Bodybuilding Thread V12, Bodybuilding Q&A

unclemike
post Apr 29 2017, 06:11 PM

538 posts

QUOTE(laucy.my @ Apr 29 2017, 05:54 PM)
Hey guys! So I had a back injury a while back and since then progress in terms of numbers has been painfully slow. If anyone has got any advice regarding training with back injury I definitely welcome them. I've noticed that my weight fluctuates 2-3kg so I thought I gained weight but I look smaller, as in clothes are looser. What confuses me is that I do much less work at the gym now, whole body takes just the tiniest bit more than an hour. Is this still considered progress or should I start looking at doing things differently?
What sort of back injury?
laucy.my
post Apr 29 2017, 06:13 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(unclemike @ Apr 29 2017, 06:11 PM)
What sort of back injury?
Strained muscle and minor slipped disc
unclemike
post Apr 29 2017, 06:58 PM

538 posts

QUOTE(laucy.my @ Apr 29 2017, 05:54 PM)
Hey guys! So I had a back injury a while back and since then progress in terms of numbers has been painfully slow. If anyone has got any advice regarding training with back injury I definitely welcome them. I've noticed that my weight fluctuates 2-3kg so I thought I gained weight but I look smaller, as in clothes are looser. What confuses me is that I do much less work at the gym now, whole body takes just the tiniest bit more than an hour. Is this still considered progress or should I start looking at doing things differently?
QUOTE(laucy.my @ Apr 29 2017, 06:13 PM)
Strained muscle and minor slipped disc
Avoid using free weights for the time being. use machines instead. try not to go heavy on the machine. Use weights that are moderately heavy. Try not to go to failure as well.

As for weight fluctuations, its normal. My weight fluctuates all the time while eating the same amount of calories. As for progress, use your mirror to gauge instead. take daily or weekly photos to compare.
Kaellis
post May 24 2017, 12:13 PM

WTF i'm reading....
1,231 posts

Lifting belt/ knee sleeve/lifting shoes or safety equipment

when should I start investing in them?

just precaution for my knee

still not lifting that heavy,

doing 80kg squat, 50kg bench(5X5), 90kg deadlift (1X5)

Lionel90
post May 24 2017, 01:36 PM

I lift! Or so I think..
2,239 posts

QUOTE(Kaellis @ May 24 2017, 12:13 PM)

My personal opinion:

Belt - Anytime when the weight feels heavy and u need it for more stability. For me, I have been using it since I started to squat slightly more than my BW

Sleeve - When u are lifting really really heavy, like when u are training for weightlifting competition and competing? Not in my wishlist

Shoes - As long as the soles of shoes u're using are flat and solid then I think u wont need it. Unless u are competing and need the 5-10% it's said to help to add. Not in my wishlist too. Chuck taylor rocks.

Safety equipment - Erm like what? But go for it if u feel u need it, even if just for peace of mind. Not in my wishlist too.

This post has been edited by Lionel90: May 24 2017, 02:23 PM
bafukie
post May 24 2017, 02:09 PM

1,406 posts

Rawwww powaaaaarrrrr.....

Just belt n straps for me.
Kaellis
post May 24 2017, 02:41 PM

WTF i'm reading....
1,231 posts

QUOTE(Lionel90 @ May 24 2017, 01:36 PM)
My personal opinion:

Belt - Anytime when the weight feels heavy and u need it for more stability. For me, I have been using it since I started to squat slightly more than my BW

Sleeve - When u are lifting really really heavy, like when u are training for weightlifting competition and competing? Not in my wishlist

Shoes - As long as the soles of shoes u're using are flat and solid then I think u wont need it. Unless u are competing and need the 5-10% it's said to help to add. Not in my wishlist too. Chuck taylor rocks.

Safety equipment - Erm like what? But go for it if u feel u need it, even if just for peace of mind. Not in my wishlist too.
Currently using puma flat shoes or without shoes(A bit unstable)
knee cave in, eyeing on do-win weightlifting shoes
thinking using knee sleeve elasticity to bounce faster in squat

QUOTE(bafukie @ May 24 2017, 02:09 PM)
Rawwww powaaaaarrrrr.....

Just belt n straps for me
i gave up on doing deadlift without straps, finger just kept slipping nod.gif

bafukie
post May 24 2017, 02:56 PM

1,406 posts

Knees caving in usually boils down to a few culprit, foot placement, weak glutes?, stance etc. U need to deload ie go lighter and find out for yourself whether it is form issue or other issues. Getting some equipment will not help.
Kaellis
post May 24 2017, 08:30 PM

WTF i'm reading....
1,231 posts

QUOTE(bafukie @ May 24 2017, 02:56 PM)
Knees caving in usually boils down to a few culprit, foot placement, weak glutes?, stance etc. U need to deload ie go lighter and find out for yourself whether it is form issue or other issues. Getting some equipment will not help.
Last time i deload and take a week rest
I fail to lift 60kg after that doh.gif

gonna try lighter weight and do 3x12

knee caves in the last reps, that doesn't count devil.gif
unclemike
post May 25 2017, 11:13 AM

538 posts

QUOTE(Kaellis @ May 24 2017, 12:13 PM)

To date, i only invest on lifting shoes. Helped alot in stabilising my squat movement. Considering getting a lifting belt and straps once my deadlift reach 425. Bar keeps slipping when I attempt 405lbs for 5 reps....

My advise to you is master as much as you can on the movement then only consider getting the above. Get to assist your lifts, not compensate.
chinti
post May 26 2017, 05:16 PM

Tarak Drama, Kita Bikin Drama
1,620 posts

hey guys i got a question to ask. my body no longer feel sore after working out, is that good or bad?

when i 1st started my routine i will feel sore the next 2-3 days, but now i dun feel anything or mayb just a bit when i stretch. i did do all my routine until failure.

am i doing something wrong here? does it mean my workout is a failure if i dun feel sore?

my routine is as below

Workout A
-Standing military press
-dumbbell bench press
-seated calf raise
-triceps pushdown
-lying t-bar row
-legs extension
-sit up

Workout B
-Standing military press
-dumbbell bench press
-barbell curl
-wide-grip lat pulldown
-seated leg curl
-seated one arm dumbbell palms up wrist curl
-legs extension
-plank

so im doing this like below

monday - workout A
tuesday - cardio
wednesday - workout B
thursday - cardio
friday - workout A
Sat and Sun rest

This post has been edited by chinti: May 26 2017, 05:21 PM
bafukie
post May 26 2017, 05:33 PM

1,406 posts

Being sore or not sore does not indicate anything. First time workout sure will feel it, it gets better as u progress.

1. Yr workout program sucks. Where r yr squats, deadlifts?
2. Failure has its place but not everytime n on every exercise.

Lionel90
post May 26 2017, 05:37 PM

I lift! Or so I think..
2,239 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ May 26 2017, 05:16 PM)
hey guys i got a question to ask. my body no longer feel sore after working out, is that good or bad?

when i 1st started my routine i will feel sore the next 2-3 days, but now i dun feel anything or mayb just a bit when i stretch. i did do all my routine until failure.

am i doing something wrong here? does it mean my workout is a failure if i dun feel sore?

my routine is as below

Workout A
-Standing military press
-dumbbell bench press
-seated calf raise
-triceps pushdown
-lying t-bar row
-legs extension
-sit up

Workout B
-Standing military press
-dumbbell bench press
-barbell curl
-wide-grip lat pulldown
-seated leg curl
-legs extension
-plank

monday - workout A
tuesday - cardio
wednesday - workout B
thursday - cardio
friday - workout A
Sat and Sun rest
Is the purpose of you working out to feel sore? I'd like to think no. So nthg is wrong yet.

That said, do u progress with your workout, by increasing the weight in your case since u go to failure. While it's not your question here, I think hitting failure every single time for every workout is not recommended? Also, there is too much to do for every session. I think u should also state your goals so the better equipped bros here can advise u.
unclemike
post May 26 2017, 06:31 PM

538 posts

my routine is as below

Workout A
-Standing military press
-dumbbell bench press
-seated calf raise
-triceps pushdown
-lying t-bar row
-legs extension
-sit up

Workout B
-Standing military press
-dumbbell bench press
-barbell curl
-wide-grip lat pulldown
-seated leg curl
-legs extension
-plank

monday - workout A
tuesday - cardio
wednesday - workout B
thursday - cardio
friday - workout A
Sat and Sun rest
You wanna feel sore? Do each exercise till failure for each set. Even when you fail, keep pushing. because working out to the extreme = gainz... icon_idea.gif

On a serious note, What do you want to achieve? IMHO, your program sucks if strength or/and hypertrophy is your goal. And soreness not necessarily means you have a good workout.

lingleeyen
post May 26 2017, 07:12 PM

1,376 posts

my routine is as below

Workout A
-Standing military press
-dumbbell bench press
-seated calf raise
-triceps pushdown
-lying t-bar row
-legs extension
-sit up

Workout B
-Standing military press
-dumbbell bench press
-barbell curl
-wide-grip lat pulldown
-seated leg curl
-legs extension
-plank

monday - workout A
tuesday - cardio
wednesday - workout B
thursday - cardio
friday - workout A
Sat and Sun rest
What you are doing is better than mine when I first started. Add in legs days man. Squat and deadlifts.

Focus on volume and intensity instead of only the weights that you carry.
chinti
post May 26 2017, 10:22 PM

1,620 posts

QUOTE(Lionel90 @ May 26 2017, 05:37 PM)
Is the purpose of you working out to feel sore? I'd like to think no. So nthg is wrong yet.

That said, do u progress with your workout, by increasing the weight in your case since u go to failure. While it's not your question here, I think hitting failure every single time for every workout is not recommended? Also, there is too much to do for every session. I think u should also state your goals so the better equipped bros here can advise u.
Ya I do progress every session as I'm able to do more n more set as well as increasing weight. No I dun wan to get sore but dunno y I have the mindset tht no sore means no workout at all.

QUOTE(unclemike @ May 26 2017, 06:31 PM)
You wanna feel sore? Do each exercise till failure for each set. Even when you fail, keep pushing. because working out to the extreme = gainz...  icon_idea.gif

On a serious note, What do you want to achieve? IMHO, your program sucks if strength or/and hypertrophy is your goal. And soreness not necessarily means you have a good workout.
I just wan to lose weight n tone my body. Not looking for massive muscle or anything.

QUOTE(lingleeyen @ May 26 2017, 07:12 PM)
What you are doing is better than mine when I first started. Add in legs days man. Squat and deadlifts.

Focus on volume and intensity instead of only the weights that you carry.
I'm throwing in squat every now and then but less coz my legs often cramp up after squat.
lingleeyen
post May 26 2017, 11:15 PM

1,376 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ May 26 2017, 10:22 PM)
Ya I do progress every session as I'm able to do more n more set as well as increasing weight. No I dun wan to get sore but dunno y I have the mindset tht no sore means no workout at all.
I just wan to lose weight n tone my body. Not looking for massive muscle or anything.
I'm throwing in squat every now and then but less coz my legs often cramp up after squat.
WTH is toning anyway? Why people keep on using that word? Massive? You won't. Squat is the king for a reason. How can you not do the king? That sounded wrong.
chinti
post May 26 2017, 11:42 PM

1,620 posts

QUOTE(lingleeyen @ May 26 2017, 11:15 PM)
WTH is toning anyway? Why people keep on using that word? Massive? You won't. Squat is the king for a reason. How can you not do the king? That sounded wrong.
its lik i wan to lose weight n hv some shape only, dun wan bulky
lingleeyen
post May 27 2017, 06:53 AM

1,376 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ May 26 2017, 11:42 PM)
its lik i wan to lose weight n hv some shape only, dun wan bulky
Just continue to lift heavy. You wont get "bulky". It is a myth. Well, at least you wont with your mindset.
chinti
post May 27 2017, 11:05 AM

1,620 posts

QUOTE(lingleeyen @ May 27 2017, 06:53 AM)
Just continue to lift heavy. You wont get "bulky". It is a myth. Well, at least you wont with your mindset.
ok got it, thanks.

117 Pages « < 107 108 109 110 111 > » Top

0.0262sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 04:47 AM