1) DuraAce
2) Ultegra
3) 105
4) Tiagra

9-speed
5) Sora

8-speed
6) 2300

Your budget will most likely land you in tiagra and 105 range.

If you say you are looking at a RM3500 range... maybe you get a Polygon with 105 or a Trek with Tiagra. At this point, you have to decide if you are to go with a better frame or better componentry specs. There is no real say if either frame is better than the other as metal working has always been the same this years and they should be equally matched for that price.

This post has been edited by butthead: Apr 22 2013, 04:43 PM
butthead
post Apr 22 2013, 06:23 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Apr 22 2013, 04:43 PM)
all heart rate monitors use chest strap lah.
captain eagle eye strikes again...

QUOTE(Snowguy2068 @ Apr 22 2013, 04:54 PM)
if its between better gearing or a better brand which would you take. between that two models.
i am going to give you a shitty answer...

i am going to take the bike that my bike shop has...neither is important to me because most likely it will come with shimano which i will scrap for sram...and i have no option for brands since i am stuck with the brand my bike shop sells...

it's the same question of whether you want a korean car with all the bells and whistles or a german marque with less features???

it's all down to your choice at the end of the day and i am afraid to tell you this is one question we can't answer for you...your money your say...

QUOTE(Mac Wai @ Apr 22 2013, 06:13 PM)
Sigma is quite interesting with the many features, altimeter is a plus.
What do you say about the watch type, be it any good brand that you can recommend?
about polar, timex and garmin forerunners...

i am a simple guy who dislikes complicating shit up (which obviously is 123.7% a lie)
butthead
post Apr 22 2013, 06:27 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Apr 22 2013, 04:43 PM)
all heart rate monitors use chest strap lah.
on another dirty thought...how does the girls use the chest strap???

won't the rubbing of the strap stimulate their
user posted image???

food for thought...
butthead
post Apr 22 2013, 06:51 PM

593 posts

haiyah.... i dunno mar...not that i have someone to try it on also...

if i have... i would not be asking would i?

what if it's a pair of 38G's??? still below? i don't even know what 38G is...must be their cubic capacity... 38 gallons of milk... bwahahahaha

This post has been edited by butthead: Apr 22 2013, 06:55 PM
butthead
post Apr 22 2013, 06:55 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(Mac Wai @ Apr 22 2013, 06:54 PM)
V6, V6...V6... Where is the Vin-Ann .
V6???

butthead
post Apr 22 2013, 07:04 PM

593 posts

the day i try...i will let you know if it works or i get 2 tight slaps for being stupid and listening to your advice...
butthead
post Apr 23 2013, 01:48 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Apr 23 2013, 01:18 AM)
Oh no..still couldnt find suitable seatpost. I guess if i go for the looks that i want i will not shave much weight but then the ride will be more comfy because of the carbon materials.

Will it be ok to use carbon seat post with an alu bike?
it's like asking if it is ok to use alu post on carbon frame? why not???

carbon cockpit doesn't save much weight because they can't cut down on material due to safety reasons...and carbon posts usually don't come built with any form of compliancy at all... they are as stiff as they can be...
butthead
post Apr 23 2013, 09:30 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Apr 23 2013, 02:00 AM)
A gram reduced here and there can accumulates to a KG if you are serious about itĀ  brows.gif
500-600grams reduction is already half a kilo..and that's big. I can't have the ultimate weight saving bike as I am running on Force groupset not the lightest Red.

I read that a carbon cockpit absorbs and provide more comfort on the road (irony that I chose an alu frame now) Safety wise I always have the feeling that carbon handelbar MAY break anytime when I am descending at 70kmh...lol..freak me out everytime just to think about it!

Now gatal2 to have another pair of wheelset..404 fc comes into mind but the need to change the brakepad and adjustment on the brakesĀ  seems to put me off. What else is there that is hassle free but would be a significant upgrade over FR0?
of course reducing a bit here and there is going to accumulate up... that is basic maths... but, so does the money being spent... to reduce a kilo of a 10KG bike... easy peasy... but things starts to escalate once it reaches sub 8KG... reducing a kilo from there is going to be EPIC ENORMOUS AMOUNTS OF MONEY....i'd rather have a fat wallet and a fat bike than both thin ones...

Carbon construction on bars and posts as far as i understand is very straight forward... they don't lay different carbon material to change it's characteristics.... primarily because you can't suffer a broken bar while you might be able to risk a broken frame.. a bar that breaks mid ride is going to mean the rider hitting the deck like a sack of potatoes...

it's not like a frame where they might lay UHM carbon plies in certain parts and HM carbon plies or sometimes a sandwich of both in certain parts to make one stiff and one flex a little...even a pina 65hm1k does not mean the whole bike is made out of 65 ton per square centimeter high modules 1k weave plies... it just means majority of it is and some parts are made with lower modulus plies to make it dampen shocks and increase chance of fractures in the carbon plies...but, i'll give it to you that it is less buzzy on the carbon bars though... that is most likely possible...

furthermore, the carbon stuff nowadays are quite safe as long as you are not abusing it and only clamping down bolts with torque wrenches within manufacturer specs... only a big hit to the bar can cause seen or unseen fractures or cracks that might cause breakages when it is exercised during rides... i would say it is quite safe if you really take care of it like not letting the bike fall over and hit the group or knock it against things...i am a natural klutz which is why i stay away from it...

the only wheel that is capable of doing what you want would be the mavic cosmic slr and mavic rsys slr... both has the exalith aluminum rims and the rsys is almost as light as the 303FC tubulars and both are clinchers... the tub versions don't offer much weight savings.. pricey though...still has to adjust pads if you intend to swap wheel...

This post has been edited by butthead: Apr 23 2013, 09:34 AM

52 Pages « < 50 51 52Top

0.0504sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:26 AM