Volvo S40 2011, a good buy or stay away?

SUSkimsim
post Jan 14 2013, 06:11 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(Xenolth77 @ Jan 14 2013, 03:42 AM)
Gents,
My family and I are coming back to Malaysia soon after a few years overseas. So now we need to figure out what kind of car to buy. We had a Nissan Slyphy before that my wife adores and she thinking about continuing the Slyphy saga by buying another one. I had my mistakes with new cars that depreciates like hell after only its 1st year so this time around I'll just go for used ones. Maybe a 2 year old car? I'll get a better bargain and tak sakit hati.

I am looking for a family car that is reliable, fuel efficient, safe and not prone to car jackers with a budget of around RM80k - RM100k. A Nissan Slyphy 2011 cost around RM83k and a 2011 Volvo S40 would cost around RM100k. Only those 2 models caught my eyes. I know what an Slyphy can do in terms of performance, fuel efficiency and safety. Also most importantly not a preferred car by pencuri kereta. So how about the Volvo S40? What can I expect from it? Yes I know the maintenance is much more than the Slyphy (well this is a premium car...duhhh) but whats more important is the peace of mind. So guys, pls educate me.

P/S: This is for the wife, I'm getting myself an Audi TT an a HD Street Bob....hehehehhe cool2.gif
Bro since you can afford de Audi TT and why not get A4 together?

Sylphy is safety car and also cheaper maintenance car.

Nothing worst or less. If you can top up another Rm25k and get brand new Sylphy comes with Xtronic Gearbox for better ride and no more gb issue again.

SUSkimsim
post Jan 14 2013, 06:54 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(Xenolth77 @ Jan 14 2013, 06:47 AM)
Not gonna get a new car ever again. I'll just stick to a used car. The car is for my wife, so better not too powerful. Even with our old Slyphy she was already going 180kmh w/o realizing it. Think what she can do with an A4  shakehead.gif

owh btw, the not enuf money to buy the TT yet. Kene kumpul duit dulu...long term project.
Sorry what you meant for?

You had own a old sylphy already and wanna replace with sylphy 2011 model?

Sylphy is nobody said that car is not powerful car, my Livina 1.8L can do 190km/h maximum.

If the sylphy put on meter 280km/h and then how fast can go with maximum speed?

Ha ha..

This post has been edited by kimsim: Jan 14 2013, 06:56 AM

0.0159sec    0.95    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:38 PM