Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.19, D7100 announced weeeee~
ifer
Apr 25 2013, 07:45 PM
QUOTE(Silverfire @ Apr 25 2013, 03:43 PM) I seriously LOL at your comment ISO5000 details still okay but the colour, especially yellow/orange all not so nice. Maybe my post process skill not enough also. ISO5000 1/400 f2.8 +0.5EV at post » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « The trick is not to underexpose the photograph. noticed he still need to push half a stop. Imagine he ETTR and pull back half or one stop... don't say iso 5000, iso 10,000 also no problem. The new Canon 1D X (ok I know it's a different standard of camera) can shoot at iso 16,000 and I thought that guy was using it at 1600! That is how good it is!
Silverfire
Apr 25 2013, 07:50 PM
QUOTE(hsienming @ Apr 25 2013, 06:11 PM) CF writing speed is superior to SD card which is snail paced  Actually how much faster is CF compared to SD? QUOTE(ifer @ Apr 25 2013, 07:45 PM) The trick is not to underexpose the photograph. noticed he still need to push half a stop. Imagine he ETTR and pull back half or one stop... don't say iso 5000, iso 10,000 also no problem. The new Canon 1D X (ok I know it's a different standard of camera) can shoot at iso 16,000 and I thought that guy was using it at 1600! That is how good it is! Yup, I read an article once which discussed about high ISO, noise and correct exposure. The trick is to get the best exposure at high ISO to achieve minimal noise and best quality.
ifer
Apr 25 2013, 07:54 PM
let me share with you this Andy Rouse's test on the Canon 1DX Please click on your own risk. Do not blame me if you change system Andy Rouse 1D X
teetaatee
Apr 25 2013, 08:12 PM
QUOTE(ifer @ Apr 25 2013, 07:54 PM) let me share with you this Andy Rouse's test on the Canon 1DX Please click on your own risk. Do not blame me if you change system Andy Rouse 1D Xmadafaka.. it's 16000 ISO is like my 800 ISO
BlizzardCraft
Apr 25 2013, 08:20 PM
QUOTE(Silverfire @ Apr 25 2013, 07:50 PM) Actually how much faster is CF compared to SD? Yup, I read an article once which discussed about high ISO, noise and correct exposure. The trick is to get the best exposure at high ISO to achieve minimal noise and best quality. best exposure as in the shutter speed and aperture? dont get u
celciuz
Apr 25 2013, 08:26 PM
QUOTE(Everdying @ Apr 25 2013, 06:04 PM) a few pros only use 4gb cards, so after its filled they can burn it straight to dvd as backup. 4GB on D800 is like film days... 40 RAW only
gerald7
Apr 25 2013, 08:29 PM
QUOTE(ifer @ Apr 25 2013, 07:45 PM) The trick is not to underexpose the photograph. noticed he still need to push half a stop. Imagine he ETTR and pull back half or one stop... don't say iso 5000, iso 10,000 also no problem. The new Canon 1D X (ok I know it's a different standard of camera) can shoot at iso 16,000 and I thought that guy was using it at 1600! That is how good it is! Well its always good to shoot n check and adjust. some situations just happens once. but thats why always shoot n explore. so tonite, i will break my ISO wall ...
KTCY
Apr 25 2013, 08:35 PM
QUOTE(BlizzardCraft @ Apr 25 2013, 08:20 PM) best exposure as in the shutter speed and aperture? dont get u  Correct exposure. Don't shoot under
ifer
Apr 25 2013, 08:37 PM
QUOTE(KTCY @ Apr 25 2013, 08:35 PM) Correct exposure. Don't shoot under  yup, in fact, shoot slightly over. don't worry if your LCD show the highlight to be blown off. the details are still there trust me. oh, we are talking about RAW files right? if you were using JPEG files, then, err... shoot at automatic lah. ok edi
BlizzardCraft
Apr 25 2013, 08:40 PM
QUOTE(KTCY @ Apr 25 2013, 08:35 PM) Correct exposure. Don't shoot under  hmm.. so if in high ISO, then shoot correct exposure dont shoot under? cuz if low ISO normally i will under expose it, so detail will retain more if not bright enough, rather than overexpose, details will be lost  btw smth pop-ed up my mind, wanna ask u guys de opinion on the 16-85mm nikon, macam another nikon overpriced lens like their DX UWA? ._. This post has been edited by BlizzardCraft: Apr 25 2013, 08:44 PM
gerald7
Apr 25 2013, 08:47 PM
QUOTE(ifer @ Apr 25 2013, 08:37 PM) yup, in fact, shoot slightly over. don't worry if your LCD show the highlight to be blown off. the details are still there trust me. oh, we are talking about RAW files right? if you were using JPEG files, then, err... shoot at automatic lah. ok edi haiz last time day day got cheated by d600 LCD. looks like perfect expose.... but always have to +1/3 in post. So now +0.7 permanently on.
BlizzardCraft
Apr 25 2013, 08:50 PM
QUOTE(gerald7 @ Apr 25 2013, 08:47 PM) haiz last time day day got cheated by d600 LCD. looks like perfect expose.... but always have to +1/3 in post. So now +0.7 permanently on. my D7000 oso, i already off the active D lighting everything liao, screen see no problem, when enter LR4 raw file, DAFFFFUuUUUUu SO DARK !
gerald7
Apr 25 2013, 08:52 PM
QUOTE(BlizzardCraft @ Apr 25 2013, 08:50 PM) my D7000 oso, i already off the active D lighting everything liao, screen see no problem, when enter LR4 raw file, DAFFFFUuUUUUu SO DARK ! actually you can tell if you scroll to the histogram ... I always tell my partner scroll to it... now his photos all OK!
amduser
Apr 25 2013, 08:53 PM
QUOTE(gerald7 @ Apr 25 2013, 08:47 PM) haiz last time day day got cheated by d600 LCD. looks like perfect expose.... but always have to +1/3 in post. So now +0.7 permanently on. viewfinder to see the composition & framing histogram to see the exposure LCD to zoom in and see area of focused
BlizzardCraft
Apr 25 2013, 08:55 PM
QUOTE(gerald7 @ Apr 25 2013, 08:52 PM) actually you can tell if you scroll to the histogram ... I always tell my partner scroll to it... now his photos all OK!  actually i still duno how to see histogram ._. havta go learn d... will susah?
gerald7
Apr 25 2013, 08:56 PM
QUOTE(amduser @ Apr 25 2013, 08:53 PM) viewfinder to see the composition & framing histogram to see the exposure LCD to zoom in and see area of focused yea
amduser
Apr 25 2013, 08:58 PM
QUOTE(BlizzardCraft @ Apr 25 2013, 08:55 PM) actually i still duno how to see histogram ._. havta go learn d... will susah? will make your life easier you can just ignore the RGB histogram though
Pmc
Apr 25 2013, 09:12 PM
QUOTE(BlizzardCraft @ Apr 25 2013, 08:55 PM) actually i still duno how to see histogram ._. havta go learn d... will susah? make sure the graph is at the middle.. that's what i do
Silverfire
Apr 25 2013, 09:41 PM
Tonight's discussion very educational
gnome
Apr 25 2013, 09:49 PM
Try shooting strictly in jpeg, that way can train yourself to get the better exposure. Not to mention can cut down post processing work