Cycling V5 aka 8888 CNY HUAT ah!, General talks on Racing/road bikes

butthead
post Apr 22 2013, 04:21 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(Snowguy2068 @ Apr 22 2013, 03:49 PM)
The thing i would want to know can the geometry of a bike for example trek vs polygon really make a difference to justify the lower gear set and the higher price point.

and what are the differences between a tiagra and a 105?
usually the geometry are more or less the same... on the trek, there is only 1 choice which is the H2...

on polygon there is a Polygon A and C series which is their race and endurance geometry... same goes for Merida, Race and Ride series and Giant for the Defy and TCR series...

the H2 is more of a endurance geometry rather than the more aggressive race geometry...you have to look at their geometry and things to note is the

1) top tube length or effective top tube length (more or less determines your reach to the handlebars)
2) head tube length (determines how low your handlebars can go as usually it comes with a whole stack of spacers to make the bars higher than the owner wants)
3) seat tube (not as important unless it is too long for your inseam)

other things will effect the handling more than the fitting...

it's your justification at the end of the day...

This post has been edited by butthead: Apr 22 2013, 04:22 PM
Snowguy2068
post Apr 22 2013, 04:28 PM

811 posts

how about the gears?
butthead
post Apr 22 2013, 04:41 PM

593 posts

wat about them?

you meant in wat sense about them?

if you are talking about tier wise... in shimano line up top down it will be

10-speed
1) DuraAce
2) Ultegra
3) 105
4) Tiagra

9-speed
5) Sora

8-speed
6) 2300

Your budget will most likely land you in tiagra and 105 range.

If you say you are looking at a RM3500 range... maybe you get a Polygon with 105 or a Trek with Tiagra. At this point, you have to decide if you are to go with a better frame or better componentry specs. There is no real say if either frame is better than the other as metal working has always been the same this years and they should be equally matched for that price.

This post has been edited by butthead: Apr 22 2013, 04:43 PM
miaopurr
post Apr 22 2013, 04:43 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(Mac Wai @ Apr 22 2013, 01:16 PM)
Thank you Butthead, I am ready to take the plunge, so what are the good options available in the market? The Watch types or those with a strap clinging on to the chest type. Please be more specific about the product or have Miao, your head Honcho to lay the poison!
all heart rate monitors use chest strap lah.
Snowguy2068
post Apr 22 2013, 04:54 PM

811 posts

if its between better gearing or a better brand which would you take. between that two models.
Mac Wai
post Apr 22 2013, 06:13 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Apr 22 2013, 04:43 PM)
Sigma is quite interesting with the many features, altimeter is a plus.
What do you say about the watch type, be it any good brand that you can recommend?
butthead
post Apr 22 2013, 06:23 PM

593 posts

captain eagle eye strikes again...

QUOTE(Snowguy2068 @ Apr 22 2013, 04:54 PM)
if its between better gearing or a better brand which would you take. between that two models.
i am going to give you a shitty answer...

i am going to take the bike that my bike shop has...neither is important to me because most likely it will come with shimano which i will scrap for sram...and i have no option for brands since i am stuck with the brand my bike shop sells...

it's the same question of whether you want a korean car with all the bells and whistles or a german marque with less features???

it's all down to your choice at the end of the day and i am afraid to tell you this is one question we can't answer for you...your money your say...

QUOTE(Mac Wai @ Apr 22 2013, 06:13 PM)
What do you say about the watch type, be it any good brand that you can recommend?
about polar, timex and garmin forerunners...

i am a simple guy who dislikes complicating shit up (which obviously is 123.7% a lie)
butthead
post Apr 22 2013, 06:27 PM

593 posts

on another dirty thought...how does the girls use the chest strap???

won't the rubbing of the strap stimulate their
user posted image???

food for thought...
Mac Wai
post Apr 22 2013, 06:49 PM

89 posts

Strap below the boobies also will work wan, you are yanking our chains just for the sake of rubber nipples!

This post has been edited by Mac Wai: Apr 22 2013, 06:50 PM
butthead
post Apr 22 2013, 06:51 PM

593 posts

haiyah.... i dunno mar...not that i have someone to try it on also...

if i have... i would not be asking would i?

what if it's a pair of 38G's??? still below? i don't even know what 38G is...must be their cubic capacity... 38 gallons of milk... bwahahahaha

This post has been edited by butthead: Apr 22 2013, 06:55 PM
Mac Wai
post Apr 22 2013, 06:54 PM

89 posts

V6, V6...V6... Where is the Vin-Ann .
butthead
post Apr 22 2013, 06:55 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(Mac Wai @ Apr 22 2013, 06:54 PM)
V6, V6...V6... Where is the Vin-Ann .
V6???

Mac Wai
post Apr 22 2013, 06:57 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Apr 22 2013, 06:51 PM)
haiyah.... i dunno mar...not that i have someone to try it on also...

if i have... i would not be asking would i?

what if it's a pair of 38G's??? still below? i don't even know what 38G is...must be their cubic capacity... 38 gallons of milk... bwahahahaha
Then strap it like a tailor taking a women's chest measurement and had it taped with black stickers right on!
butthead
post Apr 22 2013, 07:04 PM

593 posts

the day i try...i will let you know if it works or i get 2 tight slaps for being stupid and listening to your advice...
Mac Wai
post Apr 22 2013, 07:29 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Apr 22 2013, 07:04 PM)
the day i try...i will let you know if it works or i get 2 tight slaps for being stupid and listening to your advice...
Dun take mine, take it from our resident forummer's ...err I mean advice!
She was hunting for a Gamin Forerunner with HRM, right?

This post has been edited by Mac Wai: Apr 22 2013, 07:50 PM
miaopurr
post Apr 22 2013, 08:45 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Apr 22 2013, 06:27 PM)
on another dirty thought...how does the girls use the chest strap???

won't the rubbing of the strap stimulate their
user posted image???

food for thought...
miaopurr
post Apr 22 2013, 08:55 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(Mac Wai @ Apr 22 2013, 06:13 PM)
it depends on what you prefer. if the cyclocomputer type is what you prefer, then you won't choose wristwatch type no matter how good it is, right? so first you need to know, which type tickles ur fancy?

as for me, i don't like wristwatch type. i prefer cyclocomputer type.

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Apr 22 2013, 08:59 PM
Mac Wai
post Apr 22 2013, 09:00 PM

89 posts

I am on a blank page, no preference at all. Need to reconcile all the suggestion and make a decision base on recommendation. If it is good enough for , it is good enough for me lo.
miaopurr
post Apr 22 2013, 09:04 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(Mac Wai @ Apr 22 2013, 09:00 PM)
I am on a blank page, no preference at all. Need to reconcile all the suggestion and make a decision base on recommendation. If it is good enough for , it is good enough for me lo.
u can do an easy test.
1) wear a wristwatch. go out on ur bike. time to time, look at your wristwatch. is it convenient? no problem?
2) are u the type who hates to mount and dismount a device/gadget onto your handlebar before and after every ride? you can mount your watch on your handlebar, but u need to remove it afterwards, and repeat it everytime before ur ride.

so, what's it gonna be?
Mac Wai
post Apr 22 2013, 09:23 PM

89 posts

Ok, you got me eating from your hands... So, it's cyclocomputer for me... Which one to be specific?

128 Pages « < 125 126 127 128 >Top

0.0238sec    1.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:57 PM