Checking in to this new thread
STOCK MARKET DISCUSSION V128, YAT YEE FATT !!!!
Feb 8 2013, 06:23 PM
8,438 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
Checking in to this new thread
Feb 19 2013, 03:33 PM
I think a lot of ppl warn about the debt in Malaysia is because over the last 8 years, our debt increases drastically. We are now in over 50%, while Singapore is close to 100% also no issue. So, I believe the problem with Malaysia is because we accumulate debt drastically over the last decade rather than over the whole period of establishment. And our debt can only go up due to the high number of civil servants that we have. Even if no corruption occurs, it just a matter of time before we go bankrupt. Corruption only accelerate it.
Feb 19 2013, 03:37 PM
QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Feb 19 2013, 03:35 PM) Worst of all, those are permanent and continuous growth in the balance sheet as we are paying them pension. In order to reduce the waste, at least 50% headcount reduction is required, and no more extension for high post to stop their pension from growing. |
Feb 20 2013, 09:13 AM
QUOTE(OLT @ Feb 19 2013, 05:37 PM) Never heard of Singapore debt close to 100%. You need to back it up with facts. They have more than SGD200 billion in reserves, strong currency and robust economy. Never heard of doesn't mean it did not happen or not happening. I think wiki can give very good overview http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_count..._by_public_debt. IMO, majority of the people don't know that Singapore is another indebted country, because no one is talking about Singapore's debt. Even US debt that is so high is less than 90% of the GDP, and people are talking about US debt is because everyone is talking about it. I don't know about Singapore's public debt as well, until previously there is one interactive page on this statistic, provided by a LYN-er, only make me aware of this.We simply cannot compare with them, any downturn will hit us hard compare to Singapore. Our debt is serious issue, because we rakyat going to pay for it, not petronas. This post has been edited by jasontoh: Feb 20 2013, 09:14 AM |
Feb 20 2013, 10:32 AM
QUOTE(ST12 @ Feb 20 2013, 09:46 AM) The debt is easily explained and there shouldn’t be any reason to panic yet… Yup. But there will be problem and risk borrowing a lot internally rather than externally, but, it will be another topic. I'm just sharing to people who might not aware that in fact Singapore has higher debt.The bulk of the Government debt are in the form of security bonds called Singapore Government Securities and the Central Provident Fund Board (CPF) is the main holder of these bonds. Hence we can say that Singapore Government do not really owe other countries or private entities any debt but they owe CPF quite a substantial amount of money. Why then, does the Government need to borrow so much money from CPF? The answer is an ingenious plan by the Government to create a money flow cycle to fund public housing. CPF was created as a pension funds that belongs to the contributors (Singaporean & PRs) and not the Government. In order for the Government to use the fund in CPF, they have to ‘borrow’ from it. The houses were then sold to the people at a comfortable rate to repay the debt and interest owed to CPF board. The cycle continues to present day and as the Government spends more on public housing, it borrows more from CPF and that explains the high national debt owed domestically and not externally. We can now see that the huge Government debt is no cause for alarm. However, what the Government should do better is communication. Without explaining the details of the debt, people – including the good economics professor from China’s “BeiDa” – would not know the intricate details of the funding model for our public housing project and would therefore be misguided by statistics & confused. |
Feb 21 2013, 03:18 PM
Feb 22 2013, 10:26 AM
QUOTE(mopster @ Feb 21 2013, 10:38 PM) my CookieMonster giving 18c divvy!!!! full year 30c!!!! omg.. @__@ CookieMonster = Hupseng right? tomolo i go buy some biscuits!!! nestle annualized earnings above RM2 liao.. klccp 4.5c divvy hmm today's reports not bad.... --- wahhh HDD maker JCY and Notion in the red again... scary... No wonder I see my portfolio up |
Feb 22 2013, 09:59 PM
Feb 25 2013, 09:16 PM
QUOTE(yok70 @ Feb 25 2013, 09:12 PM) Huiyo! United Plantation is profit up 26% while other planters decrease hugely. How come?? Is this Cherroy's favorite plantation stock? That explain why it keeps going up even though market not stable and also explain why I'm so heart up want to put the stock in my team |
Feb 26 2013, 09:08 PM
QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Feb 26 2013, 06:14 PM) Dutch Lady is distributing RM1.30 dividend again. So touching!!! "Proposed Dividend The Board of Directors declared on 26 February 2013 the payment of a single-tier standard interim dividend of 50.00 sen per ordinary share of RM1.00 each, amounting to RM 32.0 million and a single-tier special interim dividend of 80.00 sen per ordinary share of RM1.00 each, amounting to RM 51.2 million in respect of the financial year ending 31 December 2013. The proposed dividends will be paid on 21 May 2013 to shareholders whose names appear in the Register of Members and Record of Depositors at the close of business on 30 April 2013." |
Feb 26 2013, 09:09 PM
Feb 26 2013, 10:01 PM
Feb 26 2013, 10:08 PM
Feb 27 2013, 08:59 AM
QUOTE(river.sand @ Feb 27 2013, 08:45 AM) The dividend given out by Dutch Lady in the last four quarters are: Doubt the calculation will include yesterday's divvy announcement. So it is 2.60 over 42.66 which is not bad. 4/26/2012 - 1.30 single-tier 12/10/2012 - 1.30 single-tier 4/26/2013 - 1.30 single-tier Total = 3.90 @RM42.66 (yesterday's closing price), DY=9% Warning: Do not expect this kind of DY to be sustainable! |
Feb 27 2013, 09:02 AM
QUOTE(Boon3 @ Feb 27 2013, 09:01 AM) Looks like everyone here thinks that holding for dividends the one and only way. Yup. If I'm a real God and know when the price will start to drop, I confirm with you 100%, I would have sell it that time and buy back now. Unfortunately, I'm no God, and I cannot predict where the price will be tomorrow or in next 5 years. Dutch Lady could have been sold at end Oct/early Nov 2012 and fetch a price of 49++. Seller will miss the Nov dividend and this new 1.30 dividend. Total dividends missed = 2.60. Price of Dutch Lady is now 42.66. Getting dividends is good but then price appreciation and price depreciation factors should not be ignored. |
Feb 27 2013, 10:08 AM
Feb 27 2013, 10:35 AM
QUOTE(Boon3 @ Feb 27 2013, 10:28 AM) Yes not many will sell at 49 but there are some who would. Yes. Most of the one selling in 49, not necessary will buy back when drop, and also most of them might not be buying it when it was single digit or low. True there are people who chase the div stocks and get low return, but I know there are as many who chase for capital appreciation ended up in capital depreciation. As long as people are comfortable in holding it at 42 or 49, I don't see a problem with it. Different people have different risk tolerance.Look, I have been in the market long enough and I have seen many chased after stock dividend and yields and after many years of holding the stock, their returns have been dismal and this was because they dismiss that it is possible that one can lose money from investing in stocks that pay dividends. Of course, these are the exception or the rare cases and that there are many who had gained handsomely from the dividends received. |
Mar 1 2013, 11:21 AM
Mar 4 2013, 01:29 PM
Mar 4 2013, 02:46 PM
QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Mar 4 2013, 12:48 PM) Hate to see the unstability on our political issue. (Parliament rumour to dissolve by this 2-week, Sabah/Filiphine issue) This is the 3rd month and you already bought something this year? Wow. Impressive. I just manage a swiped at PXXREIT before the ex-dateDecided to clear off most purchases made in 2013 and holding cash, waiting for opportunity. Not in favour to put my hard earned money on those mercy. |
| Change to: | 0.0446sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:14 PM |