7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.19, D7100 announced weeeee~

celciuz
post Feb 22 2013, 02:28 PM

14,035 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Feb 22 2013, 09:25 AM)
Cheapest FX now need close to RM6K, before that you need more. Higher end FX cost over RM10K. How do you define overprice DX?
D7000/D7100 is higher end DX, the differences are important enough for many DSLR users

As for your tracking, the lenses also play very important role. What lens are you using?
Hop in Nikon Centre @ Berjaya Times Square and try these lenses:
55-300mm f/3.5-f/5.6 DX
70-300mm f/3.5-f/5.6
80-200mm f/2.8
70-200mm f/2.8

See the huge difference in the focusing speed and accuracy
Was at a raptor wildlife center at Perth last year, was shooting with 85mm f/1.4G... hit and miss on focusing ._. LOL!!! You know how slow that lens is... the glass too big tongue.gif and also small SWM motor.

QUOTE(mls_gamer @ Feb 22 2013, 09:57 AM)
I tried panning shoots at pit area with my kit lens....result all my pics can throw to recycle bin liao...
Haha... for panning its more of practice than equipment. Bigger lens are much heavier and not so easy to handle.

QUOTE(popcorn513 @ Feb 22 2013, 10:06 AM)
Nice shot, so sharp, no crop out?
Shutter speed?
I think maybe pan + burst shot give better chance
Probably cropped, I can't recall. Was shooting with D700 and even 400mm is insufficient reach when you're at Sepang for most of the turns.

#84 Roberto Rolfo, Speed Master by CY Pixels, on Flickr

This one not cropped I think tongue.gif

QUOTE(popcorn513 @ Feb 22 2013, 10:21 AM)
Mine explain reason why using f16?
So high f for sharp background? But it was blur anyway
Exposure, going any lower means I need to up my shutter speed which means less panning effect.
celciuz
post Feb 22 2013, 05:36 PM

14,035 posts

QUOTE(teetaatee @ Feb 22 2013, 03:46 PM)
naise panning  rclxms.gif
Thanks biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Holyjolly @ Feb 22 2013, 04:51 PM)
WOW NICE! drool.gif using D800? Mind sharing the shooting info? (ISO, shutter speed etc)

I am lack of knowledge and skill in capturing nice moving object... doh.gif
Just click the photo. I did not remove the EXIF when uploading to Flickr.

celciuz
post Feb 23 2013, 12:42 AM

14,035 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Feb 22 2013, 05:55 PM)
Come KL teach all of us! I am sure many will turn up lol

Btw the Fuji guy is not vearn.. its hidden! He sold all his nikon n converted to fuji lol
Whops! I messed it up ._.

QUOTE(amduser @ Feb 22 2013, 09:56 PM)
i'm gonna bankrupt soon with my low income, i have to work 2 years with bread as my meal only then able to afford a 1 week trips there tongue.gif
later people thought you are police setting up speed trap laugh.gif
Hahaha! Don't flash can already la tongue.gif

QUOTE(mls_gamer @ Feb 22 2013, 10:07 PM)
All gather at sepang lah..  brows.gif
TIMETOATTACK 2013 coming soon right ???
LOL... your NEX senang la can burst so quickly, but buffer can hold or not?

QUOTE(amduser @ Feb 22 2013, 10:09 PM)
oo.....when is it?

panning shoot waste my shutter count sad.gif
Shoot faster shutter then, higher hit rate, less panning effect.
celciuz
post Feb 23 2013, 01:50 PM

14,035 posts

Entire morning was spent trying to replace my AIPO 88L humidifier unit. Received the replacement from Proling because mine was dripping water inside the dry box! Upon unboxing the replacement unit, I noticed the replacement unit looks a little different from my current... the power connector placement and the cover also looks very low class.

Nevermind, I then uninstalled from my drybox and installed the new one. Took me almost 1 hour as 1/6 screw cannot fit due to humidifier hole offset quite a bit. Decided to seal the hole instead, then when I wanna power up need to plug the cable into the center control... Mana tau damn bummer, both the humidifier and center control are male sockets! In the end need remove and fix back my old one T_T... damn and damn lor...
celciuz
post Feb 23 2013, 06:42 PM

14,035 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Feb 23 2013, 04:42 PM)
they never look at the old humidifier unit? or even the actual drybox?
u put back the old one? with water dripping? that will make fungus grow faster right?
the lenses can survive outside for a few days.
I decided to open up the humidifier unit... the water drip because the somehow the sponge didn't absorb the water to release to outside of the box. Actually nothing wrong with the unit. I rearranged the sponge, and cleaned up the heatsink. Let's see how it goes, so far so good lol. Other side I'm waiting to see what Proling reply me.
celciuz
post Feb 23 2013, 08:55 PM

14,035 posts

QUOTE(Pmc @ Feb 23 2013, 08:46 PM)
guys.. im thinking to sell off my kitlens (18-105) and replace it with tamron 17-50 F2.8 instead, since i want a faster lens. but what about the photo quality? will it consider to be a downgrade? since i got my 50mm, i rarely use the kitlens anymore, but sometime go out with friends want to help take pic still need lens that can zoom in and out.
Tamron 17-50 is pretty decent in terms of optics, but bear in mind focusing is quite... crappy on the tamron.
celciuz
post Feb 23 2013, 08:58 PM

14,035 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Feb 23 2013, 08:56 PM)
D700 cannot get anymore right?
Unless if 2nd hand I guess hmm.gif
There's still new units around, only reason you consider the D700 is when,

1. 8fps
2. price

If not, its the D800 better all rounder.
celciuz
post Feb 23 2013, 09:15 PM

14,035 posts

QUOTE(Pmc @ Feb 23 2013, 09:01 PM)
the infamous back/front focus issue? hmm.. seems like their QC not that good..
Or maybe their focusing chip doesn't really work well with Nikon AF system wink.gif Maybe kena sabotage xD

QUOTE(popcorn513 @ Feb 23 2013, 09:09 PM)
I saw many people said build up good lense first before you jump FX, actually how does it works?
You buy all good prime DX lense and later move to FX body, still the DX lenses need to be upgrade right? Or does it means using FX body with the existing DX lense, and slowly convert DX lens to FX lens

Now I considering D600, but I don have much good lense now, so I should stick back D7000?

Now using d3100
My lense:
AFS Nikkor 70-300 4.5 5.6 G (my favorite lense, I like far shot)
AFS Nikkor 50mm 1.8 G (for fast, night, or good bokeh)
AFS Nikkor 18-55mm 3.5 5.6 G (anything else)
When they say build up good lens first, it means buying FX lens. My case, I started with 50, 70-200, 16-35, 85 then jump to FX. After I jump to FX only added 35 and TC.

50mm f/1.8G is a FX lens, 70-300 also is FX smile.gif just if you jump FX you need a mid range or a UWA... consider the 24-120, 24-70 or 16-35? or the mighty 14-24 tongue.gif
celciuz
post Feb 23 2013, 09:22 PM

14,035 posts

QUOTE(Sadru @ Feb 23 2013, 09:18 PM)
IMHO. good lens is indispensable.
having a good lens is better compared to awesome body but entry lens. Talking about bokeh, when u venture to FF.. u wont go back to DX.

most of the DX user contemplate for the last upgrade which is going to FF ( $$$ ). if u have the budget. why not? smile.gif
* Celciuz already spoken  thumbup.gif
Except when you need the 1.5x telephoto tongue.gif I technically "went back to DX" when shooting MotoGP with my D800 tongue.gif

#4 Andrea Dovizioso, Monster Yamaha Tech 3 by CY Pixels, on Flickr

Pic is noisy... mainly due to high ISO, but it was raining also so that's affecting the optics too sad.gif

Comparison when shooting without the rain...

#35 Cal Crutchlow, Monster Yamaha Tech 3 by CY Pixels, on Flickr
celciuz
post Feb 23 2013, 09:26 PM

14,035 posts

QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Feb 23 2013, 09:24 PM)
get the D700 if ur on a budget
get the D800 if u have the moolah - trust me, 36mp is just nice. not overkill/too much/too keng/monster kill/watsoever. its just nice. and also..phenomenal smile.gif
dun get the D600 unless nikon fix the dust sensor issue. if ur doing studio shoot sure dulan kaw2 sweat.gif
Landscape and motorsport panning also will dulan kaw-kaw haha...
celciuz
post Feb 23 2013, 09:32 PM

14,035 posts

QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Feb 23 2013, 09:28 PM)
oh ya..haha

if landscape shooters, might see lots of unknown objects in the sky. maybe dust or aliens..x-files  icon_idea.gif

weeee-uuuu-ooooo <--- x-files music laugh.gif
Unless you're shooting in Australia then it could be flies... tongue.gif I had to burst when taking landscape... cause the fly tend to get into my frame and spoiling the pic! LOL

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Feb 23 2013, 09:30 PM)
Many thanks for the valuable advice  rclxms.gif
I don't do studio and motorsport also laugh.gif
Haven't reached that level yet Haha
Still... I will consider your advices, maybe save for a few months more  icon_rolleyes.gif
But if you want to do in future will probably dulan kaw-kaw... tongue.gif you spend more time cleaning than shooting, if not then more time PP haha!
celciuz
post Feb 23 2013, 09:33 PM

14,035 posts

QUOTE(Sadru @ Feb 23 2013, 09:30 PM)
i have a question too.
so far i have 11-16, 18-55 ( kit ) and 85.
while having all these i was craving for prime for the middle.
do u guys recommend taking 35 fx or the dx?
Get the DX since you're on DX. Unless you planning to go for the bigger bomb... the f/1.4G.
celciuz
post Feb 23 2013, 10:38 PM

14,035 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Feb 23 2013, 10:24 PM)
I'm currently using a 28-300mm with D3200.... thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  So far so good...... Might change to FF body somewhere this year.... whistling.gif  cool.gif
Are you... stalker? tongue.gif Just kidding haha! Lots of reach in that lens on DX but loose quite a bit on the wide end.

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Feb 23 2013, 10:32 PM)
So.. What are you going for bro? laugh.gif
D600 or d800?
Now I'm pretty confused @@
D800, fatt!
celciuz
post Feb 23 2013, 11:15 PM

14,035 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Feb 23 2013, 11:09 PM)
D800 or used D3s? biggrin.gif
D800... can shoot 6fps at crop mode, useable with 70-200 for Msia Open tongue.gif
celciuz
post Feb 23 2013, 11:35 PM

14,035 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Feb 23 2013, 11:21 PM)
but need to use AA or the D4 batt tongue.gif
sure damn heavy...think my hand will die after 3hrs or so.
Hahaha, I was holding it the entire time during MotoGP for 2 days, survived! Shoot on monopod lor since you no need move around right tongue.gif
celciuz
post Feb 23 2013, 11:40 PM

14,035 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Feb 23 2013, 11:38 PM)
im using one with VC.. the non vc ones are sharper, the vc ones are less sharp.. bt it's quite good at the price..though sometimes u might face problems like inaccurate focussing at low light.. n oso decentering..
D800 body is 8k plus rite? is equals to D600 + 16-35 f/4 leh..haha..big hole in pocket for d800.. all FF oso big hole..
Decentering will happen to all lens, but zoom lens more pron to this... including my Nikkor 16-35 cry.gif
celciuz
post Feb 24 2013, 08:40 AM

14,035 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Feb 23 2013, 11:41 PM)
move when i get bored.
from center, to mid, to baseline where the 2.0tc comes in handy tongue.gif

but monopod, i never used one there before cos my manfrotto one heavy and irritating to carry.
now i got another cheap fotopro carbon fibre monopod...way smaller and lighter...so maybe can try.
Ahh, last year during Super GT I was lugging my Manfrotto monopod around too. Then got tired because getting lower hit rate than handheld -.-, then it became a burden for me to carry around while on the track sad.gif

QUOTE(Pmc @ Feb 23 2013, 11:44 PM)
im will get non-vc if im getting one. hehe. but if it works and deliver picture comparable to my kitlens, then i think i will switch.  laugh.gif
Definitely better image quality than the kit lens.

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Feb 24 2013, 12:00 AM)
D3S will be equally heavy too! I think the D800 would be great! biggrin.gif
Might be equally heavy, but D3 vs D700 with grip+AA, the D3 is much easier to handle due to weight distribution.

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Feb 24 2013, 03:04 AM)
50mm 1.8g! biggrin.gif Still loving it!

Walao my friend broke my D800 =.=.. damn stone now lol
Broke? So what happened to it? Your D800 not getting much love leh tongue.gif
celciuz
post Feb 24 2013, 09:19 AM

14,035 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Feb 24 2013, 09:10 AM)
what your friend did to your D800? shocking.gif
if you are using long lens with monopod then you can rest the camera on your shoulder with the monopod and it shouldn't be heavy that way hmm.gif
Wait till you have tried it out yourself, before I used one I also thought that way.
celciuz
post Feb 24 2013, 12:39 PM

14,035 posts

QUOTE(Kiki-Lala @ Feb 24 2013, 11:47 AM)
Celciuz,

Any promo on BHPhoto lately? Eye-ing on their Nikon lens promo atm.
Haven't been following... but if you want promo wait for Black Friday or Cyber Monday... last year one damn nice lor, sadly I bought my cards before that sad.gif
celciuz
post Feb 24 2013, 10:53 PM

14,035 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Feb 24 2013, 10:34 PM)
Is this better than the last one i shot? icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif

Moon by Pro3363, on Flickr
Cloudy night... you probably have better chance during a clear sky night.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0484sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:28 PM