O-ring / O-filler for sport rim, loosen. how?

TSmultiplexer
post Feb 4 2013, 10:46 AM, updated 13y ago

393 posts

hi guys,

last year i changed a sport rim on my myvi. the shop ask me whether i wanted to put the O-ring or O-filler to make the rim more sturdy at high speed.. i thot it would be good. so i paid rm40 per piece. it has been a year, no problem at all.. its just that, last week i went to a tyre shop to do alignment and balancing, because the steering wheel started to vibrate whenever i go for 110km/j. i was told by the shop that the O-ring is not filling the O gap.. thats resulting the O-ring to moving whenever i speed the car. thus resulting the vibrating steering wheel. he ask me to go for a custom made O-ring, to ensure the O-ring fill the gap nicely..

my question

1. is it possible for the O section of the rim loosen over time?
2. any other solution for this other than custom O-ring?
3. where can i get a custom O-ring?

thanks in advance..
Lil Kiasu
post Feb 7 2013, 01:18 AM

Ok
723 posts

1. Plastic or aluminum..? Imo if it fits originally, I don't see how it loosens over time, unless it's made of rubber or plastic or whatever that shrinks/chips off. But for that, I'm not 100% sure.

2. Well, aluminum ones should be okay, no..? hmm.gif Custom ones can be made to fit or you can get those that are ready made and they come with different sizes to fit your wheels.

3. Well, I believe most shops selling rims do. I got mine from Win Ting @ SS2 PJ.
malowar
post Feb 7 2013, 07:58 AM

18 posts

Yerps, imho, most sport rim shops will sell these o-rings or 'hub centric ring' or 'reducer bushing'

Material wise, recommended polycarbonate plastic over aluminium as corrosion may happen over time especially when moisture gets in hmm.gif

cx2531
post Feb 11 2013, 12:02 AM

568 posts

rm40 per piece? last time i chg around 1x if not mistaken leh..

0.0145sec    0.32    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:42 AM