iOS 6.1.x Software Update, better battery life?

l4nc3k
post Jan 29 2013, 07:30 AM

Nerd
968 posts

is it just me or..?
We're sorry.

We can't find the article you're looking for.

Please return to the Apple Support homepage.

blink.gif
l4nc3k
post Jan 29 2013, 07:14 PM

Nerd
968 posts

QUOTE(kimiheng @ Jan 29 2013, 06:59 PM)
hello all..i got one question..pls help me..when i click update to ios6.1 ..apple said

There are purchased items on the iphone "kimi" that have not been transferred to your itunes libarary. You should tansfer these items to your itunes library before updating this iphone. Are you sure you want to continue?

if i continue to update..all my apps will gone in my phone when i updated to ios6.1?
better backup to itunes first. but it doesn't matter if you don't mind redownloading them later. tongue.gif

QUOTE(arturn @ Jan 29 2013, 07:09 PM)
yalo mayb la. i think the whatsapp delay issue is because og f network provider maybe. i dun face this problem when i'm on maxis wan, switch to digi only got this prob
i'm using digi and the push for whatsapp line etc works perfectly for me smile.gif

QUOTE(perrrhhh @ Jan 29 2013, 07:10 PM)
Mine asking the u all like too.. But some of them tell i need to update using i tunes..? Download the firmware and hit shift + restore at itunes.. So so confuse..

So of u also tell i just update using iphone .. Done..

Which one more better?
it is rumored (most probably true) that updating by phone (software update a.k.a. patching) might result in unjailbreakable iOS 6.1.

This post has been edited by l4nc3k: Jan 29 2013, 07:15 PM
l4nc3k
post Jan 30 2013, 07:46 AM

Nerd
968 posts

QUOTE(alvinool @ Jan 30 2013, 12:30 AM)
Yes . Choose the top 1 . Not cdma
QUOTE(wahizul @ Jan 30 2013, 12:46 AM)
i tried restore using the file iphone5,1_6.1 but itunes said not compatible.. will try with iphone5,2_6.1 later and see how it goes. BTW my iphone5 bought from DiGi, model A1429.
QUOTE(wahizul @ Jan 30 2013, 12:47 AM)
Downloaded ios6.1 in itunes, i checked it said iphone5,2_6.1.. i think iPhone5,1_6.1 is only for model GSM A1428
its the one with CDMA (for IP5 only)
l4nc3k
post Jan 30 2013, 03:44 PM

Nerd
968 posts

experiencing improved battery life by at least 30~50%
satisfied smile.gif
l4nc3k
post Jan 30 2013, 06:31 PM

Nerd
968 posts

QUOTE(dr0olingb0at @ Jan 30 2013, 04:17 PM)
Really? I don't feel anything as of yet.
last time mine can last 12 hours every full charge to <10%
after update to 6.1 i still do my routine stuffs.. ~2 hours game (HD and normal, mostly online ones), constant whatsapp and sms (~7 hours total), a little bit of music, 3G always on wifi always off. got surf fb and twitter also constantly (around 100 tweets?). all this in 16 hours, still got 8% left.
l4nc3k
post Jan 30 2013, 08:43 PM

Nerd
968 posts

QUOTE(EdwinCodec @ Jan 30 2013, 07:09 PM)
Are you sure that you're using an iPhone? Lol
QUOTE(syafickham @ Jan 30 2013, 07:32 PM)
wow,really bro?
clarify a bit. 16 hours+ is standby tongue.gif
usage time is around 7 hours biggrin.gif
and yes its a normal white IP5 16GB. lol brows.gif
l4nc3k
post Jan 30 2013, 09:38 PM

Nerd
968 posts

QUOTE(EdwinCodec @ Jan 30 2013, 09:22 PM)
Lol. Now it makes sense =P
if 16 hours usage time then that one not smartphone already biggrin.gif
l4nc3k
post Jan 31 2013, 12:50 PM

Nerd
968 posts

digi user here. not facing this problem. i personally think this is maxis prob hmm.gif
l4nc3k
post Feb 1 2013, 01:07 PM

Nerd
968 posts

QUOTE(json1881 @ Feb 1 2013, 12:50 PM)
IP5 maxis user here. Tried all sort of methods.

1) On/off airplane mode
2) Reset Network
3) Switch off/on phone
4) Maxis SC refresh nano sim card
5) Take out nano card and insert back

Filed officially complaint to Maxis (technical dept) yesterday noon and night time received a call from technical dept saying IP4, 4s & 5 got issues with 3G connection. Told me they will resolve LATEST BY 8th FEB..
WTF!!
think is maxis issue kot. i using digi no such problem hmm.gif
l4nc3k
post Feb 1 2013, 01:09 PM

Nerd
968 posts

QUOTE(nanamizuki @ Feb 1 2013, 11:25 AM)
like the appstore UI on ios5.
imma using ip5 thou. reset settings and my appstore back to ios6 ui  sweat.gif
mine still the same brows.gif
but i think its just a cosmetic bug. try upgrade and then restart again see?
l4nc3k
post Feb 2 2013, 07:10 PM

Nerd
968 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Feb 2 2013, 06:59 PM)
Guys, how many minutes on 3G u all can undergo  to surf before a drop of 1% of battery ?
depends on webpage load. if got pictures, gif images etc then around 5 mins kot.
if just those website with words i went through one hour drop 4%
l4nc3k
post Feb 2 2013, 09:44 PM

Nerd
968 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Feb 2 2013, 08:27 PM)
My iOS 6.1 drop 1% per min when browsing on 3G @@ is it I'm affected by the battery bug? @@
your iPad ke iPhone? depends on what you're browsing lor i guess. hmm.gif

QUOTE(Nicklly @ Feb 2 2013, 08:30 PM)
App Store can't update apps.. Anyone know why?
mine can. I've heard from other people that their app store downgraded to an older version. try restoring your iOS
l4nc3k
post Feb 3 2013, 10:38 AM

Nerd
968 posts

QUOTE(winkiedilwy @ Feb 2 2013, 11:50 PM)
damn...
on iOS 6.0.2 i got 0% battery drop even standby for 10 hours
after updating to iOS 6.1 10 hours dropped 3%
Connected to WiFi, data off.
10 hours 0% drop? blink.gif
Connected to wifi and giving you 3% drop in 10 hours is perfectly normal. as a matter of fact its quite good already rclxub.gif
l4nc3k
post Feb 4 2013, 09:44 AM

Nerd
968 posts

QUOTE(deadmau5 @ Feb 4 2013, 07:12 AM)
I think I'm the only one facing this prob here... I updated from 5.1.1 to 6.1 on 4s. Now my biggest prob is not the battery or 3G connection, it's as if my phone doesn't multitask anymore cry.gif Even switching between FB, safari & Instagram makes each app reset again walaoooo. Not only that, sometimes the app crashes by itself too & even a simple standby of a few minutes would make them re-open anything I last used sad.gif
do a restore on iOS 6.1. should help solve this problem.

QUOTE(jacklsw86 @ Feb 4 2013, 09:09 AM)
seems like there's some issue switching on and off 3G, it always jumps back to EDGE. then I have to switch on 3G first, then switch on airplane mode and off airplane mode then only the 3G is activated.
yeah happens to me sometimes sad.gif so now malas switch already.. just leave it on 3G all the time.

l4nc3k
post Feb 4 2013, 09:58 AM

Nerd
968 posts

QUOTE(coconutzz @ Feb 4 2013, 09:49 AM)
yea mine too...after switching to EDGE...tried switching to 3G pun susah..sometimes gotta reboot phone...

wonder if this happens only to MAXIS users or others as well..or it's d IOS problem
i digi user also face this problem. not very common though.
l4nc3k
post Feb 6 2013, 07:32 PM

Nerd
968 posts

QUOTE(dlwl @ Feb 6 2013, 05:24 PM)
My 3GS battery life is even worse after updating to iOS 6.1. Just plain terrible. From 10am on a full charge, phone idle for most of the day with only wifi on. A 15min call and some whatsapp. Now it's already 24%  mad.gif

The available memory on my 3GS also around 20-30MB only.
try a full restore to 6.1 instead of upgrading it directly. will save you more space.
battery life i think you can consider to graph a new battery to your 3GS already smile.gif
l4nc3k
post Feb 7 2013, 05:57 PM

Nerd
968 posts

QUOTE(haVocasta @ Feb 7 2013, 04:43 PM)
i dunno whther my app store prob or anybodi else oso encountered the same prob..aftr updating 6.1 i hve trouble to updates new updates frm app store..
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2693251/+760
read the last post, hope it helps.
if still cannot then do a full restore using iOS6.1 ipsw file. biggrin.gif

0.0226sec    1.13    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:37 AM