Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.19, D7100 announced weeeee~

Holyjolly
post Feb 7 2013, 01:57 AM

365 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Feb 7 2013, 01:51 AM)
50 f1.8g is sharper than both 35mm and 50mm 1.8d.. maybe u could save some money for 85mm? bt 85mm on dx is wayy too long..

i love the 50mm quality..both it's bokeh n sharpness are better..bt focal length is a problem..>< >< .. if outdoor shooting, 50mm would be lovely..indoor, 35mm rite?
i think i'll get 50mm 1.8g la.
Haha yeah, suitable for street photography and indoor like restaurants etc. Yes, 50mm like hanging in the air, not too wide, not too tele =.=
I like 50mm f1.8G too...but I feel I lack a wide angle.

I consider about 85mm focal length too...like too long for me. Seldom use this length.

Recently broke ad, recovering my wound and save money for DX wide angle lens? FX lens? or FX body? not sure yet. But now I feel want to get a MB-D80 battery grip. hard to grab my D90 vertically...
Holyjolly
post Feb 7 2013, 03:38 AM

365 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 7 2013, 02:31 AM)
don't know what to buy is a clear sign of don't know what you shoot, what you like to shoot, and what's your style / preference.

you already have a D90 and a good set of lens. stick with it unless you want to try something else, eg Macro or UWA landscape
Yea, now still hobbyist (which hardly spend time and serious to learn) stage and play around/master with DX 1st. if really go deeper then upgrade to FX but not DX. as FX body tech continue to improve, it is better invest on lens 1st. that's why still considering lo. many factors like time (still students then will work in future, mindset tends to change, maybe invest on property bla bla bla), income etc.

If continue to buy DX lens, then they are hardly to be use with FX body if upgrade in future. like wasted lo since I can prepare to pump for FX lens and use it temporary on DX body. So now still in dilemma and figuring out lo, only buy the DX lens when need them.

This is my first DSLR, wanted a camera so much since secondary school but not manage to get it. Just realize how important memories are until a friend of mine passed away....Until last year my friend ignite my photography desire again then one shot pump for DSLR, happy with it as it has retained some nice moments. So until now it just a hobby for me other than the poor gaming life (not so good, it won't develop anything inside of you).

That's my thought...perhaps gone to far.

Initial plan for next target is UWA lens. I like landscape photo.

This post has been edited by Holyjolly: Feb 7 2013, 03:52 AM
Holyjolly
post Feb 7 2013, 08:01 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 7 2013, 06:36 PM)
I know my D90 and D700 AF got hit and miss when focusing to far away distance... should be similar with D800. It will be more accurate if you shoot with cross sensor, compared to the non cross.
Same here, Now I know my D90 limitation already. solution? always use the middle focus point ohmy.gif
Holyjolly
post Feb 10 2013, 02:16 AM

365 posts

I need some advice on the lightroom v4.3.
Recently I feel the advantages of RAW (aka .NEF format) file for editing.
Normally the photo preview in the lightroom is more rich in colour right? then soon after it finish loading, the colour became dull, less saturate,less contrast, etc...

What I see is what I get (which is dull)? or the DSLR one is the real one?
I was being told that RAW files are like that one (dull), which good for editing.

I also being told we can load back the rich colour data back to the RAW file after we export it as JPEG directly in lightroom without editting, but it doesn't happen like what I think. It is same as the dull photo i view from lightroom.

So, If I like the photo straight out from camera (&lazy edit bunch of photos just to make the photo looks more colourful), how to put back the colour coding and export as JPEG? icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by Holyjolly: Feb 10 2013, 02:17 AM
Holyjolly
post Feb 10 2013, 02:58 AM

365 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 10 2013, 02:25 AM)
check whether or not you assigned color profile like Adobe RGB or ProPhoto RGB by accident.
you mean in the body? there are two options: sRGB and Adobe RGB. I choose Adobe RGB. In lightroom i export as sRGB...any difference?

Feel so tired in editting la... cry.gif
Holyjolly
post Feb 10 2013, 03:27 AM

365 posts

Yeah, I export to JPEG and upload to facebook. Perhaps make some softcopies for relatives in JPEG. So now i change my body to sRGB and export as sRGB too?

This post has been edited by Holyjolly: Feb 10 2013, 03:28 AM
Holyjolly
post Feb 10 2013, 03:33 AM

365 posts

QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Feb 10 2013, 03:23 AM)
is it really that bad?

my D90's LCD is quite accurate. my 60D's LCD is not that accurate (maybe because of its super high reso..looks very nice in LCD, in LR not as nice as LCD but not a big prob).

but i think wut ur experiencing is LR reads the RAW file. meaning if in ur D90, ur using a preset/picture control thingy on vivid/landscape/watever it is, when LR reads RAW, it changes back to the RAW state.

so..i dont think ur LCD is not accurate. maybe its the preset thingy. or maybe ur just not satisfied. but to be honest, the D90 that i own still give me good results/color. and i shoot 100% RAW. i really dont know what is that ur trying to achieve but editing my D90 files are really a breeze imo smile.gif
Erm, initially when i view from "develop" tab, It shows similar colour tone with my DSLR Screen (still blur), but after it finish loading to a more clearer state then it fade off. rclxub.gif

it is like desaturated about 50% after loaded. hmm.gif lightroom setting problem?

Oh yes, I use vivid (edited) preset control when shooting.

What I notice at the bottom of the lightroom (where you can view your whole row of many photo tumbnail), it is rich in colour too, but when i click it and load on the editting big panel, it fade off forever including tumbnail too. except the remaining photo that haven't clicked from the tumbnail, load and view.

This post has been edited by Holyjolly: Feb 10 2013, 03:41 AM
Holyjolly
post Feb 10 2013, 03:50 AM

365 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 10 2013, 03:31 AM)
Just stick to sRGB for every thing. smile.gif
yeah will try and compare. My photos really look like zombie ==
Holyjolly
post Feb 10 2013, 04:31 AM

365 posts

QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Feb 10 2013, 04:20 AM)
i understand wut ur saying about the loading thingy. i dont think its LR problem because u already said u shoot vivid.

in LR, it reads RAW, and the vividness will be taken away that's y ur seeing desaturated stuffs.

i never use NEX by nikon so i dont know if it can read RAW vivid. btw, in LR, develop> camera calibration, try and change it to camera vivid. see if it makes u happy abit more. or just add some saturation.

btw how bad ur 'zombie' photos looks like? care to post some example of this 'desaturated' photos?
http://www.flickr.com/photos/90382787@N05/8458538383/

This is the direct converted photo from RAW to JPED without any editting. This is desaturated photo

for the zombie photo it is what i notice when i upload to facebook since long time ago. The RGB issue pointed out by goldfries. Got hit by a stone and woke up doh.gif
Holyjolly
post Feb 10 2013, 04:50 AM

365 posts

QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Feb 10 2013, 04:38 AM)
imo that pic still looks okay, not that desaturated.

but if what sifu goldie elaborated and that is ur problem, then hopefully ur problem is fixed bro smile.gif
Yeah, this doubts already occurred at the end of last year for my Sabah trip, my friend told me RAW memang is like that since it take out the presets.

It just I am lazy to edit nia XD. Gonna try out your express technique (camera vivid).
but I fall in love with RAW. awesome, I got my Sandisk 32gb extreme 45mb/s already. Shot like mad.

Long way to learn. Hard to handle D90 at low light condition even thought I am using 35mm f1.8G + flashgun. ISO have to pump up to 1000 in order to get faster shutter speed but a lot of noise shakehead.gif . my cousin's canon 7D sensor is impressive under low light condition. But most of his photo couldn't capture the background ambient colour, it is like become very dark behind (even thought have yellow light in the hotel).

Misuse of flashgun power output? I duno the concept. Is like sensor only detect the light that flash on the subject? it neglect the background ambient lighting? curious hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Holyjolly: Feb 10 2013, 04:55 AM
Holyjolly
post Feb 10 2013, 05:29 AM

365 posts

exactly as what you said! he using ISO 300-500 (hardly for the sensor to sense surround light?), 3.5-5.6 aperture due to kit lens (low light absorption?), faster shutter speed (i think he want to prevent handshake + capture children & use the flashgun to compensate the faster shutter speed)<<< similar technique used by me.

Any advice on the environment that with yellowing dim lighting + wide space where bouncing light is ineffective? (hotel, KLCC exihibition hall etc)? I found out that diffusal white cap eventually direct more light to the subject and spoilt the photo == Wanna get Gammilight Event pro but it isn't cheap.

Oh I see, I hardly to touch Canon DSLR. yeah, I very scare of noise, I notice it starting ISO 800. I got on the "High ISO NR" to High setting, and on the "Long exp. NR"

Wow, D90 so geng ah? shocking.gif Any advises on the flashgun + noise reduction? notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Holyjolly: Feb 10 2013, 05:32 AM
Holyjolly
post Feb 10 2013, 12:41 PM

365 posts

True pun.. Agree with you also....will improve and utilize my D90 biggrin.gif Thanks for advice. Learnt a lot. thumbup.gif

Holyjolly
post Feb 10 2013, 12:43 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 10 2013, 10:24 AM)
When you shoot NEF, it also comes with a 'small preview' JPEG embedded in it. So basically as you import to LR, it will show the embedded preview then when "finish loading" it will load what LR is cooking the raw (NEF) for you.

LR is unable to detect what is the actual settings you did on camera (Vivid, Standard, Portrait, Landscape etc including sharpness, saturation bar). My experience is that when you set the default "Vivid", you need to set "Vivid" in Camera Calibration under Develop module. But, if you did some tweaking in camera, you need to do trial and error in LR to get the exact copy.

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Alternatively if you like the color straight out from camera, just convert to JPEG via ViewNX2 instead.

Happy Chinese New Year to all celebrating and happy holiday to the rest!
Wokay~ gonna try it out soon~ thanks notworthy.gif
Holyjolly
post Feb 10 2013, 12:47 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(ifer @ Feb 10 2013, 11:24 AM)
For the benefit of Nikonian. Most internet browsers support sRGB only. If I am not mistaken, only Safari supports both sRGB and Adobe RGB. Goldie's mistake was the same mistake I did last time. I shoot in AdobeRGB (because the camera can only shoot in that space) and do all the post in AdobeRGB.

And uploaded my works on my website using the same colour space. Now, I use Safari and my monitor is callibrated. View back my website from my computer, damn cun. Then go to other people's computer use chrome or fox, I was shocked.

Got to re colour space every single photo and re upload it to my website. It was painful but necessary. So, just stick to sRGB and pump a little abit of saturation and smart sharpen to your photograph before you upload it to the internet.
What I wonder is, since everyone is using different monitor, different browser...any processing standards(the common nice saturation, exposures etc) to be done when using lightroom? and the monitor settings too...normally I am using 50% brightness for my laptop screen. I heard there is some manufacturer introduce monitor pixels that is match with the Adobe colour....
Holyjolly
post Feb 14 2013, 01:06 AM

365 posts

Anyone know some recommended photo hosting/sharing/upload site that can upload photo without sizing and degrade photo quality?
Holyjolly
post Feb 17 2013, 10:34 AM

365 posts

Since I heard many good user reviews here, should I upgrade from 50mm f/1.8D to f/1.8G?

Oh ya, is the nikon 24-70mm good lens to be invest? I hardly to use my kit lens now due to addicted with prime lens tongue.gif

Wanna get a nice zoom lens for myself.
Holyjolly
post Feb 21 2013, 11:45 PM

365 posts

D7100 looks nice ah...predicted price? it makes my D90 depreciate alot liao~
Holyjolly
post Feb 22 2013, 04:51 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 22 2013, 09:44 AM)
From my experience panning at Sepang, I find shoot without monopod gives me better result, maybe because I'm shooting with 70-200 VR2 + TC-20E III instead of those 300mm, 400mm or 200-400mm supertelephoto or I'm not used to panning on monopod.

My shots from Super GT 2012,

The usual easy side ways panning,
#27 PACIFIC NAC IKAMUSUME FERRARI (Ferrari F430 GTC / F136GT) by CY Pixels, on Flickr

#69 ThunderAsia MT900M (Mosler MT900M / V8 NA) by CY Pixels, on Flickr
WOW NICE! drool.gif using D800? Mind sharing the shooting info? (ISO, shutter speed etc)

I am lack of knowledge and skill in capturing nice moving object... doh.gif
Holyjolly
post Mar 8 2013, 08:18 PM

365 posts

Sorry for the disturb, I think last time I mentioned before.

What is the fastest and easiest photo editing software to convert RAW file to JPEG by putting back the colour code?

ViewNX? I heard of Adobe RAW. what is that?
Holyjolly
post Mar 9 2013, 02:05 AM

365 posts

QUOTE(pspslim007 @ Mar 9 2013, 01:00 AM)
i just found out that kit lens don`t do well on PC Fair , its kinda hard for subject isolation using kit lens , should had used my prime lens instead...zzzz
Ya. Bokeh not that nice too. it depends actually because you don't have much flexible and nice space for prime lens to perform.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0241sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:05 PM