[Project] Bluck TJ08-E (SFF), Very long term period project

TStorino
post Jun 9 2013, 03:03 PM

><
978 posts

The stories goes when the HDD i received is a faulty, but still has warranty, so create RMA online, ship it to WD centre at Senai, Johor and i received the new HDD in the next 7 days..pretty fast response from them...

The case feet is installed, need to removed the stains from rubber feet sticker first..

Then the new case feet is in, i did some modification on the case feet itself so that it'll fit into the casing better..

personally it looks better with this case feet, plus it's more stable..

TStorino
post Jun 19 2013, 10:20 AM

><
978 posts

UPDATE

Recently i really want to put custom wc in this project, but unfortunately due to lack of financial and also time constraint, i have to put that aside.. cry.gif

It is my long wish to have a custom wc in my rig, but maybe this is not my time yet...

But I'll proceed with current H80 instead of 212 Evo stated earlier...

TStorino
post Jun 25 2013, 07:07 AM

><
978 posts

UPDATE

make some modification on LED strip, using molex that will be connected directly to power supply...

original wiring at RGB controller

got this wire from extra stuffs

done, make some minor sleeving too biggrin.gif

TStorino
post Jun 25 2013, 07:14 AM

><
978 posts

UPDATE

make some base flooring for my case..at first want to use foam but end up with cardboard, cheaper and thinner..thickness plays the most important role here since i'm dealing with a compact case..

Testing with rough dimensions etc;

Done, fits nicely

At the same time i'm playing with LED strips..not using much but soldering is required since the socket i obtained is too bulky...
I cant do this alone so im asking for my dad's experiences in soldering, very thanks to him for his help and support smile.gif

Connecting 2 parts of LED strips that has been cut off;

Close-up shots...sorry got no DSLR so S2 would be enough...

FYI, im using heatshrink too to make it neat..
kherel77
post Jun 25 2013, 10:32 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(torino @ Jun 25 2013, 07:14 AM)
UPDATE

make some base flooring for my case..at first want to use foam but end up with cardboard, cheaper and thinner..thickness plays the most important role here since i'm dealing with a compact case..

Testing with rough dimensions etc;

For me, i'll go with white cardboard for more light reflection. But it's just me.... icon_rolleyes.gif

Waiting for more update, bro... thumbup.gif

TStorino
post Jun 25 2013, 10:45 PM

><
978 posts

QUOTE(kherel77 @ Jun 25 2013, 10:32 PM)
For me, i'll go with white cardboard for more light reflection. But it's just me.... icon_rolleyes.gif

Waiting for more update, bro... thumbup.gif
there's a reason why im using black..
-the floor will be definitely flattened
-dust easily detected at first to clean up later
-i'm using white paper brows.gif

for luminuous lighting, its almost impossible to achieve due to these factors;
-thickness (main factor that affect light separation)
-rad clearance (even im using H80, the gap left makes it worse) *not even sure if i shift to custom wc, perhaps removing the lighting will solve laugh.gif

i'll upload the post regarding my experiments, etc later...
infernoaswen
post Jun 26 2013, 01:50 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(torino @ Jun 25 2013, 10:45 PM)
there's a reason why im using black..
-the floor will be definitely flattened
-dust easily detected at first to clean up later
-i'm using white paper brows.gif

for luminuous lighting, its almost impossible to achieve due to these factors;
-thickness (main factor that affect light separation)
-rad clearance (even im using H80, the gap left makes it worse) *not even sure if i shift to custom wc, perhaps removing the lighting will solve laugh.gif

i'll upload the post regarding my experiments, etc later...
possible actually...my panel is 8mm thickness brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
TStorino
post Jun 27 2013, 11:17 PM

><
978 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Jun 26 2013, 01:50 AM)
possible actually...my panel is 8mm thickness  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif
that's cool..what method did you used? sanding acrylic with white at the top?

i using RGB so im dealing with different colors...if its only white probably it could be easier..
infernoaswen
post Jun 27 2013, 11:23 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(torino @ Jun 27 2013, 11:17 PM)
that's cool..what method did you used? sanding acrylic with white at the top?

i using RGB so im dealing with different colors...if its only white probably it could be easier..
yup. rgb maybe a little hard haha since need to deal with many colours. I never try other colours on white acrylic before, not sure how well it will light up the acrylic haha. Going to experiment it though, maybe next week since I plan to make a white acrylic to display rog logo which consist of red & white colour. See la how it goes unsure.gif
TStorino
post Jun 28 2013, 11:41 PM

><
978 posts

UPDATE

So this is my 'luminous' floor experiment...playing with frosted acrylic (not sanding method, sticker residue method) with both strips at the end..quite bad in dispersing the lights...perhaps there's no reflections beneath it...

user posted image user posted image

Then i did something that brings me the rough idea of the basic luminuos...the cheapo double sided tape...it appears brighter when i was doing with white paper attached...

user posted image user posted image

Then i make a comparison between frosted and clear acrylic attached with the tape...

as you can see the result is quite impressive...but unfortunately i cant get the same tape with large area...even the double sided tape that i got from sticker shop gave me disappointing results... cry.gif

TStorino
post Jun 28 2013, 11:54 PM

><
978 posts

UPDATE

Then i decided to make the best that suits me so far, both strips at the end with some gap together with white paper

It turns out like this with single strip...

And with the double strips

even though the glowing effect is not equally distributed, but it's fine for me since its my first experience doing this...maybe other sifu can give better suggestions on dealing with RGB colors...

First attempt (without gap, LED strip attached closely to the edge of the acrylic);

user posted image user posted image user posted image

Second attempt (with gap, LED strip at attached directly to the acrylic...just below the surface with gap around 0.9 cm, black tape attached to cover the LED bulb);

user posted image user posted image user posted image

It turns out a lil bit better...perhaps dealing with multi-color LED is not that easy..but this is the best so far...

Experimentation still under progress, perhaps a lil bit slow due to packed schedule..got a 2-months contract work to earn some money before starting off my third year later.. biggrin.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0212sec    0.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 12:15 AM