Cycling V5 aka 8888 CNY HUAT ah!, General talks on Racing/road bikes

Snowguy2068
post Apr 15 2013, 12:39 PM

811 posts

Oh great. One of the bike shops who knows me just offered me 3.2 for the giant and for a felt one. 3.4 apparently felt is an international brand and it's very good. All also pretty similar specs. Now I'm confused as he'll. UGH
Snowguy2068
post Apr 15 2013, 04:21 PM

811 posts

Went to a shop. Best shop ever. Asked me not to buy Merida or giant. GO for trek. Was so nice. 3.5 include cateye lights bike computer jersey pants bottle bottle holder stand. Trek 1.5 I think. I guess I'm getting this. Any reviews?
Snowguy2068
post Apr 15 2013, 04:22 PM

811 posts

Went to a shop. Best shop ever. Asked me not to buy Merida or giant. GO for trek. Was so nice. 3.5 include cateye lights bike computer jersey pants bottle bottle holder stand and helmet. . Trek 1.5 I think. I guess I'm getting this. Any reviews?
Snowguy2068
post Apr 15 2013, 10:07 PM

811 posts

I know but no one here rode a trek 1.5 before?
Snowguy2068
post Apr 16 2013, 02:24 AM

811 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Apr 15 2013, 11:34 PM)
if you feel felt is the bike you want...then go for it... as long as you are spending the amount of money on a reputable bike and not some XDS or unknown bikes... then it is ok...

as i have said from earlier... you have to make a decision yourself...no point this or that, review this and that, opinion this and that... at the end of the day, it is a question of whether you trust our bullshit, bike shop's bull shit or the bull shit you see from the net...

as long as it is a good brand and a good bike at the same price range of something you are targeting at and most importantly, you like it... then don't think twice unless you want to go on searching for more alternatives...
i think you have the concept of the best shop ever wrong..."卖花赞花香" if you understand the chinese term...if a shop sells trek and tell you to go get something else because it is more worth the price and you pay less for the same thing... that is one hell of a good shop... unfortunately, there is none such shop...everyone wants your business and money...

if this is the alpha 1.5 you are referring to and priced the same as the giant tcr 2 and the racelite 903??? then, it is a question of why not??? unless you don't like the color or design..
http://www.trekbikes.com/us/en/bikes/road/...rt/1_series/1_5

it has to be something nice at the end of the day that you like...
we can't ride all the bikes and even if we do... it makes no sense as it will only be a first impression which can be very different from a long term feel....first impression can always be very inaccurate because the bike feels different than yours and you sometime feel it is better but in actual fact not... it is just a different feeling...

furthermore, it is only a little bit of difference here and there... if you niggle on this bits, you can continue on analyzing 50 different bikes in the coming weeks...
yeap its that. most likely will be getting this.

sorry for the trouble guys.just very afraid to spend so much money.
Snowguy2068
post Apr 16 2013, 12:19 PM

811 posts

welll cause with 3.5 i get everything i need i guess?
bottle holder helmet gloves jersey pants bike computer and lights by cat eye pedals and whatnot.
Snowguy2068
post Apr 17 2013, 12:41 AM

811 posts

what is that front two handle bar thing? its looks so nice. lol
Snowguy2068
post Apr 17 2013, 10:38 AM

811 posts

anyone wearing specs here? how do you wear shades then? or do you avoid cycling in the day?
Snowguy2068
post Apr 17 2013, 10:46 AM

811 posts

my san kuang is super high. not advisable to wear contacts D:
Snowguy2068
post Apr 17 2013, 12:52 PM

811 posts

What is that.... LOL
Snowguy2068
post Apr 18 2013, 01:30 PM

811 posts

Guys, is polygon a good brand? It's 105 gear set bike is only 3.6 before asking for discount yawn.gif
Snowguy2068
post Apr 18 2013, 05:44 PM

811 posts

Budget is tight but I do want to get the best for my price range back to trek I guess
Snowguy2068
post Apr 20 2013, 11:35 PM

811 posts

What does a professional bike fitting session do?
Snowguy2068
post Apr 21 2013, 09:43 PM

811 posts

hey guys, since i won't be able to get the trek so soon. I was wondering if any other brands besides merida and giant worth mentioning.

like i said the polygon one has quite an amazing price for the gears but i have no idea how to see the other components.

Snowguy2068
post Apr 22 2013, 03:49 PM

811 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Apr 22 2013, 12:15 PM)
there is others... but there isn't much of a point telling you things you can't acquire from afar... almost all manufacturers have budget bikes with the exception of manufacturers like look and time...

the thing is, if you set the polygon as the base for a value for money bike...  i can tell you upfront now that there is no point is looking elsewhere because there will be no bike that can topple the RM3.6k price of a polygon C6.0

you are referring to this right?
http://www.polygonbikes.com/index.php?pgid...eid=483&par=390

this is 3.8 or 3.9 from what i saw at rodalink
http://www.polygonbikes.com/index.php?pgid...keid=528&par=11

you can always look for some cheaper bikes from scott, jamis, fuji, khs if it is available at your place... i believe EMC, boardman also has bikes down to those level but they are in KL and i don't think they are distributed to penang as far as i know....

aster @ velocipede works (in KL) lso has some very interesting models..... some SRAM Rival equipped bike for RM4.1k on the price tag... not sure how much they can discount...

they might cut some corners here and there to make it compete at the same price bracket as the cheaper brands...

the logic here will be very simple,
1) cheaper brand, compensated by better componentry
2) better brand, cut corners on components to make it compete with cheaper brands of same price
2 steps closer to sl5....
The thing i would want to know can the geometry of a bike for example trek vs polygon really make a difference to justify the lower gear set and the higher price point.

and what are the differences between a tiagra and a 105?
Snowguy2068
post Apr 22 2013, 04:28 PM

811 posts

how about the gears?
Snowguy2068
post Apr 22 2013, 04:54 PM

811 posts

if its between better gearing or a better brand which would you take. between that two models.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0526sec    0.97    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:02 AM