Travel Langkawi, *~tax free heaven~* Updated info 1st pg

tanos
post Oct 15 2006, 09:03 PM

410 posts

Well, i want to bring my own car to Langkawi island and i have a few questions:

a) What is the cost for the ferry for the car?
b) I heard that the car will be sent a day after i arrived in Langkawi? Is it true?
tanos
post Dec 25 2006, 03:22 PM

410 posts

Anyone need help. Am going to Langkawi wif my wife.

Date: 11 to 14 Jan 07

Need help to get:

a) Car reservation & rate - I want a wira or better
b) Hotel reservation & room rate - at least 2 stars rating
c) Places to go - 4 days (site seeing & shopping)
tanos
post Dec 28 2006, 10:13 PM

410 posts

Used air asia package since its too far to drive from Kluang, Johor.

Plus air port tax RM 965

Hotel: Awana Porto Malai - Standard Room
Dates:
From - 10 Jan 2007 (Kuala Lumpur) to 14 Jan 2007

Is Air Asia departure hall in KLIA? Could anyone point me to where is it located? What is LCCT and where is it located? How to go there by car? Sorry for the silly questions.

This post has been edited by tanos: Dec 28 2006, 10:30 PM
tanos
post Dec 30 2006, 09:46 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(suzannetan @ Dec 30 2006, 02:28 PM)
Just came back from Langkawi, got my island hoping for RM35 ...
Got any contact number? Which island did u went? How much for car?
tanos
post Jan 14 2007, 05:36 PM

410 posts

Just got back from Langkawi. It was a very good holiday us. My wife enjoy it very much. Awana Porto Malai is just ok2 only. So next time, will go to a better hotel.

We went from 10th Jan until 14th Jan through Air Asia Go Holiday.

Chenang beach was very beautiful - the sand, the clear water and the scenery was very good.

Island hopping was very good - went to the 3 main island and drop off to 2 other island because our boatman was very nice. Pulau Beras Basah beach & the sea water was very nice. The islands is somewhat nicer than Tioman. Eagle feeding was very2 nice. There are abundant of eagles going for the food given by the boatman (chicken skin). Use the solar boat at the Tasik Dayang Bunting - slow n steady - very nice.... thumbup.gif
Island hopping cost us rm40 per person - we took the boat just at the Awana Porto Malai jetty. Solar boat was rm30 per boat... a very nice ride..... mineral water cost rm3 at the Tasik Dayang Bunting. Total ride was about 3 hours plus. We went at 9.30 am until almost 2.00 pm.

Went to Cable car ride - rm15 per person (need to show the mycard). The scenery was very beautiful. Got scared when going up because we need to stop (3 x) due to strong wind. The hanging bridge was very nice.

Went to Black Sand beach and another beach along its coast.

Under water world - rm28 per person. A good experience. A nice visit.

Drive around Langkawi at night. Driving in Langkawi is a very nice and pleasant experience. The road was calm and relaxing. A good experience indeed.

Chocolate - bought some at Kuah town - Hj Ismail store and also at the Underwater world (same price although at the Underwater World is located nearer to my hotel).

Dried cuttlefish - per kg is rm40. In JB it is more than rm50 per kg.

For my wife, bought some cookware at Idaman Suri (new big building - yellow colour), Zeno (in front of the old Idaman Suri) and also at some store (Hj Ismail) in Kuah town.

Fruits - it was way expensive than in Johor. Rambutan at RM 5 per kg. Seedless Guava rm 6 per kg.

We had a bad experience eating at McDonald Langkawi. The service was very lousy.
First, we had to wait for the girl to take our order because she miscounted and key in the wrong order for the customer in front of us (which takes about more than 10 minutes).
2nd - our fries was placed at the wrong tray (another girl made this mistake) and spread our fries in that tray.
3rd - she didn't refill our fries and just make donno
4th - our drinks had no 'gas' and when asked why we were not inform earlier - the girl just say, sorry with a donno b*tchy smiley face.
5th - our ice cream was not solidify properly - it was melting badly
6th - i had to wait for about 15 minutes for my prosperity burger. And the girl (another f*cking girl) almost put the burger at another table and she just 'drop off' the burger to us without saying anything (no sorry what so ever - very rude).
I don't know whether it is just my bad luck or what, but i will never go there again in the future.

Well, that is my experience in Langkawi - it was a very good experience, a very nice place and we're very2 happy with this trip. rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

One more - we didn't went to Teluk Datai - this place is very recommended by the local (we didn't know about it until we almost got back).

Car rent : Rented a waja 1.6 manual - rm80 per day. Nissan Sentra 1.6 RM 90 per day. Zakir 012-4166126

This post has been edited by tanos: Jan 15 2007, 06:48 AM
tanos
post Jan 15 2007, 04:50 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(achw @ Jan 15 2007, 03:19 PM)
Hi All,

I'm going to Langkawi in April and planning to stay in cenang beach.. can anyone recommend which hotel which has reasonable price.. Thanks..
AB Motel is very cheap and just 2 minutes walk to chenang beach (actually, it is just in front of the motel)
tanos
post Jan 15 2007, 07:45 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(Sitting Duck @ Jan 15 2007, 07:10 PM)
Anyone stayed in Mutiara Burau Bay Resort before? The pictures in cuti.com.my website looks good.... But kinda far away from the town...anyone know how long to travel to the town from this resort? Most important, how the condition of the beach..??? I hope it's clean and the sea water is clean too.. Thanks
This is a very nice resort. 30 minutes from Chenang Beach and 40 to 50 minutes to kuah (if you drive 70 km/h like what i did). Based on the locals info, the beach was nice, same standard at Tanjung Rhu..... We went to this resort (for jalan2 and look see) while we drove around Langkawi.

tanos
post Jan 16 2007, 06:31 AM

410 posts

QUOTE(Sitting Duck @ Jan 16 2007, 03:30 AM)
Thanks dude for answering my question. If compare Chenang Beach and this mutiara resort beach.. which one is nicer? The Chenang Beach resorts are very expensive.. That's why I am considering the Mutiara resort..but again.. 40-50 minutes to the city is very far... How about Langkasuka resort's beach? How's the condition..

For rating 1 to 10, mind to rate the beaches for the following resorts:

1) Mutiara Bay Resort
2) Pelangi Resort
3) Langkasuka
4) Langkawi Lagoon
5) Berjaya (which is also quite far, but still considering since the price is around RM300++)

Any other resorts that you might think of, appreciate it if you could list down a few more if you are able to think of any.. Thanks you in advance....
For rating 1 to 10, mind to rate the beaches for the following resorts:u
1) Mutiara Bay Resort - around 7
2) Pelangi Resort - around 8 (chenang beach)
3) Langkasuka - around 8 also
4) Langkawi Lagoon - erm, not sure, but from my observation, nice also
5) Berjaya (which is also quite far, but still considering since the price is around RM300++) - this one is very far. Near to the Cable Car. I didnt see the beach.

Well, it depends on people perception actually. Some people like Chenang, some like the Datai (locals) and some like the Tanjung Rhu. Basically, all these beaches have almost the same standard lar BUT Chenang is very convenient, have a lot of suvenier stalls, food stalls etc.
tanos
post Jan 16 2007, 07:26 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(Sitting Duck @ Jan 16 2007, 04:47 PM)
Thanks Tanos for answering my questions. Hmm.. Berjaya Resort does not have any beach huh? Well.. then it's definately out of list then.. 

But I was quite surprise you gave Langkasuka a 8.. since most of reviews I read said that the beach is quite death and also there's no wave...

But really thanks for the response.. Really x100 appreciate it..
The Berjaya beach - i didnt saw/went to the beach - it does not mean there is no beach there.... blush.gif

About Langkasuka, like i said, different people have different perception, maybe what i gave is wrong.... unsure.gif
tanos
post Feb 2 2007, 06:16 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(fraulein @ Feb 2 2007, 04:35 PM)

The last time I went to Langkawi, I didn't go to the famous pasar malam. I'll be going again this year. Some questions here;

1. Is it safe to drive from Pantai Cenang to Kuah town at night? The road to town can be quite lonely at some stretch.

2. Any good food/seafood to recommend? Last time I ate my dinner at the Thai restaurant beside the Underwater World, kena chop.

Added on February 2, 2007, 4:35 pmHi,

The last time I went to Langkawi, I didn't go to the famous pasar malam. I'll be going again this year. Some questions here;

1. Is it safe to drive from Pantai Cenang to Kuah town at night? The road to town can be quite lonely at some stretch.

2. Any good food/seafood to recommend? Last time I ate my dinner at the Thai restaurant beside the Underwater World, kena chop.

3. Nice spa place?
VERY SAFE.... i drove until almost 2 am...

0.0210sec    1.13    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:20 PM