which is better? for burn in progress, memtest or SP2004
kulus
Mar 23 2006, 06:33 PM
i think sp2004 give more toucher to ur hardware..
soulfly
Mar 23 2006, 06:45 PM
revving towards 10,000 rpm
I use DOS/BIOS based Memtest86
This post has been edited by soulfly: Mar 23 2006, 06:46 PM
e-jump
Mar 23 2006, 07:30 PM
well, it seems if u can pass memtest86(dos) with flying colours, it still not guaranteed u can run at those speed in windows error-free windows based memtest come in handy but for burn in, yeah, memtest86 should do the trick btw, u should up the fsb/ram speed till few error appear in each loops.. then burn in with the errors.. if u r lucky after burning in for sometime, u may have error free at the speed  good luck
e-jump
Mar 23 2006, 09:25 PM
probably timing too tight, low volt, or ram too hot/no active cooling.. well, my dt-d43 able to do 3-4-4-10 memtest stable n 2.5-4-4-10 sPi 32M stable at 265 1T 2.8v probably juz my luck
zahri
Mar 23 2006, 09:29 PM
wow... thanks for the tip e-jump
sounds great....
i have never tried memtest or sp2004 before....
i only prime to test stability....
maybe i can try to keep the memtest and sp2004 for future use....
shinjite
Mar 23 2006, 09:33 PM
SP2004 is prime also, just that name and interface change only I use prime + SuperPI for windows stability For RAM, mostly use DOS base memtest86 because it can test almost all the RAM available in your rig
e-jump
Mar 23 2006, 09:38 PM
oh, one more thing, its best to run burn in a straight few hrs [ie 8++hours] compared to 2+2+.. hours.. and i guess i gain nothing after my next few burn-in sessions.. 265 was max n achieved on 1st burn in attemp.. but that may be just me.. if u r lucky u might gain more.. oh btw, if u dont have DFi , u may be limited to few memory timing options to get memtest86 error free.. theres possibility u can up a lil more mhz in windows with help of a64tweaker n pass windows memtest.. well, thats my experience
TSnelza_ax
Mar 23 2006, 10:01 PM
QUOTE(e-jump @ Mar 23 2006, 09:25 PM) probably timing too tight, low volt, or ram too hot/no active cooling.. well, my dt-d43 able to do 3-4-4-10 memtest stable n 2.5-4-4-10 sPi 32M stable at 265 1T 2.8v probably juz my luck wow..damn nice..mine d43 oso..but ... i'm using 2.5 -3 -3 7..stuck at 232Mhz ony..izzit my timing too tight ?...bottleneck wif my ram..see my siggy
e-jump
Mar 23 2006, 10:29 PM
well, cant say much there.. my ram was able to do 2.5-3-3-10 till 250 how bout u try a few loop of memtest test 5 with 3-3-3-x 3-4-3-x 2.5-4-4-x 3-4-4-x but its best to go with the loosest 1st [3-4-4-x] juz to know how high ur ram can go saves time too  timing tightening comes later
TSnelza_ax
Mar 23 2006, 10:35 PM
QUOTE(e-jump @ Mar 23 2006, 10:29 PM) well, cant say much there.. my ram was able to do 2.5-3-3-10 till 250 how bout u try a few loop of memtest test 5 with 3-3-3-x 3-4-3-x 2.5-4-4-x 3-4-4-x but its best to go with the loosest 1st [3-4-4-x] juz to know how high ur ram can go saves time too  timing tightening comes later ok..will do it tonite!..will burn in untill tomolo morning then tomolo will post the result..
kulus
Mar 24 2006, 11:16 AM
huh dude..mind to tell us ur result..
8tvt
Mar 24 2006, 03:06 PM
to increase fsb.. hynix like loose timming.. my bt-d43 put 10-5-5 2.5cl 2.7v.. just an option to loose timming..
TSnelza_ax
Mar 24 2006, 05:09 PM
QUOTE(kulus @ Mar 24 2006, 11:16 AM) huh dude..mind to tell us ur result.. after 8hours burnin wif memtest.. now my ram can run at 235Mhz..  will try more tonite.. This post has been edited by nelza_ax: Mar 24 2006, 05:11 PM
charge-n-go
Mar 25 2006, 12:04 AM
QUOTE(nelza_ax @ Mar 23 2006, 06:26 PM) which is better to burn ram? SP2004 or memtest? my fwen said memtest is more powerful in burnin.. but i try the memtest..no error for 5hour..then when i try wif the SP2004.. 4minute..error  .. SP2004 / Prime95 stress on the CPU, FSB and RAM, whereas memtest just test the RAM. That's y if your RAM is stable, it doesnt mean other stuff is stable also.
uzairi
Mar 25 2006, 12:18 AM
One more thing that do influence the end result is the BIOS of the mobo. Do take that in mind. Compare your result with similar motherboard and the revision of the bios. modded or such. That way you'll know what went wrong with your setup.
irenic
Mar 25 2006, 03:03 AM
Burn ram : memtest (i prefer to run dos n windows..)
Burn cpu : CpuBurn
soulfly
Mar 25 2006, 08:53 AM
QUOTE(8tvt @ Mar 24 2006, 03:06 PM) to increase fsb.. hynix like loose timming.. my bt-d43 put 10-5-5 2.5cl 2.7v.. just an option to loose timming.. bt-d43 works well enough with Trp=4 and Trcd=4 .... using 5 won't help anything... at least in my experience. 263mhz, CL2.5-4-3-11 @ 2.9Vdimm was my best one on nForce2.
soulfly
Mar 25 2006, 09:24 PM
burn in with the most minimal error... try see after a few hours whether the errors are gone
TSnelza_ax
Mar 25 2006, 09:27 PM
QUOTE(soulfly @ Mar 25 2006, 09:24 PM) burn in with the most minimal error... try see after a few hours whether the errors are gone u mean i should burn it around 236-238Mhz? like dat aaa?? wat do you mean by "error gone in few hour?" stop then test again with memtest after few hour?sorry..noob Q This post has been edited by nelza_ax: Mar 25 2006, 09:29 PM
soulfly
Mar 25 2006, 09:32 PM
No.... just keep it running until it stops producing any more error.
Dreamworks
Mar 26 2006, 12:38 AM
QUOTE(soulfly @ Mar 25 2006, 09:32 PM) No.... just keep it running until it stops producing any more error. Is there a risk of burning the rams? OC newbie too I have 2 X 512MB of Samsung UCCC that could do DDR496 3-3-3-8 1T @ 2.8V error free, but by upping the speed to DDR500 I got 2 errors every 4 passes with Memtest-86 (Test 5). Should I increase the voltage or should I just do burn in for a longer time? I think I read somewhere that Samsung chips don't take high voltage This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Mar 26 2006, 12:40 AM
soulfly
Mar 26 2006, 10:43 AM
Winbond RAMs works well with burn-in
try burn in some TCCD... you'll fry your chips... same goes with many other value chips.
soulmate
Oct 10 2006, 11:10 PM
i'm using memtest86+ but how do I know my memory test is complete? btw, i run the test for more that 24hrs nonstop without any error
Evogenix
Oct 11 2006, 12:43 AM
QUOTE(soulmate @ Oct 10 2006, 11:10 PM) i'm using memtest86+ but how do I know my memory test is complete? btw, i run the test for more that 24hrs nonstop without any error it will keep on looping until you press the Esc button. If you stable for 24hours, means it can consider stable already. Else, it will show error message during the testing Evogenix
sjn hassan
Oct 11 2006, 07:40 AM
QUOTE(soulmate @ Oct 10 2006, 11:10 PM) i'm using memtest86+ but how do I know my memory test is complete? btw, i run the test for more that 24hrs nonstop without any error wah....i'm not patient enough to wait that long
soulmate
Oct 14 2006, 08:47 PM
QUOTE(Evogenix @ Oct 11 2006, 12:43 AM) it will keep on looping until you press the Esc button. If you stable for 24hours, means it can consider stable already. Else, it will show error message during the testing Evogenix uh... thanks... then my notebook with 2x256 MB RAM can consider pass the test QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Oct 11 2006, 07:40 AM) wah....i'm not patient enough to wait that long  have to be patient coz i got error while trying to install FreeBSD 6.1 the error shows like RAM parity error... that's y i go for MEMTEST but now the result is OK dunno what went wrong...