Q and A Slow loading when getting into Windows, Network icon and Winfox program
TSraymond5105
Mar 30 2006, 12:27 PM, updated 20y ago
I do face this problem recently i have formatted my PC.I facing the very slow loading on my netowrk icon and also the winfox program(using to monitor and o/c display card).Before i formatted this kind of scenario is not happened before.This happened on my P4 2.6 with the Geforce 5900.Anyone can tell me what happened?I have tried out formatting the computer 3 times just bacasue of this problem.I suspect the windows XP pro that i installed is not really stable. Before the things finish loading,if i press of my computer's property,or maybe clicking something on quick launch tool bar,my pc will be handed for a while.This will be only solved when the icon and the program finished loaded. Anyone can help me on this problem?I suggest to reinstalled again the windows using different version of XP pro.
kmf123
Apr 1 2006, 04:54 PM
Type Ctrl+Alt+Del and identify the programs uses alot of memory.
Identify the programs that you're not using or don't want to use.
Go to Start>Run> type "msconfig" and disable the program(s) that u do't want to use on the "startup" tab, but be careful, don't disable the Windows's program
try at your own risk
TSraymond5105
Apr 2 2006, 10:32 AM
I have try those work that you recommended to me before.No program is using a lot of memory.I have also disable the programs i don't want from loading in begining of start up windows.Thank you.
siauann
Apr 2 2006, 02:10 PM
my comp oso like tat..it took me a while to able to use window cz its loading the network connection...it took some time to connect...after tat its okie...mayb u try disable auto connect to network...i suggest u try disable it...thn whn u load windows baru try connect...c if its the same o not...it wrks for me...but i lz connect manually so i jz let it like ths...it dun took so much time for me...jz a while....less thn 1min..
ZiYi
Apr 2 2006, 08:14 PM
Did you kill the prefetch?
TSraymond5105
Apr 11 2006, 10:27 AM
QUOTE(ZiYi @ Apr 2 2006, 08:14 PM) Did you kill the prefetch? How i killed the prefetch?I don't know what is that.Mind to eleborate more?
oranje
Apr 12 2006, 11:32 PM

try defrag ur pc, and use regcleaner to clean all the registry..  btw, i also dunno bout prefect..
hoongern
Apr 12 2006, 11:46 PM
are you connecting any network drives? because that can slow down the loading process.. (I connect network drives manually through the use of net use X: \\networkpath /USER:domain\user etc)
oranje
Apr 14 2006, 02:43 AM

wat make it diff? is it faster when u loading in windows Bar there?
gYaRad0s
Apr 14 2006, 04:03 PM
QUOTE(oranje @ Apr 14 2006, 02:43 AM) wat make it diff? is it faster when u loading in windows Bar there? nop... coz 3(default) is a good value & fair for both app & boot up.
oranje
Apr 15 2006, 01:27 AM

oo..ic ic thx for the comment
TSraymond5105
Apr 15 2006, 12:41 PM
QUOTE(oranje @ Apr 12 2006, 11:32 PM) try defrag ur pc, and use regcleaner to clean all the registry..  btw, i also dunno bout prefect..  I have already done this things already.Reformatted the hdd sure doesn't have the unwanted registry one.Fresh copy of OS. QUOTE(hoongern @ Apr 12 2006, 11:46 PM) are you connecting any network drives? because that can slow down the loading process.. (I connect network drives manually through the use of net use X: \\networkpath /USER:domain\user etc) No,i am not connecting to the network drives.
TSraymond5105
Apr 15 2006, 12:42 PM
QUOTE(fruitlo0p @ Apr 13 2006, 05:49 PM) Try this Go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Memory Management\PrefetcherManager Set the EnablePrefetcher=3(default) & del EnableSuperfetch if u seen any Will get a try on this when i am back to hometown.Thanks for your advice and suggestion.
Cyclone87
Apr 15 2006, 12:53 PM
QUOTE(fruitlo0p @ Apr 13 2006, 05:49 PM) Try this Go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Memory Management\PrefetcherManager Set the EnablePrefetcher=3(default) & del EnableSuperfetch if u seen any Can we change to 1?
SUSsynz
Apr 15 2006, 01:51 PM
QUOTE(Cyclone87 @ Apr 15 2006, 12:53 PM) For sure u can do so(wif EnableSuperfetch=1) in order to reduce the boot up time but startup will b slower than usual as a result. Startup items may appear slowly & file accessing will oso slightly slower. But tis is juz for the beginning moment. This post has been edited by fru!tlo0p: Apr 15 2006, 02:02 PM
x86phre3x
Apr 17 2006, 02:48 PM
I am also having this problem, still finding out what happens to my PC. In my case, the two program that loads forever is the network connection and Kaspersky Personal Pro icon in system tray. Tried to disable Kaspersky, uninstall/disable, reinstall File & Printer Sharing, do registry tweak to disable read schedule task on remote comp, reinstall LAN driver but still no go. Anyone got any idea, please help...
oranje
Apr 17 2006, 03:22 PM

for me, only antivirus software i put on startup.. other else i disable, even i use norton antivirus, which is consider a heavy program, but my comp not tat slow also.. if u use kaspersky, even faster
rickysim84
Apr 17 2006, 07:36 PM
I face karpersky problem too.. but i think after u uninstall karpersky.. ur comp will run faster, rite?a
x86phre3x
Apr 17 2006, 11:27 PM
It's not that my computer is slow. It's just the startup problem. The computer is like establishing something before enabling network connection. That's the problem. I need to know what is my computer is doing so that I can turn it off to make it boot faster. And I don't really think it's related to kaspersky at all since raymond5105 is also having the same problem but without kaspersky...
kcng
Apr 18 2006, 01:27 AM
I had this problem.
The solution ? Uninstall norton antivirus if you have it, including all symantec related programs.
Your PC will then boot up very much faster. Thats from my experience la.
supermad
Apr 18 2006, 11:05 AM

i have this slow network connection icon problem too. I suspect this is cause by some brand of network card. My network card is cnet, any 1 of u that face slow network connection icon problem using this card too? BTW, i try open ie to suft net b4 the network connection icon show up, and it actually can.
x86phre3x
Apr 18 2006, 01:05 PM
I'm using the nForce4 Ethernet controller and I don't think it's because of the network card model since I never had this problem before until recently. I really think it's from one of the Windows Update causes this. Since I already tried to reformat and reinstall Windows. At first, the problem isn't there, until I update Windows. I'm not sure which update causes this because I update all neccesary updates at once. After restarting the PC, the problem came back...
This post has been edited by x86phre3x: Apr 19 2006, 05:01 PM
oranje
Apr 19 2006, 02:31 AM

QUOTE(kcng @ Apr 18 2006, 01:27 AM) I had this problem. The solution ? Uninstall norton antivirus if you have it, including all symantec related programs. Your PC will then boot up very much faster. Thats from my experience la. then, there will be no any av program?? its fast, but it fast in virus attack as well jk jk
[W]HIT3_@NG3L
Apr 19 2006, 09:19 AM
go to RUN type "msconfig" without the "" click startup and untick those program which is not necessary to start up mayb you could try some program tht offer boot time defrag
tachlio
Apr 19 2006, 09:57 AM
QUOTE([W]HIT3_@NG3L @ Apr 19 2006, 09:19 AM) mayb you could try some program tht offer boot time defrag  i m using registry mechanic isn't ok ? it let me start window very fast but when come to screen need to wait all icon to startup / bootup need some time also~
SUSBreauxBloody
Apr 19 2006, 11:33 AM
HELP !
i've been experiencing strange problem with my pc my pc is very lag even playing mp3 or video sometime lag till cant play game the processor 2xxx mhz shown in properties of my computer reduced to only 6xx mhz ... but this only happened once.
i hv 2 harddisks attached. sometime one of them cannot be detect. i have jz formatted the pc but the same problems come out is it some sort of defect of hardware or virus problem ?
x86phre3x
Apr 19 2006, 05:00 PM
I think you should open a new thread
x86phre3x
Apr 19 2006, 05:04 PM
QUOTE(tachlio @ Apr 19 2006, 09:13 AM) I think we should figure out which update causes this. I really don't have time to do that now, currently in my examination week. If you have time, just reformat your PC and install update one by one, restart everytime you install one update, stop until the problem occurs, it must be the last update you install. Share with us the result..
supermad
Apr 20 2006, 09:55 AM

x86phre3x, r u using winxp sp1 or version earlier than sp1? i am using winxp sp2 and when i 1st install winxp sp2 without updating anything, the problem already there. So this mean the update that cause problem is inside sp2? so troublesome.
x86phre3x
Apr 20 2006, 11:07 AM
I installed Windows XP SP2. Before update, it's ok. After update the latest patch, the problem occurs.
tachlio
Apr 21 2006, 09:44 AM
QUOTE(x86phre3x @ Apr 19 2006, 05:04 PM) I think we should figure out which update causes this. I really don't have time to do that now, currently in my examination week. If you have time, just reformat your PC and install update one by one, restart everytime you install one update, stop until the problem occurs, it must be the last update you install. Share with us the result..  lolz i also in my exam week la, btw i will reformat after exam i think bout end of this month , but need update one by one
x86phre3x
Apr 21 2006, 08:47 PM
Download all the necessary updates from http://www.softwarepatch.com/windows/index.htmlEnd of this month sounds good, I'll be finishing on 5th of May maybe after that I'l figure it out (If you haven't done it yet)
mykucing
Apr 22 2006, 12:15 AM
Hello friends, For me when windows getting slow, I will do this check list: 1- Get latest definition update for my ad-aware software and scan my pc. I used Ad-Aware SE Personal software. 2- Get latest definition update for my anti-virus software and scan my pc. I used AVG Free Edition anti virus. 3- Scan my registry with register cleaner. For this I used Registry Mechanic to clean up my registry. 4- The last one, I used CodeStuff Starter to monitor startup programs and services. Hope this will useful. I'm glad to help. Thanks you.
x86phre3x
Apr 22 2006, 02:57 PM
I just figured out something this morning..
Check it out, these are all updates that i installed and only 2 of them causing problem. The first one causes the slow loading on the network icon + kaspersky and the second one causes my windows freezes doing so (loading on the network icon + kaspersky). Means that the 2nd update causes greater problem. Since I am using XP MCE 2005 SP2(with rollup update 2), i hope that someone can confirm this. Try to uninstall those 2 updates and see if the problem is there. At least, it works for me after I uninstalled those two.
Security Update for Windows XP (KB873339) - caused problem Critical Update for Windows XP (KB886185) - installed and no problem Security Update for Windows XP (KB885836) - installed and no problem Security Update for Windows XP (KB888302) - installed and no problem Security Update for Windows XP (KB891781) - installed and no problem Security Update for Windows XP (KB888113) - installed and no problem Update for Windows XP (KB887742) - installed and no problem Security Update for Windows XP (KB885835) - installed and no problem Security Update for Windows XP (KB885250) - installed and no problem Security Update for Windows XP (KB890046) - installed and no problem Security Update for Windows XP (KB896422) - installed and no problem Security Update for Windows XP (KB901214) - installed and no problem Security Update for Windows XP (KB890859) - installed and no problem Security Update for Windows XP (KB896358) - installed and no problem Security Update for Windows XP (KB893756) - installed and no problem Security Update for Windows XP (KB899591) - installed and no problem Security Update for Windows XP (KB899587) - installed and no problem Security Update for Windows XP (KB896423) - installed and no problem Update for Windows XP (KB894391) - installed and no problem Microsoft GDI+ Detection Tool (KB873374) - installed and no problem Security Update for Windows XP (KB902400) - installed and no problem Security Update for Windows XP (KB899589) - installed and no problem Security Update for Windows XP (KB901017) - installed and no problem Security Update for Windows XP (KB905414) - installed and no problem Security Update for Windows XP (KB905749) - installed and no problem Security Update for Windows XP (KB900725) - installed and no problem Security Update for Windows XP (KB896424) - installed and no problem Update for Windows XP (KB910437) - caused problem Security Update for Windows XP (KB904706) - installed and no problem Security Update for Windows XP (KB908519) - installed and no problem Security Update for Windows XP (KB912919) - installed and no problem Security Update for Windows XP (KB911927) - installed and no problem Security Update for Windows XP (KB913446) - installed and no problem Security Update for Windows XP (KB908531) - installed and no problem Security Update for Windows XP (KB911562) - installed and no problem Security Update for Windows Media Player 10 for Windows XP (KB911565) - installed and no problem Cumulative Security Update for Internet Explorer for Windows XP (KB912812) - installed and no problem
Update :
Security Update for Windows XP (KB896428) - installed and no problem Security Update for Microsoft .NET Framework 1.1 SP1 (KB886903) - installed and no problem WindowsXP Media Center Update Rollup 2 (KB900325) - installed and no problem
This post has been edited by x86phre3x: Apr 22 2006, 03:31 PM
rickysim84
Apr 22 2006, 05:41 PM
erm.. how to uninstall those patch?
x86phre3x
Apr 22 2006, 06:04 PM
Add/Remove program in ctrl panel, make sure you tick the Show Updates on the top right of the window..
rickysim84
Apr 22 2006, 06:13 PM
Thanx bro...
x86phre3x
Apr 22 2006, 06:20 PM
Try it and tell me whether it works or not
rickysim84
Apr 22 2006, 06:31 PM
ya... it works.. but the windows seems to redownload it and want me to install... wat is tat update for?
x86phre3x
Apr 22 2006, 06:34 PM
QUOTE KB873339
Description This update fixes an unchecked buffer problem in Windows HyperTerminal - its rating is 'important' (in other words, download it now). HyperTerminal is an application that you can use to connect to other computers, to Telnet to sites, to bulletin board systems (BBSs), to online services, and to host computers, by using your modem, a null modem cable or and Ethernet connection. A specially designed program could use the HyperTerminal security problem to allow a hacker or virus onto your system, where they can cause the usual havoc - delete files, crash your system, and generally ruin your day.
KB910437
Description Install this update to prevent or resolve an issue in which Windows Update and Automatic Updates can no longer download updates after an Access Violation error occurs when using the Automatic Updates service If you don't want your computer to download updates automatically, disable automatic updates in Security Center/System Properties (Automatic Updates tab) This post has been edited by x86phre3x: Apr 22 2006, 06:37 PM
rickysim84
Apr 22 2006, 06:40 PM
U also didn't keep those update? I think it is very important, but i hate it when it lags my comp...
x86phre3x
Apr 22 2006, 06:44 PM
I disabled the auto update. Since the problem came... so now, want it or not, I have to update manually. Sad though..
tachlio
Apr 22 2006, 07:41 PM
QUOTE(x86phre3x @ Apr 22 2006, 06:44 PM) I disabled the auto update. Since the problem came... so now, want it or not, I have to update manually. Sad though.. i had format my pc allready , because gatal tangan hhhaha and now i did not update any at all hehe wait for good news from ur guys
x86phre3x
Apr 23 2006, 12:50 PM
QUOTE(tachlio @ Apr 22 2006, 07:41 PM) i had format my pc allready , because gatal tangan hhhaha and now i did not update any at all hehe wait for good news from ur guys Have you tried to update your Windows without the 2 updates I mentioned before? Tell me it works or not..
tachlio
Apr 23 2006, 04:33 PM
QUOTE(x86phre3x @ Apr 23 2006, 12:50 PM) Have you tried to update your Windows without the 2 updates I mentioned before? Tell me it works or not.. ya its works and i leave it there like this only
TSraymond5105
Apr 23 2006, 08:03 PM
Opps,about 2 weeks didn't visit this thread already so many replies.Anyway thanks for your guys comment and helps.So far my pc is formatted again and now the loading on the network icon and winfox icon is loading faster than before although it needs 20sec to load them out.
x86phre3x
Apr 23 2006, 08:09 PM
20 seconds is normal though
TSraymond5105
May 4 2006, 03:18 PM
QUOTE(x86phre3x @ Apr 23 2006, 08:09 PM) 20 seconds is normal though 20 seconds is rather slow for me as normally my icons will finished loading in between 7 seconds.But now is delayed for no reason although a fresh copy of windows is installed.
slingswish
May 6 2006, 04:05 AM
not enough ram ?
TSraymond5105
May 9 2006, 11:58 AM
Shouldn't be not enough RAM on the system.Just doing the loading job won't require much RAM on that.My 1.7Ghz spec is loading faster than my 2.6Ghz spec.Don't know why...
allvin
May 9 2006, 01:03 PM
QUOTE(raymond5105 @ May 9 2006, 12:58 PM) Shouldn't be not enough RAM on the system.Just doing the loading job won't require much RAM on that.My 1.7Ghz spec is loading faster than my 2.6Ghz spec.Don't know why... Well, it depends. Maybe that 2.6Ghz pc got many application or what. what u mean loading job? U mean you start your os? Or load an application? Basically, RAM is very important rather than processor. But If you got higher processor, but MUST also got a HIGHER ram. It's like a balance. Maybe should go google or sth. I read many article, sometime it stated that your pc must be balance in order to have an optimum speed.
TSraymond5105
May 9 2006, 04:39 PM
QUOTE(allvin @ May 9 2006, 01:03 PM) Well, it depends. Maybe that 2.6Ghz pc got many application or what. what u mean loading job? U mean you start your os? Or load an application? Basically, RAM is very important rather than processor. But If you got higher processor, but MUST also got a HIGHER ram. It's like a balance. Maybe should go google or sth. I read many article, sometime it stated that your pc must be balance in order to have an optimum speed.  I mean during the time jsut log in to Windows,the start up application like Antivirus,sound devide,network icon will le loading first before you can use the windows.What i ask is the problem that network icon is loading slowly eventohugh the pc has finish loading the antivirus and sound device program.I set up both pc with same program at start up.So not logical that the faster pc load slower than the slower pc.Both also with same amount of RAM.
allvin
May 9 2006, 04:52 PM
hmm... hard to stay lo! haha! I saw your sig, hmm your P4 1.7Ghz got Samsung 2*256 PC800? PC800? What that? DDR2? Maybe is the ram? Cos' your P4 2.6Ghz@3.25Ghz with stock cooling, is using Apacer 2*256MB brand. well, it might be over-clocking problem ( i just say might) Well, i suggest u ignore that, as long as your pc run everything good, games smooths and so on, THAT"S grate. Or other solution, reformat your pc. I don't like that. Have to install everything again
TSraymond5105
May 9 2006, 05:30 PM
RDRAM,that is RDRAM.PC800. Each module is running in 400Mhz.dual channel become 800Mhz.Hehe,you don't know about RDRAM?Er...o/c problem,can be a possibility also.but using Apacer brand to overclocking can cause the problem?I don't think so,as long as my rig running stable can already.
allvin
May 9 2006, 10:04 PM
oh~ dual channel la! Sigh... Well, u should mention dual channel mar! hehe... Well, if stable, why u complain about startup? As long as good condition, don't compare too much! haha! 2.6Ghz is of cos better especially u play games
TSraymond5105
May 10 2006, 11:41 AM
QUOTE(allvin @ May 9 2006, 10:04 PM) oh~ dual channel la! Sigh... Well, u should mention dual channel mar! hehe... Well, if stable, why u complain about startup? As long as good condition, don't compare too much! haha! 2.6Ghz is of cos better especially u play games  Hehe,ya lo is dual channel.I was thinking you know about that.Hehe,the faster com sure give better quality in gaming.No offence.Well i am happy with it.  Just the thing is i want to eliminate the time for loading.
allvin
May 10 2006, 12:19 PM
Too bad i can't perform dual channel due to my 2 rams are different brands and different speed. 256+512 running, i still feel the same speed, when plays games, u can see alot of the performance. Loading game faster
TSraymond5105
May 10 2006, 01:26 PM
QUOTE(allvin @ May 10 2006, 12:19 PM) Too bad i can't perform dual channel due to my 2 rams are different brands and different speed. 256+512 running, i still feel the same speed, when plays games, u can see alot of the performance. Loading game faster  Hehe,what to wait?Change the 256MB RAM to another 512MB one.Then you will be able to run the dual channel.Somemore 1GB RAM.More faster in gaming.
x86phre3x
May 12 2006, 02:19 PM
Sometimes I noticed slow loading in apps when overclocked. Don't know why but the frame rate in games does improve, just loading is slower. I really think that the system must have many corrections to do since the overclocked CPU can ensure the reliability if data processed. Try to underclock your processor at default speed and see..
allvin
May 12 2006, 06:32 PM
QUOTE(x86phre3x @ May 12 2006, 03:19 PM) Sometimes I noticed slow loading in apps when overclocked. Don't know why but the frame rate in games does improve, just loading is slower. I really think that the system must have many corrections to do since the overclocked CPU can ensure the reliability if data processed. Try to underclock your processor at default speed and see.. YAYA! That's what i had in mind. Last time i do overclocked (30%). In windows or loading app, the speed just like normal or sometimes make app crash. When play games, it sure will increase the performance This post has been edited by allvin: May 12 2006, 06:33 PM
TSraymond5105
May 14 2006, 01:20 PM
QUOTE(allvin @ May 12 2006, 06:32 PM) YAYA! That's what i had in mind. Last time i do overclocked (30%). In windows or loading app, the speed just like normal or sometimes make app crash. When play games, it sure will increase the performance  Maybe your RAM might not suit or comfort in running applications after you overclock 30%.You might try on the 25% overclock then maybe you can play games and also run applications without problem.Various of factors can caused that.
jerrycwj
May 24 2006, 09:59 PM

try to check the hdd maybe occur on hdd le...
allvin
May 24 2006, 10:54 PM
QUOTE(raymond5105 @ May 14 2006, 02:20 PM) Maybe your RAM might not suit or comfort in running applications after you overclock 30%.You might try on the 25% overclock then maybe you can play games and also run applications without problem.Various of factors can caused that. Err.. it's not the ram problem. It's the processor. Mostly u need some cooler or what. The most i can overlock is 30%. That's it. More than that, my pc will auto restart. Cant logon to winxp. Hmm... overlocking processor is ntg to do with the ram la  Just too much heat in my processor.
TSraymond5105
May 26 2006, 01:40 PM
QUOTE(allvin @ May 24 2006, 10:54 PM) Err.. it's not the ram problem. It's the processor. Mostly u need some cooler or what. The most i can overlock is 30%. That's it. More than that, my pc will auto restart. Cant logon to winxp. Hmm... overlocking processor is ntg to do with the ram la  Just too much heat in my processor.  Processor and RAM o/c are related.I think you don't know much about the concept of o/c.Once you o/c your proc then your RAM's frequency will start incresing.Increase how much then will depends on the ratio setting you are using.Perhaps synchronous or not synchronous.A lot a lot to learn in overclocking.Then RAM timing also playing important role on top on of that.