Samsung Galaxy S II Official Thread V39, Official Jellybean for G and Non-G!

pikachu01
post Feb 18 2013, 08:40 PM

1,510 posts

Don't need kernel cleaning scripts :/

What do you achieve by using it?
pikachu01
post Feb 18 2013, 11:04 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Feb 18 2013, 09:42 PM)
easy wipe, peace of mind.. hehe.. biggrin.gif
Just thought it might come in handy, never use it before though tongue.gif
QUOTE(mafioso @ Feb 18 2013, 10:29 PM)
its just to clean up all the useless files by kernels you dont use. nod.gif
treat it like a "fresh" install for kernels everytime u change.
The problem is some cleaning scripts do more harm than good. Cache and Dalvik Cache don't need to be cleared unless you've modified some framework related files. Kernel flashing doesn't need it.

Most of the time, you'll just need to wipe init.d and be done with it (that is if the kernel includes some init.d files when it is installed).
pikachu01
post Feb 19 2013, 12:09 AM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(mafioso @ Feb 18 2013, 11:43 PM)
i see, i always clear cache/dv cache whenever i flash something. since thats what most of the tutorial posted.
so i just follow laugh.gif
Lots of misinformation from one person to another. :/

Dalvik Cache contains constants/strings/routines from an APK so that it can be accessed faster in the future. Unless your APKs or frameworks change, erasing the Dalvik Cache won't do anything.

Cache contains temporary data from apps. Doesn't really matter as apps will cease to refer to the data once you exit the app (or restart your phone).
pikachu01
post Feb 19 2013, 09:48 AM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(mafioso @ Feb 19 2013, 12:15 AM)
not that i dont believe you. every information is valuable. nod.gif

but why every rom thread tells us to wipe both cache / dalvik cache upon flashing/flashing from a different rom/upgrading?
and hmm, i guess most of the people do as we're told. so far it doesnt affect the phone usage or anything like that.

or they're just telling us to do that just to be on the safe side?  hmm.gif
QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Feb 19 2013, 08:30 AM)
What Pikachu01 is trying to say is no need wipe Cache/Dalvic with every rom change? Wow is this possible? shocking.gif
Not necessary for a kernel change. Not ROM change. ROM change would change the APKs and framework hence a Dalvik Cache wipe is necessary.
pikachu01
post Feb 19 2013, 02:22 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(mafioso @ Feb 19 2013, 01:55 PM)
so there's no need to wipe cache/d cache when there's no major upgrade in the framework/app (for upgrading lets say v1.2 rom to v1.3 rom) ?
Usually a version change in ROM also changes the framework/APKs. You're advised to wipe the Dalvik Cache for that. Other than that, no.
pikachu01
post Feb 24 2013, 10:54 AM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Feb 24 2013, 10:46 AM)
My device recently freeze like crazy. Thinking of flashing [ROM][XWLSD][14Feb] Omega v20 ●►Final JB 4.1.2.
Last mth tried flashing Aliiance got serious bootloop & cannot boot.
This time thinking to flash Kernel Cleaning Script. This Omega Rom default PhilZ cwm6 good? Any bootloop? Or shud i flash Jeboo Kernel 2.1 that claim to be no bootloop. Sked la after bad experience with bootloop. Thx
Were you using Siyah 6b5 when your device is freezing?
pikachu01
post Feb 24 2013, 04:11 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(soulseeker6187 @ Feb 24 2013, 01:04 PM)
I also got freezing problem with philz before. After change to dorimanx no freezing prob anymore.
Do you guys by any chance use ThunderBolt! and/or CFS tweaks?
pikachu01
post Feb 28 2013, 07:53 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Feb 28 2013, 12:42 PM)
ergh.. siyah is giving me sod. every morning wake up phone died shakehead.gif
can anyone tell me if it is ok to used the latest Philz on LSD rom?

oops, never mind. found the latest one for LSD tongue.gif
Turn off sched_mc? I think sched_mc was defaulted to 2 and that's why a lot of lag/freeze and SODs.
pikachu01
post Feb 28 2013, 08:46 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Feb 28 2013, 08:29 PM)
pikachu01 where to turn off? stweak?
Yes. Stweaks.
pikachu01
post Feb 28 2013, 09:19 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Feb 28 2013, 09:10 PM)
which section of that in stweak?
The first tab. Sched_MC.
pikachu01
post Mar 1 2013, 01:17 AM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Feb 28 2013, 09:39 PM)
hmm.gif
I dun have it...
1st tab is CPU
Boot cpu freq
cortex wakup boost

cpu global setting
max normal freq
max oc freq
min freq
max touch freq
dynamic touch mode
min freq for 2-core
load_HO
Load_L1
min_rq
Load_rq
rate

cfc setting
gentle fair sleepers
arch power

cpu idle mode
cpu idel mode (sleep mode)
busfreq-up-threshold
scaling max suspend freq
scaling min suspend freq
scaling min standby freq
cartex wakeup delay

rclxub.gif
Only on 6.0 Beta 4. I don't think it was there in the previous few versions. Though this option was available back in GB Siyah I think.

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Feb 28 2013, 10:11 PM)
Done. Hope no more SOD sweat.gif
Really nice having BLN and fast charging.
Wait, I think Sched_MC wasn't the only thing preventing the SOD. You have to switch to ondemand governor as well. I tried pegasusq again and I got the freeze/lag. Switching to ondemand fixed it.
pikachu01
post Mar 3 2013, 11:30 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Mar 3 2013, 11:03 PM)
Anyway, I'm back on PhilZ. Got freeze/lag while on Siyah but no SOD.
Using ondemand? Did you flash ThunderBolt!?
pikachu01
post Mar 4 2013, 09:18 AM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Mar 4 2013, 12:09 AM)
ondemand. no time to flash thunderbolt yet. getting frustrated phone keep freezing and heating up shakehead.gif
Hmm, sometimes the governor/scheduler doesn't get applied correctly. You'll need to check /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpufreq to see that it is actually on ondemand.

Also, don't install any undervolting/governor/scheduler tweaking app like SetCPU or it won't get applied correctly.
pikachu01
post Apr 20 2013, 06:54 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(mafioso @ Apr 20 2013, 03:08 PM)
back when samsung didnt release also there were custom roms already..
if im not mistaken they take sources from other phone models then build it for s2.. (not sure about this?  sweat.gif )

but about few months ago i saw a post here with someone mentioning it has been released?
Custom ROMs are custom kernels are different. Custom ROMs can be hacked as the framework can be decompiled. Kernels can't be decompiled (well, the initrd can be, but that itself doesn't make it "custom").
pikachu01
post May 7 2013, 09:04 PM

1,510 posts

I used it and the battery failed to charge after 3 days, ruining my USB port as well (Couldn't transfer files to my PC using USB as it failed to detect it).

If you really want to buy it, advise you to get the 1 year warranty as the faulty batteries can only be detected after a few day's use.

0.0420sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 01:58 AM