Huawei Technologies, Anyone working there?

rinin_farina
post Dec 18 2010, 12:54 PM

96 posts

hi guys,

just got back from the walk in interview today. applied for global technical services engineer. the interview was quite relaxed. the technical interviewer asked questions mainly on my thesis work since i have no telco experience. after that, been interview by the HR and the GSRC director. they were nice people. i'm quite surprised not many ppl attend the walk in today. or maybe im wrong.

This post has been edited by rinin_farina: Dec 18 2010, 12:54 PM
rinin_farina
post Dec 20 2010, 08:25 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(vinoth @ Dec 19 2010, 05:11 PM)
how did u got to know about the walk in interview? where was in held? in ETIQA?
in in the newspaper. held at etiqa
rinin_farina
post Aug 16 2011, 08:01 AM

96 posts

had few friends went for the interview. usually they ask questions depending on your experience. for fresh, they might ask what you've studied in uni related to telco.

rinin_farina
post Aug 18 2011, 11:04 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(stevie_ng @ Aug 18 2011, 06:15 PM)
Hi Erein, normally how long it takes for Huawei to decide on hiring employee? i had went through all GSRC interview ( technical, HR and Director) and havent receive any updates yet (already 3 weeks).  hmm.gif Does it mean my application not success ?
I applied gsrc earlier this year. After 2 weeks no news oso. Then i called the receptionist, she said im not successful. but now i'm happily working other company edi. smile.gif just call them, maybe they forgot.
rinin_farina
post Aug 22 2011, 05:10 PM

96 posts

the HR always strict like tat.. usually they just wan to psycho only... dun worry, sure get wannn..

This post has been edited by rinin_farina: Aug 22 2011, 05:31 PM
rinin_farina
post Aug 30 2011, 07:19 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(s3xy4ss @ Aug 28 2011, 02:00 PM)
Can anyone tell me about the microwave engineer sp position. A lots of travelling? When will the travelling start, during probation, after probation or until they feel you are capable of?
basically microwave engineer responsible to establish transmission link for base station. one of the way is using microwave.

rinin_farina
post Oct 8 2011, 04:01 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(louyit @ Oct 7 2011, 11:52 PM)
same here, I didnt submit my resume as well.....I'm having about 2years of experience in transmission project management and implementation, but since the job requirements consider even a fresh graduate....and they're rushing u for interview..i doubt it'll be a good position. I didn't reply to huawei....perhaps I should wait for u to attend the interview first and share to us? tongue.gif  rclxms.gif when is your interview?
Huawei currently having quite a number of projects overseas and short of staffs to support these projects. That could answer why they aggressively hiring for ppl now. its a good place to learn when there's a lot of projects in hand.
rinin_farina
post Oct 15 2011, 08:14 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Oct 13 2011, 12:04 AM)
hm... starting to felt that pre-sale product engineer wasn't a good position
as believe Huawei looking for new staff replacement due to the resignation of existing staff...  sweat.gif
There are many types of pre sales product engineer. One of them is the engineer is responsible to win a project for the company. It may varies from preparing tender, design proposal, etc. The job is suited for someone who has worked in a similar field so that they can recommend solutions to customer. Fresh grad would be lucky to get this job. They also travel once in a while to meet customer.

Why bother about huawei having high turnover staff? Come on la, ppl come and go, and there's no such thing as loyalty if u dont own a share in that company and huawei is a world top 3 telco vendor. Hardworking ppl always turn out good wherever they go.
rinin_farina
post Oct 27 2011, 12:23 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(isaywhite @ Oct 27 2011, 11:20 AM)
how long does it take for Huawei to reply us back?
I went for two interview. One when they called me.. then another during their walk-in..
But so far none called me  cry.gif
call them after 1 week to follow up. usually they are very busy and sometimes forgot to call you. huhu
rinin_farina
post Sep 19 2012, 10:55 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(arthursun @ Sep 17 2012, 01:07 PM)
So quiet here nowadays. can't find any job opening in jobstreet too. huawei, i want to join u! hahaha...
Current they freeze new employment. Usually they will open again during year end
rinin_farina
post Jul 16 2020, 02:44 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(Xflkekw @ May 16 2020, 11:59 PM)
Huawei is always hiring a lot of people. But the number of people not getting converted into permanent Huawei employees is also a lot.
Just to add additional points. Huawei is constantly hiring people because :-

1. a lot of existing employees left the company for various reasons
2. a lot of existing employees' contract was not renewed. therefore they have to leave
3. very few employees were offered permanent role unless you are super-hardworking, delivery excellent results.
rinin_farina
post Jul 16 2020, 03:38 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(cornered corn @ Oct 24 2019, 06:17 PM)
Hello everyone, I would like to know more about the following:

1) If a fresh grad join Huawei Tech under 3rd party recruiter such as KellyServices, etc. Is it possible to become Huawei Contract later on? Anyone done that before?
2) Is there any career growth for a person that enters the company in this manner?
3) What is the difference between under Huawei contract and 3rd party as middle man?
1. Yes, it is possible if the department has additional headcount and your boss is satisfied with your work.
2. It depends on which role you are taking. As an engineer, your performance is highly depend on your project boss. Sometimes you will be assigned to a project where you will work with the project boss instead of your real boss. therefore, your performance is highly depend on what the project boss says to your real boss. even if you work hard but your project boss dont like u, then your dead. sometimes your project boss is Chinaman, most of the Chinaman is very hard to satisfy them, but when they are happy with your work, your performance will be better than your performance while working with malaysian project boss. this is because Chinaman is very influential in this company, eventhough some of them are just fresh graduates. as u gain experience year after year in this company, there will be time where those who work here will experience mid-career crisis due to lack of growth and promotion if you maintained the same role. if you move to management role, you will see some career growth. huawei hire lots of engineers and lots of engineers left huawei after few years due to no career growth, no salary increment, no bonus, contract was not renewed. u can easily noticed in jobstreet that they constantly hiring fresh graduates because of this issue. training fresh grad is not a problem for them, as long as huawei can spend cheaply on u. they also have 1.3 billion people who can serve as backup if all the local malaysian employees quit Huawei. looking at the bright side, huawei is a good place to build your career at an international level, u will gain lots of knowledge, u will have the opportunity to work abroad and gain international experience, and it is far more better than working in local malaysian companies. don't stay there for too long, gain as many knowledge as u can, and then cabut go other companies and use the knowledge gained to leverage on your next salary/role/benefit at the next company.

Huawei contract - u get bonus, increment, etc. just like the permanent staff . u have the opportunity to work oversea. u can attend oversea training. u can transfer to other dept when there's opening.
Outsource - u are not getting any of the above.
rinin_farina
post Jul 17 2020, 11:50 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(yeo1992cc @ Nov 15 2018, 07:10 PM)
FYI, kindly assume this all different for each department/division

About Huawei employment, normally you would first hired as outsourced staff, this is normal in big company to minimize the turnover rates.

If you perform excellent performance, then you would be offered to employed direct under Huawei.

Lastly, there is no permanent employee in Huawei, both outsourced and direct-huawei is contract-based (but direct-huawei contract is not one-year contract like outsourced).
Regarding interview, you would at least go through 3~4 interview, also presumed you would get some tasks, like make presentation, etc on next interview.

1. HR scouting interview (is normally not under huawei)
2. Direct under your hired department interview from leader/supervisor or vice-leader/supervisor)
3. Direct under your hired department interview from leader/supervisor *exempted if (3) already with them.
4. Department head/manager

Offer waiting period, at least 3 weeks, but guarantee start joining at Monday

TIPS: Everything not-work related suggest ask during HR interview, and be cleared, asking on your future working colleague interview would give them bad impression.
Good luck!~
it is definitely NOT normal for an MNC company to hire outsourced employee rather than having them as their own employee. They want to hire ppl to work with them but they don’t want to take risk of hiring which in other words putting all the risk on the employee. They are lucky that Malaysians are desperate to get a job and instead of appreciating their own employees, they take advantage of this situation. Furthermore, high turnover IS NOT the employee’s fault! It’s the company’s failure of retaining their own employees. Instead of improving their work env, they hire contract staff to solve this issue. As usual the govt is closing one eye since only the Chinaman is bringing money into the country.

normally a contract staff will be paid much much more higher than permanent staff because of the risk that they have to take into account when they cannot find a job after contract expires. Some cheapskate local companies usually hire contract staff and pay peanut salary since they cannot afford to pay based on market salary. ( sometimes its funny these cheapskate companies want to do bisnes but dun have money, then better don’t do bisnes at all ) . in Huawei, they somehow have their own meaning of “contract staff” where the salary is similar to “permanent staff”. Therefore the contract staff is underpaid and need to bear the risk of contract of not being renewed.

the concept of outsourced staff is similar to an experienced consultant who has its own company and provide professional services. the money earned is higher than contract staff ( in multiple folds ) due to higher risks because there will be a situation where the client ( Huawei ) wont make the payment due to certain reasons. So don’t be surprise when the outsourcing company hired by Huawei is taking AT LEAST 50% of the salary of outsourced staff. For example, the salary of outsourced staff is rm4k , actually Huawei is paying the outsourcing company at least rm8k or more. And the outsourced company’s job is just managing your HR related matters. What a simple business.
They hire a lot of contract and outsourced staffs so that they can easily terminate them later on. no wonder in jobstreet, there are always vacancies in Huawei. They have been recycling their employees every few years and retaining only the cream of the crops.

Besides that, permanent employees do EXIST in Huawei and it is offered to super talented, super-hardworking staff . If you are hardworking, for them, its nothing, they expect more than that.
Furthermore, it is ABSOLUTE NOT a bad impression to ask future colleagues for non related work questions. This is just a lame HR tactics so that they can gain advantage over the candidate. For anyone who is interested to join Huawei, make sure u get what u want during the job offer process. After u join, u are at the mercy of the company.

rinin_farina
post Jul 21 2020, 09:57 PM

96 posts

someone asked a question and i thought it would beneficial to share it. hope can gain something from it.

question:
Hi there... Just wanna to ask you some opinion regarding Huawei. Im a fresh graduate got offered with project management engineer position in HW, been reading alot of the comments on the Huawei's thread, and most of the comments are quite scary, is it really that "bad" though?
The contract position is kinda risky as well... actually i got offered with another permanant position in other company, but for the jobscope i prefer huawei as i intended to debut my career in project management. i heard the politics are very "legendary".
Just wanted to hear your thoughts on it

Answer:
Firstly, congratulations on getting both jobs.

Malaysia’s 5 main industries are banking, ecommerce, OnG, construction, electronics/manufacturing and IT. IMO, everyone has a dream career but in Malaysia, we cant just blindly follow our dream. As an example, I want to become automotive engineer, unfortunately Msia doesn’t have a good automotive company to grow my career to become a true automotive engineer. We used to have a good auto company (Proton) but now not anymore. Even working in Perodua is a waste of time because there is no r&d opportunity since they just copy all the design from Toyota/Daihatsu. End up become Copy Engineer. Somemore, they pay peanut salary but we work 8 hours per day just like everybody else. Why waste our time working like this? Get my point?

What I’m trying to say is to look for a job in an industry where money is abundant or work in Fortune 500 companies where they have cash to pay a good salary. DONT find a job that you like but FIND a job that you like AND it pays a GOOD MONEY.

Maybe my comments about Huawei are a bit exaggerated but its better to be ready for the corporate world. Companies are not doing charity work. They are trying to make money and the fresh grad is an easy target for them to gain more for what they paid for. Huawei or any companies, in front of u, they will say all the nice words such as “Employees are our precious assets”, but in reality is, they will question whether your salary is justified with the work that u delivered. No hard feelings. Its just business. It’s a cruel world. But I don’t deny that there are some companies who truly value their employees such as companies listed in Fortune 500 such Microsoft, Apply, Google, Cisco etc.

despite the negative aspect of this company, Huawei is a very good place to grow but it is definitely not a good place to stay for a long term basis. And it is still much better than to work in most of the local companies. working in an MNC, u get the chance to hang around with great ppl with great mindset and with vast experience which enables u to grow, not just for your career but to broaden your way of thinking, the way u see things, let u see things differently as compared to other typical ppl. that's why there is a saying "Your Circle of Friends Influence Who You Become". so, if u hang with ppl who always play politics, talk c*ck, day dreaming, you will definitely become just like them.

Career in project management is not bad actually. you have the opportunity to grow as Project Mgr, then become Director, after that C-Level etc. I assume you have an idea about your career goals, what u expect to become in 5 years time, 10 years time, etc. Huawei is one of the biggest company in the world, definitely u have the opportunity to gain experience. It is much better if this role have the opportunity to work abroad or collaborate with international peers globally. By looking at the JD, u will handle the project mgmt system, but I am not sure the detail of this role. But normally in Huawei, most of their Project Managers come from a technical background, where they have worked as Engineer doing technical stuff. So, for u to start your career directly in Project Mgmt might give u an extra challenge to equip urself in technical area for career growth. But I might be wrong, but u can give it a try and see what this role has to offer. Learn as much as u can, don’t learn some basic stuff, but gain some unique knowledge where u can use it to boost your career. For example, getting involved in a big project, where time is critical, and so on. Honestly I don’t know much about Project Mgmt team because I joined them as Technical Engineer where in my field of work, there is a huge potential for career growth since it involved working with the latest tech such as 5G and this knowledge is highly in demand in many countries but not in msia because telco have limited opportunity eventhough it is a lucrative business.

why worry about office politics? firstly, what is your goal when joining huawei or any other company? if your aim is to gain bonus, promotion, increment, i guess by playing politics will help u achieve these goals. if your aim is to gather unique knowledge and skills as much as possible so that u can jump to a better company with a better pay, office politics are irrelevant to u. yes, salary is super low for fresh grad, but looking at the bright side, there is an opportunity to gain priceless knowledge which will leverage the money issue. therefore its a win-win situation, the company hired u cheaply and in return, u get to learn something priceless. remember, "DO NOT work hard, but work SMART!" “DO NOT be loyal to the company, BUT be loyal to your CAREER!”

and I suggest u to keep on applying for other jobs at a good company. You are still young. If u haven’t figured out your passion, keep on working in different company until u find the right one. Because passion will drive your career, which in return will reward u with money, promotion, bonus, etc.

0.0529sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:27 AM