Google NEXUS 7 Official Thread @V5, V5!!Now with Android 4.3

terence_nwb
post Feb 2 2013, 07:46 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(jazzabel29 @ Feb 2 2013, 07:04 PM)
Hai! I'm using Nexus 7 and very satisfied with it. Any good gps apps for Nexus 7 that not using data? Thanks.  biggrin.gif
Try Sygic, it doesn't require internet connection but after 7 days trial, you need to buy a lifetime license. Been using it for 2 months, so far so good rclxms.gif
terence_nwb
post Feb 11 2013, 04:24 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(ego draconis @ Feb 11 2013, 02:41 PM)
anybody can teach me how to set laptop as wifi hotspot for nexus 7....i know how to set ad hoc network ,but nexus 7 cant see the network..
Try connectify, android devices are having hard time detecting and connecting to ad hoc WiFi, connectify can set up wpa2 security WiFi and your nexus 7 will be able to detect it.
terence_nwb
post Feb 16 2013, 04:59 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Feb 16 2013, 04:35 PM)
Uncle can i flash this stock image with Nexus 7 Tookit to update to 4.2.2? Thx
Yes you can but it will wipe your internal storage + unroot your device if I am not mistaken.
terence_nwb
post Feb 16 2013, 05:34 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Feb 16 2013, 05:16 PM)
The d/loaded 274mb file is a zip file and not .tgz file. How to convert to .tgz file?  rclxub.gif
Just follow uncle benny's reply (#615), put the zip you just downloaded into "put_google_factory_image_here" folder and follow the instructions given, the toolkit will do the rest for you.
terence_nwb
post Feb 17 2013, 12:49 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(syahmie_dbf1430 @ Feb 16 2013, 10:50 PM)
sorry but i cant fint my tilapia nexus 7 4.2.1... only fountd nakasi n nakasig... doh.gif
Latest version is 4.2.2, that's why you cannot find 4.2.1.
"tilapia" is device codename whereas "nakasi" and "nakasig" are build products codenames.
Your are currently using nexus 7 tilapia(3G version), download "nakasig" as it is the build product codename for your "tilapia".
terence_nwb
post Feb 17 2013, 01:18 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(syahmie_dbf1430 @ Feb 17 2013, 01:03 AM)
thanks bro.. but any other link for stock nexus 7 3g tilapia 4.2.1??
Nexus 7 3G version 4.2.1

terence_nwb
post Feb 21 2013, 07:51 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(stereokumonomu @ Feb 21 2013, 01:58 AM)
Guys, anyone install whatsapp on their nexus 7?

I managed to install it few weeks back, and now I kept receiving this text from their server:
[attachmentid=3314255]

Mine is whatsapp version 2.8.9070.

They even showed me a popup to upgrade or I won't able to access the app after the next 14 days.

Mine is Nexus 7C. Anyone know anything about this?
Just upgrade it, it worked well for me after I upgraded it.
terence_nwb
post Feb 21 2013, 02:35 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(ego draconis @ Feb 21 2013, 02:34 PM)
Hi will update  4.2.2 will erase all my files and apps ?
No if you update from OTA.
terence_nwb
post Feb 23 2013, 04:33 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(mscw88 @ Feb 23 2013, 02:49 PM)
How to install Flash on N7 huh ??? tqvm smile.gif
HERE
terence_nwb
post Feb 24 2013, 01:39 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(tryingtolearn @ Feb 24 2013, 01:25 AM)
my bad.. so i can get the 4.2.2 option in the toolkit by inserting thisinto the toolkit folder rite?

Thanks for the advice sifu biggrin.gif

EDIT: guess i misunderstood the advice.. so i download Nexus toolkit V4 > Download 4.2.2 image > flash stock image > root.. am i right?
Get the latest version of nexus 7 toolkit which contains 4.2.2 option here (if you can read chinese then it should be no problem for you, if you don't understand chinese, you have to find the download logo to get the file)

This post has been edited by terence_nwb: Feb 24 2013, 01:39 AM
terence_nwb
post Mar 4 2013, 05:05 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(apecx92 @ Mar 4 2013, 04:58 PM)
if i flash to any kernel, can i return back to stock kernel? if yes how?
Yes, just grab stock kernel and flash it. You can google to find stock kernel link.
terence_nwb
post Mar 10 2013, 12:20 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(mscw88 @ Mar 10 2013, 12:03 AM)
Anyone download Temple Run:OZ liao ???
Bought it few days ago, the scenery in the game is quite nice lol biggrin.gif
terence_nwb
post Mar 12 2013, 07:21 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(apecx92 @ Mar 12 2013, 01:03 AM)
tried using franco, motley and stock without change the volt also have same idle temp on cpu (40-45 C). load up bladeslinger game the temp rise to 58C. O.o
40-45 C is very high for a device when it is on standby mode, when I am posting this, my n7 is just 28 C and when i start up high detailed games, maximum I have seen is 37 C. I think you should bring your n7 to service to check as it is still under warranty. Do you feel hot when you are holding it(especially the left side of n7)?
terence_nwb
post Mar 26 2013, 07:08 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(apecx92 @ Mar 26 2013, 05:08 PM)
Just pick up mine from the SC, it change my LCD and mother board to new one. But for the temp on processor it still the same 45-50 C
Picture included. It is okay?
It is considered as high for me, normal temperature for my n7 is around 30C-35C when i am using it, when it is idle, its temperature is just 26C-29C.
terence_nwb
post Aug 24 2013, 10:26 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(wilsonphua @ Aug 24 2013, 08:36 PM)
Asphalt 8 lags on my Nexus 7 2012 device. Damn....another unoptimised game by Gameloft. Luckily my iPad Mini one no lag and smooth graphics

iPad more optimised games haha...not sure Nexus 7 2013
It runs super smooth on Nexus 7 2013, in the Google Event last month, this game was demoed on Nexus 7 2013 and no lag whatsoever even on high graphics setting.
terence_nwb
post Aug 24 2013, 11:28 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(wilsonphua @ Aug 24 2013, 11:19 PM)
hmm...i should think about getting the new nexus 7 lol

the high graphics is really beautiful, can say equivalent to PS3 graphics
Go for it. The screen is really sharp and the dual speakers are also very loud even though the volume control bar is < 50%. Definitely a worth-buying device.

0.0436sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:19 AM