Buying Advice Fujifilm F30, The ultimate low-light super compact?

greyPJ
post Oct 14 2006, 09:04 PM

artificially stupid
3,169 posts

Fast Operation: The days of the slow reacting digital camera are over. The FinePix F30 powers up in a little more than a second and shutter lag, the time it takes the camera to fire after the auto focus and auto exposure locks, is down to 0.01 seconds.

noob here, i have a question, is this camera fast enough to take 1 picture every second? or 2 pictures in one second? is it capable? how fast can it go? thx.

This post has been edited by greyPJ: Oct 14 2006, 09:22 PM
greyPJ
post Jan 13 2007, 10:06 PM

artificially stupid
3,169 posts

QUOTE(ajay67 @ Jan 13 2007, 07:28 PM)
anybody find a silicon case for F30 here? something like this :
http://pdaden.com/shop/cart.php?target=pro...category_id=421

hope can buy here
why not buy from them directly? shipping only usd7, if buy x2 shipping usd11, not too bad, boleh tahan.

This post has been edited by greyPJ: Jan 13 2007, 10:16 PM
greyPJ
post May 11 2007, 10:11 AM

artificially stupid
3,169 posts

f31 is a new upgraded/improved model of f30, they fix some probs, so better get f31.

f40 is a different model, it replace f20, got nothing to do with f30/f31.
greyPJ
post May 15 2007, 12:25 PM

artificially stupid
3,169 posts

QUOTE(goodkarma @ May 15 2007, 12:13 PM)
Correction: The F40d is a 'different model', yes, but it is still part of the Fuji F series, which means that they are all basically from the same family (after all, are they all not 6.3 megapixels, except for the F40d?). The F40d is an upgrade to the earlier models - F10>F11>F30>F20>F31 (the F20 being introduced after the F30 because Fuji wanted to introduce a 'economical' model without the F30's frills).

The F40d is an upgrade for two reasons:

1. The increase in megapixels, from 6 to 8
2. The dual memory card usage - xd and sd, a first in the F series

As for picture quality, it goes without saying that the higher the megapixels, the higher the possibility of noise. That's probably why Fuji opted to go for a maximum ISO of 2000 - but in most other areas, it is the same as the F30, or F20, or F31d in terms of image quality.

Added on May 15, 2007, 12:18 pm

And by the way, the introduction of the F31d was not to 'fix some problems' on the F30, but rather it was a very minor upgrade to the F30, with the addition of the hardware-based face recognition technology debuted on the S6500fd (using the Real Photo Processor II). The only other change was the addition of IR communication capabilitles.

Other than this, there is no difference in image quality between the F30 and F31d.
see this post:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...dpost&p=9840522

-F31fd replaced the F30, F30 replaced the F11 (manual control line)
max iso 3200

-F40fd replaced the F20, F20 replaced the F10 (automatic line)
max iso 2000

F series:
model A: (with AP/SP control) F11=>F30=>F31fd=>F50fd
model B: (wihout AP/SP cont) F10=>F20 =>F40fd=>F60fd

f31fd fixed overexpose prob in f30, no need to set -1/3 anymore.

This post has been edited by greyPJ: May 15 2007, 12:43 PM
greyPJ
post May 18 2007, 09:33 AM

artificially stupid
3,169 posts

so you are saying that:

F10 replace by F11
F11 replace by F30
F30 replace by F20
F20 replace by F31
F31 replace by F40

is it correct?

wanna bet? RM50 the loser pay, we open a thread in dpreview and ask the reviewer of other professional sites, ok?

Added on May 18, 2007, 2:00 pmon second thought, i should not take advantage of your lack of insight.

go to http://www.dcresource.com/

you will see this on the front page:

read the one underlined in red, Jeff is a professional reviewer, if you dont trust his view and continue with your bleh bleh bleh.... then i cant help you, you will have to live in the burble of ignorant, all the pro know there are 2 models in the F series, all the camera enthusiasts know it, fuji dont bother to explain it because it might confuse the general camera buyer and it can also affect the sales of F20 the Auto model.

This post has been edited by greyPJ: May 18 2007, 02:00 PM
greyPJ
post May 18 2007, 03:09 PM

artificially stupid
3,169 posts

QUOTE(goodkarma @ May 15 2007, 12:13 PM)
Correction: The F40d is a 'different model', yes, but it is still part of the Fuji F series, which means that they are all basically from the same family (after all, are they all not 6.3 megapixels, except for the F40d?). The F40d is an upgrade to the earlier models - F10>F11>F30>F20>F31 (the F20 being introduced after the F30 because Fuji wanted to introduce a 'economical' model without the F30's frills).
yeah, you didnt say it, you stupidly group F20 and F30 together.
greyPJ
post May 18 2007, 03:36 PM

artificially stupid
3,169 posts

QUOTE(goodkarma @ May 18 2007, 03:21 PM)
Please check the dictionary. Upgrade has a DIFFERENT meaning from replacement. I said upgrade, not replacement. Who's stupid now?

Since you are the type who always want to have the last word and don't like it when you are proven wrong, go ahead and continue your rambling. I shall not waste my time debating with ill-informed characters.
Ad Hominem attack, yea thats a great way to end an argument when you lose.

to summarize:

model A: F40 is an upgrade to F20.
model B: F31 is an upgrade to F30.

they are different model/line, same F series, dont mix them up.

0.0194sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 02:11 AM