Google Nexus 4 - V5, >150 proud owners

goliath
post Jan 28 2013, 01:07 AM

5,533 posts

I am contemplating to get one to replace my current iPhone 4S. My current phone is working fine but I would love to try the Andriod system. But coming from a rather significant memory space (32GB), I am wondering if 16GB is sufficient. So, pardon me if this question has been asked multiple times but it would be great if someone coming from similar situation and has made the 'leap of faith' to a smaller memory size could provide their experience and usage.

Thanks. smile.gif
goliath
post Jan 28 2013, 01:21 AM

5,533 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Jan 28 2013, 01:10 AM)
Not really "leap of faith" in my case. My previous phone (Desire HD) was using a 16GB External MicroSD Card (HTC loves to create small internal memory, mine was 1GB only).

To be frank, my microSD almost never exceed 50% of the overall capacity. UNLESS I just copy+paste every .mkv inside and surely it'll go boom.

But it really depends on personal usage tho, as I only copy a few of my favourite albums, and some episodes of anime/drama/running man to watch on-the-go and delete them after watching/when copying new episodes.

Addon: Oh and if you want to try out Android system, trust me/us and go with Nexus.. anyone who had experienced with their ex-flagship devices which the manufacturer decides to stop providing support/updates.. it's really heartbroken and sad p/s: desire hd

QUOTE(anarchy2cruo @ Jan 28 2013, 01:12 AM)
u can do the math by urself by considering what u want and necessary things to install.
if after calculation the 16GB is not enough then u need to sacrifice something. well, some sacrifice is necessary to achieve greatest satisfaction. laugh.gif
True enough. I've begin to realise that I'm using my current phone more for internet and less for gaming and etc. Or maybe I'm just not into gaming anymore. Perhaps, listening to music takes the second spot after internet surfing.

But hey, thanks for sharing your experience! biggrin.gif
goliath
post Jan 28 2013, 09:50 AM

5,533 posts

QUOTE(azrash @ Jan 28 2013, 03:47 AM)
do you have a big music library? I have moved mine to the cloud. i only use the itunes to manage the files that i keep locally on the PC. 20GB of songs, all in the cloud. that is one way to save your precious storage. actually, it'll be better if you can tell us the breakdown of your iphone usage. what are the main things that take the biggest space in your phone?
Majority of the disk space used in my iPhone consists of app (more of games). Another chunk goes to songs which I hardly listen to all of them. Then again, lately, I've been using more for internet than any other tasks. So, 16GB might be sufficient but as usual, it's that gut feeling...

Another question, in terms of syncing apps/settings (especially when you do hard reset/restore to factory settings), do we need to reconfigure the phone and download the apps one by one again or we could sync from backup file? I'm not sure how Android works and so, pardon me for the limited knowledge.

This post has been edited by goliath: Jan 28 2013, 09:52 AM
goliath
post Jan 30 2013, 11:18 AM

5,533 posts

Now, I'm tempted to get from Google Play Store. Anybody knows what is the shipping price to MY?
goliath
post Jan 30 2013, 03:02 PM

5,533 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Jan 30 2013, 02:54 PM)
Shipping to US, SIRIM and forwarding to Malaysia won't exceed RM200.
I predict the cost of my single phone to be purchased from US is about RM1300+. Some may think why not use SKMM, I don't have it. I don't want to get another number neither lose my DiGi Ambassador number.

----------------------
On the side note, how to avoid SIRIM tongue.gif
Ah... Thanks. What about custom tax and warranty?
goliath
post Feb 3 2013, 09:26 PM

5,533 posts

Just wondering, can we use any other micro cables on this device?
goliath
post Feb 3 2013, 09:40 PM

5,533 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Feb 3 2013, 09:30 PM)
I am using my Samsung and Motorola cables to charge and connect to PC
Original cable/charger intact still inside box

QUOTE(azrash @ Feb 3 2013, 09:31 PM)
yes, micro USB is a common standard. Any micro USB cable should work. I still keep the original cable in the box and use my 2m cable for charging and connecting to pc, no issues so far.

QUOTE(leenites @ Feb 3 2013, 09:35 PM)
i use kindle cgharger cable. all good here too.
Thanks for the replies! biggrin.gif

goliath
post Feb 3 2013, 10:52 PM

5,533 posts

QUOTE(azrash @ Feb 3 2013, 10:08 PM)
Lol forgot about the super cheapo china knock off ones.

The thing is, a good quality one is equally as cheap. My 1.8M one is Pro Signal bought from elements 14 website with free shipping and it costs me RM 13. it is almost as thick as my Dell charger cable,  thicker than our stock LG cable too.

The 1 metre one is RM 6 plus. I have both, and they both have  good build quality and works great so far.

So skip the knock offs, get decent ones.

in case anyone is interested in them, you can check them here
1.8M one @RM 13.++ http://my.element14.com/pro-signal/rpusb1-...1-8m/dp/2115733
1M one at RM6.++ http://my.element14.com/pro-signal/hk-us10...e-1m/dp/2085464

bought my raspberry pi set from elements 14 too. smile.gif

P/s: elements 14/farnell is a UK based company that sells various electronic, circuit boards etc, so I do believe they picked a decent brand to sell.
Thanks for the links. How long to they take to ship to Malaysia?
goliath
post Feb 4 2013, 12:04 AM

5,533 posts

QUOTE(azrash @ Feb 3 2013, 11:27 PM)
they have a warehouse in UK and SG. so if it is in stock in SG, it should be quick, mine took two days. ordered in the morning. you can read more about the ordering process in Lowyat's Raspberry Pi thread as most of us bought it there.
tbh i have not tried another third party charger other than my belkin in car usb charger. i stil use my old HTC charger that I have since the Desire Z days.
Ok. Trying to get from them now but the free shipping doesn't seem to work. hmm.gif

Addon : I just read that there's a basic charge for items below RM150.

This post has been edited by goliath: Feb 4 2013, 12:07 AM
goliath
post Feb 4 2013, 12:17 AM

5,533 posts

QUOTE(azrash @ Feb 4 2013, 12:11 AM)
oops, forgot the detail about that one. follow the instruction in the link below. the offer is still in the website, so it should be valid  tongue.gif
http://my.element14.com/jsp/bespoke/bespok...eefreight-b-hwb

mine was first billed +RM20 for the shipping too, but then they emailed me another invoice.

try calling them in the morning just to make sure. they do have an office in Subang. call them and give your order/transaction code. their hotline is 1800 88 6223

edit: read the link. the RM150 minimum amount is for offline orders.
Alright. I'm just worried that they will charge immediately after pressing the 'Confirm' button. biggrin.gif
goliath
post Feb 7 2013, 09:45 PM

5,533 posts

After launching Facebook app, I'm having problem loading its content when I'm on 3G. Other apps are working fine. Anybody facing the same issue?
goliath
post Feb 8 2013, 10:42 AM

5,533 posts

Nice customisations. Any guides on how to do it?
goliath
post Feb 8 2013, 12:29 PM

5,533 posts

QUOTE(astral_traveller @ Feb 8 2013, 12:23 PM)
hotspot selling ap set liao, only digi you can find LG malaysia warranty
Er... how sure are you?
goliath
post Feb 8 2013, 12:36 PM

5,533 posts

QUOTE(astral_traveller @ Feb 8 2013, 12:31 PM)
cause i've asked LG store in KLCC, they said Digi bought all Nexus 4 from LG and selling it with plans..
... and hotspot got the stock from digi.

0.0537sec    1.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 04:31 PM