Streamyx streamyx 8mbps club V1, double the speed double the fun

mylinear
post Feb 6 2017, 02:33 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(JayceOoi @ Feb 6 2017, 10:12 AM)
Hmm... So every 8Mbps Streamyx account should have 10000 Kbps downstream rate? Mine also 8188 Kbps only.
What download speed do you get for speed test eg at speedtest.tm.com.my ? Around 6.6-6.7M? Or higher ?

How about andyng38 ? Do you get more like 8.5-8.6M ? That will show the difference.

mylinear
post Feb 6 2017, 04:00 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(JayceOoi @ Feb 6 2017, 03:32 PM)
Slightly better at 6.9M.
Well, based on andyng38 reply, you can see the speed difference. No harm trying to get them to check on your port speed. Though they'll probably use the 80% argument. Its also possible that the lower port speed provides a more stable connection depending on your line condition.

mylinear
post Feb 7 2017, 05:53 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(andyng38 @ Feb 7 2017, 03:48 PM)
Found this stuck to my gate earlier today....looks like TM is offering SDSL in my area. Anyone used SDSL before? (upload speed = download speed).

Isn't that just the old Unifi VIP5 5M package? Those users are supposed to get speed upgrade to 10M.

mylinear
post Feb 7 2017, 06:08 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(Exeunt @ Feb 7 2017, 11:06 AM)
finally upgrade from 4mb to 8mb ..YES~~ hopefully no issue.huhu
Is this a free upgrade? Or you pay to upgrade package? Did you get 8M at RM140?

mylinear
post Feb 7 2017, 07:12 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(andyng38 @ Feb 7 2017, 06:33 PM)
No idea...I never really paid much attention to unifi packages before. Old wine in new bottles eh?  biggrin.gif
Those Unifi VIP packages were stopped a year or so ago when they came out with higher 30 / 50M packages. However old VIP package users are supposed to get double speed, for example 5M goes to 10M etc. The price of VIP 5M was RM149. Same as shown in your brochure.

Although Unifi is fiber, for high-rise with copper lines, the fiber goes up to the high-rise but within it, last section to user is still copper. Maybe your area has got some new fiber exchange and will use existing copper line as last mile. Maybe this is the 100K non-Unifi users they mention before.

You could check if your area is covered by "regular" Unifi now, if not this could be something new in your area as above.

mylinear
post Feb 7 2017, 11:27 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(andyng38 @ Feb 7 2017, 09:20 PM)
Wow..thanks for the info! So they're trying to foist off an old package to my neighborhood.
When I saw that the upload speed = download, the first thing I thought of was symmetrical dsl. I guess it's just unifi fiber...the black cables with yellow line running along the length have been strung up here.
Now that does not make sense... If your area is covered by fibre lines for Unifi, then it should be for the new 30 / 50 / 100M packages. Why that brochure shows 5 / 10M is not clear. Can't be an old brochure as the date shows 2017. Maybe its targeting specific Streamyx users.

If you happen to call to find out more details about that brochure, please update here.

mylinear
post Feb 10 2017, 04:33 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(Eralus @ Feb 10 2017, 12:39 AM)
distance more than 1km stuck forever with shittty screamyx lah?

GREAT!!
I think this will depend on what technology is used. The 1km distance is not really a problem if it is fibre to a cabinet nearby in the area and then copper to the house. Now with Streamyx, I think we are looking at the copper distance from house to exchange. If using FTTC, this distance is no longer valid. If the cabinet is placed a few roads away or or some centtral location in the area, the last part of copper line distance would be reduced a lot, maybe down to 1km or less. Even if it is more like 2km or so, you can still possibly get higher speeds than current Streamyx. This is what I think, please correct if wrong.

mylinear
post Feb 10 2017, 04:51 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(LDP @ Feb 10 2017, 04:01 PM)
thx for your reply. if i have multiple physical port, can i not use the splitter ?
You need the DSL splitter or phone filter at each physical port in your house which you want to connect a phone unit to. This is to filter out the DSL signal noise when using the phone.

BTW, how much was the 4M package offer? RM130?

This post has been edited by mylinear: Feb 10 2017, 04:59 PM
mylinear
post Feb 10 2017, 11:04 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(LDP @ Feb 10 2017, 06:49 PM)
Yeah...is it good price ?
I think this follows the pricing for 2 / 4 / 8M = RM120 / 130 / 140. Is it a 1 year contract?

Does your area have Unifi? Just wondering why they don't make Unifi offer.

mylinear
post Feb 10 2017, 11:17 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Feb 10 2017, 08:59 PM)
SNR 23, 8
Att 27, 14
I think you may be more like 2km away from the exchange, not the box across your road. What does that look like? Unless there is something wrong with your line, you should be getting higher attainable rate.

What speedtest result you get now? Around 3.5M? Ask them to set data rate at 5120 and you should get better speeds.

mylinear
post Feb 11 2017, 11:16 AM

974 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Feb 11 2017, 09:05 AM)
yes, my package is 4Mbps
i dnt wanna upgrade yet
waiting for unifi, i need the upload speed more than ever laugh.gif

my other place got unifi instead, but no one lives there laugh.gif
Yes, you are on a 4M package. But what result do you get doing a speedtest eg at speedtest.tm.com.my ?

mylinear
post Feb 11 2017, 11:26 AM

974 posts

QUOTE(rhytion @ Feb 11 2017, 10:36 AM)
I don't know what exactly happened, but after I connected my telephone line to my old Riger modem and then reconnect it to my current TP-Link Modem, the max rate and SNR margin went up quite a lot. Anyone has an idea on what's happening?

Could be that so happened you just got a better line condition after you disconnected and re-connected the line. Or you got a connection with a different modulation mode and annex type.

mylinear
post Feb 11 2017, 12:13 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(Niqe @ Feb 11 2017, 06:18 AM)
snr margin yg bgus 30-32db..jika bawah dripada 15db hubungi lah tm untk pembaikan.. Port yg dibuka pula msti 1x ganda.. Cntoh.. Jika Package 1mb,port 2mb di perlukan.. 4mb-port 5mb,8mb-port 10mb..
From my observations...

Port speeds are set at:
1024 = 1280
2048 = 2560
4096 = 5120
8192 = 10240

It is based on 1.25 times.

The modem status page sometimes shows rates that are slightly less by 1 to 4 bits. For example:
5120 could be shown as 5119 - 5116.
10240 could be shown as 10239 - 10236.

Long time ago 1024 was set at 1024 which means you get about 0.8Mbps speedtest. Later port speeds were set higher to get about 1.0Mbps speedtest results to match package subscription speed.

Some 1024 were also set at 1536 (1.5 times) which results in about 1.2Mbps speeds.

For 512 uploads, the port is mostly set at 512 itself (511 - 508). This results in about 0.42Mbps speedtest. However, there are some cases where it is set at 640 (639 - 636) which again is 1.25 times. This results in about 0.52Mbps which is the more accurate setting for the subscribed 512 upload package.

mylinear
post Mar 11 2017, 02:28 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(KL_menJERIT @ Mar 10 2017, 09:59 PM)
coming soon Unifi Lite

Will be interesting to see the package details. Seems like the old VIP5 (upgraded to 10M) for RM149 which included free local calls. Maybe the RM129 one does not have free calls so less RM20? All current Streamyx packages come bundled with free calls, so must include that when comparing prices, even if some people don't use the local calls.
Also there must be some difference or else those paying RM149 Unifi package will complain. Anyone who gets more info please share.

0.0266sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:20 AM