prophetjul
post Mar 14 2013, 04:33 PM

12,279 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Mar 14 2013, 09:21 AM)
May i ask what is the reason for u to sell it off? hmm.gif
I was waiting for the impending financial disaster in the U.S.........same reason i bought gold in 2002.......i sold financials including HSBC.
i was trying to convince me wife to sell way back in 2006. She refused then.....thanks God she agreed in 2008 before the BIG slide! biggrin.gif

But what i was trying to point out was someone was discussing holding stocks for years.......
prophetjul
post Mar 14 2013, 04:36 PM

12,279 posts

Hi guys

i aint no sifu......just an old Fud.....

IF i was a SIFU, i would have bought Public bank back then nod.gif

My recent FAILURES.........mining stocks..........BIG BIG fails!

Although my SLW was success, i have recent fails as well.......my precious metal miners swings can be Rm200k
gains/losses in a DAY....... shocking.gif
prophetjul
post Mar 15 2013, 08:33 AM

12,279 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Mar 14 2013, 10:12 PM)
Look, it is difficult to time things correctly, even for the pros. But, I think you did very well!

Just like my dad.. back in 1980, he didn't have much but was lucky enough he went thru with a company sponsored financial advisor to advise him on investing in US market since he was working overseas (US based company). There were 3 primary stocks that he picked after months of studying and discussing with his financial planner.  IBM (Tech), PhilipMorris (Tobacco), Walmart (Retail).  He got real stock certificates with just little few hundred shares.

Then... came 1987 black monday, Kaboom! Everything just went to the toilet.. clock almost reset back to zero.
But, he continues to stay invested, buy little by little with his paycheck deduction and matching retirement plan.
Before he retires, he finally able to cash out some shares to pay for my siblings and my education.

He's not a trader but real 'sock the money and put away' for rainy day.

Since retirement in 1999, he still got enough with nice monthly dividends enough to survive, nice home and car and he
got no debt.  biggrin.gif
Nice Nice.............lots of good stories of long bagholders.........

Imagine only imagine is one held Public bank shares since 1967

written in 2011! thumbup.gif

if you had purchased 1,000 Public Bank shares since 1967 and have held it over a period of 42 years, your initial investment would have grown to a value of over RM2.1M today!

Public Bank closing stock price for 15th March 2011 was RM12.98 and Public Bank-01 was RM12.92

prophetjul
post Mar 15 2013, 08:49 AM

12,279 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Mar 15 2013, 08:47 AM)
If you hold those shares and they've gained substantially and multiple folds, that's not bag holder anymore,
that's like finding GOLD at the end of rainbow.

Now, if you're like yours truly. who survived dot com bubble.. went in and bought Cisco Systems for $60 in year 2000.
Now, that's like a huge BAGHOLDER.  wacko.gif
BAG of gold holder! smile.gif

Dan, don't you SLEEP? tongue.gif
prophetjul
post Mar 15 2013, 11:07 AM

12,279 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Mar 15 2013, 08:59 AM)

Same in forums.
Many share their success stories.
How many shared their failures?

Nasik lemak (food) for your thoughts, Pinky.

Cheers
I shared my failures...............anyone else? wink.gif

Failures are also good benchmarks of lessons............pls share........... nod.gif
prophetjul
post Mar 15 2013, 11:29 AM

12,279 posts

QUOTE(nasni @ Mar 15 2013, 11:25 AM)
usually we learnt from failures,  akeen to licking the wounds    get the strength to march on....
sadly we tend to forget the mistakes.......especially those lil ones.....
Methinks we SHOULD learn from failures...........but its not usual........

we probably tend to analyse success more than failures.

many have not learnt from their failures because of various reasons, one of them being GREED and impatience IMO.

prophetjul
post Mar 15 2013, 12:08 PM

12,279 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Mar 15 2013, 11:44 AM)
I have already mentioned my failure with TECNIC. I'll repeat here...

I bought TECNIC at RM3.90. It's dividend for last year was 25 sen/share. That gave a DY of 6.4%
I also check the annual reports. Its revenue and earning had increased every year from 2006 to 2011. But the EPS dropped in Q4 2011. That was a red flag I missed.

It turned out that, its EPS went down for four consecutive counters (and only slightly went up in Q4 2012). The stock price also kept dropping. In the end, I cut loss at 3.40.

TECNIC is now traded at 3.20, and no dividend proposed for this year...
Actually you have done well cut loss........that's the way to invest!

Financial Red flags are good ways to monitor a company
prophetjul
post Mar 15 2013, 12:11 PM

12,279 posts

QUOTE(newbie99 @ Mar 15 2013, 12:05 PM)
Thanks for sharing.
Let me share mine, I started investing back in 87 when parents' remisiers were actively dishing out tips, bought some property warrants and sold them a year later without knowing what warrants were. Made a few k.
Went to university later, and bought some Oz shares when i was there, and participated in IPO. At that time Malaysia was experiencing 'super Bull run', and parents asked me to sell my investment coz Malaysia market at that time was 'hotter'. At that time Oz papers were all warning about Malaysian overheated economy, and as usual greed overcame rationality. Really regretted selling my Oz shares, as 2 years after i sold them to pay for my tuition fee, they shot up 400-2000%.

During Asian Financial Crisis, i was looking for some good stocks with best % return when the economy recovers. So decided on Commerz as it was one of the hardest hit but with best potential return, and chose warrants instead for obvious reason.

During the 2000s, I decided to buy high dividend stocks like Bjtoto, Daibochi, Public banks and also some good value company like Coastal. Dividends and returns were decent, but not spectacular.

Then i decided to switch to IPO craze of HK. Subscribed for HK IPO - Bank of China and other banks. Initially I received a lot of allocations, made some 'easy money', but then allocation became less and less as more people started doing it. Sometimes i had to subscribe for millions and get only 2-3 thousand shares.

Decided to invest in Vietnam after searching for greener pasture. Bought some funds in Vietnam as the market then wasnt opened to foreigners and there were only around 20 counters on the stock exchange! Made good return but didnt manage to sell all when Vietnam high inflation struck, and followed by Global financial crisis.

So lessons learnt
- Avoid being sentimental. Money best made in term of crisis. Be rational.
- Be patient, hold the shares, ride the wave, dont sell too early into rally.
- Be opportunistic and dont confine to only one country or one instrument.

Now using 'top-bottom' strategy. Mainly invest in Indonesia, Philippine, Vietnam, HK and Singapore.. Invest where the opportunity is.
You should change yer nick.......you are NO newbie!

Nice sharing of yer notes....... thumbup.gif
prophetjul
post Mar 18 2013, 08:05 AM

12,279 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Mar 17 2013, 10:01 AM)
Don't call 'em Failures.. call 'em ETF  (Expensive Tuition Fees).  tongue.gif

Mine was really expensive during Dot Com days.. six figures USD.
Can anyone top that?  Took years to recover.  laugh.gif
OUCH!

That why you have become an active trader?
prophetjul
post Mar 18 2013, 08:39 AM

12,279 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Mar 18 2013, 08:30 AM)
Thread officially derailed to 'failure stories from stock exchange' .. Haha.. Maybe someone to create this thread, definitely will attract more hits biggrin.gif
thumbup.gif

0.0253sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:44 AM