How to scare away dangerous creature ?, eight legged freaks & snake ...

TSVinspire
post Mar 27 2006, 10:08 PM, updated 20y ago

Sleeping Member
1,667 posts

I almost got sting by a black scorpion few mins ago. It is almost the size of my palm.

What happen is i need to open the gate everytime i came home and this time when i got down to open the gate suddenly i felt that there is something on my leg so i bend down and have a look then i saw some 8 legged freaks kinda insect so i faster kick it off lo.

after i kick it off then only i saw the creature. It is 1 big black scorpion.

So, what i wanted to know is ... What should i put to prevent this dangerous creature from coming into my house / room ?

Scorpion, caterpillar or snakes ... all those kinda creatures ... how to prevent as i am staying alone most of the time.

rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by Vinspire: Mar 28 2006, 03:13 PM
TSVinspire
post Mar 27 2006, 10:25 PM

Sleeping Member
1,667 posts

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Mar 27 2006, 10:16 PM)
a big scorpion crawl up your leg? Hmm you must be staying in some secluded place near jungle ler. I used to live surroiunded by Jungle ans that has never happened to me. ANyway Im not too sure how to prevent it from coming in besides just closing all the doors and windows. Make sure there are no holes where it is able to come in.
Not really secluded area. maybe because of the back of my house got 1 big jungle area but i think i am pretty lucky lo coz the scorpion is right on my feet and i am still walking ... when i walk 2/3 step only i notice something weird on my leg so bend down n see. ( ngam ngam in front of my car so can see from the car light )

after kick the scorpion off ... it crawl towards my house so i take a broom and whack it lo. At first got snap photo one but it was in night mode so the shuttle is delayed which the pic ended up very blur ( too suspense till forgot to ON flash )
TSVinspire
post Mar 27 2006, 10:34 PM

Sleeping Member
1,667 posts

QUOTE(hao @ Mar 27 2006, 10:25 PM)
Ridsect Goodnite tak diganggu nyamuk~~~

try to find tak diganggu ular, kala jengking & labah-labah one lar...
hao, u sure it work ?
TSVinspire
post Mar 27 2006, 10:40 PM

Sleeping Member
1,667 posts

QUOTE(Naota-kun @ Mar 27 2006, 10:37 PM)
do what the professionals do. wear hiking boots & always keep a snake stick at arm's reach.

on a more practical note, those electronic high frequency emitting pest repellant thingies might work.
Lolz ... its just for ordinary day. I tot we can put salt or something coz last time when i go camping ... they got put some kinda stuff around the camping zone.
TSVinspire
post Mar 27 2006, 10:45 PM

Sleeping Member
1,667 posts

QUOTE(ninjamerah @ Mar 27 2006, 10:43 PM)
put sulphur around your house.
what kind of sulphur ?

it prevent what 1 actually ? any kind of creature ? i tot of put it at my door entrance only coz want to have a peaceful sleep and i think its kinda hard to put it around the house also.
TSVinspire
post Mar 27 2006, 11:11 PM

Sleeping Member
1,667 posts

QUOTE(jaswwp @ Mar 27 2006, 11:04 PM)
yes, they do live in forest areas..my friend got stung by one in rubber estate i think
What actually happen if you got stung by the scorpion ?
TSVinspire
post Mar 27 2006, 11:13 PM

Sleeping Member
1,667 posts

QUOTE(HuonHengChai @ Mar 27 2006, 11:07 PM)
.... so you killed the scorpion just because it exist and was in you sight
I didnt kill it because it exist and was just in my sight. Did you read what i write properly ?
TSVinspire
post Mar 27 2006, 11:41 PM

Sleeping Member
1,667 posts

QUOTE(HuonHengChai @ Mar 27 2006, 11:15 PM)
you kicked it and wacked it with a broom....
Yeap. I tot of letting it go one but its heading towards my house. I am just doing things that i think it is right only.
TSVinspire
post Mar 27 2006, 11:43 PM

Sleeping Member
1,667 posts

QUOTE(HuonHengChai @ Mar 27 2006, 11:15 PM)
you kicked it and wacked it with a broom....
QUOTE(tele_mobile @ Mar 27 2006, 11:14 PM)
sulphur = 硫磺

HHC, that is human normal action when see big scorpion. If my mom saw, she will make sure the scorpion died in her sight before it enter my house. Last time there was a 5 inch centipede sneak in my house. Everyone was running like mad (including me tongue.gif) but my mom is the 1 who brrought hammer, spanar and anything that can be weapon to kil the centipede.............. biggrin.gif
Hopefully that does support my statement.
TSVinspire
post Mar 28 2006, 01:31 PM

Sleeping Member
1,667 posts

Vinny plead not guilty.

1. I dont know so cant blame me fully.

2. I didnt look for it but its right stuck at my leg.

3. I dont want to kill it in the beginning but its walking towards my house which changed my mind to kill it as i am staying alone. If i got stung or what inside ... Nobody could help me. So, taking a prevention step.

Anyway, here is the pic of the scorpion. Ermm ... anyone know how i can keep this ?

TSVinspire
post Mar 28 2006, 01:42 PM

Sleeping Member
1,667 posts

QUOTE(HuonHengChai @ Mar 28 2006, 01:35 PM)
i tot you said you didnt kill it...
it's one nice scorpion, too bad, life goes on.
actually what will happen if i got stung by it ? give me some knowledge then i wont kill it next time and u all wont blame me if i kill it again.

P/S : dont tell me i will become scorpion king rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
TSVinspire
post Mar 28 2006, 01:51 PM

Sleeping Member
1,667 posts

QUOTE(HuonHengChai @ Mar 28 2006, 01:45 PM)
the most you'll get swelling or maybe feaver for a week.
the local species are not that dangerous, in case if you get stung by a scorpion, seek medical attention just in case. who know if you are allagic to to venom.
Means if i am allergic to venom then there is a possibility of death ?
TSVinspire
post Mar 28 2006, 01:56 PM

Sleeping Member
1,667 posts

How can i keep this scorpion ? dry it or what ?
TSVinspire
post Mar 28 2006, 02:19 PM

Sleeping Member
1,667 posts

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Mar 28 2006, 02:14 PM)
If you are allergic to venom the symtoms and effects can be much more severe. From normal swelling to fevers and vomitting. The worst case scenario is a coma or even death though I have never heard about scorpion stings though. Mostly bee stings have been reported to have brought death.
Can someone tell me what i should do if i want to keep this 1st ?
TSVinspire
post Mar 28 2006, 02:33 PM

Sleeping Member
1,667 posts

vei hon, how to keep this dead scorpion ?
TSVinspire
post Mar 28 2006, 02:41 PM

Sleeping Member
1,667 posts

QUOTE(V3i HoN6 @ Mar 28 2006, 02:31 PM)
I dont blame them  for that.
If one think a scorpion sting could put somebody to death or serious illness, then i admire his courage to kill the scorp so that it wont kill others in the neighbourhood.

I understand some scorpions keepers and yet my gang of tarantula keepers might not happy to see this. But imagine the situation now is an unharmful snake that try to crawl into your house and you dont know heck about snake, you probably thought every snake is aggresive and venomous to put you into hospital or coffin. What would you do?

Well maybe Vins need to take the blame for being ignorance about this creatures, and the the scorpion take part of it as for entering human territory.
Vei hong, i think it is human normal reaction. Not everyone had an interest in getting to know insect. Everyone have a different hobby. I am doing what the normal other human do. Its not that i purposely go look for one or it pass by my house. It is right on my feet and its crawling towards my house.

This pic is to show the size of the scorpion.

TSVinspire
post Mar 28 2006, 02:49 PM

Sleeping Member
1,667 posts

Some other pics of the scorpion ....

TSVinspire
post Mar 28 2006, 02:52 PM

Sleeping Member
1,667 posts

QUOTE(inoitu @ Mar 28 2006, 02:50 PM)
That's not big.  Thought the size was as big as your palm.  You must be a small fellar to drive a car.  LOL!  No point drying it.  It will become disjointed to small pieces.  Keep in formaldehyde(ah.....sure  sp?).
Yeap. When i snap the photo with RM 1 notes that time only i realise it isnt as big as i thought it is. Anyway, it is still bigger than those baby type one.

Formalyne ? Where to get that ?
TSVinspire
post Mar 28 2006, 03:41 PM

Sleeping Member
1,667 posts

QUOTE(V3i HoN6 @ Mar 28 2006, 03:01 PM)
Sorry i really dont know how to preserve it.
Anyway that is a very nice scorpions.
Lucky you never get stung by it.
And even lucky you got to meet a scorpion, many of them in scorpions thread dream to meet one themself.
Okie ... Anyway, this is all i could give to the scorpion thread gang.

This post has been edited by Vinspire: Mar 28 2006, 03:44 PM
TSVinspire
post Mar 28 2006, 04:13 PM

Sleeping Member
1,667 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Mar 28 2006, 04:07 PM)
well like i said, if you dont have to, dont kill.
Now got a bit regret after seeing scorpion thread .... Should have keep it in the bottle or something before i feed it with the broom. What to do ... lack of knowledge in this tongue.gif

0.0177sec    0.93    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:20 AM