should i change my job?, as the topic says...

TSkosuke09211
post Feb 17 2013, 01:13 AM, updated 13y ago

409 posts

i currently work as a technician in some ramdom shop
the hour is long the salary is low only 1 day to rest a week
recently found a new job as a sales at some ramdom Video Game Store
the salary location is better then my old job
should i quit my job and take the new job?
TSkosuke09211
post Feb 17 2013, 06:03 PM

409 posts

bump!
TSkosuke09211
post Feb 17 2013, 08:08 PM

409 posts

QUOTE(fino_abama @ Feb 17 2013, 06:07 PM)
What is stopping you from changing to the new job?
parents think it's not worth ? Working At a Game Store is not good for my future
i'm now working in some random shop so that is good for my future?
TSkosuke09211
post Feb 17 2013, 08:12 PM

409 posts

QUOTE(skloda @ Feb 17 2013, 06:08 PM)
Change la.. Dun doubt dy ..since salary , location wise....
-_-my parents keep reject... what can i do after few years?
TSkosuke09211
post Feb 18 2013, 12:46 PM

409 posts

QUOTE(yuen1985 @ Feb 18 2013, 02:53 AM)
if you can find a better job, why not?
parents think it's not worth ? Working At a Game Store is not good for my future

QUOTE(Dry Pillow @ Feb 18 2013, 06:34 AM)
Find other job la. Video game does not give positive impression to some.
now in these days is hard to find a job espicially with someone with no "paper" in hand

QUOTE(faceless @ Feb 18 2013, 08:39 AM)
Tell parents this is straddle the cow to find the horse.

Yes I agree with parents. This sales assistant no future. What is important if you got more money. Maybe one day you with get enough experience to open your own shop.
but i dont think that working at my current company will fix the problem also =)

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Feb 18 2013, 08:48 AM)
what is the reason u dun want to take the new job ?  rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Feb 18 2013, 08:52 AM)
Your information is so vague..

'some random shop'?

hour is long?

Random video game store?
i already point the important stuff .. what do you wan ?
working hours 3 day 9hours /3 day 11hours no extra OT to claim

TSkosuke09211
post Feb 18 2013, 12:47 PM

409 posts

QUOTE(im.thetrader @ Feb 18 2013, 10:37 AM)
I used to be in your situation. My advice is learn as many technical skills u can, you can monetize it someday. Jaga Cyber cafe no prospect at all.
QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Feb 18 2013, 10:50 AM)
+1

TS,

Do not be penny wise pound foolish.

1) How long have you work at current job??

2) Have you learn all you could at current job??

Dreamer
i dont see what i can learn more all the things and skill at current company i already learn it
some i even learn fromt he internet when i was in high school
now my work is just everyday format install and format install dafuq?

1.i work for 1 year plus
2.maybe 90% of all

QUOTE(aiskrimcup @ Feb 18 2013, 10:56 AM)
Just pick the job, it is way better both salary and location wise. Get your parent these points. They'll understand.
try to Convince them still cant....

This post has been edited by kosuke09211: Feb 18 2013, 12:48 PM
TSkosuke09211
post Feb 18 2013, 12:50 PM

409 posts

QUOTE(pkiensing @ Feb 18 2013, 12:49 PM)
i think is best you ask yourself does the job give you a future?
secondly, do you have a future with the correct mindset?
ok then ask for your opinion working in some random IT shop it's also give me a future?
and for the second no i still dont have the correct mindset
TSkosuke09211
post Feb 18 2013, 01:14 PM

409 posts

QUOTE(pkiensing @ Feb 18 2013, 12:54 PM)
if you only thinking of having a good salary rather than thinking how to gain more salary then you should jumpship...
by end of the day your pricetag will be stagnant...
the better options is to plan what you trying to become...
Maybe one day a shop owner?
if so, what sacrifices do you willing to make?
save up RM1K per month?

Think about it bro...
for a month bacis just only 700 + some commision
how do i save money? i got my own bills /insurance /i also have to give my mother some money/also my bro and sis Pocket money
it's not enough to use i dont even own a car now!
and yes i was thinking doing my own buiness in 5 years from now!
as my dream is to be an IT engineering (not a programmer)
but due to my situition my parents doesn't have extra money for me to go college

TSkosuke09211
post Feb 18 2013, 05:09 PM

409 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Feb 18 2013, 01:56 PM)
hi kasoke,

You need to save hard and work hard.
Alot scarify you need to do and you must aware the surrounding happening. 
With the current salary you not going anywher but fall under low income ppl.
When the gov giving BR1M or implementation minimum wage rm900, do you go to applie/take?

you need to jump ship or equip urself with something. Keep finding and jumping.
i work my ass out everyday
but for some ppl just go and stab someone at the back he get all the credits
what can i do?
BR1M still under ages i'm only 20
for the implementation minimum wage i ask my boss multiple times she's did not give me any reply
TSkosuke09211
post Feb 18 2013, 05:13 PM

409 posts

QUOTE(pkiensing @ Feb 18 2013, 02:05 PM)
exactly... maybe can pause the insurance thing loh...
try to make up your saving and get a better paid job...
good luck bro~!
still seeking for now =(

QUOTE(im.thetrader @ Feb 18 2013, 02:33 PM)
Let me share my past experience with you. I used to be a technician just like you, format and install computer, but I do find some customers outside and help them format and install windows, sell them some hardware, i help them register streamyx P1, u can monetize from the knowledge and skill u have. I jaga cc before also, everyday deal with people like ' abang tambah 50cents 15minutes'
One more thing, i know my current boss by selling her printer, i changed my job in the end : )
i do all those things before selling parts to my outside customer
but one time i got caught my boss warn me if i do it again i will lose my job? dafuq is this?
and i'm not going to a cyber to work it's a video game shop

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Feb 18 2013, 03:17 PM)
what situation ?  sweat.gif
money issue =(

QUOTE(nekodaisuki @ Feb 18 2013, 03:33 PM)
let me tell u one thing. i shifted out since after spm. I started working in shopping malls too. Hopping from one shop to another for higher salary. In the end I just apply for Genting because accomodation and meals free. Now I'm back in KL and I'm ready to continue my studies part-time while working full-time office hour.

Understand yourself what do you want in 5 years time. Do you want to be a employer or employee and in what line? How old are you?
after 5 years i was thinking open my own shop
and i'm 20
TSkosuke09211
post Feb 18 2013, 06:47 PM

409 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Feb 18 2013, 05:14 PM)
Your company got give you leave every year and internet access.
Utilize the leave for interview and search jobstreet for vacancy.
Submit any job vacancy. Go for the interview, put your salary higher than current and put the reason looking for better opportunities.
internet oh ya for a 4mbps streamyx package
i can only get 1~30kb/s zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
i already try several interview for several job
some say i dont have any "paper" and some even i'm too young ...

QUOTE(nekodaisuki @ Feb 18 2013, 05:29 PM)
then you should start to think what shop you wanna open and how you are going to get loan approval.
go for a job that will provide you good pay with reliable payslip amount cashed into your bank account.
most of the jobs in shop do not provide payslip.
i was thinking to open a shop just to sell custom build pc
now my current job does provide a payslip

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Feb 18 2013, 05:55 PM)
u 20 and u working in aircon room and u got a problem  doh.gif 

when i was 15, i need to work illegally due to underage in a wooden factory and cycle a distance from my home
just to put food on the table and pay for rent .... 
my wish everyday was not get into accident like my other worker,  some of their finger got cut off while working by the machine

under the hot sun we carry timber into machinery to made into door and cut them with machine, no proctective gear
by the time i was 20+ i was so happily and buy a 1 way ticket to SG and so willing to take any toilet cleaning job  shakehead.gif

seriously u have a better life, ultilise it better  cool2.gif

when i'm was 12 i help my father work at a home Decoration
i have to move cement /bricks /steel bar and other stuff
i'm just trying to get a better life for me and my family
TSkosuke09211
post Feb 19 2013, 01:47 PM

409 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Feb 19 2013, 12:26 AM)
TS,

Working hard at earning PEANUTS is not going to get you any where.  Beyond of whether you should get a new job, you should THINK about acquiring Higher Value Skill and capability that will earn you a lot more.  Do you want to be at the same earning level in 5 years?

Dreamer
even that i have skills still no company wants me
all request a "paper"
and who wan earn the same earning level after five years?

QUOTE(Rao94 @ Feb 19 2013, 01:07 AM)
Stupid question..Plz use the brain.
if i got a answer for it why should i come here and ask ?
use your brain =)

QUOTE(ugmonk @ Feb 19 2013, 01:14 AM)
Actually you don't need to ask for other opinion. Just decide by yourself. smile.gif
i know but still cant decide what should i do

QUOTE(spiritualgambler @ Feb 19 2013, 08:06 AM)
Yup seems like something TS already have the decision before even opening the thread.
the main point i open this thread is to ask it is worth it ?
or should i go and look for a better job around me?
or try any other jobs?
TSkosuke09211
post Feb 19 2013, 03:53 PM

409 posts

QUOTE(charlie168 @ Feb 19 2013, 03:31 PM)
If you don't like the current situation (work), then no harm trying looking around and see what is available. You might find a new enviroment which you like.

If you dont have complaints, travel is near, flexi hours, salary and bonus is what you can accept. No stress. smile.gif
i will consider it thx for the advise =)

0.0173sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:27 AM