15 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

plumberly
post Feb 3 2023, 12:09 PM

4,761 posts

Came back here to get the latest news on the important %. Not much chit chats this time. Strange.

One thing came to mind the other day. Hope the accounting/economic/money gurus here can help.

Say EPF only invests in one foreign share A. Q1, Q2 and Q3 results are all very good. But Q4 turns out very bad, negative.

A. Is annual return the sum of Q1, Q2, Q3 & Q4?

B. Or annual return = the difference between end of year and start of year balances? I think it should be this.

C. Problem with A is, Q1, Q2 & Q3 results may be very good due to the favourable exchange rate. But that gains are not realised at the end of the year when the exchange takes a big hit?

Cheerio.
plumberly
post Feb 3 2023, 12:35 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(Unkerpanjang @ Feb 3 2023, 12:15 PM)
Wah,
Bro Plumberly, been many moons..you not appear.
Moved to Aussie, NZ?
Happy belated New Year.
Ha ha. Decided to move back to Msia, my Boleh land. Ha.

Better and happier New Year 2023!!!
plumberly
post Feb 4 2023, 09:39 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Feb 4 2023, 08:52 AM)
Enough for my daily expenses and 2 yearly holidays.  tongue.gif
Multi millions in EPF! rclxms.gif thumbsup.gif
plumberly
post Feb 4 2023, 09:51 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Feb 3 2023, 03:05 PM)
A. Yes

B. Yes because their financial year is 2nd jan to 31 Dec

C. Not necessary because we won’t any see buy or sell by them in real time hence any FX gains only they will know about it but in the detail accounting should have rough indication on FX gains/losses

So any gains it will be realised immediately upon the dispose of the assets at real time FX rate

Year = Q1+Q2+Q3+Q4 is right to me if :
a. Qx = end of Qx - start of Qx
b. with realised gains and not just paper gains
c. ???

Opaque to me on how they calculate the Qx and year.
plumberly
post Feb 4 2023, 09:59 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Feb 3 2023, 03:21 PM)

***  Thanks.

EPF calculates based on realised gains or loss. So the gain is realized only when they sell Stock A, at whatever exchange rate it was sold at.

If the stock is down but they didnt sell the stock, they will mark the value down and take the mark down as a loss.

***  Meaning their Qx balance will use the actual end of Qx stock price?  Fair to me. But if the price drops a lot a week after that Q, susah lah. This will be reflected in the end of subsequent Q.
plumberly
post Feb 4 2023, 10:07 AM

4,761 posts

My gut feeling is 2nd or 3rd week Feb.

Happy >= 5.5%

Very happy >= 6%

Think the new govt will try to give us a good image and also to lay a good promising base for the coming state elections.

2022 is already over, so how can they improve the return? Smart accounting mah.
plumberly
post Feb 4 2023, 10:33 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Feb 4 2023, 10:05 AM)
And Ankle does not even like my post.  sad.gif

Then again my expenses may be very meagre.  laugh.gif
Ya, RM10,000 per month is little to you. And with your 2 yearly holidays to:

The Royal Suite at the Burj al Arab in Dubai

Presidential Suite at the Hotel Principe di Savoia in Milan, Italy

All free from your good friend EPF! The beauty of financial freedom! Enjoy!
plumberly
post Feb 4 2023, 02:02 PM

4,761 posts

Has anyone here got 2022 EPF Q1,2,3 figures, if you have them handy? Thanks. I dont follow EPF like before. Lazy beer in the cave drinking Carlsberg Smooth beer. Ha.
plumberly
post Feb 4 2023, 02:20 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(commonsense @ Feb 4 2023, 02:16 PM)
i remember q1,2,3 is not good. so the odd to match last year is very very very slim
Thanks. sweat.gif cry.gif
plumberly
post Feb 4 2023, 02:33 PM

4,761 posts

KUALA LUMPUR, 5 December 2022: The Employees Provident Fund (EPF) recorded a total gross investment income of RM39.31 billion for the nine months ended 30 September 2022 (9M 2022), a decrease of 18% or RM8.71 billion, compared to the RM48.02 billion recorded in the same period in 2021.

Total gross investment income for the third quarter (Q3 2022) ended 30 September 2022 amounted to RM12.32 billion, a decrease of RM1.65 billion or 12%, compared to RM13.97 billion in the corresponding period in 2021. However, this also represents an 11% improvement over Q2 2022.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Using Jan-Sep 2021 vs 2022 as a guide, a drop of 18%, assuming the same for the remaining 3 months, and the % is linear to the revenue, then we may get

6.15*0.82 = 5.05% for 2022.

Then no more beer but tap water in my cave.

Bad, bad, bad !!!!!

P/S From my old past analysis, the declared % and revenue are not 100% linear, at times, was lower than the % from the "% vs revenue" graph when revenue was high and sometimes higher % than what the "% vs revenue" graph says when revenue was lower. I guess some hidden fingers in there turning the % dice. Just hope that this time, the fingers will be in our favour!

This post has been edited by plumberly: Feb 4 2023, 03:15 PM
plumberly
post Feb 4 2023, 03:17 PM

4,761 posts

[quote=Unkerpanjang,Feb 4 2023, 03:14 PM]
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Using Jan-Sep 2021 vs 2022 as a guide, a drop of 18%, assuming the same for the remaining 3 months, and the % is linear to the revenue, then we may get

6.15*0.82 = 5.05% for 2022.

Then no more beer but tap water in my cave.

Bad, bad, bad !!!!!

[/quote]
Bro Plumberly, don't tipu....I'm sure there's more crates of Coopers n Great Northern in the cave you shipped back.

[/quote]
Dont tell everyone. Very limited stock.
plumberly
post Feb 4 2023, 04:08 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(Sihambodoh @ Feb 4 2023, 03:56 PM)
Was greedy then. Waiting for it to go lower. So I missed the boat. Thanks to the Fed for unlimited printing also.
Dont worry, another wave will be coming soon.
plumberly
post Feb 4 2023, 04:25 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(Sihambodoh @ Feb 4 2023, 04:17 PM)
Ya man, looking forward to it and will remind myself not to be greedy and start collecting when above 9%.
My 2 cents, instead of using your gut feeling or listening to others, use some numeric method to guide you. Of course, they will not be 100% right all the time. Methods like MACD, Bollinger bands, etc.,

May the "better and happier" force be with you!
plumberly
post Feb 5 2023, 09:07 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Feb 4 2023, 10:14 PM)

Won’t be so soon because bajet tabling 🤦‍♀️ Wait for early March instead

*** Mind sharing why budget can delay this %? Think they already have the % on paper, just waiting for green light to announce it. Unless they want to take some unannounced earning for the budget? I still think EPF and budget should be 2 separate things. If a high %, then announce it for the coming elections, if bad, time it to minimise negative impacts.

plumberly
post Feb 5 2023, 09:16 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(Ankle @ Feb 5 2023, 08:46 AM)
Its very hard to time the market.

Just look at the 5 or even 10 yr history of the stock price.

Buy at reasonable PE, buy gradually in tranches.

Have holding power , you will not go wrong.
Timing it down to the day or even week will be very very difficult, and rarely correct.

But ...

Timing it to get turning points (up or down) within weeks is possible and workable. The best is to be share specific (what you see in A will not be the same on B etc ) and stock market specific (KLCI, Nasdaq, etc).

My 2.88 cents.

plumberly
post Feb 5 2023, 10:14 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(Unkerpanjang @ Feb 5 2023, 09:25 AM)
I confident in Bro analysis, easily up  My 2.95 cents.
My richer bro!
plumberly
post Feb 6 2023, 12:47 PM

4,761 posts

Any EPF announcement on their system update? Bet that must be for our % updates. So please share here when you see that in their website. Thanks.
plumberly
post Feb 13 2023, 09:40 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(Unkerpanjang @ Feb 13 2023, 09:31 AM)
Just gimme, 6.x% over next couple of years...this will allow me to finally be inducted into KWSP Big Boys Club.

Kamsiah,
Minimum qualification for the Big Boys Club?

See how many more decades I need to get there. bye.gif confused.gif

plumberly
post Feb 13 2023, 10:35 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(netcrawler @ Feb 13 2023, 10:29 AM)
Big boy club should be over 10 million
Then change my decade to century. bangwall.gif
plumberly
post Feb 13 2023, 04:09 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(netcrawler @ Feb 13 2023, 11:04 AM)
Double post
I dont understand this.

15 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0518sec    0.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:29 AM