a mortgage broker offer me for Hong Leong mortgage loan. semi flexi, conventional, 30years. .. what your advise?
HONG LEONG BANK MORTGAGE LOAN, Any Advise?
Feb 7 2013, 04:35 PM, updated 13y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
93 posts Joined: May 2012 |
a mortgage broker offer me for Hong Leong mortgage loan. semi flexi, conventional, 30years. .. what your advise?
Feb 7 2013, 04:43 PM
7,923 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: 1 Malaysia |
Efficient bank
Feb 7 2013, 04:59 PM
they offer -2.4 blr.. but i need to subscribe they credit card.. can discard after 4 month...
Feb 7 2013, 05:13 PM
1,752 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
Take how much loan ?
Feb 7 2013, 05:28 PM
1,016 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
Oh I think the last hong leong thread got a very big bashing
Feb 7 2013, 05:38 PM
Feb 7 2013, 05:39 PM
Feb 7 2013, 05:42 PM
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2672727&hl=
haha. I think most of the guys there enjoyed themselves |
Feb 7 2013, 05:50 PM
U managed to find
Feb 7 2013, 05:57 PM
Feb 7 2013, 06:06 PM
Feb 7 2013, 07:54 PM
1,752 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
Feb 7 2013, 08:18 PM
281 posts Joined: May 2011 |
Feb 8 2013, 09:19 AM
11,943 posts Joined: Mar 2012 From: Kuala Lumpur |
The Best Bank of all time
Feb 8 2013, 09:22 AM
551 posts Joined: Feb 2012 |
housing loan why not u try rhb, and ocbc first before accept hlb?
Feb 8 2013, 09:24 AM
Feb 8 2013, 10:30 AM
all bank hv their own standard... sometime one time horror experienced dealing with they customer service make u disappointed and assume that is the way they treat they customer.. that's the important to maintain a group of people with great knowledge and skill in team of customer service... not a fresh grad (without any idea of company product) or woman/man who're having big personal problem.. my 1cent..
Feb 8 2013, 08:29 PM
1,327 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
can i have te hlb banker details? quite impresive offer -2.4 for 340k..
Feb 14 2013, 04:40 AM
1,249 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
QUOTE(Dark Adam @ Feb 7 2013, 04:59 PM) Credit card is not compulsory. The officer just want to hit target so force you take the card. The officer ask you to discard after 4 months because if you discard earlier, Hong Leong will deduct back the officer's commission. This post has been edited by Asgaard: Feb 14 2013, 04:42 AM |
Feb 25 2013, 10:30 PM
100 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
I got from CIMB -2.2
How is HLB full flex? Any one taking such loan? |
Feb 25 2013, 10:44 PM
390 posts Joined: Oct 2012 |
HL Islamic loan is basically the same as conventional but has no lock down period. Even better. Your income must be halal though..
Feb 25 2013, 10:48 PM
7,446 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
Why some taikors i know anti gao gao hong leong bank ya? My current prop, i submitted to all banks i know. None has come back except hong leong. Shocked! I usually stick to GLC. Maybe this time i am gonna try them
Feb 26 2013, 12:31 AM
5,379 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
Feb 26 2013, 12:39 AM
Feb 26 2013, 03:25 AM
565 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: Damansara |
Feb 26 2013, 09:47 AM
1,327 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
QUOTE(AMINT @ Feb 25 2013, 10:48 PM) Why some taikors i know anti gao gao hong leong bank ya? My current prop, i submitted to all banks i know. None has come back except hong leong. Shocked! I usually stick to GLC. Maybe this time i am gonna try them HLB keep one eye close for their existing customer, some more u big boss.. i got HP with them and wish to apply for housing loan, the banker say no problem to approve but they only can offer tenure up to 30 years only.. |
Feb 26 2013, 10:14 AM
Hong leong can approve. Headache later on only.
Feb 26 2013, 10:31 PM
861 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
Just to check with you guys, I have been informed by a banker that for 2nd housing loan, maximum loan amount that can be approved only 80%, couldn't get 90%. Is that true? This info coming from UxB. Hmm..
Feb 27 2013, 11:52 AM
Feb 27 2013, 11:54 AM
Feb 27 2013, 11:57 AM
Feb 27 2013, 10:57 PM
390 posts Joined: Oct 2012 |
Feb 27 2013, 11:06 PM
Mar 1 2013, 08:54 AM
Mar 25 2018, 12:24 PM
37 posts Joined: Feb 2018 |
Deleted
This post has been edited by wenkernboys01: Nov 24 2022, 07:42 AM |
Mar 25 2018, 01:24 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
20,146 posts Joined: May 2011 |
QUOTE(wenkernboys01 @ Mar 25 2018, 12:24 PM) Not very efficient at all! Hong Leong Bank are lousy! Because their debit card has some problems, cash withdraw are inefficient, i try withdraw money from HLB ATM machine with my mom HLB debit card (i help my mom to withdraw cash from her debit card as she need it) but when the money from HLB debit card has been deducted after cash withdraw, cash did not dispenser and machines starts "OUT OF SERVICE" which is STUPID! Thankfully i still have BSN Visa Debit Card and i have no problem with BSN bank but Hong Leong Bank makes me angry when it comes to their debit card cash withdraw system! I have a Hong Leong Bank Joint Savings Account with fixed deposit but i gonna switching to CIMB Bank for Debit Card+Online Banking. Of course, HLB staff are rude and not friendly at all! Almost all banks at some point in time will disappointed you.Biasa.....just use whatever bank that give u best benefits. |
Mar 25 2018, 03:13 PM
110 posts Joined: Jun 2017 |
QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Mar 25 2018, 01:24 PM) Almost all banks at some point in time will disappointed you. haha, i agree with you. not only in banking sector, in other industry/sector also same. the bigger and the more extensive the company, tends to have more problem on their service. some might enjoy top top service but some unlucky one might disappointed with their service. Depend on luck Biasa.....just use whatever bank that give u best benefits. |
Nov 26 2018, 04:52 PM
141 posts Joined: Dec 2016 |
Anybody has Hong Leong housing loan agent contact??
Mar 10 2019, 09:23 PM
37 posts Joined: Feb 2018 |
*deleted
This post has been edited by wenkernboys01: Nov 24 2022, 07:43 AM |
May 11 2019, 07:07 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
290 posts Joined: Nov 2011 |
After read this clause again and do some simulation and found out your clarification is seem not what the clause meant...
Interest chargeable is either (a) outstanding principal minus extra cash balance or (b) 70% of outstanding principal, whichever is lower If my outstanding principal is RM1. 2 mil Extra cash balance is RM300k So (a) 1.2 mil minus 300k equal to 900k OR (b) 70% of outstanding principal = 0.7* 1.2 mil equal to 840k Then interest chargeable is whichever lower.. So my interest chargeable is RM840k... Whichever is lower However, it does not make sense, if I don't put any extra cash inside the current account, the bank already given me 70% on the outstanding principal.... Will the bank gives such good deal?? |
May 11 2019, 01:16 PM
1,249 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
QUOTE(wenkernboys01 @ Mar 10 2019, 09:23 PM) Well I don't recommend the Hong Leong Bank for everything banking, even for the mortgage loan. Hi, Hong Leong pay and save account is CURRENT ACCOUNT. So of course it's tagged as current account in ATM. Previously they even offer cheque book with that account. What's the problem of just choosing current account when go withdraw? So hard meh?I tell you guys why, please don't take those reason seriously. 1. Online Banking: I hate Hong Leong Connect online banking, when it comes to shows transaction history, what the hell is this?! They spilt between banking account and debit card transactions history! Look, banking account transaction shows on normal transaction history, but debit card transactions shows on a separate transaction history called "debit card transactions history"! My maybank online banking don't have those issues so far, all banking and debit card transactions always shows in just single transaction history, not a separate ones. 2. Cash withdrawal and account linking: Hong Leong Bank accounts and debit card has some problems, when only one account (i mean one pay & save account) linked to a single debit card, when it comes to withdrawal, a pay & save savings account shows as current account, not a savings account?! WTF?! I through it was a savings account! This is so weird! And when i use the hlb debit card with one pay & save account linked to withdrawal cash at any meps atm, I had need to choose current, not savings. Stupid! My maybank debit card has 1 savings account linked, but when withdraw cash at any meps atm, I only need to choose savings, not current, no problem. I still have Hong Leong bank debit card and banking account because my mom still forced me to use that bank so i don't have a chance to do that but luckily I'm now stop using Hong Leong bank debit card and banking account unless i went to HLB branch to deposit my cash and then use hlb online banking or atm to transfer my money from HLB to Maybank. 3. Cash deposit machine: As I said, Hong Leong bank has a worst cash deposit machine I ever seen! it keeps out of service in all branches consistently! This is so stupid! Of course when I went to HLB branch alma, I saw there is too long queue because of two machines has some differences, only 1 machine works and 1 machine still maintenance. That's all the reason why I don't want to recommend Hong Leong bank for everything, even for loans and credit cards! If you don't care about banking experience, by all means go for HLB, but for lot of people, I would recommend the others malaysian bank such as maybank, cimb, public bank and rhb for everything banking. Cash deposit machine very subjective. Many banks also same depending on time and location. Either machine full or got error/faulty. You think bank so free simply make a cash deposit our of order? Some customer even put paper clip , stapler bullets and other non cash item into machine |
Aug 12 2019, 05:15 PM
102 posts Joined: Jul 2019 |
hi All
i have a question about semi flexi house loan Hong Leong bank. Let say my loan is 400k and i decided to pump in an amount RM100k into advance payment, will it reduces my interest rate on monthly basic? or should i do partially settlement? which one is better? |
Aug 12 2019, 05:34 PM
61 posts Joined: Jul 2019 |
QUOTE(Pizza Hut @ Aug 12 2019, 05:15 PM) hi All Yes for the RM100k that you pumped in will reduce principal hence reduce interesti have a question about semi flexi house loan Hong Leong bank. Let say my loan is 400k and i decided to pump in an amount RM100k into advance payment, will it reduces my interest rate on monthly basic? or should i do partially settlement? which one is better? |
Aug 12 2019, 05:47 PM
102 posts Joined: Jul 2019 |
Aug 12 2019, 08:21 PM
3,718 posts Joined: Nov 2015 |
QUOTE(Pizza Hut @ Aug 12 2019, 05:47 PM) the advance payment will reduce the loan interest amount per month... with same instalment amount but lower interest, hence more monthly payment towards principal and hence the loan will be payoff earlier...This post has been edited by WahBiang: Aug 12 2019, 08:21 PM |
Aug 12 2019, 11:42 PM
61 posts Joined: Jul 2019 |
Aug 13 2019, 08:52 AM
3,024 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Any advance payment need to write in to inform HLB first before we can do so right? As I paid extra using online transfer to my bank account but end up it shown as excess payment instead of offset the principal. Anyone can enlighten? Thanks
Aug 13 2019, 12:42 PM
2,525 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: maranello>sentul |
QUOTE(brianccg @ Aug 13 2019, 08:52 AM) Any advance payment need to write in to inform HLB first before we can do so right? As I paid extra using online transfer to my bank account but end up it shown as excess payment instead of offset the principal. Anyone can enlighten? Thanks yes this is indeed true |
Aug 13 2019, 03:07 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
20,146 posts Joined: May 2011 |
my guess is not everyone is briefed on what they signed up for or even bother to listen to banker when they signed up. generally advance payment will reduce interest, just that some conditions may apply between full flexi and semi full flexi. for semi flexi overpayment might resulted in penalty. pls call your loan officer and come out for yamcha lah…. as for withdrawal of advance payment, a written letter is normally required. my response is just general pic. always referred to the contract signed. eimane liked this post
Aug 13 2019, 05:25 PM
24 posts Joined: Feb 2013 |
QUOTE(brianccg @ Aug 13 2019, 08:52 AM) Any advance payment need to write in to inform HLB first before we can do so right? As I paid extra using online transfer to my bank account but end up it shown as excess payment instead of offset the principal. Anyone can enlighten? Thanks This what i understand from loan officer below. If it full flexi, you may place it at current account to reduce interest. This is an example in link below how it helps to reduce your daily interest daily. https://www.hlb.com.my/en/personal-banking/...tgage-plus.html for some bank which do not have separate current account. Then they deposit directly into loan account. Same concept. If you insist on advance payment direct on loan account (reduce principal) Then you must only do it through counter. Otherwise, i think additional amount on monthly installment does not goes to reduce interest or principal. It will just collecting there and auto-deduct for next installment. eimane liked this post
Aug 14 2019, 09:34 AM
3,024 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(shujiro89 @ Aug 13 2019, 05:25 PM) This what i understand from loan officer below. Thanks clarify. If it full flexi, you may place it at current account to reduce interest. This is an example in link below how it helps to reduce your daily interest daily. https://www.hlb.com.my/en/personal-banking/...tgage-plus.html for some bank which do not have separate current account. Then they deposit directly into loan account. Same concept. If you insist on advance payment direct on loan account (reduce principal) Then you must only do it through counter. Otherwise, i think additional amount on monthly installment does not goes to reduce interest or principal. It will just collecting there and auto-deduct for next installment. My CIMB full flexi work on the 1st scenario and the problem is I would not know what is my balance loan sum to be exact if i decided to take out all the excess money that i put in the loan account. As for my HLB loan, since it is term loan, so I think i need to write to bank if i decided to dump in some money to settle the principal |
Oct 2 2019, 02:19 PM
359 posts Joined: Jan 2015 |
actually hlb increase their base rate from 4.03 to 4.13 in january 2019. i as one of their house loan borrower didnt get inform about the raise of the br. even the recent 0.25 drop also didnt inform.
borrow 500k, now still at 4.4%, public bank already offer at 4.15%. |
Oct 16 2019, 03:18 AM
Probation
13 posts Joined: Oct 2019 |
QUOTE(darkterror15 @ Oct 2 2019, 02:19 PM) actually hlb increase their base rate from 4.03 to 4.13 in january 2019. i as one of their house loan borrower didnt get inform about the raise of the br. even the recent 0.25 drop also didnt inform. They can appeal for you isn’t it ? Just give them sometime to appeal for you?borrow 500k, now still at 4.4%, public bank already offer at 4.15%. |
Oct 16 2019, 08:19 AM
359 posts Joined: Jan 2015 |
QUOTE(Jensenl @ Oct 16 2019, 03:18 AM) nope, the base rate u cannot nego, u can only nego for the spread, lets say 3.85 + 0.55, u can nego for the 0.55 but not the 3.85, and since my loan already signed before the base rate change, i cant do anything other than refinance few years later.just a little bit pissed why they didnt formally announce, or even give me an email/letter ahsui liked this post
Dec 12 2023, 05:57 PM
285 posts Joined: Jan 2017 |
Hello sifus. I want to ask about this HL semi flexi loan. Property still in construction so now still paying interest. But I always received the statement after the payment due date. May I know how do we know how much interest to pay each months to avoid late charges if the statement balance always come after the payment due date?
Dec 12 2023, 06:34 PM
36 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
QUOTE(Nemozai @ Dec 12 2023, 05:57 PM) Hello sifus. I want to ask about this HL semi flexi loan. Property still in construction so now still paying interest. But I always received the statement after the payment due date. May I know how do we know how much interest to pay each months to avoid late charges if the statement balance always come after the payment due date? Contact the officer that handle your loan application and screw him/her properly. He/She should has the courtesy to help you to prevent all these late charges or extra payment. |
Dec 12 2023, 07:40 PM
940 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Shah Alam,Selangor |
QUOTE(Nemozai @ Dec 12 2023, 05:57 PM) Hello sifus. I want to ask about this HL semi flexi loan. Property still in construction so now still paying interest. But I always received the statement after the payment due date. May I know how do we know how much interest to pay each months to avoid late charges if the statement balance always come after the payment due date? Well, he/she should've helped you to try adjust the statement dates before it's disbursed, long term solution should be writing in to them however it's already 2023, there's online banking, can on the spot check la and unless your construction progress is crazy fast, the monthly progressive interest doesn't varies much. Either write to them to adjust, get online banking or just dump a sum enough for 6 months |
Dec 12 2023, 10:50 PM
217 posts Joined: Apr 2023 |
Dec 13 2023, 10:18 AM
1,745 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
Dec 13 2023, 03:22 PM
5,949 posts Joined: Oct 2013 |
Dec 13 2023, 05:11 PM
1,263 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
Dec 13 2023, 05:55 PM
44 posts Joined: Sep 2020 |
there's an offer from 1 bank (shhh... even their competitor also dunoe about the current package) offering lowest 3.8% + OD, min 2% MRTA. non capping (means you can pay up 99% of your loan amount & save interest
but too bad, the promo gonna end by dec 31, 2023 and applicable to: 1. landed house (condo, low cost flat, town house & commercial all x boles) 2. prime & secondary area (mainly KL & Selangor, most of the area of Penang & Johor excluded) cons: 1. longer approval period (take about 2-3 weeks) 2. hard to fight market value |
Dec 13 2023, 08:18 PM
Dec 13 2023, 08:19 PM
Dec 14 2023, 03:09 PM
1,745 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
Dec 15 2023, 02:20 PM
631 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Pearl Of The Orient |
Hi, anyone know what's this charge for in my HLB Mortgage Plus loan account? MISC COST (Auto) - Seems to be charged yearly.
Dec 15 2023, 02:27 PM
1,923 posts Joined: Feb 2016 |
Dec 15 2023, 02:28 PM
631 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Pearl Of The Orient |
Feb 15 2024, 08:48 AM
8 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
If I am not wrong, there is an upper limit for the amount of advance payment that can be used to reduce the interest. E.g. if your current outstanding amount is 500k, the amount of interest that you need to pay monthly is the same when you have advance payment of RM 150k in the semi flexi account vs you have RM 300k of advance payment.
This post has been edited by kcp88: Feb 15 2024, 09:06 AM |
Jun 1 2025, 03:15 PM
97 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
QUOTE(kcp88 @ Feb 15 2024, 09:48 AM) If I am not wrong, there is an upper limit for the amount of advance payment that can be used to reduce the interest. E.g. if your current outstanding amount is 500k, the amount of interest that you need to pay monthly is the same when you have advance payment of RM 150k in the semi flexi account vs you have RM 300k of advance payment. 30% |
Jun 1 2025, 03:25 PM
97 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
QUOTE(kcp88 @ Feb 15 2024, 09:48 AM) If I am not wrong, there is an upper limit for the amount of advance payment that can be used to reduce the interest. E.g. if your current outstanding amount is 500k, the amount of interest that you need to pay monthly is the same when you have advance payment of RM 150k in the semi flexi account vs you have RM 300k of advance payment. 30% |
Jun 1 2025, 08:48 PM
1,005 posts Joined: Mar 2019 |
| Change to: | 0.0391sec
5 queries
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:27 AM |