QUOTE(mozambique @ Jul 8 2013, 12:57 PM)
Yes, indoor as my tortoise is unsuitable for outdoor enclosure.QUOTE(antzz @ Jul 8 2013, 03:58 PM)
Here to overall view;
This is before I attached my UVB
Will post the latest setting soon.
Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoises V6, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles
Jul 8 2013, 09:54 PM
5,367 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
QUOTE(mozambique @ Jul 8 2013, 12:57 PM) Yes, indoor as my tortoise is unsuitable for outdoor enclosure.QUOTE(antzz @ Jul 8 2013, 03:58 PM) Here to overall view;![]() This is before I attached my UVB Will post the latest setting soon. |
Jul 9 2013, 02:56 PM
QUOTE(mozambique @ Jul 9 2013, 04:20 AM) 7.5ft. x 5 ft. x 0.5 ft. Its the minimum size for mature tortoise. Will build bigger soon as I found appropriate plastic enclosure (really having a hard time searching for this). The side is short so I have to put indoor fence but this little fella is too lazy to climb over |
Jul 9 2013, 10:17 PM
QUOTE(mozambique @ Jul 9 2013, 09:25 PM) Wow, that is big for an indoor enclosure. Mind you that my enclosure is the minimal for ONE, MATURE tortoise. The bigger the happier they will be.Mind to share where to get such a big plastic tank? Mind is only 3ft x 2ft and I put it at my balcony.. I just purchase from hardware shop. But let me teach you the tips and trick for indoor enclosure when you face the difficulties in finding the appropriate container size; 1 - Find a brick. A construction brick, commonly reddish-orange in color or simply the white, crappy and brittle one. Either type will do. 2 - Arrange in square or rectangular, but use my size as minimal measurement (unless you are keeping sulcata, which is very much better to set an outdoor enclosure). 3 - Go to any hardware store or stationary store or botanical store, buy a plastic cover. Like curtain shower or the one that people use to cover car or raincoat. 4 - Cover the base and sides of the arranged brick. 5 - Put your substrate and arrange the setting as you like! Hope my tips somehow helps your tortoise to be happier! |
Jul 10 2013, 10:09 PM
QUOTE(mozambique @ Jul 10 2013, 09:00 PM) Many thanks to you, Mr. Doctor. Hahaha tell me about it. My gf also keep on sulking about me and my tortoise I wish I can do that but currently I'm staying in a condo. I have already sueeze two 3ft x 2ft fiber tanks & a cage of about the same size. Can you imagine how cramp it is? Plus I have to deal with a gf who keeps nagging on my tortoises.. I have to do it slowing 1 step at a time in order to have perfect hearing in my old years.. About the spacing, I afraid it far too small for your tortoise. If you happened to have an extra room (reading room/washing room), maybe you can let them wandering around the room? Just make sure you vaccum and remove the dust ESPECIALLY hair because it may cause impaction if they eaten such thing. |
Jul 10 2013, 10:12 PM
You can somehow potty-train them. Not too precise, but at least they know when a specific time for them to poop.
You have to soak them on the same time, everyday, for approximately the similar duration (15-30 minutes, replace the water twice). My tortoise will poop during the soaking and then very uncommon for him to poop after that. Hence the room should be quite clean from their excrement. |
Jul 11 2013, 04:43 PM
Bro Dagashi, may I know which substance that you use as substrate?
Jul 11 2013, 04:44 PM
QUOTE(mozambique @ Jul 11 2013, 12:53 PM) Haha, tq for your advice. May I know why soaking separately? Small container?Too bad I don't have any extra room (staying ina studio). Already I kena up, down, left, right for soaking them in the bathtub.. Waiting for next yr moving to a landed house with big garden.. All my tortoises poop as and when they are happy. I work long hours and soaking of 4 tortoises separately take up at least an hr plus.. |
Jul 11 2013, 06:30 PM
QUOTE(mozambique @ Jul 11 2013, 05:50 PM) Sorry, I mean I soak my star & leopard separately. Sometimes my leopard poop so much that I have to change the water again. And yes, container is too small as 1 of my leopard is more than 9 inches.. and eat like a monster.. Occasionally it is acceptable as their poop have certain flora that will enhance their digestive system Is it ok if they poop and we continue to let them stay in the water & drink it? |
Jul 12 2013, 06:19 AM
QUOTE(mozambique @ Jul 11 2013, 08:49 PM) We have different needs and different methods By the way, I am having a hard time searching for subtable substrate replacement from hay to either coconut coir OR crushed oyster shell. I prefer the first one since the second one MIGHT lead to disimpaction in some cases. |
Jul 12 2013, 02:44 PM
QUOTE(mozambique @ Jul 12 2013, 12:51 PM) You mean you want only coconut coil? Found it locally! @ http://www.exoreptiles.com/my/index.php?ma...products_id=424In that case, may I humbly suggest you can go any wet market and look for vendors selling coconut. Ask them to sell you the coconut coil (should be cheap) since they will throw it away. Just my idea.. This was on my wishlist previously but too expensive to be use alone (unless someone want to share lol) @ http://www.ebay.com.my/itm/Canna-Coco-Coir...=item232a74f9b8 |
Jul 12 2013, 03:44 PM
Jul 12 2013, 08:50 PM
QUOTE(mozambique @ Jul 12 2013, 05:36 PM) Haiz.. that's what I think too. Not much of a learnign experience. Yep. I am preferring other forum as well, but their information always hard to relate locally - eg where to find stuff.Foreign groups are so much more active.. More humble and much friendly too! QUOTE(mozambique @ Jul 12 2013, 05:37 PM) On the website that I posted before.Click order and wait for the conformation email to do the payment! |
Jul 12 2013, 09:05 PM
QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Jul 12 2013, 06:03 PM) Gone are the days !! Everyone nowadays more active on their FaceB .........T ...... account !! Hi,BTW just a point on the Coconut coir and peat stuff as substrate - These used with the sole or main benefit of retaining or maintaining moisture thus humidity in the enclosure !! BUT I thought Egyptian Tortoise from Habitat and ecology Kleinmann's tortoises live in deserts and semiarid habitats, usually with compact sand and gravel plains, scattered rocks, shallow, sandy wadis, dry woodlands, shrubby areas, and coastal salt marsh habitats. In captivity, they eat grasses, fruits, and vegetables, but the diets of wild tortoises are unknown. They are least active when the weather is very cold or very hot. During the colder months, they are out most during midday. During the warm season, they are active in the mornings and evenings. The rest of the day is spent under bushes or in rodent burrows. Thus do they need the extra humidity when our average air humidity is higher then in their native range ? I will not use the peat to cover all part of the enclosure, just roughly 1/5 of the total surface. I am well aware that this little dude need 20-30% humidity, 12 hours minimum of basking as well as 28-33 degree Celsius for optimum growth |
Jul 13 2013, 06:22 AM
QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Jul 13 2013, 03:29 AM) Ok point taken !! Mine on paper pellets , watering done outside 3 times a week , heat provided from above , no extra decoration just a few hide so no competition - so far so good for the past 6 yrs !! I only have 3 years experience for only one species of tortoise. Boss, you use Mazuri how many % in your tortoises routine diet? I did read feeding Mazuri ONLY (+sufficient hydration to prevent calcium deposition on kidney) to enough for the nutrient support. But still, variation of greens will help the tortoise happier. |
Jul 15 2013, 04:29 PM
QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Jul 13 2013, 10:16 AM) Mazuri i wean off after 6 mths too costly for so many mouths !! Even when feeding mazuri about 40% only , the rest green only ( dry sp) and with fruits ( tropical sp ) QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Jul 13 2013, 10:41 AM) I use them by the bags instead of the 1lb pack !! I am curious - how many mouth is too many mouth? Actually I can do without ( bit over-rated I think ) just that when in season with too many hatchlings needing finely chopped green thus i substitute with moisten /soften mazuri to reduce work load !! LOl I have some sp that have not being feed mazuri since i got them at 2-3" and they do ok and now reaching adulthood and starting the cycle just fine !! Balance diet with variety is the way to go . My tortoise will go crazy even if he smell Mazuri. Liking it too much, till I have to crush the Mazuri to become powder and mix with the sliced vegetable. |
Jul 15 2013, 04:32 PM
QUOTE(mozambique @ Jul 15 2013, 04:22 PM) Hi both Sifus, I am not too good with other species, but its good that you have 2 same species tortoise so that you can compare between the sick and the healthy one. But be mind that it might be contagious and effect both of them Since both of you are actively discussing now, I need your kind advice. I am currently keeping 2 star tortoises since last year July. The smaller star hasn't been growing, have splayed hind legs & pluffy eyes. I brought to the vet a few times (for dewormed) but every single time he said she's ok. I highly suspect he knows shit as he even suggested that I feed my star with fruits. But he used to be the vet from Zoo Negara. Thus, I need to show some respect.. Please advice me what is wrong and what needs to be done. My other star is getting bigger & bigger as compared to this smaller star. Thank you in advance.. On the diet side, how's his appetite? Do you happened to have multi-vitamins as supplement to be mix together in his diet? Puffy eyes not a good sign too. Any noticeable discharge from the affected eyes? |
Jul 16 2013, 02:12 PM
QUOTE(mozambique @ Jul 15 2013, 07:59 PM) Hi Mr. Doctor, Hi,There's no discharge from the eyes. I noticed that if I put her under basking light, somehow the pluffiness went down (or maybe I'm imagining thing.. She has a healthy appetite (can finish 3-4 Mazuri pellets at 1 time); I gave them calcium & multi-vit powders; I bring the smaller star in for ultre-red light when I think that it's cold at night; I close the entrance to the hide to force her to be under the sun whenever I can; I let her eat 1st before the larger star; I brought her for dewormed regularly... but still she is not growing. Her shell looks deformed too (pic attached) I highlighted twice to the vet about the red eyes, but he said there is nothing wrong. I'm running out of idea.. By the way, she is 12.2 cm and weight around 360g. Can you kindly provide pictures of this little fella's eyes? Causes of puffy eyes could vary from infection (usually with discharge to quite uncommonly - Vitamin A deficiency. Try adding some baby carrot on his diet, see how it goes. Also regarding deworming, mind sharing the procedure/location/price/any information? I never done to my tortoise so far. Also, how regular is regularly deworming that you done to your tortoise? |
Jul 19 2013, 11:39 PM
Jul 19 2013, 11:47 PM
QUOTE(mozambique @ Jul 17 2013, 12:05 PM) Wow, Sifu SAMPERTH is really an expert. I didn't even ask why there must be a stop to the cycle. Now I know it is to wait for the eggs to hatch.. Red eyes should mean infection, but I wonder why there is no widespread among others too. I can't comment too much on this as I am more specialized in Homo sapiens compared to this little fellas species By the way, I read it somewhere that Panacur can cure all type of worm problems. Mr. Doctor, please find attached for the red eyes. I doubt it's because of Vit. A deficiency, because I do all the things necessary liao.. Sifu SAMPERTH maybe can help? |
Jul 20 2013, 12:04 AM
QUOTE(mozambique @ Jul 16 2013, 02:32 PM) For deworming: Thank you for the info! This is new information for me. I shall contact Dr S. Vellayan soon on the Monday to set my appointment after Raya.1. The vet will require the poo to examine and determine what kind of worm the tortises have (almost 100% they will have worms); 2. The vet will prescribe some liquid medication; 3. We have to follow a cycle. Something like apply the liquid (either force feed or mix in their food) 4 days in a row, stop for 4 days, then 4 days in a row again; 4. Bring back to the vet to examine the poo again to ensure they are cleared of worms. If not, the medication cycle has to be continued until they are clear. I always bring my tortoises to the following vet (but I doubt his knowledge.. Dr. S. Vellayan (by appointment) No. 10, Jalan L2, Phase 6A, Taman Melawati, 53100 Kuala Lumpur H : +6013 6246918 F : +603 4108 5530 E : vellayan@tm.net.my vellayans@hotmail.com Price wise, it is not expensive. Maybe about RM 80 for all my 4 tortoises. Some people said once a year for deworming is fine. I do mine about half yearly. Hope the above information is useful.. Also you think its possible if we met only once? As I have to travel from Kedah to KL for this and I don't go down KL too frequently via car. |
| Change to: | 0.0416sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:02 AM |