6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Mechanical Keyboard Thread v9, switches, keycaps, boards

bv2427
post Jan 20 2013, 11:55 PM

657 posts

Those Geekhack group buys can be quite worth while. Buy 2 set sell off one here on Lowyat forums. tongue.gif
bv2427
post Jan 21 2013, 12:53 PM

657 posts

Toxic long more to ship ah, they are only going to make prototype soon. Thinking of getting also but wont save that much if we get together right?
bv2427
post Jan 21 2013, 08:21 PM

657 posts

^ WOAH!! drool.gif But I must say the 2 keys at the top right corner makes the whole layout a bit unbalanced.

This post has been edited by bv2427: Jan 21 2013, 08:25 PM
bv2427
post Jan 22 2013, 09:26 PM

657 posts

QUOTE(imbibug @ Jan 22 2013, 08:38 PM)
Something cheap ~RM300 or less. Backlit would be a plus but unecessary. TKL is just fine. I prefer to pay for quality not some fancy brand.
Then get the no backlight, full-size Rosewill RK9000. RM249 if promo is still on, RM299 if not from Heavy Arm @ SS15.
bv2427
post Jan 22 2013, 09:55 PM

657 posts

QUOTE(imbibug @ Jan 22 2013, 09:39 PM)
I saw it before, I don't like the mini-usb socket being so exposed on the RK9000, its flimsy and might break if the kb drops or after a sharp tug on the cable.
Lol. Define exposed. I don't know what kind of desktop setup you have, but if your keyboard drops often and you tug a lot on the cable then... No further comment. blink.gif

Unless you want something like the Quick Fire Rapid.

Exposed?
Pinjam your image kai.

Or a cable that is not detachable like a Filco.

This post has been edited by bv2427: Jan 22 2013, 10:03 PM
bv2427
post Jan 24 2013, 06:04 PM

657 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ Jan 24 2013, 02:36 PM)
Sherry did know how to milk keyboard community. smile.gif
104 keys Cherry Classic Beige With Blue (two-tone) made by GMK for USD130.. Ouch.
That set looks really nice. But isn't there an IC thread saying they wanna make replica sets for about ~$80?
bv2427
post Jan 24 2013, 07:46 PM

657 posts

QUOTE(kyrmian @ Jan 24 2013, 06:59 PM)
takes forever. sad.gif if it goes through, the first set will be dolch.
I voted for the dolch. Sooo sexy. Well hopefully after people's continuous rants about the price it'll drop slightly. I might bite if it ever goes as low as $100. Then again, with $100 you could buy a new keyboard. shocking.gif

This post has been edited by bv2427: Jan 24 2013, 07:47 PM
bv2427
post Jan 25 2013, 02:54 PM

657 posts

New "Ducky Shine 2 78 Version", 7 Color LEDs, 8 Switches !! Limited edition of 78 in total global !

Why...
bv2427
post Jan 25 2013, 03:14 PM

657 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ Jan 25 2013, 03:06 PM)
Black switch on Modifiers? Wish you good luck on both your pingky!

Wait.. Or is it brown?  rclxub.gif Pic not very clear
Looks like Black modifiers. Brown for arrow keys and Insert/Delete cluster.
bv2427
post Jan 29 2013, 11:26 AM

657 posts

More reason for us to do bulk orders for Toxic / Red Alert 3.0 (Klaxon) / any other GB from GH since USPS international shipping has doubled its prices. GG. Smallest bubble mailer is now $7 from $3 if I'm not mistaken.

This post has been edited by bv2427: Jan 29 2013, 11:27 AM
bv2427
post Jan 29 2013, 01:34 PM

657 posts

QUOTE(storm88 @ Jan 29 2013, 11:35 AM)
i already added my order thru GH for 3 sets.(1 for me 2 for other forumer)u want to join?
Will PM you if I want la. Still not sure. You ordered both Toxic and RA?
bv2427
post Jan 30 2013, 01:01 AM

657 posts

QUOTE(joyformidable @ Jan 29 2013, 08:57 PM)
i ordered both ra and toxic. damn expensive la like that shipping. if we order together how much will the savings be?
Not sure yet I guess since the OP's haven't been updated with new prices. But definitely save a bit lar.
bv2427
post Jan 30 2013, 12:24 PM

657 posts

^ It simulates a right-click to wherever your text cursor is. Something like that lar. Lol. I never use it.
bv2427
post Jan 30 2013, 02:11 PM

657 posts

Btw!! OriginativeCo selling fullsets at $95 and RGB at $35. Reasonable I think?
bv2427
post Jan 31 2013, 02:49 AM

657 posts

QUOTE(CyntrixTech @ Jan 31 2013, 12:19 AM)
Pushing it leh! If you guys can find out which factory we should order the caps from, we can get you just about any caps. We can even bundle them out with RK9000. The problem is that..we have no time to do this sort of research and we want to deal with factory direct, don't want to deal with Taobao.
Signature plastics in the US does custom stuff. But it doesn't come cheap as you can see in these prices which are pretty much a very accurate estimate. IMO better than ducky keycaps cos these are double shots.

QUOTE(UserU @ Jan 31 2013, 01:45 AM)
What switch do you guys recommend for a balance between typing and gaming? Cherry MX Red or Brown? Both seemed to be quite on par with one another after looking around.
I'd say brown. Reds are really soft and it's quite 'boring' for me to type on it. Blues has the tactile feel and clicky sound, what you get from browns are just the tactile feel when your fingers press down on a key. Hence, best of both worlds. Then again, it's down to everyone's own personal preference. Like Mr.Cyntrix hates Browns and loves Reds.

This post has been edited by bv2427: Jan 31 2013, 02:54 AM
bv2427
post Jan 31 2013, 09:36 AM

657 posts

QUOTE(wyh @ Jan 31 2013, 09:21 AM)
http://www.pimpmykeyboard.com/marketplace.php

Not expensive but shipping 10USD =\
Looks like an alternative Signature Plastics website. Cool stuff.
bv2427
post Jan 31 2013, 11:36 AM

657 posts

QUOTE(wyh @ Jan 31 2013, 10:22 AM)
yup mirror site lol 10USD ler the postage =(
If you're interested in something then maybe we can tumpang together. tongue.gif
bv2427
post Jan 31 2013, 12:34 PM

657 posts

^I have not seen any other keycap designs by Rosewill since the RK9000 is super standard, which is unfortunate for the RK9100.

By the way, you guys know Rosewill makes a ton of other things too? Rosewill Blender anyone?
bv2427
post Jan 31 2013, 03:45 PM

657 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Jan 31 2013, 02:49 PM)
guess you, me, zongeva and cyntrix all have same preference  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

i also liked blue for typing and after trying them (blue, red, brown and black), i felt red would be the only other switch i would buy other than blue.... unless i have chance to test out other exotic switches like clears, grey or green.  sweat.gif
If you don't like Browns and feel that Blacks are too heavy for your liking then theoretically you won't like Clears, Greys or Greens as Browns = Clears/Greys but stiffer where Greys are stiffer than Clears and Greens are a stiffer Blues. hmm.gif

QUOTE(x3Vinccy @ Jan 31 2013, 03:28 PM)
Recommendation for a cheap value + high durability mech keyboard.
-Price if can as cheap as possible (on very tight budget) :<
-Best is MX blue, others i also wont really mind
doesnt necessary have to be those fancy fancy keyboard with backlit

Suggestions pls shifus tongue.gif ty ty
Rosewill RK9000. They do come with Blues and still have a promo price of RM249 which you can get at Heavy Arm SS15.

This post has been edited by bv2427: Jan 31 2013, 03:46 PM
bv2427
post Feb 1 2013, 08:22 PM

657 posts

^Last day of sale was yesterday.

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0601sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:58 PM