EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

nexona88
post Oct 30 2025, 10:18 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Oct 30 2025, 09:58 PM)
Was having similar thoughts as you, but then the tone of the article is sounded slightly impatient (about aging society) and the suggestions of only starting withdrawal from 65...
It is as if Malaysia really need to reign in the withdrawals by those members between 50 to 65... and in the same time asking for official retirement age to be pushed to 65 asap.

If they do know something that we don't (maybe the world bank have some super powderful statistical tool or forecasting method), it would make sense to force the issue and just make the changes on everyone by 2026.
Maybe they saw the information about latest birth rates in Malaysia???

Outflows of professionals to developed countries.... Brain drain issues...

Then government burden on pensions??

Stagnant wages over the years...

All lead to proposal of higher age for withdrawal??? Aging Nation issues pops up......
virtualgay
post Oct 30 2025, 10:52 PM

3,268 posts

I don't mind 60 years old full withdrawal as that is the official retirement age of Malaysia

65 is a little overkill
magika
post Oct 30 2025, 10:54 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ Oct 30 2025, 10:52 PM)
I don't mind 60 years old full withdrawal as that is the official retirement age of Malaysia

65 is a little overkill
It's so that you will die before retirement fund finished.

kelvinfixx
post Oct 30 2025, 10:58 PM

1,589 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Oct 30 2025, 06:34 PM)
Not all people can lives beyond 60.
Wedchar2912
post Oct 30 2025, 11:04 PM

3,623 posts

QUOTE(kelvinfixx @ Oct 30 2025, 10:58 PM)
Not all people can lives beyond 60.
i think gov of the worlds and the world bank do not think like us...
why? cos dead people can't complain... the living later will say it is a great idea...

they (govs and world bank) seems to care more about your retirement funds outliving you...
nexona88
post Oct 31 2025, 06:45 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ Oct 30 2025, 10:52 PM)

65 is a little overkill
Agreed....

65 full withdrawal is kinda extreme already....

Report saying Malaysian average lifespan is around 72 or 73 for male...

So for this group... Only few years to enjoy the $$$??

Female is little better... Average is 80... So got little longer time period....
romuluz777
post Oct 31 2025, 07:03 AM

2,215 posts

This is gonna apply only to new members. If they enforce it all current members especially those who are close to retirement, sure kecoh.
Applying this to new members ensure minimal fuss and resistance from the public.
nexona88
post Oct 31 2025, 08:44 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Oct 31 2025, 07:03 AM)
This is gonna apply only to new members. If they enforce it all current members especially those who are close to retirement, sure kecoh.
Applying this to new members ensure minimal fuss and resistance from the public.
Existing members have options to opt in or not with this new withdrawal timeline...

But personally I think everyone won't accept that
BenChiew
post Oct 31 2025, 09:11 AM

343 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 31 2025, 08:44 AM)
Existing members have options to opt in or not with this new withdrawal timeline...

It is hard to implement a system when the majority chooses not to understand or unable to understand.
BenChiew
post Oct 31 2025, 09:12 AM

343 posts

https://www.malaymail.com/news/what-you-thi...obox=1761870089

Pareto rule applies here. There is no point in applying what the world bank suggest to existing accounts. There is no time to build up. Perhaps on accounts of below 35, there will be no appreciable benefits.
Unless we move away from the low wage economy, the majority will still be in this predicament.

This post has been edited by BenChiew: Oct 31 2025, 09:13 AM
jasontoh
post Oct 31 2025, 09:50 AM

8,432 posts

Can see them trying to lock the funds longer if not forever. Recently I talk to people from the finance line, they all generally agree that most if not all pension/retirement funds are Ponzi scheme by nature, thus when "uplline" more than "downline" (aka aging society), will start to lock or can withdraw via installment or maybe incentivize people putting in longer than expected. But these funds will not crashed like Ponzi scheme because it will mean the demise of the country/government and a reset is due.

Although my plan is never to withdraw all, but rather just the dividend for my expenses, I will prefer it as and option instead of enforce. Once enforced, many people will think the time is up.
terriblyrawtea
post Oct 31 2025, 10:16 AM

100 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Oct 31 2025, 09:50 AM)
Can see them trying to lock the funds longer if not forever. Recently I talk to people from the finance line, they all generally agree that most if not all pension/retirement funds are Ponzi scheme by nature, thus when "uplline" more than "downline" (aka aging society), will start to lock or can withdraw via installment or maybe incentivize people putting in longer than expected. But these funds will not crashed like Ponzi scheme because it will mean the demise of the country/government and a reset is due.

Although my plan is never to withdraw all, but rather just the dividend for my expenses, I will prefer it as and option instead of enforce. Once enforced, many people will think the time is up.
this is mainly an issue for countries with social pension program kan?
nexona88
post Oct 31 2025, 10:25 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

Probably one of the reasons why now need foreign workers in Malaysia to contribute EPF???

Malaysian alone cannot sustain the $$$??? And burden??

If they really want more $$$... Then abolish the 100k caps...
I'm sure there's people willing to dump more because they have high trust on EPF....
poco loco
post Oct 31 2025, 10:28 AM

611 posts

may 2025 isaraan rm 500 from gov also not yet masuk ni
any1 the same
nexona88
post Oct 31 2025, 11:23 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(poco loco @ Oct 31 2025, 10:28 AM)
may 2025 isaraan rm 500 from gov also not yet masuk ni
any1 the same
This year is very special one...

Only those did contribution for January & February gets their rm500 or partially (if less 2.5k contribution)
MGM
post Oct 31 2025, 12:19 PM

18,412 posts

The people from the finance line u talked to r financial product pushers?
jasontoh
post Oct 31 2025, 12:34 PM

8,432 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Oct 31 2025, 12:19 PM)
The people from the finance line u talked to r financial product pushers?
No. Just friends and relatives.
Wedchar2912
post Oct 31 2025, 01:00 PM

3,623 posts

No lah... your relatives or friends probably didn’t explain properly what they meant by the “Ponzi scheme” nature (some also call it the “pyramid scheme” feature).
What they should really be saying is that most fund managers prefer having a net positive cash inflow from investors: cos money is fungible. And consistent inflow makes fund management much easier.

Naturally, a country like Malaysia, where our demographics are still decent (more of a beehive/mosque dome shape rather than a diamond shape), will provide that kind of steady inflow. Somehow, people associate this with pyramid scheme also???

Retirees know this monthly exercise all too well... haha.

For example. If I know every month I'll receive 100 million in contributions and only need to pay out 80 million, I just have to figure out what to do with the 20 million net inflow.
But if it’s the other way around, if need to pay out 120 million, then I’ll have to start thinking about what to liquidate, or whether the bond interest or Maybank dividends are coming in this month etc. Those cashflows can be lumpy at times.

Ayambetul
post Oct 31 2025, 01:44 PM

331 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 31 2025, 08:44 AM)

opposition can use this to challenge the government
Wedchar2912
post Oct 31 2025, 01:51 PM

3,623 posts

QUOTE(Ayambetul @ Oct 31 2025, 01:44 PM)
opposition can use this to challenge the government
hahaha... good one! haha

1307 Pages « < 1286 1287 1288 1289 1290 > » Top

0.0263sec    0.20    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:54 PM