EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

SUSyklooi
post Oct 28 2021, 05:37 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Oct 28 2021, 05:35 PM)
At least 60% of the market is by controlled by them

A very simple example if EPF owns 7% direct interest in a company expect 35% is controlled by GLC
exclude the ASNB, Kwap and TH? or includes all of it?
SUSyklooi
post Oct 28 2021, 05:43 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Oct 28 2021, 05:41 PM)
Are they GLCs?  doh.gif Of course includes of all of them

As long as 1/3 is controlled by GLC and with the founder or owner holding 10% at least it is already controlled by GLCs and no way retail or private institutions can try to takeover
it is not about the control of companies,.. doh.gif
.i think what MUM referred is the control of BURSA in terms of market capitalisation....
how much $$ actually inside BURSA are theirs (them).

This post has been edited by yklooi: Oct 28 2021, 05:46 PM
SUSyklooi
post Oct 28 2021, 05:52 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 28 2021, 05:25 PM)
that is old story,  doh.gif  most already knew.  doh.gif
..do you have any idea of the % controlled?
with your below post
so you also don't know the answer as posted by MUM doh.gif

QUOTE(xander83 @ Oct 28 2021, 05:49 PM)
A very simple example take Bursa Top 30 and you will know how many %

The control of companies is just a simple example only for illustration  doh.gif
This post has been edited by yklooi: Oct 28 2021, 05:52 PM
SUSyklooi
post Oct 28 2021, 06:06 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Oct 28 2021, 06:00 PM)
In Malaysia, representing developing countries, it was observed that institutional investors held 51% of shares in the 10 largest companies listed on Bursa Malaysia (Saleh, Zulkifli, & Muhamad, 2010). Furthermore, 70% of total institutional shareholdings belong to the five largest government-controlled institutional investors, namely the Employees Provident Fund (EPF), Lembaga Tabung Angkatan Tentera (LTAT) or Armed Forces Fund Board, Permodalan Nasional Berhad (PNB), Lembaga Tabung Haji (LTH), and National Social Security Organization of Malaysia (SOCSO)

Don’t forget indirect or nominee interest as there is more than you think under the surface  doh.gif
the total capitalization of these 10 largest companies listed on Bursa Malaysia is how many % of total BURSA capitalization??
from there then maybe can get an idea of the total % of BURSA capitalizations are controlled by them

51% of shares in the 10 largest companies listed on Bursa Malaysia...does not answers hat MUM seek to ask doh.gif
SUSyklooi
post Oct 28 2021, 06:16 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Oct 28 2021, 06:12 PM)
No one is able to deep dive because of indirect interest or nominee particularly small caps hence you won’t be able to get the full data but just indication of it  doh.gif
so MUM still unable to get a direct answers then doh.gif
SUSyklooi
post Nov 18 2021, 02:27 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Nov 18 2021, 01:53 PM)
dividend announcement is in 3 months time. do u think EPF payout more than 6% next year ?
Govt had been mentioning that a very high % of contributors has little savings in EPF....
if they are sincere and serious in "helping",...then 6% is possible....
but then it also has to depends "if" the inside still has surplus money inside or not. innocent.gif
SUSyklooi
post Nov 19 2021, 03:37 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(TheEquatorian @ Nov 19 2021, 03:03 PM)
http://dlvr.it/SCb8SB?fbclid=IwAR2Qng32tCv...vt0YmQsrdDDVBhM

It may be the case if they want to promote people to keep funds in EPF. Has the assets been flat y-o-y with the withdrawals? The need to have liquidity to cover withdrawal schemes won’t help.
Dividend pay out is "Should be" from realised profits.. How much they want to realise is up to them..
Also, the case of TH,... Had been giving dividend out of the assets itself too.
The money for withdrawal schemes does not come from the realised profits....

SUSyklooi
post Dec 1 2021, 12:45 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Dec 1 2021, 12:29 PM)
https://ipaper.thesundaily.my/epaper/viewer...%20Daily#page/2

with 73% contributors below the poverty line and only 3% meets the criteria of RM240k by 55 years old, has EPF as a whole failed?
https://www.kwsp.gov.my/about-epf/corporate...ation-structure
if there are RM800b with 14mil members, that's averaging RM57k per member. that doesn't seems too bad right?

but recent reports actually suggest that they have close to RM1tril
https://www.kwsp.gov.my/annualreport2019/index-en.html
and pls take note active members are only about half of the total members:
https://www.kwsp.gov.my/member/overview
I can't find the data on saving amount of contributors of age from 35 to 45 age.
Age 24 to 34 may not have accumulated enough, age 46 to 55 may also not accumulated enough due to their low pay amount when they are young n monies taken out to buy properties
SUSyklooi
post Dec 29 2021, 10:14 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(plc255 @ Dec 29 2021, 10:06 AM)
If there is such a term applicable to EPF as "you tak suka you keluar", then the following is the size of the that action :-
Which means high value account holders or retirees who continue to leave the money inside EPF hold a 27% sway overall to the total size of EPF.
I guess this partly explained why EPF had not been saying much on the matter of tier dividend, as it would have been a politically landmine..

It may had been cheap for the politician to say, but EPF would view the lost of RM270 billion walking out of EPF very differently. This can cause a serious implication unimaginable to the KLSE market, MGS and various other bond market especially if all the withdrawal hit around the same time. EPF cannot pay the people who withdraw in specie, hence they have to cash out of all these investment to raise the RM270 billion cash to pay into all these people who want to withdraw.

If this causes the market to dip or panic given the size of the withdrawal, it may just cause the next financial trouble for the country.
Judging just from the responses in the asn fp threads,... Many are still happy with even below 5% dividend, and there isn't much mention of investors rushing to sell of their units.
SUSyklooi
post Dec 29 2021, 07:44 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(brando_w @ Dec 29 2021, 07:41 PM)
What are the odds of EPF act being amended to say, withdrawal age is pushed backwards to 60/65 year old?

The 1M threshold could also possibly be increased.

I think withdrawing everything above 1M is not a bad idea; looking at the direction this country is going…
currently EPF has 3 withdrawals conditions...
one upon reaching 50,
one upon reaching 55 and
one upon reaching 60...

so what do you think of the chances of another one at 65?

SUSyklooi
post Dec 29 2021, 08:49 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(brando_w @ Dec 29 2021, 08:38 PM)
Probably the time is ripe for a privately run; independent retirement fund to be set up…
Currently Malaysia is also having Private Retirement Schemes. (PRS) is a voluntary long-term savings and investment scheme designed to help Malaysians save more for your retirement.
but i think if without the benefits of tax saving,...many would not want to go there...
SUSyklooi
post Dec 29 2021, 08:57 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(shamino_00 @ Dec 29 2021, 08:48 PM)
I hope not. Other then putting conditions, EPF need creates value to entice people to keep their savings longer past the withdrawal age.

By prudently managing their savings/investment giving a good rate of return. The lowest cost of operational cost, so value can return to members. Provide efficient and competent service, professional manage and run.

Do not slaughter the goose that lays the golden egg for their retirement short term gain.

To keep the fund going, encourage the gig economy or mandate those outside the normal employment structure to participate like those part timers, self employed.

More savings campaign. Financial advice workshop run by EPF.

The idea, is people want to keep their money in EPF rather then take it out.
hmm.gif with current reported statistic,...i think would be tough...for with
just 65.4% of members has less than RM 37k inside....
and just 80% of members has about RM 81.4k inside

SUSyklooi
post Dec 29 2021, 09:02 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(brando_w @ Dec 29 2021, 08:53 PM)
PRS… probably should consider moving the funds there…
is the current returns in PRS "BETTER" than EPF??
how many % of the available PRS funds are "BETTER" than EPF rate?
what of your chances of getting and holding those PRS funds that can "BEAT" EPF rate?

This post has been edited by yklooi: Dec 29 2021, 09:05 PM
SUSyklooi
post Jan 17 2022, 05:34 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(TheEquatorian @ Jan 17 2022, 05:22 AM)
Does anyone have access to Cindy’s latest article? ”Would multimillionaire EPF savers help poorer members?”
How many are multi millionaires vs how many are poorer members?
Is that the root causes of the large variance or the root causes of being poorer members?
Cindy is just making "sensational" assumption stories to increase circulation....
SUSyklooi
post Jan 21 2022, 02:37 PM

8,188 posts

And yet there are postings of individuals doing self contributions....
Thy are not successful?
SUSyklooi
post Jan 27 2022, 11:24 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Jan 27 2022, 11:15 PM)
Should I withdraw my EPF and invest into property?
Is it a good time to do so, this year? Seeing inflation is inevitably coming.
newly launched or resale?
landed or stratafied?

This post has been edited by yklooi: Jan 27 2022, 11:24 PM
SUSyklooi
post Jan 27 2022, 11:32 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Jan 27 2022, 11:27 PM)
My hometown Kuching.
I only go for subsale, landed individual title, as Kuching landed properties appreciating healthily over the past 2-3 years. Looking to bid for an auction unit in town area, but would need to withdraw from EPF to do so.
Still contemplating whether should I just leave EPF savings alone, or use it to buy investment property, which can generate 4-5% rental income + capital appreciation.
you definitely have studied it,...
you definitely have more confident and knowledge in your area (Kuching) than most of us
you definitely know what you are doing than we know about yourself,....

EPF earn 5~6% pa
housing loan charges about 4%pa?
thus unless you have difficulty in getting that loan amount,....leave your money in EPF and get loan.

This post has been edited by yklooi: Jan 27 2022, 11:35 PM
SUSyklooi
post Jan 27 2022, 11:41 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(sg8989 @ Jan 27 2022, 11:37 PM)
and EPF no processing fees right?  tongue.gif
when can untung,...who cares about that loan processing fees.... smile.gif

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Jan 27 2022, 11:37 PM)
Yes, housing loan charges 2.9% - 3% at the moment, but when buying a property you are leveraging on the bank's money. Putting in 40k + fees for 400k property. Any form of capital appreciation on the 400k unit (say 5% a year averagely) means your initial capital appreciates more than 5% already when you factor in the leverage.
that is why i mentioned earlier,...get loan leave $$ in EPF
SUSyklooi
post Jan 28 2022, 09:06 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Jan 28 2022, 09:02 AM)
That's true, however this time spotted an opportunity in Auction market, may need to liquidate some stocks/UT (however most are in deep red or fallen alot for past few weeks) or can only withdraw EPF for that reason.
In that case, given this 2 option,.... get from epf then
SUSyklooi
post Jan 28 2022, 09:14 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Jan 28 2022, 09:10 AM)
I have a question though, after withdrawing, I can re-deposit back right?
But when redepositing back, it will go back to 70:30 , Acc1:Acc2 ratio? Or I can choose to deposit into account 2 only (since the withdrawal was on acc2)?
You can deposit it back thru "self contribution" route at max 60k pa...
I read postings before, if I can recall correctly, that self contributed money, will go into both a/c,... Cannot select the a/c you want...

10 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 >Top

0.0434sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:28 AM