Migration and then came back to Malaysia, What happens ?

TSBravoZeroTwo
post Feb 8 2013, 02:38 PM, updated 13y ago

1,128 posts

As much as we see or hear people from Malaysia migrate to overseas. But, at the same time, we also see or hear people came back to Malaysia. What happened to these people who migrated initially and then decided to come back to Malaysia ? Why ? Was it because of the moon is not rounder nor the grass is greener in those foreign lands after all ? Please share and comment. Thanks.
deodorant
post Feb 8 2013, 02:59 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

Places good to work are not necessarily good to raise kids or retire in.
SUSalaskanbunny
post Feb 8 2013, 05:34 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

depends what age they return... some old liao, they return for lower cost of living and msia brings more value to their retirement income...

as for young ones, raising family might be cheaper in msia, the culture/exposure to ur kids, family to take care off, made enough $$$ to retire young...

of course some also get burnt out and think they had enough...
dreamer101
post Feb 8 2013, 08:08 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ Feb 8 2013, 02:38 PM)
As much as we see or hear people from Malaysia migrate to overseas. But, at the same time, we also see or hear people came back to Malaysia. What happened to these people who migrated initially and then decided to come back to Malaysia ? Why ? Was it because of the moon is not rounder nor the grass is greener in those foreign lands after all ? Please share and comment. Thanks.
BravoZeroTwo,

Family...

Dreamer
tishaban
post Feb 8 2013, 11:36 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ Feb 8 2013, 02:38 PM)
I was in the US for a very long time. There was a death in the family and that was the main reason I came back.

No regrets spending all that time in the US, no regrets coming back either.

Kasey Brown
post Feb 10 2013, 07:00 AM

537 posts

Each individual person will have their own individual reasons for why they may have come back to Malaysia.

- Sometimes it may be "the grass is not greener", but this is only one reason.

- Sometimes they miss their families, their language, the familiar sights and sounds of a culture they grew up with

- Sometimes they've earned enough money overseas and want to invest that money in a business back home due to the exchange rate.

Why don't you go about and ask each person who does go back, and compile a list of answers, then come here and show us the research. It would be interesting to see a % value on the reasons that are generally given. If you're stringent enough, you might even get that research published in a business journal.
freedom2912
post Feb 10 2013, 03:54 PM

Cool Like Fire
802 posts

No matter where you go & how successful you are, 1day for sure you want to go back when you miss hometown..

HaPPy CNY..cheers!
ibmsege
post Feb 10 2013, 05:46 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Feb 8 2013, 11:36 PM)
I was in the US for a very long time. There was a death in the family and that was the main reason I came back.

No regrets spending all that time in the US, no regrets coming back either.
so where you stay now?
Raimi0808
post Feb 10 2013, 09:40 PM

85 posts

Migrating can be great at with all the money you can earn, but I,like the other people say that you will still want to come back to your hometown. even if you are there for 10 years,still you will come back...
TSBravoZeroTwo
post Feb 11 2013, 06:50 PM

1,128 posts

Good sharing of infor here. Cheers.
pcychen72
post Mar 10 2013, 04:39 PM

i'm a nomad. I like a sea change every now and then.

0.0198sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 08:12 PM