Peugeot 408 Owners/ Fans Thread, Motion & Emotion

kejusan
post Jan 26 2013, 09:28 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(P408T @ Jan 25 2013, 11:52 PM)
age, occupation, race did raise up in my mind when i first driven the car. i knew that it is targeted at young professionals but whoever has the ability to own this car by himself/herself would easily worked over a few years. so guys, mind to share the above three criterias or at least the last two smile.gif

Let me start with mine: 31, IT related, Chinese.
I couldn't see why we have to relate race to the ability of buying specific car. So.. I'm 31, Engineer, Malaysian.
kejusan
post Jan 28 2013, 09:11 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(Termibait @ Jan 28 2013, 06:10 PM)
http://forum.autoworld.com.my/index.php?showtopic=105726

I have encountered similar bad service from this SC. Now, I am going to glenmarie.

Complained about my front left door misalignment few weeks ago. A helping technician found out a screw went missing. Called me back 2 weeks later after he ordered the spare part for me. It was along wait but it does solved my problem.

IMHO, screw is something cheap and though may not be using it more than often, however, they should have an inventory on this.
Is it the door or the door trim not aligned?mind sharing with us which screw they've replaced?

Anyhow, I could say that i'm satisfied with their careline service but the same could not be said about their SC. But with their growing SC I hope they can cope with their growing customer or else..tutup kedai
kejusan
post Jan 31 2013, 09:00 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(Bearheart @ Jan 30 2013, 01:32 PM)
And BTW, my wife has kept her 7.2 L/100km record intact. Whenever I drive, it goes up to 7.6 L/100km. :-p
Seriously? Highway+city drive? My NA will only get that figure on 100% - 90% highway only.
kejusan
post Feb 4 2013, 07:18 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(schwarzenegger17 @ Feb 4 2013, 02:42 PM)
Something wrong with BHP leh. My motor auto shutdown itself everytime i stop at traffic lights.
Shell, Caltex, Petronas, Petron all no problem.
Care to elaborate more on what you mean by 'motor auto shutdown'?
kejusan
post Feb 7 2013, 01:47 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Feb 6 2013, 12:40 PM)
But i wonder why till today i dont see many 408's on the road. I see much more Forte, Elantra, Civic and Camry. The new Ford Focus is worse. So far i think ive only see about 5 since the launch. But im seeing more and more K5 on the road. But the biggest increase i think is VW. Quite a number of Polo and Golf on the roads now especially after the last promo.

Btw, i drive around KL and Ipoh quite alot covering about 3500km a month.
I couldn't say the same for Elantra. From my observation, it seems equally the same between Elantra and 408. But I agree, the new Ford Focus is worse.

However, I went to Singapore last week and couldn't see any single 408 on the road. And I spent most of my time walking which means better exposure to observe cars on the road, but none are to be seen ohmy.gif

QUOTE(sierraglow @ Feb 6 2013, 04:48 PM)
Hi cybermaster98, You may have got the impression wrongly of using a clay bar after Sierra Glow on a weekly basis. Depend on your daily usage of your vehicle exposed to the environment and pollution. We only use a clay bar to remove road tar and death bugs. Otherwise it is normal our car surface will get a bit of roughness due to pollution and metal dust. Example while driving dirt with stick hard on the surface cause slight roughness and normal shampoo will not able to clean. We need to use a clay bar to remove it. Glassglow coating is to protect the paint from further oxidation. Therefore after wash will maintain the shine. Too frequent of waxing and polishing will have swirl marks, hologram on the surface and subsequent the original paint become thinner. Glassglow is the latest technology from Japan and we have put the chemical structure in our website. We are the cheapest but our Glassglow coating is much more superior in quality and workmanship better than others.

cybermaster98, can you contact me 0162170312 for appointment date. I will be happy to check and rectify your problem for you. Thank you. "Gong Xi Fai Chai"
Before I apply sierraglow, I've done a little research about the pros and cons of applying coating and is it worth it to do so as I was given vouchers amounting to RM200 for G'zox coating which they've quoted me RM2400 (before deducting the voucher value) to coat the paintwork on my 408. I've heard about sierraglow previously but didn't quite aware of its performance or cost and after knowing it's cost, I'm quite sceptical as it's relativelly cheap from G'Zox. But this one point of justification has been a deciding factor for me to choose sierraglow; why not spend on quality paint job after 5 years which with the amount of spending on G'zox coating (RM2400), I could get top notch paint job quality. The rest as they say, is history...
kejusan
post Feb 7 2013, 11:13 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(din5353 @ Feb 7 2013, 10:56 AM)
Hi All,

Already have new thread. Just want to share experience here.
27/1/2013 - Suppose to come back from home town(KT) to Shah Alam and already schedule for 20k service on 2/2/2013. Unlucky me, that morning temperature up to max and asked me to stop the car.
In my home town don't have any Peugeot service center then my father contact his friend a foreman to check. And he said the water did not circulate normally.
Then need to tow to Kota Bharu for nearest SC. It seems like the thermostat is the culprit. Change that and settle.
What i want to share is the symptom about 1 month before this happen, i realize that the temperature is not reach 90C like before. i goes around 70C-80C  only. So take note for the temperature so that can prevent this problem happen.
PS: i do service 20k also at SC kota bharu RM335
Do you call Peugeot careline when you encounter the problem? Is it Peugeot who arranged for the towing service? You need to pay anything for the towing service, and changing the thermostat is claimable under warranty? If it's indeed Peugeot who arranged for all of these, how do you rate their respond?

p/s : Now I sounds like NASIM employee doing a satisfaction survey blush.gif
kejusan
post Feb 7 2013, 11:19 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(sierraglow @ Feb 7 2013, 01:46 PM)
Thank you kejusan for choosing Sierra Glow and your support. Please let me have your SG Serial No. and I am delighted to compliment you a Body Grooming for your car. Please do call my mobile 0162170312 for appointment date. Thank you.. Cheers. Choong
Wow, I did not expect this rclxms.gif
Thank you by the way. Anyway, I believe I'm the first 408 to ever enter your shop as claimed by one of your staff.
Will contact you soon. Again, thanks Mr Chong thumbup.gif
kejusan
post Feb 7 2013, 11:22 PM

15 posts

Not tempted by the bodykit as much as this rear light brows.gif
kejusan
post Feb 12 2013, 09:50 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(Patrick12 @ Feb 12 2013, 11:34 AM)
Hi all 408 owners,i am sort of undeciding whether to get the turbo or the 2.0NA.in town,i normally drive at about 60 to 80 kph whereas in highway just 100 to 130 kph only.I had tested the turbo, it was so powerful.I plan to use this car for at least 5 to 7 years, so I am worried about the turbo engine might be causing problems in the future.any advise?and any 2.0 owner here why u chose 2.0 instead of turbo?
Patrick, i'm not power addict and like you, I only drive 110-130 at highway. I could safely say that overtaking with 2 person inside isn't an issue, even when going uphill (not steep). However, the engine will have to put in extra effort with 4-5 person inside or extra luggage in its massive boot.

However, the safety features and the electro-hydraulic steering on the turbo are 2 of the features which I wish was included as part of the NA package.

Being said that, after close to one year of ownership, I never regretted choosing NA over turbo :-D

kejusan
post Feb 13 2013, 12:50 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(Patrick12 @ Feb 13 2013, 12:37 AM)
Hi matsukatsu, I think i should go n test drive the 2.0 n compare it with the turbo.
Yes kejusan,agree with u, i honestly feel that perhaps 2.0 would be more suitable for me as I seldom on highways.but I like the safety features that the turbo provide.I should go n test drive the 2.0.
Whooaa..I thought you've tested both car. Please do test drive all cars that you're considering before you make your decision. Like you said, you plan to drive it for as long as 7 years, so you really need to be satisfied with it.
kejusan
post Feb 14 2013, 09:01 PM

15 posts

Not a major issue or defect but has anyone of you notice the center display unit showing 'Economy Mode Active'? It happened on my ride last weekend; when I turned the key to 'standby' before actualy starting the engine, it shows the 'eco mode' thing. Normally, it only display 'Automatic Door Locking Activated', but rather than displaying this, it display the 'eco mode' only. It only happened for 2 days and in that 2 days, my car was parked in car porch, not moving anywhere. After I brought the car for driving, only then the 'eco mode' isn't present anymore and the 'auto door locking' display is back on display.

Any explanation? Has it detect my previous driving style and decided to adapt eco mode but when I drove aggressively, it has switch back to aggressive mode? The only new things I've done prior to that happening is washing the car by myself and pumping BHP instead of Caltex.
kejusan
post Feb 14 2013, 11:08 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Feb 14 2013, 09:29 PM)
The Economy Mode is not that kind of fuel save mode. Its kind of auto shut down certain function after you turn off your engine to prevent battery killed, such as headlamp, wiper etc. For more details you can refer to user manual page 122.
QUOTE(lowpro @ Feb 14 2013, 09:34 PM)
normally it could mean a few things. as with peugeot, the engineers have a limited command of english so for example, engine fault could mean a depollution issue, could mean the spark plugs need changing, the engine oil is not good, your timing has gone a little off etc. anything that is connected to the engine usually induces the 'engine fault' sign coming up.

so in the case of 'economy mode active', it could have many meanings. as far as i know, it could mean, the alternator doesn't have enough time to charge up your battery properly. the remedy for this is to go for a long drive to have it charged up. the other means that the battery is weak and needs your attention. it could also mean you left your doors open for far too long or left your radio or lights on without the engine started and the battery just got weaker (drained) because of that. usually, you just need to go for a longer drive to charge up the battery. otherwise, it could mean a replacement battery or worse still, the alternator is about to die (which i don't expect in your newish cars).

a note though, leaving your car doors open for a period of time just to air the cabin uses the battery up and if engine is not started to let the alternator charge, drains the battery. this is because the car systems are switched to 'on' mode anticipating a start up. so, having systems on but alternator not running and charging, also induces the message on your mfd.

hope it helps.
Thank you guys for your explanation. Sorry for being ignorant about it in the first place as it's has already been stated in the manual. Used to own 2nd hand vehicles with no manual and the most complicated things that can happen is setting the preset on the radio for the first time sweat.gif
kejusan
post Feb 17 2013, 10:42 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(lowpro @ Feb 17 2013, 12:35 AM)
that is your point of view and i respect that but the fact remains that word has gone out, word has been spread and the result is the small number of peugeot you see on the roads today. mature discussion or otherwise, i guess it is left to owners to decide how best to use the forum. personally i feel, if you wan't peugeot's attention, get a group and call for a meeting with them through one of many clubs out there and get the discussion minuted. that would be more direct and effective (and follow up on the meeting) rather than hoping (if they don't even bother to monitor this, the only losers will be the owners) they see what's written in forums. i'm not saying don't air your dissatisfaction. just be careful how it is said. e.g. "i just got this new car and it is rattling like crazy! 2 days old and i regret spending my money on it. stupid company". the better way to say it is "i have some strange noises with my car that seems to be coming from the front of my car when i go over bumps. anyone has any idea what it could be?". both mean the same thing but would-be buyers (or fence sitters as you have put it) will most definitely be scared off if many rant like the first example i gave. sometimes, being a good samaritan only hurts one even more and the truth always cuts both ways. if it were me facing the misfortune, i'd keep quiet and quickly sell off the car instead of telling the world and finding that later on nobody wants to buy it from me.

just my point of view on the matter.
And what dissapoints me is people who're spreading this negative comments are mostly non-owners who might have heard complaints from primary and mostly secondary sources which are taken as true without doing further research or follow up. When these issues are spread to those who accept it as true without doing any research, things will get worse. I'm not saying that what has being said is entierly not true but like what has been point out earlier with regards to the problem with DSG, most of the public did not know about it compared to problems faced by Pug cars.

So yeah, in some sense, I agree that the way these problems are addressed will have a major impact on public perception though I also disagree that these problems get swept under the rug to hide it form the public. The problem is, most of the public can suddenly be an expert on cars when talking about these problems but when asked to elaborate more, they seems to have no idea at all!
kejusan
post Feb 17 2013, 12:41 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Feb 17 2013, 11:38 AM)
I have to absolutely agree here. There are so many hearsay experts! Well that's the net,can't run them out. Unfortunately public perception is affected by these fellows to a great extent. However I view defect comments positively. It gives me chance to check out my car, and not face the problem at an unexpected time. Having said this it is important to be mature about defect reporting publically!

In addition I'd say the local franchise holder plays a very important role. Pugs are not bad, there will be problems like any other brand. It's how well these problems are address and solved. Infact this is an area of opportunity for the franchise holder to turn the negative view of the product into positive. An excellent avenue to affect public perception positively!
IMHO, word-of-mouth spread faster. At least those net users who stumble upon the negative feedback are actually doing some research and might come upon positive ones that will ultimately impact their decision, whereas if those who've heard through others verbally, will somewhat have the negative perception imprinted in their brain which will affect their decision making in the future unless that person does not easily believe what others are saying without confirming it through reliable source.

And most of my circle of friends did not actually do any research or worse, did not even test drive the car before they bought them!

"Truth is lies told thousand times".
kejusan
post Feb 23 2013, 03:55 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Feb 21 2013, 09:59 AM)
40k of many PREMIUM and Award winning stuff man, hence the price (read:  "Both cars evoke expertise, style and technology inscribed with the DNA of innovation and distinction," said Naza Group joint group executive chairman SM Nasarudin SM Nasimuddin)

The Citroen DS5, which was named "Family Car of the Year" by the UK's Top Gear magazine

The Citroen DS4, which was named the "Most Beautiful Car of the Year" at the Auto Bild 2011 Design Award

http://www.malaysia-chronicle.com/index.ph...feb-26&Itemid=3
"The launch will coincide with the unveiling of Naza Euro Motors' maiden 3S (sales, service and spare parts) outlet, Citroen Glenmarie."

Hereby I unveil it to you before Naza Euro Motors would cool2.gif

QUOTE(hbgoh57 @ Feb 22 2013, 05:15 PM)
Of course I am not expecting a hybrid kind of fuel consumption. Didn't expect it to be more than 10l/100km but is good to know that some are able to achieve 8+/100km on highway drive..I suppose the weight of the car does contribute to the higher consumption but the interior space is just awesome..

Now they are offering 8k discount for the turbo 2013 make...very tempting... drool.gif
I manage to get 7.2 l/100km on 100% highway cruising at 120km/h when going to JB last week.

When returning to KL, mostly drive at 130km/h and sometimes when wanted to 'tunjuk terrer' to those who're driving at 100km/h on the right lane, I pushed until 160-170 for a short distance. Resulting to that, FC rose until 7.7l/100km.

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Feb 22 2013, 07:01 PM)
408 was introduced roughly 8 months ago only. I've just crossed 12K. Wouldn't be surprised if some of us early birds crossed 20K. Perhaps anyone more than 20k can report in!
I've already set an appointment on a date a month from now for 20k service at Glenmarie.
kejusan
post Feb 27 2013, 12:46 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Feb 25 2013, 09:52 AM)
Can pin point location kah? gps, if possible? Let's just all go there for teh tarik wink.gif , I hope the new Citroen 3S is allowing our Pug service there too since Glenmarie is always booked to the teeth full and it will be a while before the Citroen 3s is going to pick up service crowd, Me think, else it will be an utterly waste of space.?
Will try to get their GPS coordinates soon. FYI, I believed they've launched their 3S just now. However, the 3S center is smaller when compared to Pug. But then again, it is meant to cater for DS series only so I believe it's sufficient.

QUOTE(kuhan83 @ Feb 25 2013, 09:47 PM)
Using the usb for music playback,  realized only can support songs of up to 160kbps. If put any variable kbps bit rate, usb wont detect.

SERIOUSLY CONSIDERING CHANGING MY "WORLD OF PEUGEOT" SYSTEM!!!!!

vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif
No wonder some of my MP3s is not listed. Can we upgrade the radio firmware or something??
kejusan
post Mar 2 2013, 12:37 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(imifun @ Mar 1 2013, 03:13 PM)
To those driving the 2.0, do you guys have that engine knocking sound whenever you start your car in the morning?
Dont know if what I've experience is the same as yours but previously, there's faint knocking when I turn on the A/C in the morning. Lately I did not notice it anymore, maybe because I'm used to it or maybe it's gone. Anyway, has already complain it at SC and they said that it's normal.

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Mar 1 2013, 07:44 PM)
Dear God, newer batch of owner got a happier purchase.  blush.gif
The older batch totally got nthg.  I approached to Blue Box Plentong, which is the biggest dealer in JB. Apa offer pun tak ade, no discount, no freebie, no tint, no petrol.
End up I approached to a freelance SA, got Rm1.5k discount.
Agreed, newer batch got better freebies. I only got full tank, tint voucher, coating voucher and 'crystal' plate no, no cash discount.

QUOTE(EP6CDTM @ Mar 1 2013, 09:55 PM)
18?

i'll be deaf at that level cool.gif
18?? That's loud man. Most of the time I keep the volume at 3-4 and it's sufficient enough.

Anyway, for those who found the audio system lack mid range freq., try this method :
1. Switch the 'music profile' to Jazz-Blues or Classical (depends on your ears)
2. Adjust the bass & treble to suit your listening pleasure

Anyway, I find the audio system decent enough to be listen to while driving. With all the external noise, it's not possible to listen to every detail anyway.
kejusan
post Mar 10 2013, 10:30 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(dchan126 @ Mar 6 2013, 01:53 PM)
The Treble and Bass function will only available once you select "NONE" on the 'Musical Ambient".
Incorrect. It will still be functional even when selecting other type of musical ambient. Or at least mine works.

QUOTE(net_mave @ Mar 8 2013, 10:31 AM)
Now as you mentioned, I did the same thing before the battery went dead.. I pulled out my USB stick a day before it happened. I left it stick on all this while..
I frequently connects and disconnects my USB to my 408. Will disconnect it every working day as I'll be using the USB for work but will leave it overnight and during the weekend. And sometimes does not even disconnect my phone charger when shutting down the engine. Hope nothing goes wrong as yet but will definitely ask them to replace with DELKOR during my 20k service.

QUOTE(dchan126 @ Mar 8 2013, 01:14 PM)
At least we can jump start it and drive to the nearest SC. No need to wait for 1 ~ 2 hours for the tow truck...
Noob question. Jump start will not void the warranty? Will it destroy other electronics?

QUOTE(Sijizai @ Mar 9 2013, 12:58 PM)
Today went for my 2500 1st inspection, told them about the fuel leaking problem happened 2 days ago after I pumped full tank of petrol (auto stop). I noticed the smell of fuel immediately after finished pumping of petrol but thought its common since I were at petrol station. Inside the car, couldn't smell it at all.
When I stepped out of my car after reaching home, smell the fuel again. Then I found there was leaking of petrol onto the floor near the right rear tyre area.
Today sc inspection gave the bad news, there was leaking from fuel hose connecting to fuel pump. They will have to replace the whole set of hose, but they do not have stock on hand, and have to leave my pug for at least 3-5 days at sc. Sigh.... My poor little pug...
For your info, I've experienced the same problem previously but it was due to a crack on top of the petrol tank and it took them 3 days to replace it. The replacement only took one day but they have to notify France in order to claim for warranty and only then they can order and replace the faulty parts. Call your SC and ask them to take pictures of the faulty parts. I did not have those pictures and regret not asking them to snap some.

QUOTE(EP6CDTM @ Mar 9 2013, 03:48 PM)
did my 2500km inspection this morning at puchong SC

drove in at 10am and completed at 12.30pm

things done:
1. fixed my not working 3rd brake light
2. adjusted front left door to eliminate wind noise

car feels livelier with safe-mode removed  flex.gif

anyone noticed changes in gear shift pattern after 2500km inspection? it seems to change gear faster at 2400rpm across 6 gears now
Mind elaborate more on item 2? I notice there's noticeable wind noise on the front left door as well. Could not see any misalignment on the front left door though.

QUOTE(EP6CDTM @ Mar 9 2013, 06:16 PM)
Puchong - so far so good no complains on the front desk and mechanics

and I forgot to mention just now

COMPLIMENTARY CAR WASH  rclxm9.gif
I believe all SC have complimentary car wash when you send in for complain or servicing. But I will specially request them not to wash my car as they have left fine but noticeable scratch which I believe came from the cloth they're using. With the numbers of cars they're cleaning everyday, you can imagine how much dirt the cloth picks up. I've washed my car myself from the beginning and I'm sure the scratch does not come from my own washing.
kejusan
post Mar 11 2013, 08:11 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(dchan126 @ Mar 11 2013, 05:06 PM)
Mine is 408T. So, this means the players on 408 2.0 and 408T are different? hmm.gif
I'm puzzled rclxub.gif
What do you guys mean when you said that the bass and treble is not working if musical ambient is selected other than 'NONE'? Mine is working eventhough the musical ambient is selected on 'Jazz-Blues'.
kejusan
post Mar 12 2013, 01:52 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(78Lions @ Mar 12 2013, 12:55 PM)
Ouch ! We all feel your pain man  sad.gif but lucky they all comes with full tires with rims  rclxm9.gif Really hate those donut tyres that currently making a trend in most cars...it's a bs cost cutting saving for the car manufacturers  vmad.gif
It's not only cost cutting measure but it will reduce the car's weight which will result in improved fuel consumption.

QUOTE(EP6CDTM @ Mar 12 2013, 01:02 PM)
yup confirmed on mine too
Not on mine. Bass and treble are still available with any musical ambient

0.0669sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:16 PM