the consequences of experimenting., heatpipe exploded !!!

SUSAllnGap
post Mar 30 2006, 04:39 PM, updated 20y ago

[ Modding with Passion(tm) ]
4,561 posts

just received my Titan Vanessa heatsink from ray99mond. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

and as usual, my hands was itchy and i started to bend the fins back into the correct position, so i noticed some fins was loose (not bonded with the heatpipe) doh.gif doh.gif

thus i started my stove and put on the heatsink to heat it up to the soldering melting point to begin soldering the heatsink

as this heatsink was fast as dissipating heat and wind was blowing from outside, i was loosing heat fast.....so i set the stove on max fire...... icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif

and then i started soldering......then i stood there for a while.....KABOOM !!! rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

my ear went deaf for a while, then i was like WTF, i got a cut on my abdomen and i look at the heatsink, and the heatpipe exploded !!! rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

looks like i've burned-in for too long until the heatpipe exploded man !!!

my mum thought i was dead coz it sounded like the stove exploded, and even the flame was put off by the explosion sweat.gif

here is the pic, there are actually 3 heatpipes folded in a " U " shape.
the middle heatpipe exploded due to extreme pressure, and it sounded like pipe bomb man

a section of the heatpipe that was totally launched at my stomach man doh.gif doh.gif

and my injured stomach, quite a deep cut, i was standing like around 60cm from the stove and it got me man mad.gif mad.gif
it aimed at me man vmad.gif vmad.gif

it also send out molten tin from the base coz the explosion was really a big boom!!
just look at the stove area, covered with bits of tin.

luckily i was wearin specs at tat time or i migh be blind de....look at the specs carefully !!!

and look at my pants, small little stars rclxub.gif

SUSAllnGap
post Mar 30 2006, 04:40 PM

4,561 posts

after recovering from that, i've removed the useless section of the heatsink.

just look at the impact from the explosion !!! totally pushed the fins inwards !!

and i mounted it on my Mobo, it's still doing well, at 45°C at idle for Barton 2.2Ghz at 1.9V, even my SI-97 couldnt get such low temperatures

nicvoo
post Mar 30 2006, 04:42 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

aiyoo
wasted a heatsink
hahahah lucky its still working lol

abubin
post Mar 30 2006, 04:46 PM

10,429 posts

omg!!! thanks for the warning. Heating heatpipe = no no. tongue.gif
SUSAllnGap
post Mar 30 2006, 04:52 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Mar 30 2006, 04:46 PM)
omg!!! thanks for the warning. Heating heatpipe = no no. tongue.gif

warning : heating heatpipe = pipe bomb
laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by AllnGap: Mar 30 2006, 04:52 PM
radioactive
post Mar 30 2006, 04:52 PM

1,857 posts

Heat+H2O=boiling water la...so its like a pressure cooker. Next time drill some holes to empty the water b4 u start heating it.
Lucky u dun have access to commercial high pressure stove and result a worst consequences.

Nice belly man..tht cut aint deep..jus a minor cut for me...a cut from sharp edges from a cut metal my finger 15mm x 2mm.

This post has been edited by radioactive: Mar 30 2006, 04:59 PM
SUSAllnGap
post Mar 30 2006, 04:57 PM

4,561 posts

bro, if u drill a hole in a heatpipe, then u get a copper pipe, it's no longer a heatpipe.
heatpipe can transfer heat so well because it's pressurized
mengsuan
post Mar 30 2006, 04:59 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

Thank god nothing serious happened to you. I bet your mom was worried. I felt the tension when I am reading your post. sweat.gif
radioactive
post Mar 30 2006, 05:08 PM

1,857 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Mar 30 2006, 04:57 PM)
bro, if u drill a hole in a heatpipe, then u get a copper pipe, it's no longer a heatpipe.
heatpipe can transfer heat so well because it's pressurized
I see...put ethanol in instead...hehe..will increase the performance...when the ethanol evaporates...it fills up the pipe. wait..cannot la..mus stick to water.

Btw..i dun see wikipedia telling me tht heat pipe is pressurized

This post has been edited by radioactive: Mar 30 2006, 05:11 PM
exkay
post Mar 30 2006, 05:10 PM

Hired Gunman
3,657 posts

lucky thing u have your shirts on.. if not it might have penerated your belly and u would have a hole to drain out excess fat.

and radioactive, 15mm by 2mm aint deep cut.. i've tried 15mm by 7mm slit, by my own teeth on my lips.
radioactive
post Mar 30 2006, 05:12 PM

1,857 posts

QUOTE(exkay @ Mar 30 2006, 05:10 PM)
lucky thing u have your shirts on.. if not it might have penerated your belly and u would have a hole to drain out excess fat.

and radioactive, 15mm by 2mm aint deep cut.. i've tried 15mm by 7mm slit, by my own teeth on my lips.
Yah..shud have gone deeper..drain excess for free....hahaha..jk
SUSAllnGap
post Mar 30 2006, 05:22 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(exkay @ Mar 30 2006, 05:10 PM)

i wore the shirt after i got the cut, but it's scary
namzycad3
post Mar 30 2006, 05:28 PM

230 posts

hey dont do anything stupid yet, i still got thinking to buy stuff from ya haha....
exkay
post Mar 30 2006, 05:38 PM

Hired Gunman
3,657 posts

sur eu got THICK SKIN!!! jkjk

superdav007
post Mar 30 2006, 05:51 PM

1,072 posts

wow.....1st time i heard a HSF explode
vyruz
post Mar 30 2006, 06:10 PM

Photographer
1,082 posts

AllnGap, lucky u r still here, else LYN will less one contributor for computers modification..and we'll kurang one sifu d.. and thanks for the warning... biggrin.gif
Dreamworks
post Mar 30 2006, 07:24 PM

Shining with 3x2+1 stars!
2,141 posts

OMG! Just knew even metal can explode sweat.gif
sniper on the roof
post Mar 30 2006, 07:27 PM

23,414 posts

Wow...nothing's cooler than itchy hands injuries.

Hope your didi is ok tongue.gif
sidewinderz
post Mar 30 2006, 07:30 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Mar 30 2006, 07:27 PM)
Wow...nothing's cooler than itchy hands injuries.

Hope your didi is ok tongue.gif
does he haf 1??? rolleyes.gif
lol....but seriously, does this happen to all heatpipes?? imagine if the processor reach tat kinda temp and the whole heatpipe boom....cant imagine the damage... sweat.gif
sniper on the roof
post Mar 30 2006, 07:36 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(sidewinderz @ Mar 30 2006, 07:30 PM)
does he haf 1???  rolleyes.gif 
lol....but seriously, does this happen to all heatpipes?? imagine if the processor reach tat kinda temp and the whole heatpipe boom....cant imagine the damage...  sweat.gif
Smacks sidenwinderz!! rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
Kenot see picture kar?? shakehead.gif

Ps: Heatsinks are not meant to be BBQ'ed. The gas inside expanded due to the extreme temps mar.

0.0180sec    0.76    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:33 AM