brush aluminium ?, how to make alu shine?

TSsuperdav007
post Mar 28 2006, 12:22 AM, updated 20y ago

1,072 posts

brush aluminium ???

how to make alu shine? or look like stainless steel?

how 2 polish it?
SUSMalaysian
post Mar 28 2006, 12:28 AM

1,651 posts

QUOTE(superdav007 @ Mar 28 2006, 12:22 AM)
brush aluminium ???

how to make alu shine? or look like stainless steel?

how 2 polish it?
can meh..u need to do coating electrolysis wor..

kingmaker_20
post Mar 28 2006, 12:30 AM

" t3H 1337(tm)"
3,159 posts

The process called "lapping"
Google.
TSsuperdav007
post Mar 28 2006, 12:32 AM

1,072 posts

where to get this lapping done?
exkay
post Mar 28 2006, 12:47 AM

Hired Gunman
3,657 posts

by running Rounds and rounds on a track.
ianho
post Mar 28 2006, 04:01 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Alu case can make it shine like a mirror man. Polish n polish n polish until it shines. A hell lot of work though. The process is the same as lapping a heatsink.
Here's an example of what polishing does.

This post has been edited by ianho: Mar 28 2006, 04:02 AM

WildChai
post Mar 28 2006, 09:20 AM

Wut is this?
1,022 posts

That IS the most shinny lookin wavemaster ever!
zzzz52
post Mar 28 2006, 09:43 AM

Weeeeeeeeee
1,177 posts

How much time to make that kind of shine, sure your arm will not recognize you when it is finish rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by zzzz52: Mar 28 2006, 09:43 AM
chamelion
post Mar 28 2006, 09:45 AM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

Arrrrrrrrrgg finger print....
TSsuperdav007
post Mar 28 2006, 11:04 AM

1,072 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Mar 28 2006, 04:01 AM)
Alu case can make it shine like a mirror man. Polish n polish n polish until it shines. A hell lot of work though. The process is the same as lapping a heatsink.
Here's an example of what polishing does.
NOW THIS IS WAT I CALL MIRROR FINISH..AWESOME !!!....

but lots of hardwork ... sweat.gif
SUSAllnGap
post Mar 28 2006, 03:01 PM

[ Modding with Passion(tm) ]
4,561 posts

i wonder how long the shine can last because the air here isnt that dry.
anyway it looks neat ! like alienware PC !!
ianho
post Mar 28 2006, 03:35 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Wait ar. I go get the link of the worklog n I'll post back here. U guys can then c how back breaking the polishing work is. 1 interesting note. The guy who did this rig, he's the guy who invented the Dangerden NV68 SLi waterblocks. Stupid bugger din go n patent the method. So DD just went ahead n copied it n didnt even gif credit to him. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Mar 28 2006, 03:01 PM)
i wonder how long the shine can last because the air here isnt that dry.
anyway it looks neat ! like alienware PC !!
Dont haf to worry bout the shine going off. I did the same thing for my DOHC VTEC engine cover last time. Removed the crackle black paint n polished it to mirror shine just like this case. Had no problems with the shine even in that harsh engine bay environment. Just hafta wipe it clean everytime I washed the car.

This post has been edited by ianho: Mar 28 2006, 03:52 PM
ianho
post Mar 28 2006, 04:15 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

OK here's the link. Phew finally found it after like 1 hour of searching. Enjoy.

http://coolercasesuk.co.uk/showthread.php?t=11
nicvoo
post Mar 28 2006, 04:25 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(zzzz52 @ Mar 28 2006, 09:43 AM)
How much time to make that kind of shine, sure your arm will not recognize you when it is finish rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
This picture was taken 22/03/04 so it took almost a year to polish it fully........eeek where did that go???

I knew this wouldn't be easy so I invested in a sander/polisher

lol using ur arm ar hahaha u can b popeye liao hahaha
using tools also need almost a year walau
ianho
post Mar 28 2006, 04:45 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(nicvoo @ Mar 28 2006, 04:25 PM)
lol using ur arm ar hahaha u can b popeye liao hahaha
using tools also need almost a year walau
No lar. Took him almost a year coz he's a Managing Director of a company. Very bz man mar. If u mod it continuosly can finish it in like 2-3 days oni.
SUSHaM7
post May 3 2006, 07:56 PM

Team Eclipse = Geng Team!!
39 posts

put polisher and wipe it not brush it, i am not sure but i think can lar
ableze_joepardy
post May 18 2007, 05:08 AM

*w0ot*
1,061 posts

ive saw think kind of output in one of pimp my ride episode.. but the pimper not polishing it.. he just painted it.. but not a normal paint.. combination of 2 chemical (i forgot what is it) n splash on the car n walla.. its shining like that..
Gamer
post May 18 2007, 01:17 PM

Be Original
3,366 posts

i think you can sand it first with 1400 grit and later use Autosol to polish it kao kao. if you have machine polish will be nice.
cskeong
post May 18 2007, 02:41 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(Gamer @ May 18 2007, 01:17 PM)
i think you can sand it first with 1400 grit and later use Autosol to polish it kao kao. if you have machine polish will be nice.
autosol????i read somewhere before that never ever use autosol to polish aluminium...........i think it was uncle ian who made that remark. but if it isn't dun flame me arh ekkekekeke poor memory.
xcoolpc
post May 18 2007, 10:51 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(cskeong @ May 18 2007, 02:41 PM)
autosol????i read somewhere before that never ever use autosol to polish aluminium...........i think it was uncle ian who made that remark. but if it isn't dun flame me arh ekkekekeke poor memory.
yes, autosol sure can

0.0570sec    1.15    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 01:16 PM