Stax SR-5 Gold. FINALLY, Short impressions >_> and I mean SHORT

TSTachikoma
post Mar 28 2006, 06:24 PM, updated 18y ago

Dot
2,864 posts

I got my staxen yesterday, but was a little too busy (lazy more like >_>) to post impressions on it =P I'm currently driving it with the Sony CMT-EX1's speaker terminals (to a vintage SRD-7SB/MK2), and so far I don't sense any deficiencies as far as driving power is concerned.

Comfort: The pads are nice and soft, but since my ears are being pressed against the hard plastic underneath it, it gets pretty painful after a few hours...

Sound: The presentation is fairly forward, though it might not be as forward as a grado. However unlike grados these things have SOUNDSTAGING in abundance, not nearly as natural as the aego 2 (yet? tongue.gif) but it easily bests the SHP895 by a mile. Separation is top-notch, easily better than the aego 2.

The sound is actually rather warm, and the bass can be quite "full" on certain tracks. *heck with some EQ-ing they were like basshead cans =P* As all staxen electrostatics, these cans are very recording-dependent because they are _very_ detailed, but having said that they are decent enough with average recordings, just keep them away from the tracks with boosted treble >_>

Oh yes, these headphones are rock-capable as well, more so than the aego 2, as long as the recording is half-decent. My favourite music with the SR-5 gold is classical... not too surprising I guess =P

Can't wait till I get a charlize to drive these headphones... >_> I'll post pictures a little later.

This post has been edited by Tachikoma: Mar 28 2006, 06:27 PM
mysticaldodo
post Mar 28 2006, 07:48 PM

1,030 posts

Finally, you fulfilled your dream of owning a STAX smile.gif
TSTachikoma
post Mar 28 2006, 08:09 PM

Dot
2,864 posts

Lol, thanks biggrin.gif no more headphone upgrading for a long time I hope.
airbag_grado
post Mar 28 2006, 08:56 PM

* Washed Hand *
945 posts

could be the the 1st forumer that own stax smile.gif smile.gif.

This post has been edited by airbag_grado: Mar 28 2006, 08:56 PM
mysticaldodo
post Mar 28 2006, 09:12 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(Tachikoma @ Mar 28 2006, 08:09 PM)
Lol, thanks biggrin.gif no more headphone upgrading for a long time I hope.
where you stay brows.gif
Categg
post Mar 28 2006, 09:17 PM

Still A Forum Lurker
677 posts

Congrats on getting ur stax.. am i invited over to pay homage to it soon? laugh.gif
TSTachikoma
post Mar 28 2006, 10:15 PM

Dot
2,864 posts

Lol, wait till my trials are over first xD now I have something to bring to the lowyat Audiophiles forum meet =P
Jason
post Mar 28 2006, 10:17 PM

6,354 posts

wow talking about going for gold, you definately went gold (pun intended)
least that will make sure you won't be itching for an upgrade.
airbag_grado
post Mar 28 2006, 10:21 PM

* Washed Hand *
945 posts

The next meet look like an upgrade to the previous one. ^^
Futura
post Mar 28 2006, 11:06 PM

1,896 posts

Wow how much you bought it? This thing is classics rclxms.gif
TSTachikoma
post Mar 28 2006, 11:08 PM

Dot
2,864 posts

Urm, with the SRD-6SB energizer, roughly RM700 including shipping =P (not using that energizer... the SRD-7SB mk2 seems to be more efficient)

Oh yeah... sorry for kacauing alamaklor and geminist in the process of trying to get these headphones... >____>

This post has been edited by Tachikoma: Mar 28 2006, 11:22 PM
AlamakLor
post Mar 28 2006, 11:22 PM

9,856 posts

after ages, it has finally come laugh.gif did u pay sh1t loads on shipping? RM700? blink.gif
TSTachikoma
post Mar 28 2006, 11:22 PM

Dot
2,864 posts

only 15 euros for surface shipping =P nasib baik it only took 1.5 months
AlamakLor
post Mar 28 2006, 11:28 PM

9,856 posts

where's the L3000? you are not waiting for the price to drop are you? laugh.gif
airbag_grado
post Mar 28 2006, 11:32 PM

* Washed Hand *
945 posts

tachi, let us drool.gif please with pic of your stax.
TSTachikoma
post Mar 28 2006, 11:46 PM

Dot
2,864 posts

where's the L3000? you are not waiting for the price to drop are you? laugh.gif

I'll have one if someone's willing to trade it with my SR-5 gold without any extra cash going the other way biggrin.gif *then I'll probably sell it, buy back the SR-5 gold and invest on tweaking the rest of my setup .. >___>*
TSTachikoma
post Mar 28 2006, 11:55 PM

Dot
2,864 posts

QUOTE(airbag_grado @ Mar 28 2006, 11:32 PM)
tachi, let us  drool.gif please with pic of your stax.
This is the best I can manage at the moment...

This post has been edited by Tachikoma: Mar 28 2006, 11:57 PM
Renovatio
post Mar 29 2006, 12:03 AM

~ Enthusiast low on cash ~
1,942 posts

w00t ! RM700 haha, amazing expense tongue.gif I will try not to ever touch or get tempted to poison my ears with these...
AlamakLor
post Mar 29 2006, 12:56 AM

9,856 posts

QUOTE(Tachikoma @ Mar 28 2006, 12:46 PM)
I'll have one if someone's willing to trade it with my SR-5 gold without any extra cash going the other way biggrin.gif *then I'll probably sell it, buy back the SR-5 gold and invest on tweaking the rest of my setup .. >___>*
yeah sure tongue.gif the drivers themselves already cost 57% of ur stax, add 3 more inches of the leather...that's probably what you could get laugh.gif
DAViS
post Mar 29 2006, 04:16 PM

就是你
2,503 posts

Hmmm... where are you staying? I guess is time for you to compare with my ET1000 tongue.gif

0.0180sec    0.76    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:49 PM