7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

How Did You Come Up With Your Gamertag?, Let's hear the stories! =)

cylon
post Apr 30 2006, 07:46 AM

882 posts

Prefer "Cylon" as my gamertag but it has been taken out. Such i've put Nemesis in front. Its a nickname for a clan in the cartoon series - 1987 "Saber Rider and the Star Sheriffs".

As for "Cylon". it was taken from a robot character ( check my avatar ) from - original 1978 Battlestar Galactica shown here in Malaysia in 1982. The nick was given to me due to my ability to imitate the voice of the Cylon, kinda the voice of "Shockwave" in Transformers.
welwitchia
post Apr 30 2006, 10:13 AM

1,219 posts

OT, but UnUsUal, is there a bigger version of the Street Fighter jpg that u have as u'r sig? Looks awesome with everyone standing there.
QUOTE(UnUsUaL @ Mar 23 2006, 09:42 PM)
Same here, Airwolf fan  laugh.gif Still remember the song played when the Airwolf speeding or in action  tongue.gif
silkworm
post Apr 30 2006, 12:45 PM

965 posts

I've used a variety of nicks and handles since the BBS days starting around `93 when I got my first modem. Silkworm is quite recent, I started using it permanently on ICQ and message boards around `99. The meaning behind the nick is threefold:

1) Silk is produced by silkworms, of course. Silk cloth is a valuable commodity and was a pillar of economy in ancient times. Wars were even fought over it. The idea that all of that comes from a lowly insect larva, appealed to me: Big things from little simple things. However, back then I didn't think about the fact that silkworms are boiled to death in their cocoons in order to get an unbroken string of silk thread. doh.gif
Amusingly, while doing research for this reply, I found this description of silkworms:
Burke's Backyard
breed: silkworms
Temperement: lethargic & big eaters
which fits me so much it's kinda scary laugh.gif

2) I remembered reading about a Silkworm missile in a manual for an old flight simulator on the IBM PC (I think it was Falcon 1.5), which was used by the Chinese air force, which I thought was kinda cool. Since the more well known US missiles like the Sidewinder and Maverick were certain to be used by people already, I figured this would be more low profile.
I found out a few years later that the Silkworm is the NATO designation for the Chinese "Hai Ying" (sea eagle) or "Fei Long" (flying dragon) surface-to-surface missile (when I picked it as my nick, I thought it was an air-to-air). Nvm, at least it still flies and blows stuff up. biggrin.gif

3) Finally, in 1988 there was a side-scrolling shoot-em-up arcade game by Tecmo called, what else, Silk Worm. It's claim to fame was that in two player mode, each player has a different vehicle. Player 1 used a helicopter, whilst Player 2 drove around on the ground in a Jeep. The first time I heard of this game was reading a review in Computimes in the late 80s, a port was made for the Amiga or Atari ST. Back then I really wished I had those machines instead of the crappy 8MHz IBM PC XT I had a the time... Coincidentally, Tecmo now makes the DOA series as well as Ninja Gaiden, which are the foremost Xbox games at the moment.

This post has been edited by silkworm: Apr 30 2006, 12:48 PM
vivaldi
post Apr 30 2006, 11:20 PM

240 posts

I use thomassux cause I'm thomas..and realli I'm suX! tongue.gif
adix4
post Jul 9 2007, 04:23 PM

ich bin eine Katze :3
1,254 posts

QUOTE(zaakath @ Mar 22 2006, 08:48 PM)
Zaakath has been my gametag alias since the days of my MMORPG in Everquest.  The name is derived from a fantasy book from David Eddings, from an emperor who ruled Mallorean
zaakath?zakar?
Lord_Ashe
post Jul 9 2007, 04:25 PM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

Holy cow, what an old thread!

LordAshe

well, not much to tell. My friends call me Ash and I have delusions of grandeur.
aegis`-
post Jul 9 2007, 04:41 PM

1,480 posts

was playing cs competitively during my time i got my nick lunatizm
was listening to a grp called lunatic high
and izm just came by to rhyme with the word
and i just love rushing and i have no patience tongue.gif

lunatizm it bcame
BowlingQueen
post Jul 9 2007, 04:41 PM

Is suppose to be a warm welcoming friendly gamertag, as I join the game it'll be like, Oh, Hey its !. But when its used to play Gow or R6 will get you killed instantly. It doesnt have the grrr! brutal gore kill factor to it.

Thinks my gamertag are more suitable for viva pinata or tetris. haha.. I dunno just my 2cents.

This post has been edited by BowlingQueen: Jun 26 2021, 05:54 PM
Ifrit
post Jul 9 2007, 04:44 PM

my gamertag was supposed to be ifrit, but... someone already took it. then it was supposed to be spelled efreet, but then i spelled it wrongly sweat.gif
so it ended up being effret
terranova
post Jul 9 2007, 04:52 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(BowlingQueen @ Jul 9 2007, 04:41 PM)
The "hey its khairil" Is suppose to be a warm welcoming friendly gamertag, as I join the game it'll be like, Oh, Hey its Khairil! . But when its used to play Gow or R6 will get you killed instantly. It doesnt have the grrr! brutal gore kill factor to it.
Thinks my gamertag are more suitable for viva pinata or tetris. haha.. I dunno just my 2cents.
Changing it to BowlingQueen wouldn't help either I reckon.
BowlingQueen
post Jul 9 2007, 04:56 PM

bowlingqueen has been my nick since the irc days. yeah, if i use bowlingqueen i wouldnt talk let others think tht im a girl.. then ill kick their a55 but then again am no pro in gaming. so yeah..
Merlin MY
post Jul 9 2007, 04:59 PM

45 posts

Merlin.....because people always ask me to work my magic (thank goodness, not work your mojo or else my gamertag will something else).
SUSmayatsan
post Jul 9 2007, 05:04 PM

QUOTE(Merlin MY @ Jul 9 2007, 04:59 PM)
Merlin.....because people always ask me to work my magic (thank goodness, not work your mojo or else my gamertag will something else).
magic???? elves eh......OBLIVION..OBLIVION... laugh.gif laugh.gif well mine is mayat...yeah its a dead man walkin/corpse...well yeah my flying instructor gave me that name when im in KTU...so does all my flying batche...the only MaYaT in RMAF whistling.gif ...i do have that face...pale...and heartless......darkness...darkness... laugh.gif and san is mr. la...or enchek.... u all can call me enchek mayat thumbup.gif
ayiezs
post Jul 9 2007, 05:09 PM

for me my gamertag is ayiezs... ayie is my nickname given to me by by my late grandma...
Later on I added th 'zs' because:
1) i tried to register for gmail and ayie was taken...
2) added the 'z' to make it sound cooler..
3) added the 's' to make it sound possessive eq: thats ayiezs xbox demmit!.. or it can also mean plural... multiple ayiez... ahahhaa biggrin.gif tongue.gif
ImSIEBEL
post Jul 9 2007, 05:18 PM

| Mile High Club |
755 posts

Waaaa Old Thread.. shocking.gif ...well here goes mine..

Why Izzit ImSIEBEL ?..

My Name is SIEBEL..So its ImSIEBEL..

Why izzit ImSIEBEL4TOdaY ??

Cause its the day where my Gold subscrition ends..And my Gamercard is under US..so i try to find those Top-up for gold subscrition and someone told me they are not selling it anymore..then someone told me to get those MS Points and then u can change ur name and ur Address..i tried and it didnt work..so i juz use the 48hrs Trial Card and changed my name to ImSIEBEL4TOdaY cause it will be my Last day playing..Then finally got my self the AmBANK NextG card and Top-Up My GOLD.....so till today its ImSIEBEL4TOdaY....

Hmm Wonder if i shall change it to ImSIEBEL4EVA ? hmm.gif

nargoe
post Jul 9 2007, 05:35 PM

87 posts

umm... i came up with my nick since my cousin introduced me to a website that translates ur name into elvish ones during the LOTR days tongue.gif .. my nick was supposed to be nargo which i used since i 1st played MMORPGs.. but someone took it so i added an extra 'e'. laugh.gif

p/s .. the 'e' is silent so my GT is still pronounced nargo rolleyes.gif
Hitman190
post Jul 9 2007, 05:49 PM

589 posts

Mine...

Commando + 47

I always loved the Commandos....they were highly trained in all aspects of war...in other words they were excellent troops...

47...Based in Hitman's Agent 47....cruel,ruthless and highly efficient...

Figured if i combine the two together...will get me a super soldier..tongue.gif
Rocky
post Jul 9 2007, 06:12 PM

Hmm, Mine is OpponentSumo. I'm a fan of WWE. So one day I saw this new fella Umaga on stage then I think why can't I use Sumo so I can wrestle all my opponents to the ground (but instead I'm the one who always kena wrestle to the ground). He! He! He! doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
scpt
post Jul 9 2007, 06:26 PM

Androidian
1,239 posts

After watching Top Gun, then I got my nick coz it sounds pretty cool. But I shorten it from maverick to mav3 biggrin.gif
alabais
post Jul 9 2007, 06:28 PM

1,027 posts

hmm .. no real idea about the nick that is used .. found it to be pretty unique .. so alabais it shall be ..

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0151sec    0.50    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:59 PM