-kesihatan

Kerajaan akan perkenal Pelan Insurans/Takaful Perubatan dan Kesihatan Asas Januari depan

I read this latest article, but I seems to cannot locate that previously mentioned "no look back policy" on application but only when unintentionly omitted during application and after holding that policy for certain XX period.

From that article,
"BNM juga sedang mempertimbang pelaksanaan moratorium keseluruhan ke atas tuntutan bagi memperkukuh lagi perlindungan kepada pemegang polisi.

"Ini bermaksud, ITO tidak boleh menolak tuntutan atas alasan penyakit sedia ada yang tidak didedahkan secara tidak sengaja, selepas seseorang mempunyai perlindungan insurans atau takaful bagi tempoh tertentu yang berterusan," katanya.

So, if Applicants omitted in the intial application that he had been diagnosed for X diseases, had treatment made in the last 5-7 years or less (or <10 yrs), can still claim "unintentional omitted" or will be viewed as "omitted with intention to deceives" by FMOS too?

Hopefully by the time they announced it (next year), more officially announced details will be available
This part... previously, i thought most people will know what illness they have... but turns out not true...

eg: i've met aunties previous who really didn't know what illness they have. A diabetic aunty didn't realize she was diabetic but she knows she has to take medication as pre instructed by her doctor and enforced by her daughter. the aunty happily eat whatever she likes and telling people she is healthy.

another didnt even realize that she had cataract and even had the surgery to remove the cataract.... but she didn't realize the surgery was to fix her cataract issue. When I asked her why she did the surgery, its cos her "sister-friends" all went and she join in the fun. Plus the doctor is very cute and kind to ladies. I was like.... in shock.

So these aunties, if they didn't declare, I hope BNM stance is "unintentional omitted"....
MUM
post Jul 7 2026, 02:03 PM
M
15,435 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Jul 7 2026, 12:19 PM)
This part... previously, i thought most people will know what illness they have... but turns out not true...

eg: i've met aunties previous who really didn't know what illness they have. A diabetic aunty didn't realize she was diabetic but she knows she has to take medication as pre instructed by her doctor and enforced by her daughter. the aunty happily eat whatever she likes and telling people she is healthy.
( looks like Q3 of this questionaire can probe and provide clearer intent of applicant.  (Do note wording, "other than common flu / cold)).
another didnt even realize that she had cataract and even had the surgery to remove the cataract.... but she didn't realize the surgery was to fix her cataract issue. When I asked her why she did the surgery, its cos her "sister-friends" all went and she join in the fun. Plus the doctor is very cute and kind to ladies. I was like.... in shock.
( looks like Q4 of this questionaire can probe and provide clearer intent of applicant. (Cataract is day surgery)).
So these aunties, if they didn't declare, I hope BNM stance is "unintentional omitted"....
This post has been edited by MUM: Jul 7 2026, 02:11 PM

Wedchar2912
post Jul 7 2026, 02:23 PM
W
4,302 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jul 7 2026, 02:03 PM)
yeah, but would these aunties know the meaning/difference? that aunty i mentioned didn't even know she had a cataract surgery done on her both eyes... I asked if she didn't realize the doc operated on her eyes... she said she thought the doc was doing testing/evaluation on her eyes and her eye sight improved after that...
(sometimes I envy these people... happy happy blissfully follow do something and didn't know much.... i would worry about any complications)

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Jul 7 2026, 02:51 PM
MUM
post Jul 7 2026, 03:15 PM
M
15,435 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Jul 7 2026, 02:23 PM)
yeah, but would these aunties know the meaning/difference? that aunty i mentioned didn't even know she had a cataract surgery done on her both eyes... I asked if she didn't realize the doc operated on her eyes... she said she thought the doc was doing testing/evaluation on her eyes and her eye sight improved after that...
(sometimes I envy these people... happy happy blissfully follow do something and didn't know much.... i would worry about any complications)
I guess,
If/when that occurs, ....perhaps FMOS, could tell them what had happened and the consequences of their "ignorance" actions
MUM
post Jul 10 2026, 10:51 PM
M
15,435 posts

Some latest data from Dewan Rakyat as published on 10/7/2016

https://www.sinarharian.com.my/article/7872...akaun-fleksibel

A total of 4.7 million Employees Provident Fund (EPF) members have not made withdrawals from their Flexible Accounts due to their savings balance being zero or too low, below the minimum amount of RM50 for withdrawal.

The Ministry of Finance informed that this number represents 56 percent of the 8.4 million members who did not make any withdrawals for the period May 2024 to October 2025 based on the research report Enduring Today, Shaping Tomorrow: Flexible Accounts as a Financial Lifeline for Wellbeing published last April.

According to him, the remaining 3.7 million members, representing 44 percent, have sufficient savings but choose to maintain their savings.

"The same report also shows that members who make Flexible Account withdrawals use this facility primarily to support living needs and manage daily expenses.

"Among the main purposes of expenditure is to meet daily needs, followed by healthcare expenses and debt repayment," he said in a written reply in the Dewan Rakyat on Thursday.

In the meantime, ....

Sebanyak RM19.87 bilion dikeluarkan daripada Akaun Fleksibel Kumpulan Wang Simpanan Pekerja (KWSP) oleh 5.5 juta ahli, setakat 31 Mei lalu.
Kementerian Kewangan memaklumkan, baki simpanan dalam akaun itu hingga tempoh sama adalah sebanyak RM14.36 bilion.

Berdasarkan laporan penyelidikan "Enduring Today, Shaping Tomorrow: Akaun Fleksibel as a Financial Lifeline for Wellbeing" yang diterbitkan pada April lalu, statistik bagi tempoh kajian dari Mei 2024 hingga Oktober 2025 mendapati kira-kira 37 peratus (lima juta ahli) membuat sekurang-kurangnya satu pengeluaran daripada Akaun Fleksibel, manakala 63 peratus (8.4 juta ahli) tidak membuat sebarang pengeluaran.

"Dalam kalangan ahli yang tidak membuat pengeluaran, sebanyak 44 peratus mempunyai baki simpanan mencukupi tetapi memilih untuk mengekalkan simpanan mereka, manakala 56 peratus pula tidak membuat pengeluaran disebabkan baki simpanan dalam Akaun Fleksibel adalah sifar atau terlalu rendah, iaitu di bawah amaun minimum RM50 untuk pengeluaran.
https://www.bharian.com.my/berita/nasional/...eksibel-setakat

This post has been edited by MUM: Yesterday, 07:26 AM

0.0247sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th July 2026 - 05:45 PM