Marc nicked the Tour of Qatar. Anyone following the tour of Oman, where almost all the big names are there?
Cycling V5 aka 8888 CNY HUAT ah!, General talks on Racing/road bikes
Feb 11 2013, 10:43 AM
89 posts Joined: Feb 2012 |
Marc nicked the Tour of Qatar. Anyone following the tour of Oman, where almost all the big names are there?
Feb 11 2013, 02:08 PM
369 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
wishing everyone gong xi fa chai ... may the snake bring awesome stuff for all the pedalphiles here !!! hahahah
Feb 11 2013, 07:03 PM
593 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Highland, Texas |
QUOTE(mrjgx @ Feb 11 2013, 10:27 AM) Speedplay? saddle lar.. not pedal |
Feb 11 2013, 07:18 PM
QUOTE(Mac Wai @ Feb 11 2013, 10:43 AM) Marc nicked the Tour of Qatar. Anyone following the tour of Oman, where almost all the big names are there? we are still in off season mode... and those races are not the so called "interesting" ones for me... maybe might watch some classics in a month or two... but mainly it won't start until May for me when the grand tour season goes into full swing...QUOTE(yolk @ Feb 11 2013, 02:08 PM) wishing everyone gong xi fa chai ... may the snake bring awesome stuff for all the pedalphiles here !!! hahahah also make sure you don't "snake king" both at work and on rides... |
Feb 12 2013, 01:47 PM
6 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
Feb 12 2013, 02:27 PM
59 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
Im one of the lucky rider selected to ride with Contador this coming weekend! Should i go?
Feb 12 2013, 04:20 PM
587 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
guys, is it safe to continue riding on this tyre?
![]() |
Feb 12 2013, 04:30 PM
10,912 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
HUAT ah!
I must be shouted not loud enough! on Sat, friend asked me to buy snake number for Sunday! so i asked mum what's snake number... 381 and 606... so i asked my aunt helped me to buy 1606 pao ka liao... RM2... whose know she brought for Sat, not for Sunday... Whose know on Sunday 4606 open 1st prize! Grrrr.... my upgrade fund slip away from me by inch.... anyway, wishing everyone HUAT ah! ride safe, ride more, and lagi more KM...! next year CNY will try harder... |
Feb 12 2013, 06:13 PM
89 posts Joined: Feb 2012 |
[quote=miaopurr,Feb 12 2013, 04:20 PM]
guys, is it safe to continue riding on this tyre? I don't know how safe it is, but I will take a chance with it. I think the tear is not too deep, but don't take my word for it as I am too noob to know. Jus busybody here. This post has been edited by Mac Wai: Feb 13 2013, 12:19 AM |
Feb 12 2013, 06:34 PM
there are two layers of fabric in the sidewall casing. the first layers is torn. only one layer left, which is the inner one
Feb 13 2013, 09:10 AM
QUOTE(KITT @ Feb 12 2013, 01:47 PM) we got an eagle eye contender here... miao... you got a challenge...QUOTE(mrjgx @ Feb 12 2013, 02:27 PM) 100 dollar question, is there any reasons not to?QUOTE(miaopurr @ Feb 12 2013, 04:20 PM) i guess it's still acceptable a risk... if it blows once and the puncture mark is near the area of the cut, then you should consider changing it...just be more careful and ride not far from home or car during this period... if you are safe, most likely you will be quite safe for some time more...you should see my tire... it has more cuts that look more gnarly than that.. not necessarily on the sidewall, but it looks an even uglier cut than yours... QUOTE(vin_ann @ Feb 12 2013, 04:30 PM) HUAT ah! wah... missed by 1 number wo.... pao also got no use rite?I must be shouted not loud enough! on Sat, friend asked me to buy snake number for Sunday! so i asked mum what's snake number... 381 and 606... so i asked my aunt helped me to buy 1606 pao ka liao... RM2... whose know she brought for Sat, not for Sunday... Whose know on Sunday 4606 open 1st prize! Grrrr.... my upgrade fund slip away from me by inch.... anyway, wishing everyone HUAT ah! ride safe, ride more, and lagi more KM...! next year CNY will try harder... QUOTE(miaopurr @ Feb 12 2013, 06:34 PM) there are two layers of fabric in the sidewall casing. the first layers is torn. only one layer left, which is the inner one it's a bet... but the last layer should be a wire mesh which will be quite tough unless the wire meshes are already damaged in the process... you get a puncture with this new cut or you just noticed a cut....if puncture, then there is likelihood that there is some damage done to the casing all the way through... it's just a bet... go get one of those tube patches and glue it up... . the birzman patch kits even has a piece of plasticky material that is used for the tire in case of holes like this... i have used mine for quite some time on an ugly cut and it lasted me quite a while... still riding on the same tire now.... |
Feb 13 2013, 09:47 AM
QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 13 2013, 09:10 AM) hmm... so many challengers....QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 13 2013, 09:10 AM) i guess it's still acceptable a risk... if it blows once and the puncture mark is near the area of the cut, then you should consider changing it... thinking of changing to vittoria rubino pro. after this, no more expensive race tyres. rubino's sidewall seem to be thicker than the gp's. if riding on the gp with that sidewall cut requires me to ride close to home and always cautious descending downhill, than i think it's not worth it. example, janda baik/bentong route. scary.just be more careful and ride not far from home or car during this period... if you are safe, most likely you will be quite safe for some time more...you should see my tire... it has more cuts that look more gnarly than that.. not necessarily on the sidewall, but it looks an even uglier cut than yours... wah... missed by 1 number wo.... pao also got no use rite? it's a bet... but the last layer should be a wire mesh which will be quite tough unless the wire meshes are already damaged in the process... you get a puncture with this new cut or you just noticed a cut.... if puncture, then there is likelihood that there is some damage done to the casing all the way through... it's just a bet... go get one of those tube patches and glue it up... . the birzman patch kits even has a piece of plasticky material that is used for the tire in case of holes like this... i have used mine for quite some time on an ugly cut and it lasted me quite a while... still riding on the same tire now.... the inner layer is not wire mesh la. both inner and outer layer are made of fabric. when i pump full pressure, the sidewall bulges a bit. i've tried gluing patches onto the inner sidewall, but it bulges the same. i guess maybe because the sidewall is thin and supple. i even tried a patch made of old tyre. harder and stronger. it holds the sidewall, but end up with harsh ride. so.... anybody knows the price of a vittoria rubino pro? i used to ride on michelin prorace2. super tough! got sidewall cuts even bigger than this, but didn't bulge. much tougher sidewall than gp4000 This post has been edited by miaopurr: Feb 13 2013, 09:49 AM |
Feb 13 2013, 04:25 PM
the piece with a lot of wording can hold small tire rips in place...
![]() i used to buy tube patches for car tires to patch the insides of a tire after a puncture during mtb days... work well.. . not sure bout road bike...as pressure increases, a small abnormal surface bulging out causes some bumpiness.. |
Feb 13 2013, 04:53 PM
10,912 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
vittoria rubino tyre are banned in P2K.... as most of them had a bad experience when coming downhill on raining day!
i think they got it around RM70 if im not wrong. since then, no body in P2K uses vittoria.... just sharing... it's up to you to decide. |
Feb 13 2013, 05:03 PM
really? i already got it ooo....
what do u guys use instead? This post has been edited by miaopurr: Feb 13 2013, 05:03 PM |
Feb 13 2013, 05:05 PM
729 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
you can try vittoria zaffiro pro, clocking around 4800km currently, and not a single puncture.
Feb 13 2013, 05:28 PM
haiihhh.... different people different luck lar...
some have bad experiences on 1 tire and rule it out for the rest of their lives... punctures are just a part of cycling...if you hate it, habis... |
Feb 14 2013, 01:44 PM
59 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
I declined the ride with Contador invitation..it's a 30 min group ride with 2 min ride alongside with him and group photo at the end. Not worth my time (it's on a working day anyway)
Agree with butthead, tires depends on luck! If one person say this brand A tire damn good and clocking 5000km with it, another person bought the same brand A tire and may got a puncture at 500m mark I have bad experience with the tire sidewall exploded, no patches could save it. I will buy one Rapha mussete and bring a spare tire with me on every ride that I see as troublesome should my tire exploded beyond repair. |
Feb 14 2013, 02:37 PM
QUOTE(mrjgx @ Feb 14 2013, 01:44 PM) Agree with butthead, tires depends on luck! If one person say this brand A tire damn good and clocking 5000km with it, another person bought the same brand A tire and may got a puncture at 500m mark yeah... like me... i have quite a good run on everyone's bad luck self detonating tire maxxis while most people is cursing the shit out of it...can't gripe about it for the price i pay... QUOTE(mrjgx @ Feb 14 2013, 01:44 PM) I will buy one Rapha mussete and bring a spare tire with me on every ride that I see as troublesome should my tire exploded beyond repair. that's overkill.... |
Feb 14 2013, 03:21 PM
http://www.bikeradar.com/road/news/article...rst-look-36425/
http://www.bikerumor.com/2013/02/13/wahoo-...-bike-computer/ another pointless invention... |
| Change to: | 0.0332sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:18 AM |