Technical Xbox 360 Dell 2405 fpw user, nid some suggestion

TSthaisxs
post Mar 31 2006, 12:08 PM, updated 20y ago

gay master
686 posts

Yo ...
want to ask this lcd izzit good enuf for 360 ?
about the respone time .... izzit affect alot in the game?
pls give me some idea ~ thx q laugh.gif
MK84
post Mar 31 2006, 12:10 PM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

I think zaakath and wel using this monitor.
zaakath
post Mar 31 2006, 12:19 PM

654 posts

QUOTE(thaisxs @ Mar 31 2006, 12:08 PM)
Yo ...
want to ask this lcd izzit good enuf for 360 ?
about the respone time .... izzit affect alot in the game?
pls give me some idea ~ thx q  laugh.gif
Its a good LCD and doesn't affect my games like ghosting. I like it cause I have do a picture within a picture to keep tabs between my pc and the xbox and I don't have to buy a switch as I use a component cable for the xbox360 and vga cable for my pc. You may want to wait for the 27" one which is inbetween the 30" and 24"
MK84
post Mar 31 2006, 12:25 PM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

New model of the 24" coming out also. 2407. 8ms response.
TSthaisxs
post Mar 31 2006, 12:31 PM

gay master
686 posts

QUOTE(zaakath @ Mar 31 2006, 12:19 PM)
Its a good LCD and doesn't affect my games like ghosting.  I like it cause I have do a picture within a picture to keep tabs between my pc and the xbox and I don't have to buy a switch as I use a component cable for the xbox360 and vga cable for my pc.  You may want to wait for the 27" one which is inbetween the 30" and 24"
wat about playing pc game .. got any ghosting or delay ?
i think 24" is more than enuf for me .. haha anyway thx for ur reply !!

QUOTE(MK84 @ Mar 31 2006, 12:25 PM)
New model of the 24" coming out also. 2407. 8ms response.
ya i know this . but they din state put the price =.=~~~~
zaakath
post Mar 31 2006, 12:53 PM

654 posts

QUOTE(thaisxs @ Mar 31 2006, 12:31 PM)
wat about playing pc game .. got any ghosting or delay ?
i think 24" is more than enuf for me .. haha anyway thx for ur reply !!
ya i know this . but they din state put the price =.=~~~~
I play Dungeon and Dragon Online, RF Online and City of Villians/Heroes and Guild Wars I don' notice any delay.
TSthaisxs
post Mar 31 2006, 12:56 PM

gay master
686 posts

QUOTE(zaakath @ Mar 31 2006, 12:53 PM)
I play Dungeon and Dragon Online, RF Online and City of Villians/Heroes and Guild Wars I don' notice any delay.
wah good good ... u gotta let my gabenor paper fly away cry.gif
arj
post Mar 31 2006, 12:58 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

The Dell 24" is RM3219 only at the moment shocking.gif
MK84
post Mar 31 2006, 02:46 PM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

Ya... I think Dell clearing stocks like what they did to the 2005.

Interesting, I just checked the site again and I noticed the 30" is no longer featured.

This post has been edited by MK84: Mar 31 2006, 02:46 PM
PrinceOfPersia
post Mar 31 2006, 02:58 PM

Hashsashin
1,038 posts

dell 19 ultrasharp (8ms) only RM1019? shocking.gif , my department bought 6 unit from dell last week with price RM1499 each shakehead.gif

welwitchia
post Mar 31 2006, 03:01 PM

1,219 posts

I think this monitor is suitable for those that can't afford (Zaakath excluded) a full blown LCD TV (e.g psp_boy & Stringfellow) but still wanna play in HD. With the PS3 on the horizon, u still have avalable inputs for it without having to swap cables..

In my case,
DVI = PC
Component = XBOX360
D-SUB/VGA = PS3 maybe?
Composite =
S-VIDEO =

I took a few pictures using my phone the other day, u might wanna check it out tongue.gif

MK84
post Mar 31 2006, 03:09 PM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

I think for PS3 you can use the DVI port. Get a HDMI to DVI cable.
welwitchia
post Mar 31 2006, 03:11 PM

1,219 posts

Yeah, but my DVI is used by my PC. Dont really wanna use D-SUB for my PC@ 1900*1200
QUOTE(MK84 @ Mar 31 2006, 03:09 PM)
I think for PS3 you can use the DVI port. Get a HDMI to DVI cable.
goodspeed
post Mar 31 2006, 03:13 PM

last weekend i saw some promotion going for Senq , RM 3000 for 23" Samsung LCD TV... too bad.. only limited to first 10 customers..

i believe if they can give this kind of discount... the price would be a norm in coming months...
psp _BOY
post Mar 31 2006, 03:14 PM

I've been lying wide awake paralyzed
1,978 posts

well my cuz uses this with his xbox and i have to say its great

he also plays guild wars and WoW on it
and no slow response

24" is great enuf
when i play on a 27" lcd it feels to big
and was thinking that 21"-24" would do the trick

for a cheap LCD tv/monitor try the 26" Benq
last time i saw at our usual shop it was bout 3-4K

my TV was bought at 3900k

dunno why that store cheaper than others

42" HD Pioneer is at 13k

heheeh

but the benq is nice

and this one is well great for the average guy smile.gif
hikaru_x
post Mar 31 2006, 03:21 PM

161 posts

eh wel, how bout blackness level on the 24" ultrasharp?

im using 3rd party vga cable on 17" dell analogue lcd. 2 problems: the colours are abit screwed/washed out (vga cable problem) and white light leaking when the screen is black. will try to get some shots later when i get back.

This post has been edited by hikaru_x: Mar 31 2006, 03:22 PM
Darkchaser
post Mar 31 2006, 03:25 PM

522 posts

psp boy, you're only 13 and you're talking about buying stuff worth 3K?? I'm already working and can barely afford anything above 2K.. sweat.gif laugh.gif Can I be your abang angkat ah?? Seems your parents are very generous tongue.gif

Anyhoos, I guess if you have the dough, the 24" would be an excellent buy since you can't get that kind of price anywhere else. But if you're on a budget, I'd highly recommend the Viewsonic VA1912W LCD monitor. 19" widescreen, with DVI and VGA inputs, so you can plug in your 360 and PC at the same time, no need switch. Priced very attractively at RM1.3K too....
psp _BOY
post Mar 31 2006, 03:31 PM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(Darkchaser @ Mar 31 2006, 03:25 PM)
psp boy, you're only 13 and you're talking about buying stuff worth 3K?? I'm already working and can barely afford anything above 2K..  sweat.gif  laugh.gif Can I be your abang angkat ah?? Seems your parents are very generous  tongue.gif

Anyhoos, I guess if you have the dough, the 24" would be an excellent buy since you can't get that kind of price anywhere else. But if you're on a budget, I'd highly recommend the Viewsonic VA1912W LCD monitor. 19" widescreen, with DVI and VGA inputs, so you can plug in your 360 and PC at the same time, no need switch. Priced very attractively at RM1.3K too....
heheh

3k good price boss
u go other shops its bout 6k
hehe
cannot get the price anywhere else boss

nanti i tell u guys the name of the place

VIEWSONIC thats it!!!

thats ones blardy good

G4TV reccomended it
haha
goodspeed
post Mar 31 2006, 04:22 PM

wait for the new SED tv.. lauching soon... then pray notworthy.gif for LCD and Plasma's price to drop...

Toshiba's Plasma/LCD Killer
http://gear.ign.com/articles/679/679235p1.html
welwitchia
post Mar 31 2006, 04:30 PM

1,219 posts

I know what u're talking about. I think they called it the "backlight" bleeding problem or something like that. Yep, mine has that problem too, esp on the top right hand corner. Other than that, I have no washed out color problems. If u read the forums at http://www.hardforums.com, u'll realized lots of ppl have this problem esp with the 2005FPW. They can usually get a replacement unit easily but for some reason, doesn't apply to us Malaysians.

I'm not exactly a happy 2405FPW user but with that kinda price, thats to be expected. Can't expect top of the line goods. I have a friend that claims to have absolutely no backlight issues with his 2405. Oh, mine came with a stuck pixel too..and they refused to give me a replacement unit..i gave them a piece of my mind and got a RM150 discount in the end. Sigh...If only i have loads of money, I would have settle for a Samsung 244T. Kinda makes me think twice about ordering from Dell again.
QUOTE(hikaru_x @ Mar 31 2006, 03:21 PM)
eh wel, how bout blackness level on the 24" ultrasharp?

im using 3rd party vga cable on 17" dell analogue lcd. 2 problems: the colours are abit screwed/washed out (vga cable problem) and white light leaking  when the screen is black. will try to get some shots later when i get back.
terranova
post Mar 31 2006, 04:48 PM

1,161 posts

Not so soon .... we're looking at end 2007 for SED TVs to hit retail. And that's not even for the local market I'm sure. So that's at least a good 2 years to go.

http://gear.ign.com/articles/694/694751p1.html

And to top it off, we're probably looking at a base screen size of 55"!! But yeah, I agree ... the specs looks awesome. Waiting anxiously ....

MK84
post Mar 31 2006, 04:54 PM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

Wel, where and how many stuck pixel?
welwitchia
post Mar 31 2006, 05:03 PM

1,219 posts

One . At the mid-bottom left. A red one.
QUOTE(MK84 @ Mar 31 2006, 04:54 PM)
Wel, where and how many stuck pixel?
MK84
post Mar 31 2006, 05:10 PM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

No wonder they didn't want to replace.
welwitchia
post Mar 31 2006, 05:19 PM

1,219 posts

Ya, la..What I'm trying to say is buying fron DELL or anything online is a gamble. For my case, it was just pure bad luck. mad.gif
QUOTE(MK84 @ Mar 31 2006, 05:10 PM)
No wonder they didn't want to replace.
hikaru_x
post Mar 31 2006, 05:33 PM

161 posts

each company have their dead-pixel policy, dell is minimum 3 pixels with different colours befire they replace it if im not mistaken, but the problem is, its not stated clearly on the website when u buy it, ud actually hv to click here n there to find the policy
welwitchia
post Mar 31 2006, 05:34 PM

1,219 posts

^ - Dell's policy is 6 dead pixels.

This post has been edited by welwitchia: Mar 31 2006, 05:34 PM
stringfellow
post Mar 31 2006, 05:56 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(terranova @ Mar 31 2006, 04:48 PM)
Not so soon .... we're looking at end 2007 for SED TVs to hit retail. And that's not even for the local market I'm sure. So that's at least a good 2 years to go.

http://gear.ign.com/articles/694/694751p1.html

And to top it off, we're probably looking at a base screen size of 55"!! But yeah, I agree ... the specs looks awesome. Waiting anxiously ....
Yup, have been monitoring the SED tech. dev. closely, and the results, even by the protos, are impressive, cant imagine the final product......

When that technology matures, it's time again to move up, both in screen size and features it provides. The Samsung im using starts turning on its internal cooling mechanisms too often these days compared to the older days...

Sorry for the OT. Carry on....
Zaryl
post Mar 31 2006, 06:09 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

The blacklight bleeding is noticable when playing in black background right?

My 2005FPW has some, but I dont mind, coz it doesnt really affect that much. biggrin.gif
DjiNn
post Mar 31 2006, 08:50 PM

~||Noob Game Console Advisor||~
Store Representative
7,931 posts

actually... all dell has the "backlight" problem. even my 17 " 1704 also got.. cry.gif
Darkchaser
post Mar 31 2006, 08:54 PM

522 posts

I think backlight bleeding is a common LCD problem. My VA1912w has that as well, although it's noticeable when viewing it at certain angles.

But how often do your games turn totally black anyways? During loading screens only perhaps laugh.gif
psp _BOY
post Mar 31 2006, 08:56 PM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(Darkchaser @ Mar 31 2006, 08:54 PM)
I think backlight bleeding is a common LCD problem. My VA1912w has that as well, although it's noticeable when viewing it at certain angles.

But how often do your games turn totally black anyways? During loading screens only perhaps  laugh.gif
nah black screens are not common for 360

check out RR6's and PGR's laugh.gif

colourful
TSthaisxs
post Apr 2 2006, 09:22 PM

gay master
686 posts

1 noob question biggrin.gif

2405 is 16:10 right?
so any side effect of it ?
welwitchia
post Apr 3 2006, 01:35 AM

1,219 posts

You still get black bars at the top and bottom..However, if that bothers u, u can always stretch it to give u full screen. Not a big problem if u ask me. U'll hardly notice it.
QUOTE(thaisxs @ Apr 2 2006, 09:22 PM)
1 noob question  biggrin.gif

2405 is 16:10 right?
so any side effect of it ?
alkt
post Apr 7 2006, 10:58 PM

^_^
10,231 posts

owners of this monitor,
where u guys bought it from? DELL itself? huh.gif
hikaru_x
post Apr 7 2006, 11:02 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(alkt @ Apr 7 2006, 10:58 PM)
owners of this monitor,
online from dell i guess (unless they got other lubang:p). if u know a fren who works in dell, ask him/her to buy with staff price tongue.gif
UnUsUaL
post Apr 7 2006, 11:19 PM

ah jek
2,064 posts

QUOTE(alkt @ Apr 7 2006, 10:58 PM)
owners of this monitor,
Bought mine online @dell.com.my
alkt
post Apr 7 2006, 11:22 PM

^_^
10,231 posts

QUOTE(hikaru_x @ Apr 7 2006, 11:02 PM)
online from dell i guess (unless they got other lubang:p). if u know a fren who works in dell, ask him/her to buy with staff price tongue.gif
dats wat i'm trying to do but my fren have yet to reply me back with the price doh.gif
TSthaisxs
post Apr 8 2006, 02:46 AM

gay master
686 posts

QUOTE(alkt @ Apr 7 2006, 11:22 PM)
dats wat i'm trying to do but my fren have yet to reply me back with the price doh.gif
stuff price RM2800...
buy jor this month eat roti liao me ~

hikaru_x
post Apr 8 2006, 02:20 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(thaisxs @ Apr 8 2006, 02:46 AM)
stuff price RM2800...
buy jor this month eat roti liao me ~
rm2800, not bad drool.gif . got the april dell catalogue yesterday, they put the price rm4k+ ?? (no stop it, don't buy, don't wan, no money! *one hand slapping myself in the head, the other hand dialing Dell friend on the phone doh.gif LoL )
alkt
post Apr 20 2006, 09:40 PM

^_^
10,231 posts

anybody got a fren working in DELL? confirm staff price RM2.8k?

I'm still thinking on whether to get the 24" widescreen or 20" widescreen... blink.gif

This post has been edited by alkt: Apr 20 2006, 09:40 PM
redbull_y2k
post Apr 20 2006, 09:51 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(alkt @ Apr 20 2006, 09:40 PM)
anybody got a fren working in DELL? confirm staff price RM2.8k?

I'm still thinking on whether to get the 24" widescreen or 20" widescreen... blink.gif
yup, a friend of mine got his for RM2.8k quite some time ago. tongue.gif

p/s: Staff price for the 30" is less than RM6k. brows.gif
alkt
post Apr 20 2006, 09:58 PM

^_^
10,231 posts

QUOTE(redbull_y2k @ Apr 20 2006, 09:51 PM)
yup, a friend of mine got his for RM2.8k quite some time ago.  tongue.gif

p/s: Staff price for the 30" is less than RM6k. brows.gif
how long was that la? laugh.gif

24" widescreen is enuf for me so dun poison me further tongue.gif

planning to get it by June smile.gif
hikaru_x
post Apr 21 2006, 09:27 AM

161 posts

20" no component, only vga, composite, s-video
30" only dual dvi input, nothing else
redbull_y2k
post Apr 21 2006, 05:56 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(alkt @ Apr 20 2006, 09:58 PM)
how long was that la? laugh.gif

24" widescreen is enuf for me so dun poison me further tongue.gif

planning to get it by June smile.gif
he said bought nearly a year ago. So i guess now sure staff price cheaper, rm2.5k perhaps? brows.gif
vivaldi
post Apr 22 2006, 04:24 AM

240 posts

Gosh...I'm planning to save 4k and buy a Samsung LCD monitor....SAVE...SAVE...SAVE!!!
huikb
post Apr 24 2006, 03:13 PM

55 posts

I got my Dell 2405FPW November 2005 at RM$2.8k (staff price). So far no backlight or bleeding issue as mentioned. Connected to my xbox 360 using component and works great. No ghosting whilst playing game. Also tried with my xbox using xbmc and works great as well.

Here is the full spec of the 2405FPW
The Dell 2405FPW Panel is a Samsung LTM240M1 - L01 and is manufactured by BenQ:
It utilizes a Genesis Gm1601 scaler/deinterlacer chip.

24" Viewable Image Size
1920x1200 Wide UXGA Native Resolution
8ms Response Time
Digital (DVI) or Analog connection
S-video, composite and component inputs
Contrast 1000:1
Brightness 500
4 port USB Hub and 9-in-1 card reader

http://www.samsung.com/Products/TFTLCD/Mon...M1/LTM240M1.htm
http://www.gnss.com/prod_lcd_mon.phtml - Malibu GM1601

2407WFP would be a better choice with 6ms response time. Coming out soon to Malaysia. (I hear may/june 2006 time frame).
Here is the spec
http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/moni...FP/en/index.htm

alkt
post Apr 24 2006, 03:30 PM

^_^
10,231 posts

huikb,
are u a staff in DELL? biggrin.gif
huikb
post Apr 24 2006, 03:37 PM

55 posts

alkt, nope but close enough within the IT industry. biggrin.gif
arj
post Apr 24 2006, 03:50 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(huikb @ Apr 24 2006, 03:13 PM)
2407WFP would be a better choice with 6ms response time. Coming out soon to Malaysia. (I hear may/june 2006 time frame).
Here is the spec
http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/moni...FP/en/index.htm
IMO the looks alone is worth the wait thumbup.gif
alkt
post Apr 24 2006, 07:25 PM

^_^
10,231 posts

QUOTE(huikb @ Apr 24 2006, 03:37 PM)
alkt, nope but close enough within the IT industry. biggrin.gif
oooohhhhh i seeeee. i was wonnnnderrrrrrrrrinngggg if uuuurrr wiiillllingggg toooo help whistling.gif

This post has been edited by alkt: Apr 24 2006, 07:25 PM
huikb
post Apr 24 2006, 09:05 PM

55 posts

Sorry he has used up his quota for the year. Also I am using his for next year as well. (2407WFP, Inspiron and etc...) They are entitled to 3 purchase per year.
alkt
post Apr 24 2006, 09:07 PM

^_^
10,231 posts

aiseh man, it is ok then.looks like i'll quickly ask my fren to get it for me laugh.gif
arj
post May 2 2006, 10:55 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

I was thinking of getting the Dell 2407 but it seems there's major problems with it. Many people who got it are very unhappy with it doh.gif
alkt
post May 3 2006, 08:28 AM

^_^
10,231 posts

yea i saw that too so i'll just stick to the 2405 eventho its uglier than it's younger bro laugh.gif
TSthaisxs
post May 3 2006, 05:44 PM

gay master
686 posts

btw........
hope to connect the red n white to pc sound card?
yoroi
post May 3 2006, 06:08 PM

The LOWEST ranked Halo 3 player in the WORLD!!!
1,545 posts

the benq FP231W is not too bad as well...kinda reasonably priced also

for those on a tighter budget try the benq FP93GX
- 19" LCD Monitor
- 2ms GTG Response Time
- 300 cd/㎡ Brightness
- 700:1 Contrast Ratio
- Dual D-Sub & DVI Inputs

This post has been edited by yoroi: May 3 2006, 06:10 PM
alkt
post May 3 2006, 10:25 PM

^_^
10,231 posts

yoroi,
do u know how much is that benq? smile.gif
arj
post May 3 2006, 11:15 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

I've sold enough stuff to fund the Dell 2405 already. If everything goes according to plan, I should be getting it around next week rclxms.gif
UnUsUaL
post May 3 2006, 11:32 PM

ah jek
2,064 posts

QUOTE(arj @ May 3 2006, 11:15 PM)
I've sold enough stuff to fund the Dell 2405 already. If everything goes according to plan, I should be getting it around next week rclxms.gif
Another 2405 user, congrats rclxms.gif

shreaker
post May 4 2006, 01:37 PM

5-star hotel
798 posts

QUOTE(arj @ May 3 2006, 11:15 PM)
So THAT's why you're selling off your 6800s and X2 laugh.gif

I ordered mine on Labour day smile.gif Status is shipped so I'm hoping it'll arrive today or tomorrow drool.gif

This post has been edited by shreaker: May 4 2006, 01:43 PM
yoroi
post May 4 2006, 02:54 PM

The LOWEST ranked Halo 3 player in the WORLD!!!
1,545 posts

QUOTE(alkt @ May 3 2006, 10:25 PM)
yoroi,
do u know how much is that benq? smile.gif
can't remember to be honest... just remembered that it was a pretty good deal
arj
post May 4 2006, 03:50 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(shreaker @ May 4 2006, 01:37 PM)
So THAT's why you're selling off your 6800s and X2 laugh.gif

I ordered mine on Labour day smile.gif Status is shipped so I'm hoping it'll arrive today or tomorrow drool.gif
Found a buyer for the FX and X2, the 6800 Ultras is still up for grabs biggrin.gif

You'll be using it with an X1900XTX right? Do let us know how it handles games at max settings. I've been reading people saying that even a dual 7800GTX can't handle the monitor sweat.gif
alkt
post May 4 2006, 04:07 PM

^_^
10,231 posts

dual 7800GTX can't handle the monitor???? doh.gif

i'll be using it with my 6600GT...even worse wei doh.gif
arj
post May 4 2006, 04:14 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(alkt @ May 4 2006, 04:07 PM)
dual 7800GTX can't handle the monitor???? doh.gif

i'll be using it with my 6600GT...even worse wei doh.gif
We have the 360 edi so don't have to worry about PC games whistling.gif
alkt
post May 4 2006, 04:19 PM

^_^
10,231 posts

not me but my dumb bro still wants to play WoW but i couldn't be bothered with WoW already...play Live is even better biggrin.gif

half way more to get this baby flex.gif
shreaker
post May 4 2006, 11:52 PM

5-star hotel
798 posts

QUOTE(arj @ May 4 2006, 03:50 PM)
Found a buyer for the FX and X2, the 6800 Ultras is still up for grabs biggrin.gif

You'll be using it with an X1900XTX right? Do let us know how it handles games at max settings. I've been reading people saying that even a dual 7800GTX can't handle the monitor sweat.gif
Will do smile.gif

Didn't arrive today. Fingers x'd for tommorrow!
Kabadi84
post May 6 2006, 08:27 PM

weeeeeee..................
1,012 posts

is Dell 2405 still available or already been replaced???
PrinceOfPersia
post May 6 2006, 08:39 PM

Hashsashin
1,038 posts

QUOTE(Kabadi84 @ May 6 2006, 08:27 PM)
is Dell 2405  still available or already been replaced???
already replaced by 2407

Dell 20 inch wide screen RM1899 only rclxms.gif
arj
post May 6 2006, 09:19 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

This is a very sad day. The excellent 2405 has been replaced by the downright crappy 2407. Stay away from the 2007 and the 2407 at all cost! They have serious vertical banding and blurred text issues shakehead.gif
alkt
post May 6 2006, 09:28 PM

^_^
10,231 posts

omfg lar..wanted to order end of this month already...i wonder if they still have stock on 2405 instead of 2407 cry.gif

btw arj,can u help me call DELL n ask if i could still get 2405 instead of 2407? thx man smile.gif

This post has been edited by alkt: May 6 2006, 09:32 PM
arj
post May 6 2006, 09:38 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

KK... will try to call them up.
Kabadi84
post May 6 2006, 09:54 PM

1,012 posts

yes its sad just when i saw the yummy price its faded away sigh..... any way the 20' inch wide is it good enough than 19' wide ..the difference is about 1k huhuhhuhh ??? just to ask is it worth it??? mr persia
PrinceOfPersia
post May 6 2006, 10:02 PM

Hashsashin
1,038 posts

QUOTE(Kabadi84 @ May 6 2006, 09:54 PM)
yes its sad just when i saw the yummy price its faded away sigh..... any way the 20' inch wide is it good enough than 19' wide ..the difference is about 1k huhuhhuhh ??? just to ask is it worth it??? mr persia
bro arj already mentioned, stay away from 2407 and 2007 model, both got problems. better get 19' inch wide. u can save money for games thumbup.gif

now i'm using 19' inch dell ultrasharp, ok la, the picture is so clear

This post has been edited by PrinceOfPersia: May 6 2006, 10:05 PM
Kabadi84
post May 6 2006, 11:50 PM

1,012 posts

im using a 19' inch lcd is it really worth it upgrading to wide for xbox360 ??? or just stick using this bebeh my bebeh can handle game alright already no ghosting what so ever just that everybody keep mentioning wide seems tempted huhuhhuh
arj
post May 7 2006, 12:14 AM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(Kabadi84 @ May 6 2006, 11:50 PM)
im using a 19' inch lcd is it really worth it upgrading to wide for xbox360 ??? or just stick using this bebeh my bebeh can handle game alright already no ghosting what so ever just that everybody keep mentioning wide seems tempted huhuhhuh
I think it's well worth it to upgrade to a widescreen even if it's only 19".
welwitchia
post May 7 2006, 01:00 AM

1,219 posts

Arj, what problems does the 2407 have?
Kabadi84
post May 7 2006, 01:07 AM

1,012 posts

i saw from some forum said it have problem with bending dont know what is it though ?? maybe arj will help
arj
post May 7 2006, 01:32 AM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ May 7 2006, 01:00 AM)
Arj, what problems does the 2407 have?
Vertical banding, blured text and flimsy stand shakehead.gif
alkt
post May 7 2006, 06:32 PM

^_^
10,231 posts

let's just hope DELL still got stock for 2405 wink.gif
shreaker
post May 7 2006, 10:06 PM

5-star hotel
798 posts

QUOTE(arj @ May 4 2006, 03:50 PM)

Hmmm... well, I've just tested oblivion on it. Max settings with HDR is OK so far, no noticeable lag (yet). Max settings with max AA is not playable though. Looks like even x1900xtx can't tame this beast sad.gif (I mean beast=Oblivion, not the monitor... it's bloody perfect!!!!)

Thanking my lucky stars, no noticeable dead pixels.

[edit] Had to put a pic up... i'm so happy.

This post has been edited by shreaker: May 7 2006, 10:07 PM
silencer
post May 7 2006, 10:37 PM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

Darn, I was thinking on getting the oblivion PC version, now have a second thought after reading this forum, I bet even my dual xfx 7800gt cant handle it...sigh.......
arj
post May 7 2006, 11:28 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ May 7 2006, 10:37 PM)
Darn, I was thinking on getting the oblivion PC version, now have a second thought after reading this forum, I bet even my dual xfx 7800gt cant handle it...sigh.......
I think they're still playable if you're using a smaller monitor with lower resolution.
lokgotz
post May 7 2006, 11:43 PM

hehehe
2,657 posts

they took quite some time to ship the 2405 during PC fair......delayed 2 weeks.........

i think they are not gonna have the 2405 in stock anymore...

just hold your money b4 getting the 2407...i'm sure they will solve the banding problems soon....

BTW....Playing my PS2 using my 2405.....i know this is an xbox thread....heheheheh
shreaker
post May 8 2006, 01:52 AM

5-star hotel
798 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ May 7 2006, 10:37 PM)
QUOTE(arj @ May 7 2006, 11:28 PM)
I think they're still playable if you're using a smaller monitor with lower resolution.
Hang on, hang on... i'll try again with 2gb RAM instead (currently 1gb). Apparently the game is really resource hungry. Will update as soon as I get the rams in!

and silencer... the game is totally awesome. with 2405fpw i'm running at 1900x1200 so it's no surprise if there's some slowdown...
silencer
post May 9 2006, 11:43 AM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(shreaker @ May 8 2006, 01:52 AM)
Hang on, hang on... i'll try again with 2gb RAM instead (currently 1gb). Apparently the game is really resource hungry. Will update as soon as I get the rams in!

and silencer... the game is totally awesome. with 2405fpw i'm running at 1900x1200 so it's no surprise if there's some slowdown...
Using the same moitor too as well..pls update on your finding..if enerythin is ok..I'll upgrade my RAM to 2GB too asl well..if not, seems like I have to stick with the oblivion's xbox 360 version only...

thnx
PrinceOfPersia
post Jun 3 2006, 09:41 AM

Hashsashin
1,038 posts

helo guys, yesterday my department received the 2007 and 2407 model. tested it with the 360. the picture quality is excellent, sharp and bla bla bla thumbup.gif . for 2407 model, tested it with both vga and component and my conclusion is "vga is better". one more thing, i think dell slowly fixed the lcd's problem (i'm not dell fanboy, but my department, yes laugh.gif )

EDIT: 2007's price for today is RM1435, 3 weeks ago the price is RM2K shocking.gif shocking.gif rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by PrinceOfPersia: Jun 3 2006, 09:45 AM
Redline
post Jun 3 2006, 10:12 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(PrinceOfPersia @ Jun 3 2006, 09:41 AM)
helo guys, yesterday my department received the 2007 and 2407 model. tested it with the 360. the picture quality is excellent, sharp and bla bla bla  thumbup.gif . for 2407 model, tested it with both vga and component and my conclusion is "vga is better". one more thing, i think dell slowly fixed the lcd's problem (i'm not dell fanboy, but my department, yes  laugh.gif )
EDIT: 2007's price for today is RM1435, 3 weeks ago the price is RM2K  shocking.gif  shocking.gif  rclxub.gif
VGA is better?...Fuhhh i'm running with component since bought it... doh.gif , tonight will try VGA with my 2405...

PrinceOfPersia
post Jun 3 2006, 10:17 AM

Hashsashin
1,038 posts

QUOTE(Redline @ Jun 3 2006, 10:12 AM)
VGA is better?...Fuhhh i'm running with component since bought it... doh.gif , tonight will try VGA with my 2405...
thats my mata bro, maybe your mata lain kot tongue.gif , u can try both
duke_hunt
post Jun 3 2006, 03:58 PM

259 posts

helo guys, yesterday my department received the 2007 and 2407 model. tested it with the 360. the picture quality is excellent, sharp and bla bla bla  thumbup.gif . for 2407 model, tested it with both vga and component and my conclusion is "vga is better". one more thing, i think dell slowly fixed the lcd's problem (i'm not dell fanboy, but my department, yes  laugh.gif )
EDIT: 2007's price for today is RM1435, 3 weeks ago the price is RM2K  shocking.gif  shocking.gif  rclxub.gif
bro, can you check the revision number on the 2007 and the 2407?

link regarding 2007 and 2407 banding fix, no revision number though..

2007 and 2407 banding and worldwide fix

been browsing through Dell forums regrading 2007/2407...found this..read though the post...

2007/2407 fix in revision A02

PrinceOfPersia
post Jun 3 2006, 05:07 PM

Hashsashin
1,038 posts

QUOTE(duke_hunt @ Jun 3 2006, 03:58 PM)
bro, can you check the revision number on the 2007 and the 2407?

link regarding 2007 and 2407 banding fix, no revision number though..

2007 and 2407 banding and worldwide fix

been browsing through Dell forums regrading 2007/2407...found this..read though the post...

2007/2407 fix in revision A02
yup, 2007 and 2407 got many problems, can discuss here LCD thread
alkt
post Jun 6 2006, 02:50 AM

^_^
10,231 posts

Guys,
since i've got a 2407 waiting for me at home and i'm gonna use it with my xbox360, would this box do any good? planning to hook up my pc to the LCD using VGA while xbox360 uses the composite. pls advice. thanks smile.gif
shumaky
post Jun 6 2006, 03:16 AM

PS what.?
2,706 posts

^ y composite to the X360, y not component or VGA..?
You dont need a external box as the monitor can switch display internaly with a video selector on the bezel rite..?
DVI - Cpu
VGA or Component - X360
alkt
post Jun 6 2006, 03:33 AM

^_^
10,231 posts

oops sorry, i meant component tongue.gif

so in terms of graphic wise, which is nicer between vga and component?
redbull_y2k
post Jun 6 2006, 03:44 AM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

ya... like shumaky said, why don't u use the DVI with the PC and the component input with the xbox360 anyway? Since the monitor has component input ready. laugh.gif
alkt
post Jun 6 2006, 03:53 AM

^_^
10,231 posts

QUOTE(redbull_y2k @ Jun 6 2006, 03:44 AM)
ya... like shumaky said, why don't u use the DVI with the PC and the component input with the xbox360 anyway? Since the monitor has component input ready.  laugh.gif
yea i know the LCD got component input but wanna make sure which input is better mah cos if VGA is nicer then i'll get VGA cables before i fly back next week blush.gif
shumaky
post Jun 6 2006, 07:25 AM

PS what.?
2,706 posts

^ For that any 2407 users care to help out.?
Im using VGA for my lcd, its not a DELL thou,
Some say VGA better, some say component.., but one thing is for sure.. going direct is much better than thru any display converter box.
PrinceOfPersia
post Jun 6 2006, 07:40 AM

Hashsashin
1,038 posts

QUOTE(shumaky @ Jun 6 2006, 07:25 AM)
^ For that any 2407 users care to help out.?
Im using VGA for my lcd, its not a DELL thou,
Some say VGA better, some say component.., but one thing is for sure.. going direct is much better than thru any display converter box.
test both, for me vga is better thumbup.gif

P/S: my VGA is ori, component 3rd party

This post has been edited by PrinceOfPersia: Jun 6 2006, 07:44 AM
shumaky
post Jun 6 2006, 08:35 AM

PS what.?
2,706 posts

^ Test both is the better choice, but I dont think he wanna spend $$ on both ori cable's just to test. Maybe someone with the cables could pinjam him,
I'm on 3rd party vga.
alkt
post Jun 6 2006, 10:02 AM

^_^
10,231 posts

hmmm,looks like i will dig my wallet to see if can buy or not 1st laugh.gif

oh btw, thanks guys blush.gif

This post has been edited by alkt: Jun 6 2006, 10:02 AM
UltramanToron
post Jun 8 2006, 07:21 PM

241 posts

where got 2007 rm1435?
this monitor ok ar if play games?
no ghosting or so wat ever?

or should i just buy the sony tv db29m61??
Rishy
post Jun 12 2006, 12:28 PM

Starry Starry Night...
691 posts

ok...noob question...

I have a 2405...with no soundock...i have Logitech Z5300 speakers...how do i run my 360 on my 2405 and sound on my Z5300 ?

Thanks !
redbull_y2k
post Jun 12 2006, 01:38 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(Rishy @ Jun 12 2006, 12:28 PM)
ok...noob question...

I have a 2405...with no soundock...i have Logitech Z5300 speakers...how do i run my 360 on my 2405 and sound on my Z5300 ?

Thanks !
Then u would probably need to get a decoder such as the Creative DDTS-100 to hook up the speaker to the Xbox360 using optical cable. Link here.

Rishy
post Jun 12 2006, 01:54 PM

Starry Starry Night...
691 posts

any way cheaper than this RM645 solution ? tongue.gif
shumaky
post Jun 12 2006, 02:37 PM

PS what.?
2,706 posts

Your speaker set is making you spend more coz got no optical in.
welwitchia
post Jun 12 2006, 03:22 PM

1,219 posts

You can always get a 5.1 speaker set with built in optical input. I have been using the Logitech Z-680 for a few years now. Yeah, I know its not exactly ideal for listening to music but I think it'll more than suffice for games and watching movies. U get Coaxial(PC maybe..that's what I'm doing) and Optical (for u'r 360).
QUOTE(Rishy @ Jun 12 2006, 01:54 PM)
lokgotz
post Jun 13 2006, 01:00 AM

hehehe
2,657 posts

QUOTE(Rishy @ Jun 12 2006, 01:54 PM)
The cheapest way is this...only RM15 according to djinn.....(mine was bought loooong time ago....but i think it should be less than RM15)

i am using this setup for my PS2, Creative 5100 and my 2405.....bear in mind though, dont expect too much from Rm15....

This post has been edited by lokgotz: Jun 13 2006, 01:03 AM
alkt
post Jun 13 2006, 01:04 AM

^_^
10,231 posts

i got 1 problem. i'm using components together with my 2407wfp and i notice slight artifacts when i play games. is this normal? blink.gif
redbull_y2k
post Jun 13 2006, 03:15 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(lokgotz @ Jun 13 2006, 01:00 AM)
The cheapest way is this...only RM15 according to djinn.....(mine was bought loooong time ago....but i think it should be less than RM15)

i am using this setup for my PS2, Creative 5100 and my 2405.....bear in mind though, dont expect too much from Rm15....
You won't get true 5.1 sound with that, but then again, like u said, cant expect much from RM15 rite. laugh.gif

QUOTE(alkt @ Jun 13 2006, 01:04 AM)
i got 1 problem. i'm using components together with my 2407wfp and i notice slight artifacts when i play games. is this normal? blink.gif
pictures tells a thousand words, care to snap some pics to show the artifacts? tongue.gif
shumaky
post Jun 13 2006, 03:33 PM

PS what.?
2,706 posts

QUOTE(alkt @ Jun 13 2006, 01:04 AM)
Me thinks you need to send your 2407wfp to me some loving, err I mean tests.. smile.gif
Ya what kinda aftifacts..? coz GRAW is know for its tear/"rape" images.
alkt
post Jun 13 2006, 07:57 PM

^_^
10,231 posts

weird, i used HD VGA cable and the artifacts were gone. hmmm blink.gif
aobk84
post Jun 15 2006, 08:49 PM

406 posts

How much does Xbox 360 cost in Malaysia? Does it run on PAL mode?
arj
post Jun 15 2006, 09:12 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(aobk84 @ Jun 15 2006, 08:49 PM)
How much does Xbox 360 cost in Malaysia? Does it run on PAL mode?
You can get the NTSC Asian version from Djinn for RM1480. It can only play Asian and Japanese games. Any particular reason why you want PAL? The Asian games and console is much cheaper.
aobk84
post Jun 19 2006, 11:04 AM

406 posts

Coz i'm studyin in australia n they use PAL... how how...
xxboxx
post Jun 19 2006, 06:42 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,259 posts

QUOTE(aobk84 @ Jun 19 2006, 11:04 AM)
then buy the console when you are in australia.
aobk84
post Jun 20 2006, 09:34 PM

406 posts

Derh obviously I would have done that long ago but it's expensive in Australia compared to Malaysia. That's y i'm askin'
xxboxx
post Jun 20 2006, 11:07 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,259 posts

QUOTE(aobk84 @ Jun 20 2006, 09:34 PM)
Derh obviously I would have done that long ago but it's expensive in Australia compared to Malaysia. That's y i'm askin'
expensive console and expensive but available game or cheap console but no available game, you make the choice. wink.gif
arj
post Jun 20 2006, 11:22 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(aobk84 @ Jun 19 2006, 11:04 AM)
If I were you I'd get family or friends to courier over the console and games to me. Still cheaper compared to buying them in Australia.
aobk84
post Jun 21 2006, 06:57 PM

406 posts

Courier .. quite true oso lor.. anyway malaysia totally uses NTSC is it? no PAL at all?

0.0502sec    0.71    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:23 AM