125 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy Note II LYN's Official Thread V17, FEB OTA 4.1.2 XXDMB2 - NO CHANGELOGS

mydragoon
post Feb 7 2013, 10:10 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Feb 7 2013, 09:50 AM)
i didn't compare if the numbers match the real charging experience but your observation of inconsistent reading can be due to the way the connection is made from cable to phone and cable to charger (for the same charger & cable)

and current value is directly affected by the resistance of the cable
sorry... but what do you mean by "the way the connection is made from cable to phone and cable to charger"?

meaning, whether i roll them up, leave them straight, or whether the cable is on top a magnet or something?

i try to be consistent during the 'test' this morning... avoid moving the phone and cables too much. i placed them on the table at about the same place. the sockets in office... its on my desk. have got 4 sockets nearby (almost next to each other).

as for resistance... i understand. but the difference when i used the same cable is 'huge'.

one reading gave: 1300
another reading gave 1000
mydragoon
post Feb 7 2013, 10:16 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Feb 7 2013, 09:35 AM)
QUOTE(antt00 @ Feb 7 2013, 08:27 AM)
this I totally agree with you.  hence I am on stock browser as well.
i find stock browser's rendering of some websites to be off... anyway, i'll take some screenshots later to show what i mean... smile.gif

do you guys feel the same?
here are two screenshots of the LYN forum login screen:

LEFT = Stock browser; RIGHT = Chrome

As you can see, the rendering on the stock browser feels 'off'.

having said that... what i like about the stock browser is the LABS features. i enable both: QUICK CONTROLS and FULL SCREEN. if only the browser could render websites much better... i'd be really happy. the QUICK CONTROLS feature is quite nice.

QUOTE(brotan @ Feb 7 2013, 09:36 AM)
last time i was on stock browser. but after some time, i can't seems to select the text in lyn.

that's why i switched to chrome. haven't tried firefox though (i hate firefox desktop version. very messy layout)

anyone also has this issue? (can't select text in lyn)
i can select text with the stock browser... see screenshot:

benny888
post Feb 7 2013, 10:18 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Feb 7 2013, 09:59 AM)
i am using Chrome too as it can sync the bookmarks from my desktop.  Thus, it virtually make no difference for me to browse on my desktop, Nexus 7 or Note II, all having the same bookmarks.  thumbup.gif
You can sync Chrome desktop bookmarks too with stock android browser and dolphin HD too
Cynox
post Feb 7 2013, 10:20 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Feb 7 2013, 10:18 AM)
You can sync Chrome desktop bookmarks too with stock android browser and dolphin HD too
really? din know that. sweat.gif Thanks for the tips. biggrin.gif
aspire2oo6
post Feb 7 2013, 10:24 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

[quote=mydragoon,Feb 7 2013, 10:16 AM]
i find stock browser's rendering of some websites to be off... anyway, i'll take some screenshots later to show what i mean... smile.gif

do you guys feel the same?

[/quote]
here are two screenshots of the LYN forum login screen:

LEFT = Stock browser; RIGHT = Chrome

As you can see, the rendering on the stock browser feels 'off'.

having said that... what i like about the stock browser is the LABS features. i enable both: QUICK CONTROLS and FULL SCREEN. if only the browser could render websites much better... i'd be really happy. the QUICK CONTROLS feature is quite nice.
i can select text with the stock browser... see screenshot:

[/quote]

Your chrome you need to scroll but original browser you can sell all
antt00
post Feb 7 2013, 10:26 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

stock browser

This post has been edited by antt00: Feb 7 2013, 10:27 AM
brotan
post Feb 7 2013, 10:30 AM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Feb 7 2013, 10:10 AM)
sorry... but what do you mean by "the way the connection is made from cable to phone and cable to charger"?

meaning, whether i roll them up, leave them straight, or whether the cable is on top a magnet or something?

i try to be consistent during the 'test' this morning... avoid moving the phone and cables too much. i placed them on the table at about the same place. the sockets in office... its on my desk. have got 4 sockets nearby (almost next to each other).

as for resistance... i understand. but the difference when i used the same cable is 'huge'.

one reading gave: 1300
another reading gave 1000
hi bro

let me give you simple illustration

water flowing through bigger diameter pipes will be faster than small diameter ones right?

if you have a water pump, pumping water through a long pipe. And that pipe has different diameters from start till end where the water flows out.

the final water flow rate will be determined by the smallest diameter in the entire pipe because it is the bottleneck of the entire system

imagine now

water = current
pipe = cable

your cable has many parts. the long cable itself. the connector to the USB port. the connector to the micro USB port

all these build up the entire cable "system". as shown in the above water example, as long as 1 of the part is not in optimum condition, it will drag the entire system down

as to your experiment, yes you try to use the same setup as close as possible but once you unplug and plug in again, you already change the settings a bit, so can affect the final current

just one thing to note

even those ori cable that can achieve 1800 constantly will also have this problem (unplug and after some time plug again will have different readings) but in my opinion, i think the ori cable has a higher current carrying capacity than 1800, so you can't see the difference.

but those not so optimum cables because it can't reach the max of 1800, any slight change, you see it

Example (assuming charger can reach 3A max current)

If ori cable max current carrying capacity = 2300ma, when you plug and unplug it will varies between 2000ma to 2300ma. However because Note2 allows only max 1800ma, you can't see the change

If non optimum cable max current carrying capacity = 1500ma, when you plug and unplug it will varies between 1200ma to 1500ma. But now you can see the change because it is below the max Note2 allowed current

Hope it make sense

NOTE : This is my theory only hah. I didn't do any scientific experiments to prove it

This post has been edited by brotan: Feb 7 2013, 10:31 AM
mydragoon
post Feb 7 2013, 10:33 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Feb 7 2013, 10:26 AM)
stock browser
hmmm... meaning sth wrong with my stock browser then... hmmm...

ok, lemme go reset the default and feedback. maybe have to retract all the bad stuff i said... heh heh...
cradle0fFilth
post Feb 7 2013, 10:36 AM

666 posts

QUOTE(tot31 @ Feb 7 2013, 12:48 AM)
please read the first page for all information that you need, most of them are covered and as for sp for back cover there is but I can't remember the brand name...just google and I think you can find it.
i m using Benks SP, sold by 1 of the forumer in the 1st page. so far so good
antt00
post Feb 7 2013, 10:37 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Feb 7 2013, 10:33 AM)
hmmm... meaning sth wrong with my stock browser then... hmmm...

ok, lemme go reset the default and feedback. maybe have to retract all the bad stuff i said... heh heh...
settings- accessibility- tick the first box.
0bserver
post Feb 7 2013, 10:38 AM

56 posts

Hi guys...jus curious to know any of u guys using Note 2 car mounting?? I hardly find those holder in phone accesories shop...
mydragoon
post Feb 7 2013, 10:55 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Feb 7 2013, 10:37 AM)
settings- accessibility- tick the first box.
hmmm... nice.

actually, looks like a retraction is in order... i guess the rendering thing was more a settings issue.

anyway, will now be able to happily test out the stock browser even more.

but one thing i noticed...

in settings -- advanced -- default zoom... there are three options: far, medium, close.

these settings actually affect how the website is rendered. in far, you can see the whole site rendered properly:

in medium, the rendering is a bit off... but i also checked Chrome and Chrome rendering is similar to stock browser zoom at medium:

i guess the term zoom can be misleading... it's not really just zoom. biggrin.gif

back to stock browser. i guess now i can learn to enjoy this even more. i'm already very happy with the pop-up browser. when we view full page in pop-up browser, it actually launches the stock. and since now i have learnt a thing or two about the stock browser... i'm gonna give it another go. biggrin.gif
miloy2k
post Feb 7 2013, 11:03 AM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Feb 7 2013, 09:09 AM)
that's what we are pointing out.  the stable one is not as smooth as other browser.  Why would we want to compare a beta browser for?
just in case some people wrongly download the beta version laugh.gif

still stock browser for now is the best tongue.gif
TSjoytest
post Feb 7 2013, 11:04 AM

Vox populi vox dei? Quot homines,tot sententiae
13,188 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Feb 7 2013, 10:30 AM)
hi bro

let me give you simple illustration

water flowing through bigger diameter pipes will be faster than small diameter ones right?

if you have a water pump, pumping water through a long pipe. And that pipe has different diameters from start till end where the water flows out.

the final water flow rate will be determined by the smallest diameter in the entire pipe because it is the bottleneck of the entire system

imagine now

water = current
pipe = cable

NOTE : This is my theory only hah. I didn't do any scientific experiments to prove it
Good morning all. Nice writeup, posted on page 1. nehalem176 's list is also posted.

I will have limited time for next couple of weeks, but will do whatever I can.

This is a really good discussion thread going on about enhancements to the Note 2 experience, and still no real faults with the product. thumbup.gif

Keep it up guys and gals.
kevintth
post Feb 7 2013, 11:05 AM

1,618 posts

QUOTE(miloy2k @ Feb 7 2013, 11:03 AM)
just in case some people wrongly download the beta version laugh.gif

still stock browser for now is the best tongue.gif
blink.gif

first time i see ppl praise the stock apps is greater than third party apps ooo notworthy.gif
Isabell

358 posts

since we are on the topic of stock browser, the main reason i don't use it is because it is quite dimmed. i know i can control the brightness but if i adjust the brightness of the browser, it overrides my original phone brightness. i don't like that. and it seems like there's a blue filter over the screen. only when i'm using the browser. anyone experiencing this? any workarounds? notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Isabell: Feb 7 2013, 11:06 AM
aspire2oo6

Banned
35,468 posts

Works fine for me

Isabell
post Feb 7 2013, 11:09 AM

358 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Feb 7 2013, 11:05 AM)
Works fine for me
i tried to screen shot but it won't show. that's why i said it seems like there's a screen filter over it but i can't find any workarounds in the settings
miloy2k
post Feb 7 2013, 11:10 AM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(kevintth @ Feb 7 2013, 11:05 AM)
blink.gif

first time i see ppl praise the stock apps is greater than third party apps ooo  notworthy.gif
diff people diff requirement, my wife (ignore my tag) for one, love note2 stock browser, when i install other 3rd party browser like chrome/ff/dolphin/opera = Meh for her.

p/s: She is a normal user which consist MOST of the smartphone user nowsday.
aspire2oo6
post Feb 7 2013, 11:11 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

Use another camera to capture the screen

125 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:34 AM