milkyTom5
post Mar 21 2013, 08:03 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(matS @ Mar 20 2013, 07:36 PM)
hi,
only  check engine lit up?
what about cvt and esc warning light?
Yeap, only check engine lit up, I send it to mutiara damansara SC today, they checked the wiring of ECU and upgrade ECU TCU again...3 hours ofter i collect my car, same problem happened again..SUPER FRUSTRATED NOW!!

I notice more thing during the previous breakdown, the feeling is like suddenly the gear automatically change from D to N halfway driving..stop the car completely, press pedal again, the gear stuck at gear 1..failed to change to gear 2...

could it be gearbox problem?

SENT TO SC 3 TIMES...CANNOT SOLVE THE PROBLEM.......ON FIRE NOW..
Pace
post Mar 21 2013, 08:07 PM

QUOTE(mat79 @ Mar 20 2013, 11:48 PM)
the only advice i can give to those involve in heavy traffic n stop n go situation, if dont need to speed beyond 60kmh, just rev not more than 1.6k rpm cuz between 1-1.6k rpm, it is being programmed to facilitate slow movement, n useful for heavy traffic.

N for slow cruising or less traffic, more than 60kmh but not more than 90kmh. Rev beyond 1.6k rpm, but not more than 1.9k rpm. Not only to avoid turbo from operating, but also cvt will change it character to become more agressive start from 2k rpm n above.

Speed below 90kmh, aerodynamic of the car dont play big part, thats why knowing how to handle the throttle can help a bit on fc. Speed beyond 90kmh, aerodynamic start playing it part, thats why even rev beyond 2k rpm, it wont hurt much coz aero helping out in reducing the fc n the throttle position@pressure is maintain at a point for a long time, there is no need extra energy which needed in stop n go situation coz not only aero, also rolling also help the engine from work hard to move the car.

The energy needed to move the car when stagnant is higher than when its already rolling. That is why, letting the car roll on itself after stop at traffic light@complete stop before throttling, does help in reducing fc. Not only due to rolling, it also can avoid overev(can also affect fc even not that much) due to clutch action.

This is eco indicator on ur own :-). Hopefully this help.
Mat, I always find your posting informative. Presumably you have some involvement with Proton. Most of us based on experience with other cars. 3 or 4 version of lyn preve later, anybody who does not go throught the numerous versions and pages will miss out on your input. Prevoc or Prevec easier to find. I suspect the air intake route for the Preve and worst still for the Exora does affect the fuel consumption. (Will experiment with CAI later) Not that much better than an open pod in stop and go in traffic. Coupled with the long ratio between 4 (after the super close 1234] and 567 where the tcu program goes quickly to 7, the cfe has torque but it ain't a turbo diesel and 20kg translating to 18kg on wheel isn't a heck of a lot torque to lug 1.4 tonnes around town or up a mountain. I can't expect good consumption from a 5 speed manual tranny if if I slot straight to 5 after the 2nd gear in moving traffic.
Pace
post Mar 21 2013, 08:15 PM

QUOTE(allenultra @ Mar 20 2013, 09:10 PM)
Well I believe when someone try something better, they will hardly look back.
I doubt many people will want to try that everytime they ignite the engine, its a good try none the less. wink.gif
Most engine ecu are learning ecu as with tcu. WOT every now then and ecu should be able to pick up distance travelled by throttle and recalibrate. Having to recalibrate every now and then when we are launching to the moon is one thing. On a daily basis when we are going to work and back is damn mkf.
swk_sam
post Mar 21 2013, 08:22 PM

QUOTE(archiq @ Mar 21 2013, 12:17 PM)
thanks mat79 for ur advice.. will try to remember this on my daily driving as i always stuck in jam..  thumbup.gif
QUOTE(Pace @ Mar 21 2013, 08:07 PM)
Mat, I always find your posting informative. Presumably you have some involvement with Proton.  Most of us based on experience with other cars. 3 or 4 version of lyn preve later, anybody who does not go throught the numerous versions and pages will miss out on your input. Prevoc or Prevec easier to find. I suspect the air intake route for the Preve and worst still for the Exora does affect the fuel consumption. (Will experiment with CAI later) Not that much better than an open pod in stop and go in traffic. Coupled with the long ratio  between 4 (after the super close 1234] and 567 where the tcu program goes quickly to 7, the cfe has torque but it ain't a turbo diesel and 20kg translating to 18kg on wheel isn't a heck of a lot torque to lug 1.4 tonnes around town or up a mountain. I can't expect good consumption from a 5 speed manual tranny if if I slot straight to 5 after the 2nd gear in moving traffic.
I find out that do not press the pedal so hard when u wan to move, just press linearly (make sure u can handle the temp tongue.gif ) every time even in traffic jam. I manage to hit 7.1l/100km, RM0.13/km @ highway & 8.5-9l/100km, RM0.16-RM0.17/km in city drive. But most of the time i only can hit 10l/100km, RM0.19 because of the power temptation. laugh.gif
Actually, fuelly.com do have a lot of tips how to increase fc. Go check that out =D

QUOTE(JJTam @ Mar 21 2013, 02:02 PM)
What antenna did you change to? By the way what is the headlamp projector, high beam and fog light bulb type for preve?
I changed to long Gen2 Antenna from day 1 i collect the car, I nv experience poor radio signal unless i am in poor signal area that i know, I felt the signal is as good as my old Waja. U can get 1 =D

This post has been edited by swk_sam: Mar 21 2013, 08:25 PM
Darkcloudz
post Mar 21 2013, 08:40 PM

940 posts

QUOTE(edwinkbs @ Mar 21 2013, 02:18 PM)
of course the same one. changed @ SC.
u changed antenna cos the reception is not good?
swk_sam
post Mar 21 2013, 08:43 PM

QUOTE(Darkcloudz @ Mar 21 2013, 08:40 PM)
I change the antenna because of i am using it on my Waja. Yet i read some comment that Preve radio reception is bad tongue.gif
edwinkbs
post Mar 22 2013, 02:15 AM

QUOTE(Darkcloudz @ Mar 21 2013, 08:40 PM)
no, gps signal out.
samjoywa
post Mar 22 2013, 07:30 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(Darkcloudz @ Mar 17 2013, 11:19 AM)
Morning every fellows! tongue.gif
After ECU update, i feel like my FC quite okay. exact half tank = half bar can go up to 232KM.
which you calculate like this : half tank ( RM42/232KM = RM0.18 )
Bro, which sc you went for ecu update?
Pace
post Mar 22 2013, 09:58 AM

QUOTE(swk_sam @ Mar 21 2013, 08:43 PM)
I change the antenna because of i am using it on my Waja. Yet i read some comment that Preve radio reception is bad tongue.gif
I find radio reception good when on highway or outside KL in other town. In KL, I select RDS and AF off. The moment on highway, I select on.
Pace
post Mar 22 2013, 10:20 AM

Have to compare FC between NA and FI Preve. How much worst is the FC for the FI Preve or similar? I recall Waja Campro FC also not that good compared to 4G18 Waja.
allenultra
post Mar 22 2013, 10:45 AM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(Pace @ Mar 22 2013, 10:20 AM)
Have to compare FC between NA and FI Preve. How much worst is the FC for the FI Preve or similar? I recall Waja Campro FC also not that good compared to 4G18 Waja.
Campro isn't FI to start with.
Just a DOHC NA vs 4G18 SOHC NA.

Preve NA, more like a 1.6L 1.4 ton sedan FC...while Preve CFE more like 2.0L NA 1.4 ton sedan FC tongue.gif
In highway, the FC is much more comparable
Steven91
post Mar 22 2013, 11:20 AM

Hi everyone. Gonna get my Preve soon. I'm totally new to the auto world. Just wanna ask how does Champiro tyre do as compared to Goodyear?? Bumpy rides? Thanks in advance.
rognales
post Mar 22 2013, 11:27 AM

442 posts

QUOTE(Pace @ Mar 22 2013, 09:58 AM)
I find radio reception good when on highway or outside KL in other town. In KL, I select RDS and AF off. The moment on highway, I select on.
I found that the RDS & AF never works for me. I have to manually tune in.
deity01
post Mar 22 2013, 11:51 AM

921 posts

QUOTE(rognales @ Mar 22 2013, 11:27 AM)
I found that the RDS & AF never works for me. I have to manually tune in.
last time it works for me in KL, then i go jb for a few days,
i remember at that time i use the function something like "store current position" of the HU gps in jb
after i back kl, my RDS & AF not working anymore, keep point me to channel in jb or some unknown channel to me..

so i go simply store current position at the gps again in kl while driving, then i dont bother to check it...
then the next day when I use my car again, i found that the HU RDS & AF working fine again...

hope it helps...

This post has been edited by deity01: Mar 22 2013, 04:22 PM
hong3831
post Mar 22 2013, 12:24 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(Steven91 @ Mar 22 2013, 11:20 AM)
Hi everyone. Gonna get my Preve soon. I'm totally new to the auto world. Just wanna ask how does Champiro tyre do as compared to Goodyear?? Bumpy rides? Thanks in advance.
i think for confort ride, the best at entry lvl is Conti CC5 and Yoko Cdrive 2, if you have budget, Michelin also good. which Goodyear you compare with? i was searching about tyre last year, workman from tyre shop told Goodyear Direction 5 have good traction but very noisy~

This post has been edited by hong3831: Mar 22 2013, 12:31 PM
Darkcloudz
post Mar 22 2013, 12:44 PM

940 posts

QUOTE(samjoywa @ Mar 22 2013, 07:30 AM)
Bro, which sc you went for ecu update?
SC section 13 PJ. Will be going back again for major part service.
flex3x
post Mar 22 2013, 01:00 PM

Yeap..last time my car was using Goodyear, felt is good but very noisy..
if you have budget just go for MIchellin xm2 smile.gif
matS
post Mar 22 2013, 01:21 PM

QUOTE(milkyTom5 @ Mar 21 2013, 08:03 PM)
Yeap, only check engine lit up, I send it to mutiara damansara SC today, they checked the wiring of ECU and upgrade ECU TCU again...3 hours ofter i collect my car, same problem happened again..SUPER FRUSTRATED NOW!!

I notice more thing during the previous breakdown, the feeling is like suddenly the gear automatically change from D to N halfway driving..stop the car completely, press pedal again, the gear stuck at gear 1..failed to change to gear 2...

could it be gearbox problem?

SENT TO SC 3 TIMES...CANNOT SOLVE THE PROBLEM.......ON FIRE NOW..
i think u get almost the same problem with me...
but mine cvt warning lit first.. then esc followed by check engine after cabut and pasang balik battery terminal..
before that i want to ask u somthing, your preve si cvt cfe right?

the symptom happen to me, the car sluggish is extremely rough..
very light foot on padel minyak seems dont help the sluggish..
car feels sooo lazy and rpm wont shoot more than 2k if im not mistaken...

i sent the car to mutiara damansara, same as you almost 3 hour.. start the car and the warning light still appear.. then they suggest me to go to dealer at subang (kg melayu subang) got KFC there..
they check for about 2 to 3 hour i take my car, start the car no more warning light, but need to change start stop button (need to order for about 1 week) oni.. now for about 2 month maybe.. no more that problem..
Steven91
post Mar 22 2013, 01:35 PM

QUOTE(hong3831 @ Mar 22 2013, 12:24 PM)
i think for confort ride, the best at entry lvl is Conti CC5 and Yoko Cdrive 2, if you have budget, Michelin also good. which Goodyear you compare with? i was searching about tyre last year, workman from tyre shop told Goodyear Direction 5 have good traction but very noisy~
I see.. Thanks for the reply.. Budget is a problem for me So I was just thinking if I should demand a Goodyear tyre from my SA.. How is champiro tyre? Is it good? Noise level? Safety? And comfort aspect?
milkyTom5
post Mar 22 2013, 01:47 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(matS @ Mar 22 2013, 01:21 PM)
i think u get almost the same problem with me...
but mine cvt warning lit first.. then esc followed by check engine after cabut and pasang balik battery terminal..
before that i want to ask u somthing, your preve si cvt cfe right?

the symptom happen to me, the car sluggish is extremely rough..
very light foot on padel minyak seems dont help the sluggish..
car feels sooo lazy and rpm wont shoot more than 2k if im not mistaken...

i sent the car to mutiara damansara, same as you almost 3 hour.. start the car and the warning light still appear.. then they suggest me to go to dealer at subang (kg melayu subang) got KFC there..
they check for about 2 to 3 hour i take my car, start the car no more warning light, but need to change start stop button (need to order for about 1 week) oni..  now for about 2 month maybe.. no more that problem..
yea mine is CFE..

mine not only slugginess..the car will shake like dancing harlem shake if u press abit more on pedal..
i sent to mutiara damansara again just now..

they say might be related to throttle body and pedal sensor..
waiting their call..

126 Pages « < 112 113 114 115 116 > » Top

0.0348sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:23 AM