Peugeot 408 Owners/ Fans Thread, Motion & Emotion

Ladbrokes88
post Nov 3 2013, 10:21 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(wjchay @ Nov 2 2013, 08:10 PM)
When I was driving with USB drive plugged in and playing songs, there was a voice announcement that battery was weak and subsequently USB doesn't work anymore. When I restarted the engine, USB works again.

How do I know if the battery is due to change? There is no error messages at all. My mileage is only 3500km. 408T.

Any help is appreciated.

Your battery will "Kong" soon. I got the same issue before battery kong
SKYjack
post Nov 3 2013, 12:59 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(wjchay @ Nov 2 2013, 08:10 PM)
When I was driving with USB drive plugged in and playing songs, there was a voice announcement that battery was weak and subsequently USB doesn't work anymore. When I restarted the engine, USB works again.

How do I know if the battery is due to change? There is no error messages at all. My mileage is only 3500km. 408T.

Any help is appreciated.

Unfortunately there is no week battery message. The USB not working is one of the poor battery symptoms. In order to reduce battery discharge the ECU starts shedding non essential loads. Once in this low battery situation there will be other stuff that will not function. The idea is to conserve battery consumption as long as possible. However it will completely discharge very soon. You can have the battery tested at the SC,I'm sure it will indicate low battery condition. You should change the battery as soon as possible,IMO immediately!
wjchay
post Nov 3 2013, 02:27 PM

645 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Nov 3 2013, 01:59 PM)
Unfortunately there is no week battery message. The USB not working is one of the poor battery symptoms. In order to reduce battery discharge the ECU starts shedding non essential loads. Once in this low battery situation there will be other stuff that will not function. The idea is to conserve battery consumption as long as possible. However it will completely discharge very soon.  You can have the battery tested at the SC,I'm sure it will indicate low battery condition. You should change the battery as soon as possible,IMO immediately!
Thanks for the advise. Unfortunately it's Sunday today, I can only try to make appointment tomorrow and tuesday is a holiday, i suppose SCs are closed. Do I need appointment to replace battery at SCs?

SKYjack
post Nov 3 2013, 05:31 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(wjchay @ Nov 3 2013, 02:27 PM)
Thanks for the advise. Unfortunately it's Sunday today, I can only try to make appointment tomorrow and tuesday is a holiday, i suppose SCs are closed. Do I need appointment to replace battery at SCs?
The good news is you don't need an appointment for battery replacement,however you still have to wait.Since you have warranty,best to change it on Monday.

It took me 1&1/2 hrs for a battery change. Mine had not reached the energy conservation mode. On random check showed week battery. I could have waited for a few days,but didn't like the uncertainty.
hanieyf
post Nov 4 2013, 12:53 AM

X-alienware m17x soldiers
1,698 posts

Mine already 4 months. So far so good.no problem at all. When going for 10k services. They change to new battery because they said my battery had a leak.

This post has been edited by hanieyf: Nov 4 2013, 06:32 AM
wjchay
post Nov 4 2013, 11:20 AM

645 posts

I am at Glenmarie SC since 0915, now still waiting, they have put me in the so called emergency queue....so much for emergency.....luckily there's a room and WiFi where I can work.

Update: 1150 now, they came to tell me that my battery is weak and I am entitled for warranty claim. ETA another 30 min....we shall see.

Update: 13:10....finally car is ready! 4 hours wait!

Update: Attached bill. FOLLSILVER? is this good?

Question: If I have my iPOD permanently plugged into the USB port, even when engine is off, will this drain the car battery? Otherwise, this might be a good indicator for low battery as it triggered a voice prompt in my case.

This post has been edited by wjchay: Nov 4 2013, 03:35 PM

@Henry@
post Nov 5 2013, 01:59 PM

This is my turn to report the bad performance of the Yokohama battery in my 408T. Drove for almost 14000km in 6 months, finally battery kong at 12:30pm.

Called to Peugeot Careline and they sent a technician to come for a replacement. He reached 1:45pm and settled by 2:00pm. The most important, today is holiday but still they came to do it.

The replacement is Delkor and hopefully it can last longer.
wjchay
post Nov 5 2013, 03:40 PM

645 posts

QUOTE(@Henry@ @ Nov 5 2013, 02:59 PM)
This is my turn to report the bad performance of the Yokohama battery in my 408T. Drove for almost 14000km in 6 months, finally battery kong at 12:30pm.

Called to Peugeot Careline and they sent a technician to come for a replacement. He reached 1:45pm and settled by 2:00pm. The most important, today is holiday but still they came to do it.

The replacement is Delkor and hopefully it can last longer.
I Didn't know that you can call them to fix it at your place? I called Peugeot assist and they asked me to call the SC first to see if they have slot for me, then went to SC for half a day!

hongjoo
post Nov 5 2013, 03:41 PM

29 posts

Waiting for my 408T to be delivered. Currently in delivery bay. But my SA told me that when she checked the car (starting engine) "because when i check your car, there is sign engine faulty come out." My SA said she will send to SC to check.

I'm really worried cause before this error popped up before I even receive the car. Please advise me. She told me not to be worried "no big issue actually, sometime only sensor."

I'm really anxious now!!
TSjfcheong
post Nov 5 2013, 03:47 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(hongjoo @ Nov 5 2013, 03:41 PM)
Waiting for my 408T to be delivered. Currently in delivery bay. But my SA told me that when she checked the car (starting engine) "because when i check your car, there is sign engine faulty come out." My SA said she will send to SC to check.

I'm really worried cause before this error popped up before I even receive the car. Please advise me. She told me not to be worried "no big issue actually, sometime only sensor."

I'm really anxious now!!
You should be pleased that you have a good SA. And really not to worry much. Most of this error is due to faulty sensor. No big issue. Enjoy ur 408 soon. Cheers
TSjfcheong
post Nov 5 2013, 03:49 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(wjchay @ Nov 5 2013, 03:40 PM)
I Didn't know that you can call them to fix it at your place? I called Peugeot assist and they asked me to call the SC first to see if they have slot for me, then went to SC for half a day!
Dif case la bro.
You had a WEAK batt while he had a DEAD batt. Lolx...
@Henry@
post Nov 5 2013, 08:23 PM

Yes, my battery was totally dead so they got to send over technician to replace the battery.

BTW, I rather call my car insurance road assist to come over to jump start or replace battery for me if this happens after the warranty period. They will send over battery to your door and install it for you. Payment in cash for the battery and installation fee (last time is RM10 only)

The Century Battery Assist is basically the same idea like this.

So guy check the windshield sticker provided by your car insurance company and fully utilise their road assist service to tow car/jump start/replace battery
@Henry@
post Nov 5 2013, 08:26 PM

Is there any after market sensor/meter which can detect the weak battery, instead to check it by using multi-meter under the hood?
ryujinx
post Nov 6 2013, 02:52 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(hanieyf @ Nov 4 2013, 12:53 AM)
Mine already 4 months. So far so good.no problem at all. When going for 10k services. They change to new battery because they said my battery had a leak.
Did they check the wiring that cause the leak?
tan chee keong
post Nov 6 2013, 03:48 PM

Today I went for 10k service. They change the battery for me also. Good. They give me delco brand.
joeaggas
post Nov 6 2013, 05:28 PM

363 posts

As of now.... Car mileage less than 19K & 10months usage.. Battery mati liao. Waiting for technician to come help diagnose. Any pug owners at Giza? HAPPY HOUR?
donhay
post Nov 7 2013, 11:16 AM

722 posts

Gonna be a 408T owner soon.

Like to ask why 408T owners here chose this car rather than Civic, ALtis, Slphy, or others when you purchase it?
Termibait
post Nov 7 2013, 11:35 AM

71 posts

Power! bro!
Power! bro!
Power! Bro!

Better chassis! Bro!
Bigger space! Bro!
Continental! Bro!

No offence! Bro!

Lol......
tan chee keong
post Nov 7 2013, 11:57 AM

QUOTE(donhay @ Nov 7 2013, 11:16 AM)

Like to ask why 408T owners here chose this car rather than Civic, ALtis, Slphy, or others when you purchase it?
Power, space,continental car. Sa more polite not like T & H very lcly.
x800
post Nov 7 2013, 12:21 PM

Stalking LYN since 2002
442 posts

QUOTE(donhay @ Nov 7 2013, 11:16 AM)

Why dont you share why U chose this? smile.gif

323 Pages « < 306 307 308 309 310 > » Top

0.0316sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:43 AM