-+♠+-LYN Proton Persona Owners Club V.XLV?-+♠+-, Kereta besi buruk

mengsuan
post Jan 25 2013, 08:03 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

Me. But your thermostat not here yet ya.
mengsuan
post Jan 26 2013, 01:41 AM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

Repeating a post I placed in Saga thread, test done during Saga TT

My faithful Persona and I took a few more successive runs to obtain the performance gain comparison for Super Firestorm, regular Firestorm and without Firestorm.

Here are the results, it has not disappointed us nor cause conflict of interest with some sellers here fortunately.

Stock
0-100kph: 16.561s (wet)
HP: 70.9

Regular Firestorm
0-100kph: 15.141s (wet)
HP: 76.3

Super Firestorm
0-100kph: 14.795s
HP: 79.1

This post has been edited by mengsuan: Jan 26 2013, 04:42 PM
mengsuan
post Jan 26 2013, 09:27 AM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(jasonloh7906 @ Jan 26 2013, 03:09 AM)
then u should follow new one mah. maybe the effect is better.
I think u better go check ur car. I think something should be wrong.
Are u sure u din miss any service or something?
16sec even with aircond and HU on is very bad.
too bad no chance to see tebu.
Never miss service. I just use D, can get better time if I manually shift it. Also I have fully loaded CNG tank.

The stock and regular FS run has a bit of wheel spin, pedal work not smooth enough during launch. But you can see the whp reading is totally normal.
mengsuan
post Jan 26 2013, 10:50 AM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

Checked my service records, I actually sent in my car 6 times to rectify door issue. I called to Proton After Sales to escalate my case already. This Proton We-Care hotline is at least helpful.
mengsuan
post Jan 26 2013, 11:44 AM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

Lol. But seriously, they should just replace the stupid door entirely.
mengsuan
post Jan 26 2013, 04:45 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

Knowing how significant improvement ignition system upgrade can give, I just went to Speedworks and replaced spark plugs to Denso Iridium IT20.

Their price is hefty, RM220 with installation but I manage to peek at their turbocharging workshop. Learned something new, so that I'm more prepared for my turbocharging project.
mengsuan
post Jan 26 2013, 05:07 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

I accept the premium price as a fee to pay for knowledge transfer tongue.gif

Their turbocharging kit is not bad too. RM8k includes Garrett GT2052, intercooler, SS piggyback, 4 injectors, hot bits exhaust system. Guaranteed minimum 50% hp increase. I tried to negotiate stage by stage installation, they wouldn't do it. I don't have 8K cash to dispose at the moment.

Also the drawback is, interface cable and software for piggyback system is not provided. Engineers like me would prefer to tinkle on my own.

This post has been edited by mengsuan: Jan 26 2013, 05:07 PM
mengsuan
post Jan 26 2013, 05:24 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

80whp to 110whp requires some effort on NA. At least yours is a manual, my lousy AT with only 70% power transfer efficiency, wait long long for NA mods to reach 110whp. Hence I'm actually quite impressed with firestorm, the regular firestorm is very value for money, super sized ones pushes it over the border.

Mileage is now 14800KM.

Changing to iridium is noticeable for me. Revs are very smooth all the way up. When there's chance, I'll get another 0-100kph reading from my car with Iridium spark plugs.
mengsuan
post Jan 26 2013, 05:29 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(Manlet @ Jan 26 2013, 05:26 PM)
but can the campro engine internal stand the turbo for long distance driving? lata drive from johor to penang thn on the way explode
Speedworks said Campro can withstand up to 0.7 bar boost on stock internals even if whacked all the way from KL to Penang. If long distance reliability is not a concern, the internals can take 0.8-0.9 bar of boost.
mengsuan
post Jan 26 2013, 08:18 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

Among the NGV community, using platinum or iridium plugs are bad because it requires higher sparking voltage especially for the hard to ignite CNG, putting undue stress on the ignition coils.

Hearsay is that using those plugs stalls the engine easily.

Somehow it's just great for me. CNG is at RON 120-130. Never need to worry about preignition.
mengsuan
post Jan 26 2013, 09:56 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

The R3 rim isn't lightweight. If you think your investment is to reduce weight, you should be looking at other lightweight rims.
mengsuan
post Jan 27 2013, 12:44 AM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Jan 26 2013, 11:59 PM)
another type of piggyback.
I like your firestorm, the supersized one. biggrin.gif
mengsuan
post Jan 27 2013, 12:48 AM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

Lol, the investment is hefty weh. Indeed the torque is good but actually the regular one is already very value for money.
mengsuan
post Jan 27 2013, 01:08 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

Guys, when you WOT, does ECU read 100% throttle? Mine is 88% max
mengsuan
post Jan 27 2013, 10:56 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Jan 27 2013, 09:09 PM)
88% only ar? no wonder mine top speed 180km/h cannot go beyond. hmm.gif
i suspect the stopper on the bottom does restrict the WOT?
Might be able to calibrate it back. Perhaps proton placed throttle profiles with different Max.
mengsuan
post Jan 28 2013, 01:51 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(nickzkuso @ Jan 28 2013, 02:20 AM)
shocking.gif i owiz vroom once traffic light turn green and hit 80km/h shocking.gif
have to throw this habit shakehead.gif
With your Persona? 4AT very tough, your engine is weaker than your transmission brows.gif

QUOTE(bartbarb @ Jan 28 2013, 10:28 AM)
erm, now im doing like 4 months once service.
is there a need for me to reset the ecu, let it learn back my current driving pattern could help on lower the fc?
is there any such proven theory?
I tried unplugging memory fuse, 2 ECU fuse in engine bay fusebox, 1 ECU fuse in driver's compartment; all doesn't seem to reset the ECU fuel mapping. Might need service center's PDT to reset ECU.
mengsuan
post Jan 28 2013, 01:59 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Jan 28 2013, 01:55 PM)
Really? hmm.gif.
Yes, Mr Dares already mentioned below. You can break so many things in your engine before you break the gearbox.

QUOTE(dares @ Jan 28 2013, 01:56 PM)
Dun worry torque converter very good at absorbing sudden power spike from the engine brows.gif you are more likely to brake the crankshaft first than your gb whistling.gif
mengsuan
post Jan 29 2013, 08:04 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(X-LaW @ Jan 29 2013, 05:37 PM)
I install before EC VS, say real real.. really not much effect, maybe just some die hard fan suport KAUKAU.

in cari..http://cforum.cari.com.my/forum.php?mod=viewthread&tid=2451975&extra=page%3D1

this is even selling VS highest version RM 14++.
Lot of very KAU CHEONG review.. i wonder any of you try before?

Are they high on drugs? Those review is as if they bolt on turbo or transplant engine.
mengsuan
post Feb 11 2013, 10:33 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

Never seen CEL came up when WOT. :0
mengsuan
post Feb 20 2013, 07:46 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Feb 20 2013, 04:36 PM)
blink.gif PVC kan waterproof and heatproof?
Ask Mengsuan regarding the NGV heat effect.  brows.gif
The firestorm is no problem in my car. wink.gif

0.0511sec    0.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:43 PM