13 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Multiplayer DayZ (Standalone Game), DayZ Early Acess. Join us at Chernarus!

Skidd Chung
post Jan 10 2014, 08:11 AM

479 posts

QUOTE(legendgod @ Jan 10 2014, 03:04 AM)
I'm starting to gain interest in this game..what is it all about? i read some posts "eat to stay alive" etc, i thought Dayz is zombie game? whats the objective of this game?
When it was released earlier i thought it was similar to Warz which was panned by critics and gamers alike..how come this is so popular? cool2.gif
DayZ was originally a mod for ARMA 2. It got so popular that the developers decide to approve the mod to be made into a standalone and will provide support for the project.

The popularity of DayZ spawn a lot of zombie games which survival and human PVP is a norm.

WarZ was also created when the DayZ mod was popular and was released first. Unfortunately, due to the arrogance and also unpopularity of the WarZ developers, they got into trouble when Steam Community ganged up and accuse them of lying and also cheating which prompted Steam to pull the game of their service until some kind of fix or warning is given to what the game's state is. It is now renamed to Infestation which is available on Steam.

Due to the furore over WarZ, the hype for DayZ standalone increased a lot as more people are aware of the supposed 'original' game. This stressed the developers and they somehow decided to delay the release of the standalone. This further allowed more games of the same nature like Rust, 7 ways to die etc. to spawn and take over the vacuum. Suddenly, this type of game genre is proven very popular and more games including AAA titles of the same nature is due for release with same base of survival and PVP.

To answer your question, the only objective in DayZ is to stay alive for as long as you can and do what you want in the time given to you. There is no score card/table, no K/D ratio, no "Promotions" like Battlefield/COD, no levels, no stats to upskill, no names floating above a players head, no way to form groups, no way to form clans, etc. The more you play DayZ, the more you value life less and you will be tempted to kill a person just for a can of beans although you aren't hungry. sweat.gif

But overall this game is not finished. It's far from finished I would say. The developer himself actually told potential customers to NOT buy the game at the current Alpha and buy RUST instead because it was more complete compared to DayZ Alpha. With more than 800k sold, I think the developers got more Alpha testers than it can imagined so I think they rather turn down the hype meter for now so they can sell the more complete DayZ for more money later.

This post has been edited by Skidd Chung: Jan 10 2014, 08:17 AM
Skidd Chung
post Jan 10 2014, 10:31 AM

479 posts

QUOTE(Phonzy @ Jan 10 2014, 09:51 AM)
ohh finally found one in the barracks in the north west airfield...
If you manage to find a scope for the mosin, keep it for me ya. biggrin.gif
Skidd Chung
post Jan 10 2014, 11:21 AM

479 posts

QUOTE(Phonzy @ Jan 10 2014, 11:09 AM)
no, i'm kinda decked out in full gear already with....120 ammo for my machine gun

i think we good for protection now hahahahaha

...or maybe im just being overconfident  blink.gif
To be decked out, you need pristine parts for all your weapons including an ACOG scope for your M4 Carbine. Then you can shoot straight past 200 meters.

Previously I did not had a scope but my aiming part was badly damaged, I tried shoot a zombie from far, totally missed unless then came very near.

This post has been edited by Skidd Chung: Jan 10 2014, 11:22 AM
Skidd Chung
post Jan 10 2014, 11:27 AM

479 posts

QUOTE(Phonzy @ Jan 10 2014, 11:24 AM)
oh man, your comments might have just made me wanna log back into game...
Lol. Oh man, you wait till you get killed while decked out in gear.

The pain!!! cry.gif
Skidd Chung
post Jan 10 2014, 11:29 AM

479 posts

QUOTE(Phonzy @ Jan 10 2014, 11:28 AM)
dont curse me!!!

or maybe ask rei walk in front lar...can be meat shield
Bwahaha, snipers normally shoot the ones with the best gear first. So that the others will try to save the loot.
Skidd Chung
post Jan 10 2014, 11:36 AM

479 posts

QUOTE(bobohead1988 @ Jan 10 2014, 11:34 AM)
So what other buildings is still lolnoitemspawn that need to be avoided?
So far I know its

HDB apartments
Wooden house
Green house

What else?
Deer stands
Certain double storey house has no loot in the upstair room/attic.

Actually these places make very good hiding places as people who know these no loot places, tend to avoid it as well. Other than newbies who keep on checking.
Skidd Chung
post Jan 10 2014, 04:57 PM

479 posts

QUOTE(Tomokitsu @ Jan 10 2014, 04:05 PM)
uhm is it possible to turn of the blurness from objects far away from you and when you sprinting the view of field. I set the bloom and blur to minimum already

my eyes felt not comfortable and really get blur  sweat.gif
Yes you can. Check your video settings and play around with it for best viewing pleasure.

Also remember the FOV slider. Lots of people get dizzy if its too little. But maximizing it, you don't get as dizzy.
Skidd Chung
post Jan 10 2014, 05:17 PM

479 posts

QUOTE(Pistolmanik @ Jan 10 2014, 05:03 PM)
Just bought the game 2 days ago and I NEED HALP!

I traveled all the way from Solinchny to Krasnostav airstrip after finding an Aussie friend randomly. Once I got there...he DCed and without any food...I'm gonna die of hunger.

I'm currently in the camo tower after running my ass off because I heard shots firing right at me!

Add me up and help me up!

ID : bestdo
Looks like you are at the NE air field.

Most of us are based near the NWAF, in one of the towns. Try to get some food, water and navigate yourself to towns like Stary Sobor or Novy Sobor areas. Most of us should be close by to come get you and help you gear up.

Will add you in steam and invite you to DayZ group. So you can find other LYN players to meet up or join up.

This post has been edited by Skidd Chung: Jan 10 2014, 05:17 PM
Skidd Chung
post Jan 10 2014, 05:46 PM

479 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Jan 10 2014, 05:44 PM)
Me and Phonzy log out at the same place we all log out last night.
We were looting more stuff in the air base and lucky for us didn't find any players.
Good time loot during the afternoon I guess since there is less players.
Found Plastix dead as well at the airbase and loot all the nice stuff brows.gif
Lol plastix died at the airbase? Omg what happen?
Skidd Chung
post Jan 10 2014, 06:03 PM

479 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Jan 10 2014, 05:51 PM)
We were meeting up there and suddenly he got himself timed out of the server.
While timing out, the character probably didn't logged out so some zombies eat him.
When we were there I could see zombies eating him  laugh.gif

I'd give back his item though some of it, if he wants. My bag some more full already.
Not sure what to loot anymore lol. Just waiting to die or something in a fight tonight maybe  whistling.gif
Oh man sucks to die while lagged out.

Found any nice 800m scope for my mosin? ^^
Skidd Chung
post Jan 10 2014, 06:21 PM

479 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jan 10 2014, 06:09 PM)
Seems fun. In short, how would you describe the gameplay?
You have to watch YouTube videos to get an idea.

Skidd Chung
post Jan 10 2014, 06:23 PM

479 posts

QUOTE(bestdo @ Jan 10 2014, 06:10 PM)
I'm kinda trapped in that building because my hunger bar is already turned red, also I'm going to go unconscious in no time. sad.gif

Sorry I accidentally used my friend's account lol.  doh.gif
Then it's useless to try to reach you.

Best is to re-spawn and try again since you are still not fully equipped.
Skidd Chung
post Jan 10 2014, 09:09 PM

479 posts

OK added a few of the new people here as friends. Once accept invite I will sent invitatin to join our LYN DAYZ group.

Please set up a mic if you have one. We are using Steam voice chat to talk while we are playing, instead of typing.
Skidd Chung
post Jan 10 2014, 10:45 PM

479 posts

QUOTE(bobohead1988 @ Jan 10 2014, 10:36 PM)
Can I get an invite so I know which one to shoot?
Whats your steam ID?
Skidd Chung
post Jan 11 2014, 09:31 AM

479 posts

QUOTE(Grayson @ Jan 11 2014, 05:37 AM)
anybody provide service selling this game on steam to buyers who dont have paypal?
Look for talexeh.
Skidd Chung
post Jan 11 2014, 09:33 AM

479 posts

QUOTE(Phonzy @ Jan 11 2014, 03:43 AM)
anyone around?

guys, lets coordinate. perhaps later today since it's a saturday, we try to meet up for some military camp / airfield runs.

since got alot of people, perhaps it will be safe.

maybe we should set a rally point then everyone can make their way towards there, then if we all happen to be on the same time online, can all just log on and meet up at that "safe spot"

we should set a LYN rally point lol

this is the map if u didnt know  already http://dayzdb.com/map#5.045.065
We met up yesterday night but de-sync issues is really terrible. We can hardly stay together as a group. Ended up only bestdo and myself was stable enough to raid a military camp before de-syncing again. Rei7 tried to join us, but whenever he joins the server, we de-sync... sad.gif

But mid Jan we should be seeing another patch. And possible character wipe. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Skidd Chung: Jan 11 2014, 09:38 AM
Skidd Chung
post Jan 11 2014, 09:54 AM

479 posts

QUOTE(Phonzy @ Jan 11 2014, 09:38 AM)
thats bad sad.gif

no idea to fix your issue?
Been searching all over the forums. Some suggested it was ruined items in your inventory. I threw that out, doesn't work.

Some said it was my graphics, so I turned everything off and to the lowest and the game looks like shit. Still doesn't work.

And I can play alone fine. But when we group up and try to meet each other in the same server, we all get sync issues.

For example, me and bestdo switched to a server and we immediately sync and was able to equip weapons and stuff. We told rei7 to join us as we are about to hit the base.

And the exact moment he joins, I de-synced. can't equip weapons, can't eat from inventory etc. There was no yellow/red chain either.

At first I joked it was probably him de-syncing the server. So he logged off to test, and true enough my character can start equipping items.

He logs back in and my character de-syncs again, can't equip etc.

I was reading steam forums and someone posted a solution/fix. According to that person, he was the cause of all the de-syncs happening to his friends whenever he joins the server. His was the only character not killed since the patch. So after killing himself, he could play again with his friends.... Seems like I have to kill rei7 in order to play with him... sorry rei. biggrin.gif

Another solution was the inventory of geared up people. Some characters have bags within bags. Like containers within a container. It's currently an exploit and so far tested that if you have more than 7-9 bags in your character, you can crash an entire server if you log into one.

Skidd Chung
post Jan 11 2014, 10:15 AM

479 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Jan 11 2014, 10:00 AM)
Well the thread where I just made yesterday someone just replied and said 'Is this the 1k de-sync issue, a lot of people has this problem'..
Seems like it's a common problem  sweat.gif
I realised this is very obvious when the latest patch came out. When our client was upgraded to the current version. Previously we had rubber banding which was very annoying. Then the fixed that and now we have this de-sync.
Skidd Chung
post Jan 11 2014, 10:25 AM

479 posts

QUOTE(Phonzy @ Jan 11 2014, 10:23 AM)
where u skidd now? working?
Yeah, uhmm... I'll just go do some paperwork now. Thanks for the reminder.
Skidd Chung
post Jan 11 2014, 10:31 AM

479 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Jan 11 2014, 10:29 AM)
Haha! work work.
I'll try to play again tonight with you guys..
If i'm still the one causing all the lag, I guess I should go on a rampage in the airfield.
Go to high populated server and kamikaze.
Will have an advantage since i'm the only one not de-syncing tongue.gif
Just a question, do you have like a lot of stuff in your inventory? Like a bag within a bag etc?

13 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0387sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:27 PM