Peugeot 408 Owners/ Fans Thread, Motion & Emotion

OrangBiasa
post Feb 7 2013, 04:49 PM

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Feb 7 2013, 03:36 PM)
Different people different stroke
Some like popular choice, some just shrug, smile (but not laugh till they choke)
Some like German Engineering, even it makes them broke
Some like Toyota, safe and sound, Resale Value intact they hope 
Some like Korean , valued pack /feature fullness now with Peter Shreyer's genius stroke

And then they are this bunch of unique ladies & gentlemen so fine.
Appreciate tasteful things in life, like french perfumes, fashions and wines.
Whom have exquisite taste, unique for some AND not most and that's fine.
and they tolerate ill-mannered guests even they starting to behave like swines
Saya sokong!
OrangBiasa
post Mar 7 2013, 09:30 PM

QUOTE(prody @ Mar 7 2013, 12:29 PM)
Mainly city driver yes, but my daily morning run takes more than an hour.
Now I wonder if my USB drive which is always connected somehow can drain the battery. smile.gif
After I read your post, I check my USB drive when reach home this evening. I switched off the engine and open the centre console to check my USB. I observed from outside and my USB drive still lighted. So I took it off.

2 hours later when I try to start the engine, it won't start. Wipers move half way n all light indicators went off. So, sudah kena lah..

Called toll free number and the guy told me that the battery in Cheras area is out of stock. So I have to wait until tomorrow morning for the battery to be replaced. They will send from Balakong SC. Luckily it happened at my house.

I bought mine in June 2012 and my mileage is 17K. Long distance travel once a month to my hometown in Labis. The rest, city driving.

Now I regret taken out my USB drive. Should leave it there. So, early owners, brace yourself..
OrangBiasa
post Mar 7 2013, 10:54 PM

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Mar 7 2013, 10:14 PM)
wow once a month outstation driver also kena this battery problem. I've never used my USB. I'm 60% outstation driver,was thinking of loading my pen drive with music to play it in the car. Now scared already,although my battery seems good.  drool.gif
I also thot that my battery is in good condition. No indicators at all that it will be dead after 7 months of usage. I always try to follow all tips shared in this forum. Always let the engine idle for 1-2 minutes and wait untill the fan stop before I switch off the engine each time I reached my destination. So that the fan will not run on battery. But, sudah mau kena, what to do..

I try to accept this fact and justify it with the good points of this car especially its turbo power. It's good handling and the confidence when overtaking cars at Tangkak - Segamat stretch during my monthly trip to my hometown, compensate most of negative points of this car.. biggrin.gif
OrangBiasa
post Apr 1 2013, 12:39 PM

QUOTE(imifun @ Mar 31 2013, 11:41 PM)
Good to be reading all the experiences. Although I have to say that you guys are very active. Or is it that this is normal for a forum and that I am too slow??? tongue.gif. Anyway, just to share my 20k service with you guys. I made an appointment at the Kota Damansara since the Glenmarie SC is totally booked for at least 3 weeks. Btw, I did the service last two weeks. And I came with a few complaints and things to check after reading about a few worrying things here:

1. the wind noise at the driver side at 100km/h
2. the fuel cap wont open unless i give the cap a "slap"
3. battery check
4. tyre rotation
5. check the knocking sound in the morning

I sent the car on Thursday morning for them to check the whole thing. Got it back in the evening. They said they settled everything, but I got the car back still with all the problems except for the battery, they said its healthy. And worse, the cap wont open at all unless i use a card to pry open the cap. And during corner, I could hear some rattling sound, as if something is loose at the wheel. I was still not mad, yet. So we went back on Thursday and told them to recheck and left the car overnight so that they also can inspect the knocking sound. So, the engine knocking only sounded for a few minutes after starting and switching on the aircond. If I do not switch on the aircond, there wont be any knocking sound. So the SA said its normal. I chose to believe him tongue.gif. And the rattling sound during corner was due to some loose nuts after they did the rotation, which they didnt bother to properly check. They tightened whatever they were supposed to and no more sound after than. So we took the car back on Friday evening and being oblivious, we forgot to check the fuel cap. Once we reached home, pressed the fuel cap button and it opened, but it wont close this time. Why? The bracket thingy disappeared inside!!! By then, my wife was already pissed off. We called and arrange to send the car on Saturday. My missus insisted on getting a replacement car which at first they said the repair should only take 10 minutes. But then, they couldnt confirm it will take 10 minutes and start giving excuse that they dont have any car to give and bla bla bla. My missus didnt give a chance and said if on Saturday we come, and it will take more than 10 minutes, they better give the car or else!!! So on Saturday, I went over to send my car and without saying anything, they handed me a car key to another 408na. It was the test drive car. Hahaha, I guess they got scared and didnt even bother to explain how long it will take. So did some errand and took the car back in the evening. So, until now, everything is fine.

Good thing that the SC was not packed with cars. Hardly any cars actually.

p/s I went to check the peugeot 208 and really loved it. The question is, will I be considered crazy to be getting another pug????

And I do apologize for rambling ... hehehe
Just to add. Ask SC not to wash your car when you include tyre rotation/alignment/balancing in the service. I did my 20K service last Saturday at Balakong SC and asked them to do alignment n tyre rotation. I marked the tyres before I send for service. When I collected my car, the tyre's position remain the same. I would have not notice if I opted to wash my car. When I called this morning, they admitted that they didn't do the tyre rotation but did the balancing and alignment. But I doubt it since the brake dust is untouched. Unless they can do it without touching the rims. Anyway, they offered me to redo it again on next Saturday..
OrangBiasa
post Apr 1 2013, 02:09 PM

QUOTE(Termibait @ Apr 1 2013, 02:01 PM)
Element of cheating is found here. U should relay to their hq. Were you charged for the balncing and alignment?  I will be very upset if this happened to me.
Yes. They charged RM90+ for alignment n balancing. They said they overlooked it and apologise.
OrangBiasa
post Apr 1 2013, 02:48 PM

QUOTE(sleepy @ Apr 1 2013, 02:33 PM)
Dont worry, you're not the only one who discovered balakong SC is dishonest. I've experienced the same thing quite a while ago when I sent my car there. Great thing is that you can see exactly what they're doing because of the big window facing the repair bay, and yet they got the balls to lie. Peugeot cars are good, but the distributor here, Nasim and its dishonest SC make things look bad. I cant wait till my warranty is over so I can send to some workshop that actually knows what they're doing.
I believe it was unintentional as they only have one technician to do balancing and alignment. Furthermore it was Saturday. Hope they can improve in the future and be more thorough especially the supervisor who monitors and certify their mechanic's works.
OrangBiasa
post Apr 1 2013, 07:09 PM

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Apr 1 2013, 05:08 PM)
Alignment, balancing, tire rotation are non warranty items. It is actually better to get any non warranty item work done outside. It's cheaper and better quality of work!
Like many of us here, this is my first conti car. So, I tend to follow 'wholeheartedly' recommendations from SC that I should only send to peugeot SC for any service, out of fear that normal workshop might not familiar with unique issues of this particular model. Will explore normal workshop next time for alignment n balancing biggrin.gif
OrangBiasa
post May 20 2013, 08:07 PM

QUOTE(vicloke68 @ May 20 2013, 05:57 PM)
I just gor my privilege card today after almost half a year. Those who are in the same situation you can call the  careline to reapply.  According to them is that the old batch of staff screw up the whole thing and most of the application is gone. That is why until now we haven't got our card. I just reapply last week and the card is here now.
Just got mine yesterday. After almost a year! doh.gif
OrangBiasa
post May 29 2013, 04:17 PM

Hi guys,

I received quotation for renewal of my insurance with additional RM225 for windscreen coverage. I was told that the amount will cover around RM1500 worth of windscreen. Is it enough? I believe our windscreen will cost more than RM1500
OrangBiasa
post May 29 2013, 05:16 PM

QUOTE(EP6CDTM @ May 29 2013, 05:03 PM)
price list from 2010. I think Nasim reduce the price. I saw a price list on Puchong's SC telling how much 408's windscreen is.
Thanks guys. Appreciate it! biggrin.gif
OrangBiasa
post May 29 2013, 09:35 PM

QUOTE(pjkl @ May 29 2013, 09:15 PM)
Only 4 litre, 308 need more than 4 litre... that is why costly.
The max Honda charge is less than 200 for FS.
Sorry to say lah bro. But actually I don't really care the differences. I just enjoy my factory fitted turbo car icon_rolleyes.gif
OrangBiasa
post May 30 2013, 12:53 PM

QUOTE(kuhan83 @ May 30 2013, 12:30 PM)
Yeap. They sent me to kum hao tyres (falken) at glenmarie. Sorted it out there. No issues currently.

Met a joe in the sc. His 408t bought in dec 2012. Radiator leaking all the way. He was told no problem. Then it happened again. Radiator kering after 2 - 3 days. Finally they said it was a leak and taking it in for diagnosis. Gave him a courtesy car tho...

Guess its the risk we take with the car...
True.. have to take risk.

Few months back one of the spoke as part of the frame that hold the radiator fan broke. I only notice when there was a loud cranking sound from the fan. No sign at the grill that it was hit by a stone. I took the broken piece and show it to the service manager when I sent my car for 20K service. They promised to call me back to confirm if it is fall under warranty but no call from them until today. Anyway, they told me that it should be ok since the frame still can hold the fan.

OrangBiasa
post Jul 29 2013, 02:03 PM

QUOTE(EP6CDTM @ Jul 29 2013, 01:28 PM)
the lambo owner must be pissed  sweat.gif
I used to kena tailgate by bright yellow Myvi SE. Had to give way because my wife screaming. Somemore the myvi driver's head is even lower than the head rest. I know the feeling...

OrangBiasa
post Aug 24 2013, 08:23 PM

Bro SKYjack,

I did my 30K service today and asked abt aircond service. The service advisor told me that I only have to service the aircond when it is no longer cold. Not based on mileage. Is it true?
OrangBiasa
post Aug 25 2013, 10:16 AM

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Aug 25 2013, 10:00 AM)
That is basically true bro.

However an annual check for leaks and general condition is good. This can be done by owner himself.
Thanks bro biggrin.gif

Quite worried since I serviced the aircond of my previous car (honda city) every 30K - 40K as recommended by service advisor.
OrangBiasa
post Sep 8 2013, 09:58 AM

Hi guys,

My temperature sensor jahanam last night. My car now at Balakong SC. Monday baru cerita.. cry.gif

Symtoms: Last 2 - 3 week, the temperature gauge swaying between 0 - 90 degrees. It only stable after I drove about 5 to 6km. I mentioned the problem to service adviser when I did my 30K service but they did't do anything. Maybe the problem not too serious that time. However, he did mentioned that they are getting more cases like this recently. So guys, beware...

OrangBiasa
post Sep 18 2013, 03:06 PM

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Sep 18 2013, 08:01 AM)
Your point is on the dot. It was based on this that I bought the 408t,and the car has not let me down. I am not a power freak that needs to go flat out. Love the low end muscle and flex it when needed.

Equally important to me is proper service and support. No matter how good a car is, if not serviced properly than the ownership becomes a nightmare. I'm still not sure this segment here is adequate! NAZA hasn't totally inspired my confidence!
You're right there bro. Initially I don't mind about sub-standard service by peugeot. I just love the low end muscle and enjoy it every time I had a chance. But when my temp sensor malfunctioned recently, I started to feel the pain. I collected my car on 13th Sept from Balakong SC without any repair done. Was told that I have to wait for 1 month for the part to arrive from France. I tried my luck and call a few SCs if they have the part. I got 'luckly' when Glenmarie SC responded that they have the part. The guy that I talked to even run through my chasis number to verify the type of 'outlet tank'. He said 408 got 3 types of 'outlet tank'. He asked me to come on Wednesday (today) and proceed to see him. So, I took leave and reached at the SC around 9.15am. To my suprise, the guy that I'm suppose to meet is not working today. My name also not in the appointment list and no one knows about my issues. I cannot verify my case since no one seems to know his mobile no. So, I just left the SC before I do something stupid.

I called careline and told my story as a last resort before I surrender and wait for another 3 weeks for the part to arrive. An hour later, I received call from careline and informed me that the part has 'arrived' at Balakong SC. They set my appointment on this Friday to replace the part.

I'm quite relief but the whole episode has given me a new thought on this brand. I'm not sure now how long I will keep this car..

OrangBiasa
post Oct 17 2013, 01:45 AM

QUOTE(pakwong @ Oct 16 2013, 11:46 PM)
anyone here experience when step hard on pedal the air-con will become not cold???
Early sign of temp sensor mulfunction biggrin.gif
OrangBiasa
post Oct 19 2013, 12:15 AM

QUOTE(pakwong @ Oct 18 2013, 01:49 PM)
o.. thx for advice! will send sc to check! once let go the pedal will become normal back...
Couple of months before my temperature sensor kaput, the aircond blows hot air occasionally and more frequent few weeks before the sensor totally dead. It happened even during normal speed.

When the temp sensor totally rosak, the aircond only blows hot air and the radiator fan running macam nak terbang..
OrangBiasa
post Oct 19 2013, 12:45 PM

QUOTE(ghost007 @ Oct 19 2013, 09:51 AM)
Somebody can write to Peugeot ask to look into this problem....... I think this is important for the Lion continue to survive, it is no joke once overheat and course the engine block bend, you can bye bye with your Lion .
It is critical but we should not too worry about it. It's just a faulty sensor giving wrong message to ECU. But it's good if Peugeot can seriously look on the reliability of the electronic components so that issue like this will not tarnish the good points of this car.

0.0322sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:55 PM