UCSI, SIT, and IMU

TSmisao
post Mar 25 2006, 09:19 PM, updated 20y ago

324 posts

I am applying to these places to do pharmacy (STPM grad), and so far I have been offered a place by two of them, with one pending.

So, to those of you studying in any one of these places (doesn't matter what course), could you tell me more about the place? No need talk about fees and all lah, all that stuff I can get from their websites. I mean, your experience there. How is the quality of education like, how are the students there like, is there anything you don't like about it?

Also... is it worth it to pay double the price for a twinning degree compared to an equivalent completely local degree?
Gigabitz
post Mar 27 2006, 01:41 PM

Powered By Motivation
2,662 posts

I'm going to study in SIT. I have visited their campus.. good environment!
coolgirl_y2k1
post Mar 27 2006, 03:41 PM

90 posts

im an ex student of SIT. to tell u the truth, SIT facilities sux...can u imagine they are still using those bulky monitors..and computers with fast internet is few..no photocopy facilites(have to go outside college to the opposite shop)...no cafeteria..bookshop very small..no place to hang out ..oh well its a small college cant expect much...but anyway i met my best friends there!
TSmisao
post Mar 27 2006, 04:24 PM

324 posts

Giga... their intake starts today, right? >_>

The only reason SIT might be good is bcuz it does twinning with Uni of South Australia, so after grad you can immediately work in Malaysia OR Aussie.. but aiyoh, so expensive la...
DragLung
post Mar 27 2006, 08:15 PM

466 posts

I'm from UCSI, I'm not sure if the pharmacy course is good, but I know there are quite a number of students taking that course. To be frank, the labs are okay, equipped with new facilities, they just built the labs last year or two. What I didn't really like is the management there. So you have to be alert with the upcoming announcements or any updates etc to avoid any hassles with the student management department. The campus is still quite new and the construction is still going on as if it will never end. Most of the students are not really satisfied with quite a number of lecturers, not ranting here, but telling the truth.
triangle-sun
post Mar 27 2006, 10:45 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(DragLung @ Mar 27 2006, 08:15 PM)
I'm from UCSI, I'm not sure if the pharmacy course is good, but I know there are quite a number of students taking that course. To be frank, the labs are okay, equipped with new facilities, they just built the labs last year or two. What I didn't really like is the management there. So you have to be alert with the upcoming announcements or any updates etc to avoid any hassles with the student management department. The campus is still quite new and the construction is still going on as if it will never end. Most of the students are not really satisfied with quite a number of lecturers, not ranting here, but telling the truth.
me ucsi student as well!! flex.gif
but right, for sure i can say that whoever ever studied in a college/uni would say their bad stuffs. all pros n cons.
pharmacy, ucsi got with USM right? n er twinning with some foreign Uni? not bad wan i heard but er their syllabus in malay? erk, i cant really confirm the malay thing but i think i saw their notes b4.

i couldnt agree more wif draglung regarding ucsi's facilities. as they have just constructed the campus a year ago, there are still loads more to be done. patient is the most suitable word. i know a few pharmacy students in ucsi. not bad not bad tho.

in the case of lecturers, cannot judge lah. some good some bad also. if u treat them good suppose they'll treat u good in return. unless face problem whistling.gif

but overall, ucsi is consider lousy! biggrin.gif i mean their overall performance. i dont like. makes untrustable promises and makes ppl suffer only shakehead.gif
TSmisao
post Mar 28 2006, 07:26 PM

324 posts

Thanks for the comments guys. smile.gif

How about the students there... racial composition and language most commonly spoken? Mainly friendly or clique-ish? And the hostels... broadband connection there good or not? biggrin.gif
den
post Mar 28 2006, 11:29 PM

Plebeian
1,643 posts

im studying engineering and what i can say is....
UCSI not good!!

the construction is on and on and on and on.....

This post has been edited by den: Mar 28 2006, 11:30 PM
triangle-sun
post Mar 29 2006, 11:57 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(misao @ Mar 28 2006, 07:26 PM)
Thanks for the comments guys. smile.gif

How about the students there... racial composition and language most commonly spoken? Mainly friendly or clique-ish? And the hostels... broadband connection there good or not? biggrin.gif
yup. one thing for sure is the construction is like never ending. they just seem to have so much to construct n it's not ending soon.

hmm i'd say chinese most of cos. there's also malays n indians n foreigners - china, africans, maldives.. n so on.
most common language, english n chinese. depends.
friendliness among us students is a yes yes tongue.gif wont say myself not friendly rclxm9.gif

hostel uses wireless internet connection. the whole ucsi uses wireless. i stayed in that hostel when the whole ucsi 1st shifted n it was darn scary n lousy. now i heard improved but ppl still wont wanna stay in there, rather stay out. last time i paid rm350 per twin sharing room. now it has gone up to rm 385 if i'm not mistaken. very very expensive for a twin sharing room. i strongly suggest stay out but gotta bear with the hill-climbing everyday to class. take that as an exercise i guess thumbup.gif
DragLung
post Mar 30 2006, 05:58 PM

466 posts

QUOTE(den @ Mar 28 2006, 11:29 PM)
im studying engineering and what i can say is....
UCSI not good!!

the construction is on and on and on and on.....
You're from UCSI as well? Why never report in..? rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=236550

0.0130sec    0.25    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 04:58 AM