Feb 15 2013, 12:27 AM
Show posts by this member only | Post
7,948 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Soviet Sarawak |
QUOTE(RootOfJesse @ Feb 15 2013, 12:24 AM) I just received my new car weeks ago, mitsubishi mirage and now the odometer clocks 500km+. go ahead laI need to travel down to kl this saturday about 500km+ drive. however, the sc here tells me that I need to service the car at 1000km. Engine breaking-in and also long distance driving is my worry now. So, is it advisable to service my car in the sc (altho at 500km) now, or travel straight to kl (probably reach more than 1000km) then only service at the sc there? Hope all the sifu's here could give some advice not that the engine will break down if you exceed 1,000+ km before servicing and read the book properly. mitsu mivec engine break in period is 5,000km ? |
Feb 15 2013, 12:30 AM
3,848 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: Ampang |
Feb 15 2013, 12:35 AM
QUOTE(Boy96 @ Feb 15 2013, 12:30 AM) yes, for those european companies, especially italians, since they wanna wash theirs hands cleanjaps cars should generally be okay. i had 2 mitsu (check the forums) and had them serviced late (as late as 4 months after due) and they still honour the warranty and free service vouchers. but your experience may vary |
Feb 15 2013, 12:36 AM
241 posts Joined: May 2007 |
QUOTE(lucifah @ Feb 15 2013, 12:27 AM) go ahead la Afraid will put unnecessary stress on the new engine. My friend advise not to travel LD before first 1000km.not that the engine will break down if you exceed 1,000+ km before servicing and read the book properly. mitsu mivec engine break in period is 5,000km ? I'll read the manual..thanks for your insight |
Feb 15 2013, 12:37 AM
Feb 15 2013, 12:40 AM
QUOTE(RootOfJesse @ Feb 15 2013, 12:36 AM) Afraid will put unnecessary stress on the new engine. My friend advise not to travel LD before first 1000km. general advise to break in mistu engine gentlyI'll read the manual..thanks for your insight 1. never revs beyond 3,000 - 3,500 rpm (this is the hardest part - u feel sleepy when driving soo sloooww) 2. always vary your speed (dun idle at 1 speed for too long) 3. let the INVECS III CVT works through its pace (it learns and adapts to your driving style after around 3,000km - personal experience) 4. dun hard accelerate (this is duh) of course there are many ways to break in the engine, so you decide... safe driving! |
Feb 15 2013, 12:41 AM
544 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
QUOTE(lucifah @ Feb 15 2013, 12:35 AM) yes, for those european companies, especially italians, since they wanna wash theirs hands clean Sure? In Europe there is no such thing as first service. It happens after 15 to 35000 km, depending on the car.japs cars should generally be okay. i had 2 mitsu (check the forums) and had them serviced late (as late as 4 months after due) and they still honour the warranty and free service vouchers. but your experience may vary |
Feb 15 2013, 12:42 AM
QUOTE(kadajawi @ Feb 15 2013, 12:41 AM) Sure? In Europe there is no such thing as first service. It happens after 15 to 35000 km, depending on the car. italians. i'm not saying the brand where many pipu know, like ferrari or lambotry iveco, or LDV - they are shit strict. even if u rev beyond 3,600 rpm on 1st gear, the ECU logs it and they will void your warranty immediately. how cool is that? |
Feb 15 2013, 12:48 AM
QUOTE(lucifah @ Feb 15 2013, 12:40 AM) general advise to break in mistu engine gently Only revved more than 3,000 rpm once when overtaking.. other than that, slow and subtle driving style shud be no problem..1. never revs beyond 3,000 - 3,500 rpm (this is the hardest part - u feel sleepy when driving soo sloooww) 2. always vary your speed (dun idle at 1 speed for too long) 3. let the INVECS III CVT works through its pace (it learns and adapts to your driving style after around 3,000km - personal experience) 4. dun hard accelerate (this is duh) of course there are many ways to break in the engine, so you decide... safe driving! I think I'll follow your advice, I guess it's always better to be gentle with the engine first, since the parts are new.. Thanks for the advice |
Feb 15 2013, 12:51 AM
5,847 posts Joined: Nov 2010 From: Malaysia 🇲🇾 |
CVT just cable plug in computer can be show up the all detailed with printed out the all driving info.
Never can escape, if they wanted to void your warranty. This post has been edited by kimsim: Feb 15 2013, 12:54 AM |
Feb 15 2013, 08:43 AM
3,772 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
just drive like normal lah, materials have advanced so far in these modern days, they are much harder and stronger than the old days. break in or no break in to the engine is just another day
Feb 15 2013, 09:25 AM
1 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
QUOTE(RootOfJesse @ Feb 15 2013, 12:24 AM) I just received my new car weeks ago, mitsubishi mirage and now the odometer clocks 500km+. No problem one la. I need to travel down to kl this saturday about 500km+ drive. however, the sc here tells me that I need to service the car at 1000km. Engine breaking-in and also long distance driving is my worry now. So, is it advisable to service my car in the sc (altho at 500km) now, or travel straight to kl (probably reach more than 1000km) then only service at the sc there? Hope all the sifu's here could give some advice Just dont keep on the same speed for too long. Example, 110kmh, then lower to 90kmh, then alternate it. On a side note, I read about "power run-in" that actually to stress the engine during break-in period is actually healthy and better. I forgot where is the link already. |
Feb 15 2013, 09:27 AM
1,922 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: Constellation Cygnus |
New car no need to worry laa..even didnt service up to 2000km also still can run
Feb 15 2013, 09:48 AM
QUOTE(durianpuff @ Feb 15 2013, 09:25 AM) No problem one la. A German firm doing engine research found that out. Stressing the hell out of the engine is supposed to greatly improve FC and performance. They did mention that one should follow a certain program IIRC, so basically it is something the manufacturer should do with a computer program.Just dont keep on the same speed for too long. Example, 110kmh, then lower to 90kmh, then alternate it. On a side note, I read about "power run-in" that actually to stress the engine during break-in period is actually healthy and better. I forgot where is the link already. If the manual mentions a break in procedure then follow it. |
Feb 15 2013, 09:58 AM
QUOTE(kadajawi @ Feb 15 2013, 09:48 AM) A German firm doing engine research found that out. Stressing the hell out of the engine is supposed to greatly improve FC and performance. They did mention that one should follow a certain program IIRC, so basically it is something the manufacturer should do with a computer program. Yea, I know it was some europeans who was researching it, but forgot where the link was anymore.If the manual mentions a break in procedure then follow it. Apparently they also tried on high-rev motorcycle engines, and both results were positive. If remember correctly, it has something to do with the new piston oil rings and the scraping of the block surface. |
Feb 15 2013, 10:03 AM
247 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
its from motoman. anyway... i am rebuilding my engine and will be doing the hard run in once the car is out. whack it from the get go.
whack for 50km through the gears, change oil n filter stress (aka, high speed across different rev) for 500km, change oil and filter. then normal from there on... |
Feb 15 2013, 10:03 AM
10,530 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Petaling Jaya & Mid Valley |
no worries la...some people actually use long distance drives to help reach that 1000km mark sooner...i did exactly that too when i first rebuilt my engine.
keep revs below 4k n ull be fine....and as mentioned...vary ur revs n speed |
Feb 15 2013, 11:00 AM
4,403 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Johor Bahru |
+300km is a problem...not about the engine...but about the warranty issues...pls check if it will void some warranty...or maybe later stage, not qualified to get extended warranty. I know many Peugeot 308 owners also kena same thing. they exceeded a bit more than 300km, when its time to get an extended warranty, after check the service booklet, all didn't qualify.
So pls check with your service center on the terms. |
Feb 15 2013, 11:29 AM
QUOTE(azbro @ Feb 15 2013, 11:00 AM) +300km is a problem...not about the engine...but about the warranty issues...pls check if it will void some warranty...or maybe later stage, not qualified to get extended warranty. I know many Peugeot 308 owners also kena same thing. they exceeded a bit more than 300km, when its time to get an extended warranty, after check the service booklet, all didn't qualify. wow seriously? 300km is peanut distance actually. Those who do sales will agree with me.So pls check with your service center on the terms. 300km can be covered in 1 single short trip. So car manufacturers are punishing their customers like this now? Horrible la |
Feb 15 2013, 12:37 PM
QUOTE(durianpuff @ Feb 15 2013, 11:29 AM) wow seriously? 300km is peanut distance actually. Those who do sales will agree with me. Yes, 300Km easy to cover, but each manufacturer have their own terms and condition, you better check with yours.300km can be covered in 1 single short trip. So car manufacturers are punishing their customers like this now? Horrible la Its not about punish or what...its because it says so... I also have problems keeping to the limit, but sometimes I go even earlier by 200km. |
Feb 15 2013, 12:43 PM
QUOTE(azbro @ Feb 15 2013, 12:37 PM) Yes, 300Km easy to cover, but each manufacturer have their own terms and condition, you better check with yours. they not flexible at all. horrible.Its not about punish or what...its because it says so... I also have problems keeping to the limit, but sometimes I go even earlier by 200km. in this case, if we send the car for servicing much earlier, will it void warranty too? say TS case, car done 500km. next service 1000km, but he send it in for servicing now. will void warranty if he does the next at 5500km or 6000km? seems like a chicken-egg first problem. seriously 300km (or 500km) is really peanut distance This post has been edited by durianpuff: Feb 15 2013, 12:44 PM |
Feb 15 2013, 01:49 PM
2,429 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
Deleted
This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Feb 15 2013, 03:31 PM |
Feb 15 2013, 03:23 PM
QUOTE(durianpuff @ Feb 15 2013, 09:25 AM) No problem one la. Just dont keep on the same speed for too long. Example, 110kmh, then lower to 90kmh, then alternate it. On a side note, I read about "power run-in" that actually to stress the engine during break-in period is actually healthy and better. I forgot where is the link already. QUOTE(mADmAN @ Feb 15 2013, 10:03 AM) no worries la...some people actually use long distance drives to help reach that 1000km mark sooner...i did exactly that too when i first rebuilt my engine. Thanks for the reassurance keep revs below 4k n ull be fine....and as mentioned...vary ur revs n speed Many ppl give different opinions, but I think just drive like how I'd normally drive.. |
Feb 15 2013, 03:26 PM
QUOTE(RootOfJesse @ Feb 15 2013, 03:23 PM) Thanks for the reassurance Yes, just drive like you normally do, but remember to vary the speed and rev from time to time, dont stick to 110kmh all the way.Many ppl give different opinions, but I think just drive like how I'd normally drive.. Car run-in also involve other moving parts of a car, not just the engine. So varying your speed helps the car run-in properly. Have a safe trip, bro. |
Feb 15 2013, 03:33 PM
8,377 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
i guess no necessary for engine break-in with high rev and just drive as usual...
another reasons for the 1st 1000km service is due to the engine's metal debris may left out in the engine internal compartment while building the engine and after some friction internally while running... as i can recall gearbox oil required for replacement when 10000km even though can last for 30000km... hence the new car may store in stockyard for 3-6 months and engine oil quality will degrade even though the new car no in use, that how the reasons of the engine oil statement of "5000km / 3months come first"... anyway, i suggest service earlier before reach 1000km instead... |
Feb 15 2013, 03:36 PM
QUOTE(durianpuff @ Feb 15 2013, 03:26 PM) Yes, just drive like you normally do, but remember to vary the speed and rev from time to time, dont stick to 110kmh all the way. will have to press the pedal harder to rev it up, since the rpm refuse to go higher than 3k even at high speed.Car run-in also involve other moving parts of a car, not just the engine. So varying your speed helps the car run-in properly. Have a safe trip, bro. Thanks for the tips bro |
Feb 15 2013, 03:43 PM
QUOTE(gkl83 @ Feb 15 2013, 03:33 PM) i guess no necessary for engine break-in with high rev and just drive as usual... Haha..that's what I thought too, the metal debris may contaminate the engine oil....At the end of the day, it's subjective and different people has different experience and opinion.. Like you said, follow instruction to service before 1000km will be the safest bet.another reasons for the 1st 1000km service is due to the engine's metal debris may left out in the engine internal compartment while building the engine and after some friction internally while running... as i can recall gearbox oil required for replacement when 10000km even though can last for 30000km... hence the new car may store in stockyard for 3-6 months and engine oil quality will degrade even though the new car no in use, that how the reasons of the engine oil statement of "5000km / 3months come first"... anyway, i suggest service earlier before reach 1000km instead... |
Feb 15 2013, 03:45 PM
QUOTE(RootOfJesse @ Feb 15 2013, 03:43 PM) Haha..that's what I thought too, the metal debris may contaminate the engine oil....At the end of the day, it's subjective and different people has different experience and opinion.. Like you said, follow instruction to service before 1000km will be the safest bet. is the 1k km service official in the booklet?some cars now come with first service at 10k already, filled with full synthetic oil |
Feb 15 2013, 03:55 PM
1,672 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I dunno how true is this but what i read online regarding breaking in is that nowadays cars do not need to wait after the first service to break in for the engine because the car manufacturers already did so before leaving the plant.
I myself tried to play it safe till the first service but when it was due to have my first service, i suddenly gatal and revved like mad for a good minute andw as guilty right after that. Lol that's why i did a search on it. This post has been edited by ExCrIpT: Feb 15 2013, 03:56 PM |
Feb 15 2013, 04:01 PM
QUOTE(rcracer @ Feb 15 2013, 03:45 PM) is the 1k km service official in the booklet? some cars now come with first service at 10k already, filled with full synthetic oil wont be a risk if first service @ 10000km? engine oil contained with metal debris wasn't sound good unless car manufacturer did the engine stress load and flushed with new engine oil before install engine in the new car... for me, i still stick to 1000km engine oil replacement at my own cost... anyway, most of car manufacturer getting hoo-haa for longer service interval... such as Chevy Sonic service interval about 15000km / 9 months, unsure whether it is marketing skill to claim their car can save our money and time... This post has been edited by gkl83: Feb 15 2013, 04:01 PM |
Feb 15 2013, 04:11 PM
@gkl83: Common practice in Europe. European cars also tend to have servicing intervals of 25-35k there (Japanese 15k or longer). I don't think that's a problem for the engines, however during service also the other parts of the car are checked for upcoming problems. If that happens every 35k then most faults won't be detected in time, which makes the cars look unreliable.
5k is insanely frequent though, 10-15k is more than enough. |
Feb 15 2013, 04:27 PM
QUOTE(kadajawi @ Feb 15 2013, 04:11 PM) @gkl83: Common practice in Europe. European cars also tend to have servicing intervals of 25-35k there (Japanese 15k or longer). I don't think that's a problem for the engines, however during service also the other parts of the car are checked for upcoming problems. If that happens every 35k then most faults won't be detected in time, which makes the cars look unreliable. 5k is insanely frequent though, 10-15k is more than enough. service interval depending on engine oil type and oil filter quality... but 5000km service interval with mineral engine oil guess is the old time "golden rules" even though i using semi syc engine oil, still go for 5000km service interval as prefer new "blood" for my engine for it's healthy... another doubts is whether oil filter can last 20k-30k km... clogged oil filter will end up with dirty engine oil no filtered by opening the by-pass valve and may cause engine damages unless the SC getting the real good quality oil filter then may go for longer service interval or replace it every 5000km can see the video below from 4:00 onwards about the by-pass valve while oil filter clogged... also no to mention about the environmental differences between European and Malaysia... i guess Malaysia have worse environment pollution compare to European which engine oil dirty sooner.... This post has been edited by gkl83: Feb 15 2013, 04:38 PM |
Feb 15 2013, 04:39 PM
1,077 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
then service in Kl la...still got plenty mitsubishi SC in kl what
Feb 15 2013, 05:25 PM
QUOTE(rcracer @ Feb 15 2013, 03:45 PM) is the 1k km service official in the booklet? It's not written anywhere in the service book. Not mentioning the service booklet is very thin and only has 1 free service blank receipt on it..some cars now come with first service at 10k already, filled with full synthetic oil |
Feb 15 2013, 08:58 PM
481 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
If u have 1970s' car like mine, sure need to tippy toe after full overhaul like new engine la. But new engine all the tolerances are so precise, and the engine oils are so good, there is almost no need to run in already.
Feb 16 2013, 09:23 PM
459 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
Dont worry. When i collect my civic fd 1.8, i already floor the pedal to speed 220kmh on the same day.
And recently i collected another new car, 1st week already went outstation. |
Feb 16 2013, 11:29 PM
Feb 17 2013, 07:07 AM
QUOTE(gkl83 @ Feb 15 2013, 04:01 PM) wont be a risk if first service @ 10000km? That's why I said modern metals have progressed so much They are much harder, much less complicated, lower friction, plus oil technology had also improved leaps and bounds hence car manufactures can stretch their service intervals engine oil contained with metal debris wasn't sound good unless car manufacturer did the engine stress load and flushed with new engine oil before install engine in the new car... for me, i still stick to 1000km engine oil replacement at my own cost... anyway, most of car manufacturer getting hoo-haa for longer service interval... such as Chevy Sonic service interval about 15000km / 9 months, unsure whether it is marketing skill to claim their car can save our money and time... QUOTE(RootOfJesse @ Feb 15 2013, 05:25 PM) It's not written anywhere in the service book. Not mentioning the service booklet is very thin and only has 1 free service blank receipt on it.. Normally got servicing schedule inside if not then.browse some forum. |
Feb 17 2013, 09:58 AM
459 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
| Change to: | 0.2190sec
5 queries
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 04:08 AM |