ipod - pc to mac, making the switch

TSimreezm
post Mar 29 2006, 11:12 AM, updated 20y ago

63 posts

my ipod is currently "formatted" under pc - using winxp. planning to get a mac, can i just plug it in the mac and continue using or do i have to reformat or something? thanks!
wei
post Mar 29 2006, 11:45 AM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

u have to reformat. pretty easy, once u connect ur ipod, ur new mac will prompt u about it.

This post has been edited by wei: Mar 29 2006, 11:46 AM
TSimreezm
post Mar 29 2006, 11:48 AM

63 posts

in other words...i'd have to backup my music collection on a different device right?
wei
post Mar 29 2006, 12:23 PM

6,496 posts

eh... you can transfer from ur PC.
TSimreezm
post Mar 29 2006, 12:26 PM

63 posts

selling my pc...then only getting a mac. guess have to backup to ext hdd. thanx anyway!
wei
post Mar 29 2006, 02:24 PM

6,496 posts

yeah, whichever way that works for u.
enjoy ur new mac. have fun biggrin.gif
prasys
post Mar 29 2006, 05:02 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

You dont even have to , just plug in it and your Mac can detect Windows formatted iPod , no problem

I have tried it

Just select manual sync rather then Auto. Oh yes , this does not work for the Shuffle
TSimreezm
post Mar 29 2006, 09:43 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Mar 29 2006, 05:02 PM)
You dont even have to , just plug in it and your Mac can detect Windows formatted iPod , no problem

I have tried it

Just select manual sync rather then Auto. Oh yes , this does not work for the Shuffle
really? thanx for the info..saves me alot of time.

btw....bastilla is hawt!!!
prasys
post Mar 30 2006, 07:16 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

Yep its possible

Source : http://playlistmag.com/weblogs/ipodblog/20...tipod/index.php

So , you can use it , there is no problem at all..No need to convert , etc...Just set to manual Sync

Once you got your mac and you want all your music files back to your Mac. Just get iPod to folder [PM me please , if you want the App]...It will copy all your songs from the iPod back to your Mac

0.0166sec    1.28    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 07:53 AM